Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tourist House 3 stars

Via Della Scala 1, Santa Maria Novella, 50100 Florence, Italy

#282 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 496 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the rooms that we were assigned is with old furniture and old floors. Breakfast is little and there is no variety.

    I liked the location, near points of attraction and the most important train station in the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom, especially the shower was a bit small but was okay for one night. There was a bit of funny smell from the bathroom so we kept the door closed.

    I was really surprised bu how better the room was than the photos on bookingcom. The room was huge and the main king sized bed was beyond comfortable. The other two single beds were also nice. This room can take 4 people. (we were 3). The view was also nice and the old style windows were also very interesting for Koreans who only see the most modern things in the world. The room was quiet and the location was only 4-5mins from SMN station as well as the main area within 5-10 mins. Overall we really liked this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just the minimun, no salty choise and sweet choise was poor, breakfast room small No plug close to the bed nor bedside table

    Excellent position close to the railway station and the "Duomo" Room big but not optimally fournished, but clean as the bathroom Ther was a nice little balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was simple but very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The hotel provided a fridge and a tea station which was much appreciated. The whole room and particularly the bathroom were spotlessly clean, and the hallway and reception area gave a real feeling of luxury. The location couldn't have been any better, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old carpet and duvet. They are dirty. Should replace it.

    Location is perfect and staff are responsive and helpful. They answered my request to repair lighting and internet/wifi problems within the same day. Refrigerator and electric hot water kettle with many tea options are available.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was not really good .. but you get that in old buildings.. The price I paid for the two nights I think was quite high compared to other cities I have stayed in

    Fabulous Location nice big room .. Staff lovely ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A few small tables available for breakfast and breakfast cannot be recommended so we ended up having breakfast out each day. Hotel supposedly having 3 stars, which we cannot understand. One star maybe. Reception not manned during evening/night and personnel refused to clean room after 11 in the morning.

    Location close to the railway station and closeness to various places in Florens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -There was a wired sound like beeb or base came from the below restaurant which opens until 2.00 am, my wife and I stayed at room no. 1, so I don't know if the sound reaches to other rooms. -The housekeeping opened the door without knocking exactly like a police raid.

    -The Location is great, it is in the center of Florence, 5 min walking to train station or Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore. -There are a lot of good restaurants around the hotel. - Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good location! Just a few meters from Santa Maria Novella Station. If you want a room in the city, this is a good option. Just a short walk away from the main sights. Everyone was friendly, communication was easy. We would choose it again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Niente

    A great base to enjoy the vibe of Florence , very safe area and super friendly staff, they would go out of their way to help fulfill your requests and needs. Thank you Christina, Lucia and Fawzia. I will definetly book again in the Tourist House.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is very uncomfortable. There is no a hot water boiler in the room so I cannot drink tea in first day and second day. After I complained, they put water boiler in the room.

    Location is good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was the best, it is near the central station and right in front o Santa Maria Novella square which is just one street away from the Duomo. This is a small hotel with few rooms, the room where I stayed had a double bed which took almost all the space and a small bathroom. However this was enough for the time I spent there. The breakfast is included in the rate, and they serve you a some bread and a croissant, yogurts, coffee, cappuccino and juice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on our bed was terrible. For one person it would probably be ok. However with 2 people it sagged in the middle leaving us squashing each other all night!

    The location to the train station is very handy. It was nice to have a fridge & balcony. Great location to be able to just wander around.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    👍

    This hotel was excellent and convenient for our tourist needs. The beds were comfortable and smelled super clean. The location was excellent as well. Few minutes to the train station, tours facilities, restaurants and important scenery.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a long stair to reach reception and rooms (a little difficult with heavy luggage)

    We stayed 2 times. First room was amazing. Second was smaller, but still comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs and not elevator. Shower was incredibly small. Low water pressure and water was like warm.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great localization.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing was. More than perfect, location is amazing near to every thing by walking 🚶, clean , room is big big , staff very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very cozy with air-conditioning and heating. Had a wonderful sleep. Great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad fridge.

    The best location, very close to train and bus station. Very nice and cosy square in front of hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed is too small for two person!

    Nice breakfast, the location is great. The facilites are old but acceptable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fan in the room was noisy.

    Spacious room and bathroom, free WiFi, air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows were old and difficult to close. The rooms were big enough but lighting was poor.

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is outdated / eccentric

    Location & value for money, white sheets

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All fine

    Recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here before, it is in a great location, easy to find, close to the station. Staff are friendly, rooms are nice and big and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very old and need renovation

    It was ok

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi, bed, thickness of walls, size of cafétéria

    Location & Cristina

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard. Wifi is not good.

    Staffs are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not self service a little strange..... but adequate.

    Quick easy access to the station and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was pure. Internet was always interrupted. Shower very small.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were a couple of mosquitos trapped in our room with us that bit us up. Though I doubt there's much the hotel staff could have done about it, it might be good for them to check for standing water on the balcony to avoid mosquito breeding grounds. The nob on our heater also seemed to be broken so that we couldn't turn down the heat (and hence, had to open the windows, which let the mosquitos in as we discovered).

    The hotel staff was really friendly, and we appreciated the recommendations and map that they gave us on arrival. Our room was clean with lots of toiletries, and the included bottles of water were a nice touch. Breakfast was good. The location was just a short walk from the Duomo and we felt safe in the area even late at night. There were many good restaurants in the area.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean rooms just a little bit dark but hotel is so close to everplace by walk and if I go to firenze one more time I will sure stay in this hotel and madam is also very sweet and helpfull

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed could have been more comfortable.

    Excellent location, clean rooms and nice staff. Good value for the money we paid. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was quite good. No problem with nothing.Was covering basic needs...Anyway you are in Florence... You need only a place to sleep...the rest is on the streets... ;-)

    Good value for money. Very central location. Quite and clean and very friendly stuff.Basic breakfast but very good cappuccino.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi not accessible from rooms. Dusty room that gave me allergies. Scratching noises in roof and sound carried from rooms above/next door. Very worn linen and furniture, so even thought the room was most likely clean it did not appear to be. Breakfast is a croissant and bread roll, adequate but not anything fancy. Coffee was good though. This was the strangest hotel room I have ever booked. I had room 10. When you enter the room you walk into a long hallway. To your left as soon as you enter is a very small bathroom with a shower so small you can not close the screen. You then walk down the hallway and directly in front there is a door that leads to an unused sitting area. To your right there is a staircase that leads up to the main room. The whole place has the feel of an underground cellar. The lights to the room are at the bottom of the staircase which is really annoying, and to go to the toilet at night you have to descend the staircase and walk down the hallway to get there. Very quirky and strange!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Very close the SMN train station. Not to far from main attractions and lots of restaurants and shops surrounding it.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Room and bathroom was not so big enough. If you are large size people it will be problematic for you.

    The hotel located in the middle of the city centre. You can listen beatiful sounds whole night, because it is so close to Santa Maria Novella Square.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was perfect!! Not top far and not too close to santa maria novella station. Thank god it is at he beginnin of he street so you dont have to drag your luggage accross too long. The room was very spacious, howevery lighting could have been better and maybe if they had a dressing table with a mirror. Staff was friendly, and spoke good english. Breakfast was minimal and the breakfast area inside quite small. Funnily enough, it is a bit chilly in florence in the morning so didnt want to have breakfast outside. The entrance staircase looks very pretty but i wish there was a ramp to make it easier to carry luggage up them 2 or 3 flights of stairs

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location the style of the hotel, a beautiful family operated hotel with lovely antiques throughout very quiet considering it was so close to the Spanish steps Katia is delightful and always ready to assist with any request

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the restaurant next door. Please don't recommend your guests to go there. Their food maybe inexpensive but their beers are the most expensive!! Booking.com failed to give us the correct city tax amount :(

    Location, breakfast, room, aircon.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Numerous mosquito bites overnight - probably from outdoor pool Took nearly an hour to locate a car park through streets not much wider than the car and then €28 per night for the privilege

    Good location - short walk to the centre and sensibly priced restaurant nearby

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in room 6. It had an awful smell, i guess because the building is very old and the old furniture, curtains and blankets contributed to that smell. The room itself was clean but the smell bothered us so much that we woke up with nausea in the morning. The hotel is rated here with three stars but on the back of our room door said that it is an one star hotel. Breakfast was very disappointing: coffee, a piece of bread and one croissant. If we hadn't paid for our stay in advance we would have left. I found it extreme expensive for what it had to offer.

    Perfect location, friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have a pretty low standard as far as breakfast goes, but I was still disappointed. I was given a single croissant, a roll, and a choice of cold cereals (which I chose not to eat). However, the breakfast terrace was lovely and almost made up for the lack of food. I feel like I have to point out that the shower was the smallest I've ever seen - small even by European standards. It was do-able for me, a 5'6" female of average weight, but if my husband had been with me there is no way he would have been able to fit. I would say the stall was about 2.5' square and there wasn't a bathtub. The bathroom also had a faint smell from time to time, but I think that is due more to the plumbing in Florence than the hotel itself. I also noticed the smell quite a bit as I was walking through town so I think the city just has sewage problems in general.

    The hotel is a 5 minute walk from SMN station, 7 minutes from the Duomo and about 7 minutes from Ponte Vecchio. The staff was extremely friendly, the hotel was clean, and the atmosphere was very charming. Please note: The hotel faces the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella so if noise bothers you make sure to request a room that faces the courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was mediocre, 3 types of breads. However, the staff did make fantastic cappuccino. Bring your own fruit!

    It was a quick walk from the train station, had all of the essentials very close, away from the bustle of Florence. The restaurants in the neighbourhood were great. The room was extremely spacious.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff is helpful and kind. The room is comfortable with great heater. Thebreakfast is simple but nice. The hotel is near the train station and the main scenic spots. It's a good place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was quite friendly. My room was clean and comfortable. The location was PERFECT. The hotel is right on the piazza santa maria novella and therefore only 5 minute walk to the train station and a 7 minute walk via vai pecori to the piazza del duomo. In addition to being located nearby essential florentine hubs, the hotel location is essentially in a historic zone of firenze where many walking, shopping , eating and drinking possibilities present themselves- many of which are tucked slightly away from the tourist traps of the city. The decor of the hotel is cute and makes you feel at home. The breakfast was simple, but a sufficient start for a day. The wifi worked with no problem, although i could not get a signal from my bed because the sleeping area - i think this was unique to my room- was on a different level from the private foyer and bathroom of my room. I did receive wifi from the foyer level of my suite/room. All-in-all, I was impressed with the hotel and would definitely recommend it for anyone traveling to firenze on their own or with a friend. I intend to book again for the same time next year. :)

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed did sink in the middle

    Excellent location and nice area, had room at the back so was lovely and quiet. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi poor, double bed very small

    location

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to be honest. Everything was great.

    The location is great and the staff is super helpful!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smells bad on quilt. Small sapce in the room.

    Good location.Not far from the train station.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very old and unpleasant decoration

    Location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast time at 8am was a bit late since museums open at 8/8:15

    staff, location!!

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breacfast- excuse me....

    in the center, small and worth of the money

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old classic place, but may be a plus point for some. :-)

    Staff, location, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no elevator basic breakfast (no protein) staff not very friendly

    near sta. maria novella

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff nice breakfast and good location

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old and a bit creepy

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, the comfort, the helpfulness of the staff, the cost

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location! The staff was nice. I liked the breakfast and the room was comfy. I would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location Location Location. Great spot, very friendly and clean.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Steps leading up to rooms.

    Location very good.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent location right at the tip of piazza santa maria novela, yet quiet. warm and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    too simple breakfast The door is not easy to lock

    Good location Convenient transport Not expensive

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevetor, be aware if you come with big suitcase.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perhaps the wifi coverage could be a bit more extended, though I did have access in my room.

    Left to do as I pleased, with no great formalities.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor breakfast

    Close to train station and city center

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    great location, staff were really nice

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff. The hotel is easy to find from the train station and is very quiet. Excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast too simple..a cap of coffee and croissant

    Great place..staff lacation

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Browse Hotel Tourist House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: