Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tripoli 3 stars

Piazza Matteotti 18, 25015 Desenzano del Garda, Italy

#29 of 39 hotels in Desenzano del Garda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 311 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Friday night party scene nearby was a bit robust and noisy. Luckily we could shut out most of it, and got a good night’s sleep.

    We wanted a hotel that was near the water and the center of town. This place fit the bill perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no negatives.

    Great location, opposite the ferry terminals, professionally run by management couple who went beyond to ensure a welcoming stay. The room was clean and spacious with the view to Lake Garda as described. The cafes below added to the atmosphere, and all closed around 11pm. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pity I didn't get a waterfront view

    The location was excellent. Close to the waterfront, cafe's, bars and restaurants. The staff were friendly and the room and wifi was good. Although parking was not available on site vouchers were available for an underground parking facility a short walk away at 10 Euros per day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street noise can be heard slightly even though windows are double glazed. It wasn't a big issue for us. Lift was small, our light pushchair just about fit.

    Location couldn't be better, right in front of lake and ferry boats. Room was clean and staff very friendly. Wifi was very good as well. Good selection for breakfast and excellent coffee in cosy cafeteria.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some street noise can still be heard even though windows are double glazed but it wasn't much of an issue for us.

    Location couldn't be better, right in front of lake and ferry boats. Room was clean and staff very friendly. Wifi was very good as well. Great selection for breakfast in cosy cafeteria.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst problem for me was the noise coming from a bar next doors. You would hear loud noises, singing and music until 2-3 am. So despite a beautiful waterfront location with lovely surroundings of buildings, shops and restaurants, the sleep deprived nights are a no no for me. I wish the hotel would do something about it because it really spoils a stay in what is otherwise a great hotel in its price and star range. I would also like the hotel to add sheer curtains to the windows as the room l stayed in had none and people on the street could see straight into the bathroom! P.S. It is a small hotel and it doesnt have space for childrens corner or anything like that but travelling with 18 month old daughter we were ok without it. Also the lift is tiny so be aware you can only fit small suitcases in it.

    Friendly and helpful staff assisting you with parking and leisure activities. Easy payment with the card at the checkout. Breakfast was tasty, continental also with fruit, ham and cheese, great coffee. The hotel is very clean and rooms are furnished in a nice style, with lots of space to store your items. The hotel area is accessible to get around with pram.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom trash can lid did not work. Wished parking would have been included.

    Great view from our rooms view point. Loved the balcony outside our room. Free breakfast was awesome. Staff very friendly. Great bathroom with nice big towels. The bar drinks were good and fairly priced. Everyone spoke some English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy at night. Next to the hotel are several cafès and when they close at around 2.00 a.m. they start bringing the glas to the containers... very noisy... so no entire night of rest.

    Interior and everything was nicely modern and very appealing. Staff was friendly and everything was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just 50% of the lights in the bathroom were functioning at arrival and nothing was exchanged during the stay, even if indicated the first day. Hotel parking lot is at the other side of the city center (8 min to walk)

    The location is right in the frontline (seaside) of the harbour road with 5min connection to the complete tiny little city center of Desenzano del Garda. Over 50 bars and restaurants are available in this area with all kinds of food. Excellent WLAN connection in the rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was SO small! Nowhere to put anything in the bathroom, not even a towel rail. We had a room down the side of the hotel and every morning (late morning) we were woken by the sound of the bins being emptied. Average at best.

    Bed was really comfy and room interior modern. Location is the best thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quadruple room was spacious and very comfortable with a fabulous view over the lake. The bathroom was also attractive and roomy,essential when travelling with teenagers. It's has a very pretty exterior and its location is unbeatable overlooking the lake and opposite the ferry quay and ticket office. We arrived at Desenzano train station and reached the hotel in under 10 minutes. It's in the heart of town, next to a lovely selection of restaurants and shops and yet quiet an peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lake view, breakfast finished by 11

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was outstanding. Staff friendly and helpful. Very central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was really bad, got my car towed away from car park. No signs up when I parked. Was a market day on the Tuesday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes bit of noise at night from bar outside, but not intrusive.

    Site, staff. Pleasant breakfast area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was 15 minute walk away

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness, broken items in bathroom

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location , coffee excellent , staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave

    The breakfast is one of my favorites I have had in all Italy and the rooms are comfy, fresh and clean !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room but that's not what we paid for

    Great central location, staff were really polite and friendly, good breakfast selection

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location easy access

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small tv

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The park is far from hotel and not free - Room telephone didn't work - Cloth washing service is very expensive

    + The location is very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is quite basic, no vegetables/eggs/warm food

    great locality, great town, in the old centre, near the castle and marina

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. A small hotel, but very well run

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast had limited options. Water pressure was low in the shower. The staff did not have much English. A bottle of water was €1.50 in the morning and they staff tried to charge €2.00 a couple of hours later.

    the location was excellent but beware the square is busy so you may need earplugs on the weekend if you have an early trip planned the next day.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The down-side to being right next to the harbour and lake was the noise level some nights from nearby bars.

    We had the junior suite which faced the lakeside harbour where the ferries leave for other Lake Garda resorts. The view was stunning and there was a lively feel to the resort. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room (most unusual abroad) and the room was very spacious, light, comfortable with spacious bathroom, large walk in shower and large wardrobe.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noise, especially on Wednesday's (white nights from June to September), but there is always earplugs.

    The location is perfect for travelling to other parts of the lake, Verona and Milan. The staff were so helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy as right on the square- music till gone midnight. Despite having Apple devices man on reception said he didn't have an Apple charger we could borrow- I know we shouldn't have forgotten ours but a bit poor

    Clean and mostly friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There are noisy bars/nightclubs in area and often noise went on into early hours. Air conditioning not functioning until 20th May so had to have windows open hence noise issues.

    Good breakfasts and excellent staff

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Young People who visit the area and abuse the bars and late hours with noise and bottle breaking in the early hours... Certainly not the hotel's fault, as my overall stay was lovely...

    Friendly staff. Nice large room with up to date bathroom/shower.. Great location so close to shops, restaurants, bars and the Ferry ... Anything that is happening is happening in that Piazza....

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has rooms which are renovate and rooms which are very old with very very dirty carpet. I do not recomend old rooms!!!

    Location

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff not really interested in clients ... I felt there was no friendly communication .....

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They have only cold breakfast, and the same

    Location, view, rooms

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Right opposite ferry port. Great for getting around lake. An abundance of good restaurants within steps.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was lovely.The location was perfect.The bar outside was so great to sit at.The staff were really helpful as our luggage was delayed by 36 hours.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothng

    It's a lovely hotel and a great location and had everything in it

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Well situated

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything but location

    Location

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: