Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Traiano 4 stars

Via Quattro Novembre 154, Rione Monti, 00187 Rome, Italy

#553 of 968 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 958 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Staff was tremendous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was tremendous! Hotel was perfectly located in the city. Rooms were clean and breakfast was great. The staff was very helpful in arranging all transportation for site seeing and airport shuttle. Very knowledgeable in all areas for tourism.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location but too expensive and small for what we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms way too small and shower very awkward with poor shower head. No coffee tea making facilities in room. Breakfasts were quite unappealing... no ability to toast bread, too many sweet pastries and no savoury ones. Cooked breakfast same every day and very limited. No fresh fruit. Juices tasted like they were made up and also too sweet. The only good thing was the coffee machine.

    Location was superb. Bed very comfortable and room always cleaned to a high standard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay in Rom, nice staff, and nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside there should be an ashtrey Homepage should be made better, we tried to book local but failed several times.

    Very nice stay in Rom, nice staff, and nice location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    Getaway to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c in the room was not great. The front desk guy in the daytime was not friendly at all. Very abrupt and not nice.

    Wonderful location!! Could walk to so many great sites and restaurants from here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Safe. Quiet. Connected. Beautiful. Will be coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    LOVED the location! It's RIGHT in the heart of the city. And after having poorly chosen a terrible hostel for the night before, it was such a wonderful breath of fresh air and wonderment to walk into this location. Restaurants and shops (gelato, pizza, etc.) literally 500 feet away! Staff was ridiculously nice. I walked in and they instantly asked to take my bags, walked me to the elevator and showed me were breakfast was going to be...it was like having best friend welcome you to their BEAUTIFUL home! Night before I left they told me about the cost for a taxi to the airport and helped me figure out what time I needed to leave, even though I hadn't asked...this extra step was so lovely. 24-hour concierge service...you could come in whenever and know someone would be at the front door. Wi-Fi was great! Bathroom was beautiful. Cinnamon orange soap smelled wonderful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Staff friendly and courteous Breakfasts excellent Great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioner could have been a bit cooler but ok

    Staff friendly and courteous Breakfasts excellent Great position ten minute walk to trevi fountain and not too far from Rome Termini

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Rome is a wonderful place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite tired but the location compensated and we will use the hotel when we visit Rome again.

    The location of the property was excellent and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    3.3
    Not a 4 star!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So much! The first room we were given, the bathroom ceiling was covered in mould. We were moved to another room, which still had mould, filthy air vents and also the tv wasn't working. Staff were rude, expect the bell boy who was lovely. Not a 4 star...maybe in the early 1900s...but now it is in desperate need of a good clean and some renovations. Breakfast was horrendous...stay clear.

    Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Exceeded my expectations and was better than I could have expected for the price. Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The listing says parking, but that does not mean free parking. I’m learning this is normal, can’t really fault them for it. There is parking nearby.

    Very friendly staff, very clean, and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.0
    nice staff good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been a little more varied.

    First stay was good though room dark and toilet under the sink was a little difficult but nice hotel nice staff and situated perfectly for Trevi Fountain and colosseum They exceded expectations with second visit as Booking com cancelled our reservation due to an error with an old credit card but the hotel kept our reservation Our room did not have aircon which they explained was due to be repaired the following day but room 208 was fabulous and modern couldn't have asked for a better room. Would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, even better staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was basic and the aircon could have been more powerful, overall no major complaints.

    Fantastic customer service - always friendly, welcoming and up for a laugh. Great location, 10 minute walk from major tourist locations (Trevi fountain, Colosseum, Pantheon etc). Impeccable bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Perfect location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bad and slow wifi connection, old hotel, breakfast was not really great (egg was green/gray in the middle) and pastries did not fulfill expectations. Road was really loud and had to sleep with earpluggs + the rain was tapping loudly on the airconditioning (luckily it only rained one day).

    Perfect location, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Blanket too thin while air con temperature is not adjustable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blanket too thin while air con temperature is not adjustable; No shelf inside the shower place and I have to kneel down to the floor to get shampoo or body wash

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    i would come back if they had a mirror, iron, and better lighting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lighting in the room is terrible, especially the bathroom, for a women there is no mirror to see how you are dressed for the day, there is no iron in the room, that's a first for me in my travels.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.3
    Don’t waste your money. Unless locations is all that matters to you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in process was slow and not helpful. Website said parking was available and agent said to “just park wherever” eventually he called a parking lot nearby and told me it was full and gave no other suggetions. Found out the lot did have room when we went on our own 2 minutes after the call. The cleanliness of the room was poor and the ac is terrible. Had to move rooms and ended up with double beds. Nothing was done by the agent at the front desk not even an apology. The condition of the room in general, was not remotely what was advertised on booking.com. Complete opposite of what the hotel and rooms looked like. The pictures made it look bright and clean and it was dark and grungy. The carpets in the hallway on the 3rd floor were stained terribly. The breakfast made my boyfriend sick almost immediately. I opted out of breakfast since cleanliness put me off. He said it was laughable what they offered.

    The location is all this hotel has going for it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Stellar location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was small, and the bathroom was tiny. However, for us that was no problem at all.

    The place is very centrally located - it was easy for us to get around to everywhere we wanted to go by foot. The staff members are lovely, and the breakfast was fine - fresh, simple and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Weekend in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could deal with a bit of an upgrade... it is a bit light for the money your are paying.

    The rooms are quite nice. The location of the property is fabulous as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed. If I hadn’t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start???!!! The hotel held no resemblance to the photo on the website. The facilities were non existent. Not even coffee tea making fasilities in our room. Very small rooms that are in desperate need of maintenance. The breakfast was very poor. Very disappointed considering what I paid!!

    The only thing we licked was the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noise because my room is located in the of Main Street full of traffic. I asked the reception to change bed sheets and separate the bed into two. He said he will do when we go out but nothing had happened after we returned from our day touring. Disappointed breakfast food quality.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location, 10 for a location perspective and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old hotel, needs a renovation. Low quality of breakfast , few options, same every day. I's OK if you stay 1-2 days but not more, difficult with small children.

    Great location, 10 for a location perspective and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    3.3
    Great location in terms of sites and places to eat nearby. Rooms are VERY tired!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Better breakfast. We didn't eat after day one and stayed 4 nights! Rooms are very tired and the smell from the bathroom disgusting. Strong sewage smell. We did complain but nothing was done. Floors in room were not cleaned when room was cleaned but the room itself was cleaned daily and towels replaced. A very good shower. Beds were comfortable. Ask for a room facing the courtyard else you are right bang in the middle of traffic and hard to sleep.

    Breakfast was horrible. The 3 of us ended up with stomach upsets having had it the first morning. Boiled eggs overdone and cold. Scrambled eggs were solid. Bread to hard. Only decent thing was the pastries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent 4 bites however on 3rd nite we were not well (viral flu)and had to stay indoors to test before taking our long haul flight to Australia and would have liked to have had a hot kettle facility with some tea/coffee sachets to make some hot water/ tea to soothe our irrating throats and chests On that day some tradieswere drilling/hammering in the adjacent rooms which was noisy and irritating as we were unwell, which was stopped after our objection. It is better to check with guests if they would be in the room during the intended period of work to avoid the noise pollution

    Friendly and ever helpful staff , excellent location, huge and spotless bathrooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Good Location, needs to be updated, not four star worthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently not all rooms have been updated, my room was old and worn out. Breakfast was not up to the standard of a four star hotel.

    Location, close to almost everything perfect if you have limited time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is terrible, the room and bathroom are very very small, there are no any kind of facilities and the property is not in good condition at all

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    We’ll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in heart of tourist area means traffic noise. Sound proof windows helped. Bedroom smaller than we expected but bathroom was huge.

    Location was great! Walking distance to so many amazing sites. No need for taxi or bus. Hotel staff offered advise on where to eat, what to see, directions. Very friendly and helpful! 1 block from best restaurant, Trattoria Melo at Piazza Venezia. Overlooks Trianano Mueseum. My favorite site in Rome. All the history without crowds and street vendors. A must see if you are fascinated by ruins.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location - within walking distance of all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You could hear the noise from the traffic etc. outside from our bedroom however we were so tired after walking all day that we had no problem sleeping.

    Fantastic location - within walking distance of all the major historical sights. Fabulous view from our bedroom. No need to do the bus tour unless you don't like walking. We walked everywhere and saw everything that was on our list. The weather was fantastic so that helped make our visit even better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    This property is very good located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is very good located. You can go by foot to the most important objectives in Rome but the normal room is pretty small and they only provide a small container with shampoo and bath gel (both in one) and a soap bar. The breakfast wad good but poor...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Many of the city’s attractions can be easily reached from...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel’s breakfast could improve I guess in terms of varieties that they can offer. I was disappointed at breakfast on day one, but actually ended up enjoying it better the following days. Perhaps it can offer more foods for vegetarians and fresh foods.

    Many of the city’s attractions can be easily reached from the hotel just by walking. I loved walking around and exploring the city. The staff are all quite friendly and helpful. I normally prefer modern facilities and was kind of surprised to learn that the hotel is quite old and antique. Taking the hotel elevator that can probably fit 3-4 people at most, whose door actually looks like that of a cell (?), was kind of shocking at first, but it was one of the exotic experiences I had while staying in Rome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    4.2
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel room was absolutely filthy and there was a smell of sewerage in the room. Totally different to what it looks like online. Filthy.

    Nothing. The place was filthy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on your site didn’t reflect the actual room. It was very basic. No coffee making facilities. The breakfast wasn’t great either.

    The location was excellent. Friendly staff. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Would definetly return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was lacking a toaster in my opinion and the room was lacking a mirror to get ready in, the only mirror was in the bathroom.

    Great hotel, Staff were brilliant and location was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Small, old style, hotel in excellent and safe location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was basic but you were told that when booking so we were not surprised at this. Plenty of bread, juice and coffee but cooked items were lacking.

    The location was excellent. The hotel was within walking distance of most major attractions in Rome including the Colosseum and Trevi Fountain. We had a deluxe room which was small but very clean. This is not a modern hotel but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay because of the close proximity to the main tourist areas.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in a fantastic position in the city. All the main sights are in easy walking distance. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is basic but still tasty. Our room was modern, clean and tastefully decorated. Fridge in the room also which was handy. Excellent hotel and would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, perfect for those who want to be in the center of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was just ok, satisfying enough but a small selection of food. Some noise from the street and we had problems with locking the bathroom door.

    Great location, amazing staff and a great room for 2 people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Will definitely go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows could have been better. And the WC could have been hotter.

    The location was very good however it could be noisy due to traffic at the same time. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    4.2
    Expensive and bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quality was very bad. Room looked very old and was not smelling good. We asked in the first day to change the room and the difference was significant. Hotel lounge area and restaurant are very poor and small with not many options. Breakfast was really basic without options. We do not recommend the Hotel for the money.

    Location is good (central)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Fab location, stunning hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The blinds do not open in the room so you cannot look out onto the street.

    Stunning hotel. The rooms are small but nice (with a good shower) but the hotel itself is stunning. Very close to all the big attractions, the Vatican is about a 30 minute walk, Trevi fountain 5 minutes and the colosseum about 5 minutes. Breakfast was 8-10am in a lovely room were you could help yourself to coffee/tea/juice, croissants, bread, ham, cheese, cereal and fruit. The front desk is staffed 24/7 and they can sort taxis etc for you. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location in basic hotel. Clean , good but not 4 star by Irish standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms very small. Triple rooms and quad rooms had two single beds but other beds were camp beds or couch beds. The breakfast was fairly basic.

    Excellent location, very central within easy walking distance of centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.3
    Fantastic location for site seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very tired and needs updating. Tiles sharp and dangerous on entering bathroom. Bathroom door didn’t lock properly. Housekeeping didn’t clean around sink area well. Very noisy, poor double glazing

    Fantastic location for site seeing. Reception staff helpful and polite

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.3
    The location for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above Breakfast included but is only average. There's a 24 hour bar but not well stocked- had a very poor glass of red wine!!!! They had also run out of gin!!

    The location for sightseeing. But location also noisy due to heavy traffic. Rooms are not insulated enough to block it out so hard to get a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    I could not believe i was there
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location is so central that you can not expect really great silence from the city, but overall nothing bad

    The location and staff was great: helpful and kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.0
    The hotel was not full that day and we suspected we were given that room intentionally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    But, unfortunately, we were given a room where heavy traffic out the window was heard through night. We had a very bad sleep that night.

    The location is very good, close to everything including sites of historical interest and shopping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Staff and position good, condition of hotel make it over priced., will shop around b4 booking again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired. Decor is scratched and damaged, room fittings are old and damaged. Windows don't close properly causing very noisey rooms on a main road. Cost is based on 4 star, facilities are NOT 4 star.

    Position was great. Staff moved us without fuss when the original room was too noisy. Breakfast was basic but nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Stay here just for the convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very dated and the bed was not comfortable. The bathroom is small and the toilet is half way under the sink. I am a thin girl and I couldn't sit on the toilet. Also they do not have a shower head but just the hand held hose. This made it very hard to wash my hair. Also, you cannot adjust the temperature in the room. The AC is either on or off!

    From the hotel we could walk to many attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly staff, good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to mention

    Location excellent for walking to everything. 24 hour bar and front desk which was one of the reasons for staying as arrived after midnight. Included basic continental breakfast. Arranged driver to airport for 50 Euro fixed rate. Nice renovated bathroom. Excellent room size.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed the stay only problem, its on a main street constant traffic noise for 24 hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No spare plates on the table, eating corn flakes with a teaspoon, then the same spoon you would have to use to stir your tea or coffee, should be a spoon with your cup @ sauser. should be spare cutlery and plates laid out on a table

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Best value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, easy to find it and within walking distance of major must see monuments. The staff was friendly and got from them great recommendations. Breakfast super tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel in a really good location to all the tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Breakfast was basic but still good.

    Fantastic hotel in a really good location to all the tourist attractions in the city. Very friendly staff who are always there to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was just ok, a bit more variety would of made this hotel a 10!

    Perfect location! Styled appropriately for the Rome feeling, very friendly staff would definatly go back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location , but they need better facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no Iron, I cannot possibly comprehend that a 4 star hotel in europe cannot have an Iron. We asked at reception and were told no irons were provided at managements choice. We had to buy new clothes because we couldnt iron our stuff

    staff were lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Hotel could be so much more with a little investment and staff training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late checkout price doubling between asking one member of staff to another. Practically ushered out of the hotel when trying to spend some time in the lobby (as we didn't have a room anymore!) Food was average, rooms were so dated it was embarrassing! Glad we were only there one night!

    Couldn't fault the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too little wardrobe space for 3 people.

    Great location, breakfast was ok. The bread and rolls did not seem freshly baked. No fruit salad or muesli. No tea making facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature of room. The air conditioner was broken for the last 2 days so it was really hot in the room

    Great service. Staff was so nice, great breakfast, room was always serviced

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Good value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning.

    Third time at Traino. Always book because of the location!! It's close to the train station and the main tourist sites, such as Colosseum and Trevo Fountain. Breakfast is always good enough and included. Air conditioner isn't the best. For the summer could be a little colder. Rooms with mini fridge. Staff always polite and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Bring your own fan and mattress pad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning did not cool adequately. We had to buy fans because it was so hot in the rooms. The beds were terrible. They were very, very old, and our box spring was on the floor, and the mattress was so thin you could see and feel the bed springs through it. We had a total of 4 rooms. The beds in the other rooms felt like you were laying on the floor. Very poor quality, and very old mattresses. The safe didn't work in our room, either. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Go for it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy room but is not a disaster. Breakfast could be better. It was a bit boring to have the same food every morning. Lack of vegetables for breakfast.

    Amazing location. Friendly staff. Very clean hotel. Rooms facing the main street can be very noisy though.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.8
    Location is excellent, otherwise a COMPLETE MISS, definitely not 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Breakfast awful: mainly sweet pastries and cakes. Scrambled egg was dry and cold, unpalatable everyday. No sausages, as advertised (stayed 3 nights). It was not bacon, but I don't know what it was. Only had pineapple squash as drink everyday. Only had apples as fruit. No toast - SHOWER BROKEN - room 207 (injured myself as it fell and bruised my ankle). Also had mini floods everyday as shower was not secure. Asked staff to repair it 1st morning, 2nd morning, did not get done; we checked out 3rd morning - Bathroom very small, no storage for so many towels. NO HOOKS or shelf to hang our clean clothes in the bathroom. Put them on a towel ON THE FLOOR - Bathtub basin and toilet tired looking and out-dated - Supplied only shower gel/shampoo and small bar of soap. NO CONDITIONER - I heard another guest complained about fridge not working, staff was disinterested. She asked for chilled water, which was denied. Temperatures during my stay were 31-32 degrees - Quad room: two single beds are foldaway type and of very poor quality - NO MIRROR in the room, but too many in the corridors :( The only mirror is in the bathroom - cannot use that if when someone is shower - Quad room! And then was steamed up - NO IRON; would not give one on request. Per staff > for safety reasons (because this is not an issue in other hotels???) - NO TEA/COFFEE facility in the room - One cupboard with 5 hangers, in a QUAD room IMPORTANT: Please do research on attractions, taxi prices because hotels prices are extortionate. E.g Colosseum tickets offered for Eu33, on-site on Eu12. Hotels taxi to airport Eu53, white Rome taxi = Eu48 OVERALL: I would not choose this hotel or recommend it due to the many faults I have listed. This review has been written the day after my return/check-out

    - Excellent location - Rooms clean - Beautiful foyer - Staff pleasant enough, BUT UNHELPFUL/DISINTERESTED

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Functional, and great location for historical ROME.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound proofing is good but not perfect. We were with friends, and one shower was really inaccessible, as Traiano is a refurbished old hotel not a shiny new one (so don't expect granite shower cubicals), but really, you don't come to Rome for the hotel and this one helps you enjoy Rome.

    Traiano is in such a good place for wandering around on foot both early morning and for dinner at night. "Meet in the lobby" is great for a small group. The Vatican and the Spanish steps are a bit far for walking, but a taxi is easy, and everything else (coliseum, pantheon, Trevi, forum, pallitine,etc) are right there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are VERY small. The breakfast selection is not very extensive...

    Good hotel, great staff. The location is probably the best thing about this hotel. It is next to everything!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location - right in the middle of major attractions,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been a better variety for breakfast. Staff whilst friendly didn't go the extra mile to offer potential tours or routes to see the city. Price was expensive even with discount.

    Great location - right in the middle of major attractions, all within 10-20 minutes of walking. Rooms were lovely and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    Not a 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had 2 single rooms; one bathroom was very small and had no other option to put our toiletries than in the bidet. In the other room the A/C was placed on the floor behind the curtain and looked very dusty and old; did not dare using it. Elevator was not working upon arrival so bellman brought up the suitcase per stairs. Later on it was working, but very old and slow, so more often than not the stairs were still the fastest way to the 3rd floor. We asked for an adapter for the socket, which I think is a normal request in a 4* hotel but were told to buy it outside. The minibar has only 2 bottles of water and nothing else. We asked to assist to find a restaurant which a friend recommended (I had the address) and the first reaction was that he does not know all restaurants, he would know if we would ask him advice in the neighbourhood (after which he then found the street on google maps). I asked to book a taxi for 3.30 am and was told to ask it at night. I asked to settle the bill at 6pm and was told to settle it later (which luckily I did not as he was then busy with other guests when I came back after dinner while my sleeping time until 3 am would get shorter and shorter). I had the impression the receptionist just tried to do as little as possible and referred for everything to "later". I settled 2 rooms at 6pm but the night receptionist at 3.30 am could not find it and claimed I still had to pay 1 room. Not what I am looking for at 3.30 am when I want to leave for the airport. In total I would not rate this a 4* but max 3*. The location is in the middle of metro stations, so it takes a 15 minutes walk to the metro as none of them is close (we knew this before we booked).

    Location was good: walking distance to Colosseum and Via Del Corso shopping street. Room was clean, towels looked new.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding location, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only letdown is breakfast. It's really not good. Which is a pity as we loved everything else. I had just coffee and a pastry and is a good excuse to stop midmorning at a nice coffee shop for a wonderful Italian coffee and something sweet!

    The staff was very attentive and the location is great, absolutely great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Roman Holiday (How original!)
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There might have been something, but right now my mind's a blank.

    Everyone who works at Traiano was wonderful! Very friendly & helpful. Good English spoken. They kindly moved me to a quieter room than the one in front on the very noisy street.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Traveler loves Traiano
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone at front desk, breakfast room, & "bellman" were wonderful. Very happy to help. English very good, too. Would return to Traiano if I ever went back Great location, for Rome, that is.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.3
    Sadly, I liked the location, and the hotel was clean. But, the staff "just answered" queries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were no facilities for hanging things or putting things down in the bathroom. It was very cramped, and though the shower was strong, it was awkward.

    The breakfast selection was really poor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Great staff. Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very poor. But the location and the cleanliness as well as the wonderful staff more than makes up for it. But it's a bit of a shame as it would be easy to improve.

    My father had an accident while traveling in Italy. We had to change departure time and weren't sure when we could get a ticket home. The staff was amazing leaving our reservation open and changing our room to one with easer access and easer to use bathroom (shower with no tub). They were extremely helpful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    Pros & Cons - most likely if I came back to Roma on a budget I'll stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did purchase a single occupincy - however they were really strict told my friend he can only come up a few minutes. Also the older night time guy hit on me - I was drunk and alone so potentially dangerous situation.

    Amazing location / price - I definitely recommend this is you're on a budget but want something waking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    Central location but wasn't the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be a little off hand but that could have been due to language barriers. Breakfast pastries were always dry but other food ok.

    Room comfy but no facilities in room apart from a hairdryer which was old and we had to use a towel to hold as it got too hot. Room was cleaned every day to a high standard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location but very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room walls are paper thin and you can hear everything from the corridor - especially the cleaners shouting in the mornings. If you want a quiet lie-in this is not the hotel for you.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    Hotel Traiano, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant for evening meals would've been nice but, with a good range of local ones within 100m, not a hardship.

    Breakfast was relaxing, filling, with a great selection of food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel. Lovely staff. Would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just be aware that if you are a light sleeper it might be better to request a quiet room as the front bedrooms are on a busy road and there is traffic noise at night. This only bothered us on the first night though.

    The location of this hotel is superb. At this price you probably wouldn't be expecting 5 star faciities or comforts. However, the staff are superb and you will be right in the middle of the historic quarter. The breakfast is fine and enables you to fill up for the day. Mostly continental items and omlettes, bacon and a range of pastries. This is a spotlessly clean hotel and you can have a full change of towels and bedding every day if you require. I would definitely return and highly recommend this low to middle budget hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    Great Stay in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too warm for the season and opening the window was noisy due to the busy road below.

    Proximity to the center of Rome, and the friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.1
    Location, Location, Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is old and would really use a reconstruction. Our bad was extremely soft and not really comfortable. Breakfast is very very basic but it is enough to kill the hunger at the morning and have some delicious pasta outside. I booked this hotel with 50% off from regular price so I was satisfied because location is juts perfect but if I would pay the whole price I wouldn't be this kind at all. It really needs improvements then it will be nice hotel. BTW: plastic cups at the breakfast buffet and in the room at 4* hotel? Really? Funny.

    The location is just perfect! Lots of restaurants around the hotel. Very close to the Victor Emanuel monument and Colosseum. Employees of the hotel were extremely helpful and helped us with everything what we needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a bar, but wasn't open while we were there :(

    The hotel is located 2 minutes away from Piazza Venezia, close to all touristic objectives. The staff was really nice and helpfull. I strongly recommend this place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.5
    The location was fantastic, close to many of the attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron or ironing board in the room and was told "absolutely not" when we asked if he hotel had one we could use. No complemntary tea or coffee in the room which was a surprise for a 4* hotel.

    The location was fantastic, close to many of the attractions. Trevi fountain, Pantheon, colosseum and roman forum to name a few. Reception staff were friendly and very talkative.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Traiano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: