Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4 stars

Via V. Veneto 1, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#32 of 77 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 513 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is old and could use a little sprucing up....bedspreads, furniture in lobby, etc. Breakfast could use improvement (although coffee was amazing).

    Great location, lovely grounds with garden near property, not right on top of the street, as many hotels are....grand old hotel. Lovely restaurant (only had breakfast there) overlooking the sea - spectacular view. Surrounded by 2 parks. Had relatively easy parking. You are in the middle of everything and yet have privacy. You are a 1-5 minute walk from great restaurants. Staff was extremely helpful and helped direct us with maps, advice, etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Will recommend to friends and stay at the lovely Tramontano if we are ever in Sorrento again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue for us was having the bedroom upstairs and the bathroom downstairs. We are in our 70’s so have concerns about falling in the night. Also having a night light for illumination would be a nice feature.

    We really liked our accommodations. There was so much room—and on two levels! Having adjoining toilet facilities was a bonus. The staff was super helpful, friendly and professional. We also liked being so close to city center. And of course, the view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius from our balcony was breathtaking!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely loved our stay and will be back next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved this hotel and will be back to stay for a week. The hotel reception staff were so lovely and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and the old glamour of the hotel just surreal. We spent a lot of time in the pool and down at the pontoon. The bar had breathtaking views of the sea. Loved our stay and will be back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    The whole stay and experience was absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The whole stay and experience was absolutely amazing! It was our honeymoon. We got upgraded . The staff were amazing! We ended up eating in the hotel restaurant 3 nights out of 4! Can not recommend enough .... I am looking at going back already

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn’t stay here again. Hotel reminded me of Blackpool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were polite but didn’t make you feel welcome. Was extremely noisy from the room. Breakfast was awful, the food was horrible. Cooked breakfast wasn’t good, ‘fruit juices’ were like squash instead of fresh, cakes were from a packet. The room was decor was dated. Couldn’t sit by the pool for long as the fumes from the cars and bikes were very strong and the pool backs onto the road. Didn’t run an airport shuttle?!! Or if they did, when we asked they didn’t offer it to us and told us to get the train. Mosquitoes in the room.

    There was a view of the sea. Was right in the middle of sorrento town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful base from which to explore Sorrento, Capri, the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, Hurcleaeum etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing to complain about at all.

    This is a traditional hotel with spacious rooms and public areas, very high standards of cleanliness, extremely attentive staff, and excellent cuisine. Sorrento does not have a beach as such, the hotel is perched on the top of the cliffs overlooking the Bay of Naples with beautiful views. It is very close to the town centre, and the station (for Pompeii, Hurcleaneum etc) and harbour (for Capri, Amalfi etc) are a short walk away. The local roads are extremely congested - we did all our trips by train or boat. Don't bother trying to go by road to the Amalfi Coast!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Bellisso
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were very dated

    Perfect location for access to the lido and town! Fabulous gardens gave it an away from it all feel and it was central to everything !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    Left with a bad taste
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My rental car was scratched on their property and they didn’t want to take any responsibility. The first thing the front desk (guy name Romano) said is that there’s nothing they can do about it. After insisting, they said they will talk to their insurance company and be in touch shortly providing me with some confirmation that it was their fault. This way I have something to show the rental company. Didn’t hear from them by now (5 days) and it was impossible to get ahold of Romano. I was left with the extra bill of the rental car and a bad taste. Will not go back to this one.

    Located in the center of Sorrento, everything is accessible and the view was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Not worth anything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The breakfast is too bad and the country of Italian cuisine is asymmetrical, like a small hotel.

    Hotel location is very good, staff service is very good. The hotel is old, the breakfast is too bad and the country of Italian cuisine is asymmetrical, like a small hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Fab place to stay in Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only able to stay there 2 days as couldn't afford to stay longer!

    Everything - opulent decor, friendly helpful staff, spacious room, good breakfast, great location, spotlessly clean. Would love to come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    A great location but take plenty of cash!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom upstairs...not great if you go to the loo a couple of times in the night like me! 😩 Perfect for couples but the area is not so great for kids in my opinion.

    Great location but super expensive for what you get but perhaps that’s just Italy for you. Staff were fantastic 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Expensive , hard beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very hard. Expensive rooms, would not stay there again.

    Great location, right in the heart of Sorrento and overlooking the cliffs and port. Breakfast room and balcony have a great view. Old, dated hotel. They should put brighter lights in the hallways

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely loved this hotel! Staying here really made our time in Sorrento so special. The fabulous location, the friendly and helpful staff, the beautiful view, great facilities, superb breakfast and the cleanliness all contributed to one great holiday!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole place seems like it needs a bit of TLC. For a 4* hotel, there were elements that seemed dated.

    The hotel is in a fantastic location and boasts some gorgeous views. The pool area is lovely and didn't seem overcrowded despite us holidaying at peak season. The majority of the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came to pay for the hotel at the end of our stay the total we booked it for had gone up because of the exchange rate? so we ended up paying an extra £68 on top of what we booked it for on booking.com and unpleasant surprise indeed

    We loved the view of Vesuvius and the coast, the sunset every night from our balcony was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not the best we had in our tour of Italy. Lack of facilities when you are departing early evening especially during the hot summer months. Highly overpriced food and drink during the day at the pool. So much cheaper to go out for lunch in the town.

    Good location. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is a concession run by a company underneath the hotel. Hotel guests were allowed to use the 'limited' beach free of charge but had to pay for beds and umbrellas. I thought this was a bit disappointing given the quality and price of the hotel.

    Hotel was fabulous and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Superb location in the heart of the action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sensational location in the heart of Sorrento. Classic Italian hotel. Coudl be argued it is a little old-fashioned, but that is the charm it enjoys. Greta staff, very accomodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. Reasonably priced, hence large numbers at times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast adequate but sometimes a fight to get a table with a view.

    Large room, comfy beds, excellent large toilet with shower and jacuzzi. Pleasant, helpful staff. Good position with views over the sea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    A great trip that will be remembered!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very pedantic... but a coffee machine in the room would have been wonderful for a quiet cup in the morning whilst savouring the view!!

    Loved the location, the Tasso Bar and it's amazing views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Could have been excellent without the unnecessary discomfort over breakfast!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was questioned at breakfast over the amount of coffee I requested, on two separate days I was asked for my room number after I ordered 3 double espresso's (not all at the same time but in the same sitting, I tried to order a triple espresso but they bought me a cup with 3 double espressos in it!!) I was not impressed by how that made me feel as breakfast was included in the room price and I have stayed in other hotels that offer free breakfast and never been questioned, I still don't understand why I was asked for my room number as I asked the waiter at the time if there was a charge and he said no but they needed to log how many coffees were served??? The peach my wife had on our last day had mouldy fur on the outside and tasted off and another guest also returned her peach!! Fresh fruit (the clue is in the name)

    The restaurant serves very good food at very reasonable prices, we booked and ate on our first night and were very impressed, quite a few added extras during the meal too. The room was very nice with a good outlook and there is a lift that takes you down to the promenade, if you like to swim or eat or you need to catch the ferry it is 5 minutes walk to the port from the lift.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    There was a problem with the shower in our room and when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a problem with the shower in our room and when we mentioned it to the manager we were upgraded to a fabulous suite. The standard of service and courtesy of staff was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location and beach view. Don’t use their transfer from the airport, too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not buy the airport-hotel transfer with the hotel. It’s extremely expensive compare with other local agencies and needed to pay cash.

    Great location, espectacular view from the breakfast cafeteria room. Pool with a nice terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    An amazing, memorable three days spent in great comfort and style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    Our room was extremely comfortable and well decorated, with a lovely, large balcony overlooking the bay. We both loved our bathroom, with its large marble bath. We ate in the restauant on our first evening and enjoyed the food and restaurant surroundings very much. The hotel sits in beautiful gardens filled with trees and colourful flower beds - a real oasis when you drive in from the busy street. There are lots of shady spots to sit and relax, also many sunbeds and a nice pool. Overall, we had a wonderful three day stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Great stay as idyllic location and setting; but a bit pricey for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV did not work. We only turned it on on day 3! Then hotel electrician was helpful but it took a couple of hours to fix, and was not perfectly fixed. That was annoying! These facilities should just work.

    The location is great, right on the beach. You get to see the sunset from your balcony (see view rooms only). Also right close to shops and restaurants, so you can pop in and out for lunch, clothing alterations,?etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Amazing stay and no hesitation in recommending this hotel - we will return ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Fabulous hotel in the Grand Tour of Europe tradition with gorgeous gardens, huge rooms, high ceilings and amazing view of the gulf of Naples but with all the modernisation needed, such as air-conditioning, modern bathrooms and lovely pool and pool bar area. It is central located, yet very quiet in its own grounds, was spotlessly clean and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Breakfast was delicious and you sit watching all the boats come and go in the marina below, with the same vista in the hotel bar in the evening, compete with sunset! We visited some of the more modern 5 star hotels during our stay and the Tramontana easily won any comparisons.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location, great staff and lovely terrace with fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was small with no outdoor space, though the view was good, we could not really enjoy it from the room. Breakfast was mediocre at best.

    The staff were friendly and efficient, the location was fab and the hotel lovely with a great terrace and nice pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay and will definitely go back due to the staff, they couldn’t do enough for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our blackout curtains didn’t quite fit the window so the morning sun woke us early.

    Wonderful friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful traditional building and fabulously central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    We’ve been to Italy twice now, and finally found our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’ve been to Italy twice now, and finally found our favorite place. We left our AirBNB in Positano to stay at Imperial Hotel Tramontano. Get a sea-view room!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and location. I look forward to a future stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found it ridiculous we were not able to get an adequate amount of ice to chill a bottle of wine. We had a nice terrace and wanted to have a glass of wine, relax and enjoy the view. When we asked for ice/ice machine, we were told it was for the bar, and were given a small baggie of ice. Other guests had the same complaint. We felt uncomfortable asking for more ice. A hotel of this caliber should be more than able to install an ice machine for guests.

    Excellent Breakfast, great wait staff at breakfast. Comfortable room. Good location, easy to get anywhere walking. The pier was a great place to enjoy the sun, the view and to relax. There was a small beach area, also nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    We loved the staff , the rooms, and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For our personal taste, the beds could have been a little softer.

    We loved the staff , the rooms, and the location. We look forward to coming back and recommend it to anyone staying in Sorrento.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Sorrento stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was so small I could barely move in it. The room also was not overly large but was sufficient dor my requirements. The only thing that justified the peice was the location and the view.

    The location was amazing and very convenient as I was walking everywhere but the viewwas stunning, with the ocean right outside my balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    SPEND YOUR MONEY ELSEWHERE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room amenities are sparse. No coffee maker or hot pot. AC loud and clunky. Difficult to operate. Showers unable to hold water in and create a watery mess. Some staff are rude and unhelpful. Can't be bothered.

    The view and proximity to attractions in Sorrento. The room had an excellent view of the sea. The hotel is a short stroll to the city center, restaurants and transportation. The breakfast offerings are decent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Outstanding and wonderful, Sorrento is the place to visit and Hotel Tramontano is perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to pay to be by the sea. Between €24 and €36, per couple for a Sun lounger each and 1 umbrella. It was worth it though. So beautiful down by the sea and again we received wonderful service. And that charge is for a full day.

    Room was very large. Beautiful sea views. Lovely amenities. Staff were wonderful. Breakfast was top class service. Hotel was perfectly located to easily walk into town, but also have quiet at night. We didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a superior garden room which was clean and comfy but bathroom was very small and not up to superior standard in my opinion. But it was clean.

    Hotel was exactly how it looked in the photos. Grounds were lovely and nice pool area. Right in the centre of Sorrento. Lovely views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    I would not look forward to staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was much too tight and the bed extremely hard. The breakfast was lacking, no omelet station or waffles or pancakes.

    The bar staff are very friendly and accommodating. The view is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Amazing place to stay. Beautiful location overlooking the beach. Large room with terrace. Friendly staff. Excellent varied breakfast. Within walking distance of all major sites in Sorrento. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Trivially, service in both bar areas just a tad slow at times. Nothing to not like at this hotel.

    A wonderful hotel. A sea of tranquillity in the centre of busy Sorrento. Beautiful rooms, views over the Bay of Naples, excellent staff. lovely gardens, great pool. Stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice breakfast with great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More staff attention would be appreciated. The escalator from the beach level to the hotel was "out of order". Had to pay for the municipal elevators to come up to hotel level. It doesn't look this hotel elevator can run its service soon as indicated.

    Nice breakfast with great view. Not our first visit to Sorrento, we chose the hotel because of its proximity to town centre and Marina Grande, and availability of room for 3.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location with a good range of facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good selection of continental breakfast items, however the selection of hot food was limited and was always cold. Soft drinks from the bar were expensive, however the wine was reasonably priced. As usual the room mini bar prices were high. Turn down service each night with new towels supplied, however some nights for some reason this did not happen, which was annoying when we had lots of wet towels.

    Excellent location, with restaurants and facilties right on the door step. Lift to the beach and harbour just a short walk away. Pool area very good and not particulary busy. We had a room with balcony with sea view which was ideal for relaxing on and watching the sunsets and the ever changing views. Worth paying extra for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay but slightly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what we paid the room was on the small side. As there is a piece of the hotel jutting out further than other parts of the hotel, it meant we could not see the cliffs on both sides so the view was not as good as we have had at other hotels. The shower was extremely small. The pool, pool bar and gardens are all at the front of the hotel so again no views from these.

    The restaurant was first class, the staff were all exceedingly friendly and courteous and the food was excellent. The location is good being in the centre of Sorrento. Breakfasts were good with a good selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful views, great building with character that could profit from a gentle rejuvenation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room service was a bit chaotic. Most days something was missing, one room came with bath gowns, the other initially without, one day the toilet paper was missing, the next day towels etc. All this was always promptly corrected after a call to the reception. However, these essentials should be present without the guests getting involved. With the old school charm came the fact that some furniture and bathroom fittings appeared a bit worn.

    Hotel with an outstanding view. Especially from the breakfast room. Very nice garden, interesting building with a history. The location is hard to beat. Very helpful staff. The rooms are nice and the whole building has a lovely old school charm. Agatha Christie's characters wouldn't be out of place, or time, in the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    We booked a deluxe room with sea view and were given a suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast (included) was a little erratic: the fresh fruit and cooked breakfast was there but replenishing it was not always seamless. Bearing in mind the absolutely brilliant selection of home made bread at dinner, the bread at breakfast was rather surprisingly ordinary and disappointing.

    We booked a deluxe room with sea view and were given a suite. The room was excellent and properly serviced as were the views. The staff were uniformly welcoming and accommodating. The dinners were excellent. The breakfast buffet could have been better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Just absolutely gorgeous hotel, was a wonderful stay, would’ve liked many more days here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    This place is beautiful, magical, and romantic. We had a beautiful view of the water, cliff side, beaches below, and Mt. Vesuvius. I definitely want to come back here again. The breakfast and service is amazing at this hotel, very friendly and helpful for any needs that you might have.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    This Hotel is amongst the most beautiful I have stayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This Hotel is amongst the most beautiful I have stayed in for the three years I have lived in Italy. From the drawing rooms, restaurant, gardens... I will stay only here when in sorrento.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Great time had but hotel disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought our room was not worth the price paid, furniture was tired looking and basic, floor tiles chipped, room could do with updating and modernising

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Quality old-style hotel in the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Old furniture.

    The location of this hotel is ideal - on the waterfront with superb sea views but close to the hub of Sorrento. A big plus is the availability of car parking. The staff are approachable and friendly. Not sure on the volume of chocolate and cake for breakfast, but I suppose that is probably the Italian way. Loved the hotel veranda overlooking the sea and across to Naples.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay in Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was all good

    I love this Hotel, I stayed before many years ago but it has the charm of a different age about it compared to other hotels. The staff are very friendly and helpful, next time in Sorrento I will be staying there again...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    A nice place to stay and good value, with better music and breakfast it would be a winner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The music across the hotel is terrible! Cheap internet pop radio everywhere, they could do much better here. The breakfast is tired and underwhelming. Coffee is fine, but cold fried eggs, poor quality ham, poor choice of cereals.

    The hotel is nicely position and spacious with terrific views. It is not fancy and luxurious but perfectly comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    We cannot wait to return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was brilliant including the weather, sitting on the balcony topping up our tans in November, perfect!

    We stayed in rooms 309 and 310, both have a balcony which overlooks the pool and gardens. Fantastic size rooms which are clean, quiet and very comfortable twin (310) and double beds (309). The hotel is stunningly beautiful and the staff are incredibly attentive. The views whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch and dinner are amazing. Similarly, sitting in the bar terrace sipping cocktails and gazing across the bay is equally enchanting. Everything is a very short stroll away and would recommend the walk into town, Marina Grande and down to the harbour.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Loved our stay and highly recommend this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the beautiful views of the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius. Lovely garden and a terrific staff. The ability to walk around the town and be out and about with such ease. Loved our stay and love Sorrento!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Our four nights at Hotel Tramontano were great. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The hotel and grounds are beautiful! The staff is so friendly and helpful. The rooms with sea view are great. Breakfasts were delicious. The bar and terrace have beautiful views of bay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls between the hotel rooms are very thin. Unfortunately, I was able to hear someone snore all night. In the morning they were coughing. I was surprised to experience this in such a nice hotel.

    This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of Sorrento. We were welcomed by a friendly and professional staff. Also, the furnishings and décor are beautiful. This hotel is located on the coast of Sorrento with beautiful views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing and over-priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome from the receptionist (male) was robotic, indeed almost frosty - he did not look us in the eye, and a smile never appeared on his face; the bed was uncomfortable, as were the pillows; the door on the separate shower did not close properly; the hairdryer was old fashioned and was not fit for purpose for my hair; although the hotel is 4-star and very much for tourists, the attitude from some of the staff was rather arrogant.

    The porter who parked our car (unfortunately I did not take his name); Alessandro who was the waiter in the poolside restaurant in the evening (he and the porter were the saving graces of the hotel); the size of the room was good, with a part-partition between the bedroom area and the lounge area; view from our very private balcony towards Naples and Vesuvius; there was a socket near a mirror in the bedroom so that I could plug in my own hairdryer; the breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing

    Beautiful hotel with glorious grounds. We had a room overlooking the bay of Naples with unhindered view of Vesuvius. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was fantastic. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.8
    Expensive and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel needs money spending on it. The rooms and bathrooms are tired and falling apart. I would not stay here again. It was also expensive.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.8
    Lovely stay with a great and cozy spot to explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge was not the friendliest for asking questions. And the hotel could use some updates for the cost.

    Loved the location and view. Ideal for camping out in Sorrento. Great breakfast with superb service and our room was huge (junior suite)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Totally enjoyable............the best part of Sorrento!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO NEGATIVES FROM ME

    This was one of the all time GREAT hotels and staff...........all 3 greeting you with a smile, a wave....friendly and helpful. The view is awesome.........watch the world go by from the bar area AND our bedroom................not a 4 or 5 star, but a 10 star ....FOR SURE!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    We felt transported to a more elegant age, full of culture and beauty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't enjoy going to the sea area as much as I wanted to as it's separate from the hotel and run by a private setup who weren't particularly friendly. It's such a shame as the sea location was beautiful.

    The hotel AND the staff were excellent. I can't praise them enough. The facilities were excellent. Our room was stunning with excellent views across the garden and pool. The pool was gorgeous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely perfect active holiday to escape job!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like to visit hotels that have gyms (no gym at the hotel). But there are great places to run in the area if you're looking for an active holiday you won't need a gym.

    The staff are helpful, friendly and kind. The hotel has an old fashioned and authentic ambiance. The rooms are quiet and clean. The location is sensational and the views are incredible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.4
    Really enjoyed it..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place but the bed was like sleeping on the floor it's the only complaint and also book your trips outside the hotel so much cheaper to Pompeii etc...

    Amazing views and stunning hotel in a great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    A fantastic central hotel, close to beaches, shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was a little small and the bed was a little firm.

    This hotel was in the perfect position, located near the beach & a one minute walk to be in amongst the markets & restaurants. It has a private lift going down to the beach and the staff were fantastic, very friendly & helpful with any requests. They even weighed our luggage on the kitchen scales for us before we left. The rooms are a little on the small side & the bed was very firm, but to make up for that - we had a beautiful ocean view and to be honest, there is just so much to do that you do not spend a lot of time in your room. We had a great stay and will definitely book this hotel again. I was originally looking at booking a hotel in Amalfi or Positano, but after staying in Sorrento, this would be my first choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    We stayed for a week at this hotel , great location plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was outstanding the staff were very friendly and helpful , our room was a good size with a amazing view of the sea. Plenty of options for breakfast to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.0
    I am sure there are nicer hotels in the area, with friendly reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, took forever every morning to bring coffee or tea, gave up, bathroom was awful and smelt moldy, no window or extracter fan, asked if any other rooms, told no by not very friendly reception staff 😞Traffic noise whilst sitting at pool annoying, disgusting toilet at pool side.

    Pool, location, sitting area, view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Loved using this location as a base for the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dated and they have the hardest beds on the planet

    The view from our balcony, the view from the restaurants and the location is perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location but is a bit dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a bit dated and in need of some love and attention. We went at peak season so did not think we got the quality we paid for.

    Loved the location, service, breakfast and the views from the bar!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is quite run down. The furniture is more for 3 star hotel. The room was disappointing.Front desk were polite but no customer service.Over priced for what it offers.

    Location and gardens .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Another lovely stay at the charming and welcoming Tramontano!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maids were a bit in a rush cleaning the bathroom and knocking over bottles and contact lens liquids. It is very noisy early in the morning when all the maids loaded up their carts outside my door on the 3rd floor. A family next door seemed to be completely oblivious to how loud they were and the fact it was disturbing others, but the concierge dealt with it.

    This was my third or fourth visit as the staff are wonderful, from the Concierge to the breakfast staff to the fellow working very hard at the pool area. The hotel is a mix of luxury and shabby chic, which translates into comfort. And the location is terrific.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    3.8
    this place needs to be refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not even hence very uncomfortable. The bed frame fell apart and needed repair. The toilet seat needed to be replaced. In the drawers was a rubber window seal left. We threw it out. Management did not respond to our complaints.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.0
    Won't be back not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where very un helpful very rude in the restaurant when I got to the room it had ear buds under the bed and air conditioning was broken

    The pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Breath taking, friendly and fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wish the pool was open later

    The room was amazing, clean and large. The staff was very friendly and the view was breath taking. We wish we could have stayed longer. We would rebook in a heart beat. The pool was great and the lift to the beach was very nice to have, easy way to get to the beach. Shopping, restaurants all within walking distance less than 5 Mins. Felt safe to walk at night and there was an amazing fishing village within 10 Mins.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Stunning. Perfect girlie holiday for me and my 16 year old daughter. Classy. Elegant. Cultural.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool. No sea view from pool. Very very hot around the pool. But this is only a small negative. We only went to the pool at the end of the day for the last hour or two.

    Amazing sea view. Brilliant location. 1 minute walk to the fabulous old part of town. Close to fabulous bars and restaurants. Excellent concierge. Steeped in history. Tasteful. Elegant. Beautiful decor. Gorgeous terrace. Faultless. Best holiday I've stayed in during recent years.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    What a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no gym or spa in the hotel. Also, the beach was not what we expected - at a busy time of year the beach was noisy and packed with chairs all in a chain, with everyone on top of you. It is run by a restaurant who charge a bomb for chairs and an umbrella, although hotel guests do get a small discount. The hotel lift to the beach does not work between 2-4 which were just the hours we wanted to use it.

    This beautiful manor house sits on the cliff overlooking the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, just a very short walk to the many shops and restaurants. The Hotel has a genteel pace with grand furnishings and the staff are only too willing to help you. The beautiful gardens greet you as you walk into the grounds and the pool area is a dream.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Traditional Italian hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are quite old-fashioned for the price you pay, you're really paying for the location.

    The location of the hotel was great, central to the piazza and the marina. The beds were also really comfortable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Great wedding celebration long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Tramontano is a very traditionally and splendid decorated Hotel with a history of famous poets. The staff is five star and very helpful. The hotel has also a beautiful swimming pool and access via elevator to the marina beach. The hotel is located directly at the cost and has a sensatual view along the cost line of sorrent. Restaurants, Shops and Bars are close by and very romantic dinner is recommendable at Sorrent Grand Harbour left side of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: