Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avola Antica

C.da Avola Antica, 96010 Avola, Italy

#3 of 10 hotels in Avola

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 157 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff and location wonderful. Would love to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Been useful to have a dressing table - with surface to put things on and some draws. But that's being picky.

    Proprietor and all staff could not be faulted. So keen for everyone to have a wonderful holiday. Ambience of the place was perfect. Views stunning - made drive up worthwhile. Really comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Great views across southern Sicily towards the sea with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was typically Italian (ie not much and quite light), however, being in the middle of nowhere has it's drawbacks, including the 20 min drive up the steep escarpment to the plateau including some of the most terrifying hairpin bends.

    Great views across southern Sicily towards the sea with a wonderful ambience thanks to the warm welcome from the owner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Strongly recommend, would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have good directions to find the place, that could be easily rectified and it was certainly well worth finding.

    Agri-tourism at its best. Rooms converted barns, basic luxury. Food home cooked and plentiful. Swimming pool a good size and though chilly (end April) a welcome experience in stunning olive grove location. Walking and nature on doorstep. Views from terrace superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    This is a great family run guest house with excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great family run guest house with excellent facilities including a swimming pool. The house is perched on top of a mountain overlooking the sea. There are great walks close by and the meals were had were really nice. The lady who owns the place was very helpful and if anyone is thinking of having a holiday in Sicily you must stay here!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    This was our second stay at Avola Antica, and we will surely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our second stay at Avola Antica, and we will surely return again and again! Piera treats everyone like family; the food is exquisite and the views and peacefulness are incomparable to any other place we've visited. The perfect venue to spend a few days away from it all

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Perfect place of a quiet discovery of eastern Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The swimming pool is beautiful but be careful: lots of wasps !

    The view: from this secluded, top of the fill location, you will have a one-of-its-kind view of the entire region, don't miss ! The service: staff is extremely friendly and accommodating The diner: as the place is quite remote, we chose to have diner the first night there...and everything was so good that we stayed in every night, since it was only Sicilian specialities, all cooked perfectly The peacefulness: not a sound (except for cicadas :)), perfect for relaxing !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    For the perfect stay out of the way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything was perfect with my stay, I could not have asked for anything more. Food, comfort, facilities, pool. Nothing could be faulted. My wife and I will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on line info said there would be a mini bar which would have been really useful to keep drinks cool but there was wasn't one There was supposed to be bathrobes, which there were not, but that didn't bother us Whilst the food was good, it started late circa 8.30 to 9.00pm and service was sometimes very slow

    Amazing shower Comfy beds Great food Breathtaking views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no any negatives. Only what we missed, the fridge from the room.

    Nice and quite place for a relax holiday. The owner was really helpfull. The view was amaizing, You are far from the city,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved everything.

    The beautiful pool, amazing view and the friendly and helpful staff. Our flight was delayed and we were so stressed because it was so late, but the owner of the hotel stayed awake until 3:30 am to welcome us and she couldn't have been friendlier.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    A great place to chill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. We got off to a bad start - our own fault as we turned up when no-one was in as we had forgotted to give an arrival time. We were then given the wrong room as the lady could not speak English but this was quickly sorted by the host.

    We loved the location. We could see Avola and Noto from up there and of course the sea! The food was excellent each night and the host could not do enough for us. The pool is lovely and the quietness amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Excellent and unusual hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not exactly a criticism , but do be prepared for a 20 minute drive from the main road to the property, consisting on some 42 hairpin bends going quite steeply up the mountain. The road is good, but watch for meeting a vehicle coming the opposite way, on a hairpin bend where you need to use the whole width of the road to navigate the corners.. Having said that, the view of the coastline of Sicily from the property is breathtaking and well worth the effort.

    Pierra was the nicest, friendliest hostess you could wish for. Extremely attentive to our every need. The evening meals were always different and delightful, and built around our personal preferences. I can't speak too highly of our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Wow. Stay there - you won't be disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first 'Avola Antica' sign is faded and is easily missed.

    Absolutely everything. Great views. Really helpful staff. The meals were excellent. Very comfortable bed. Quiet location. The pool. Very good value for money. And.....yes if you have read the reviews, there is a very windy road up to Avola Antica, but the roads are newly tarmaced, with crash barriers all the way up, so as long as you take care and and go slowly, preferably in daylight hours, it really isn't a problem.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.6
    An idyllic haven away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a criticism, but the winding roads leading up to the property (which is situated on top of a hill) are quite tricky to navigate - not an ideal option as a base to explore other parts of Sicily, but this is the only price you have to pay for such an idyllic getaway!

    The setting and views from the property are exceptional - pictures won't do it justice. The peacefulness and ever-present breeze are immediately striking. The place is so quiet, the only sounds you hear are the trees rustling and birds singing. Dinner was delicious, very generous and excellent value for money. Piera was a lovely hostess who went out of her way to make us feel welcome and make our stay as pleasant and possible. She even prepared us a small feast on our first night though we arrived at around midnight! Thanks again Piera :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay with magnificent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a little noisy.

    Great view, very friendly staff, good breakfast and a great dinner. The also have very nice local wines.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Signora Piera took great care of us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signora Piera took great care of us

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    The food is excelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is excelent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing place, the host is very friendly and very helpful with any question you might have. I fully recommend the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    spectacular view, swimming pool, rich breakfast, willing host
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only pizza and pizzoli for dinner on Tuesday

    spectacular view, swimming pool, rich breakfast, willing host

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    local marmalades and honey,local torta cioccolata e caffe
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no welcome drink as indicated

    local marmalades and honey,local torta cioccolata e caffe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Ok Place. Needs minor adjustments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in rooms. We couldnt pay with a card. Still owe money because we didnt have enough cash.

    Staff was very friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent getaway in the rural South East of Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going up from the city is a very winding road uphill

    Excellent food at the property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.9
    Best
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pierra

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    An old style farm which has been tastefully modernised with fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was delicious, and the hosts were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful and calm place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easier access to food / drink

    Peaceful location , beautiful views , understated service , good food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    Arrived on a Sunday around noon and were immediately invited...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived on a Sunday around noon and were immediately invited for lunch. The food and wine in combination with the fantastic view over the Ionian sea already were worth our trip to Sicily. We stayed for a week and every day we were treated with the same hospitality and kindness. We were taken care of like we were family.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.8
    great views and very nicely furbished rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hard to find, directions should be more clear. Wifi didn't work.

    great views and very nicely furbished rooms. everything you can expect from an overnight stay. Great restaurant on site.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.7
    Nice place, good (italian) breakfast, fantastic waterpool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room equipment is rather basic but enough comfortable. There is no window in the room - only in the door, so if you need a fresh air the door sould be opened. The patio is common for all rooms - no privacy

    Nice place, good (italian) breakfast, fantastic waterpool with a nice view of sea, clean room, good dinner at place

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    An amazing location perched on the edge of the escarpment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Negotiating the narrow roads and multiple hairpin bends to drive to the top of the escarpment where Avola Antica is situated is not for the faint-hearted. We found the beds rather un-forgiving. Neither of these things would stop us whole-heartedly recommending though.

    An amazing location perched on the edge of the escarpment overlooking Avola and the coast. Far-reaching views to the east and south. The swimming pool is of excellent quality and size. Particular praise for the evening meals - a consistently high standard and great value.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.6
    The location is spectacular away from the hustle and bustle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At a push I would say the rooms are a little small.

    The location is spectacular away from the hustle and bustle but close enough. Incredible food at supper and very friendly staff. The swimming pool is one of the most beautiful I have seen.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    Amazing location wonderful outlook
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms need more natural ventilation during night become muggy require air con Wifi limited to main building Problem with wasps no traps persistent and annoying

    Amazing location wonderful outlook Good breakfast and evening meals Very clean pool Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    8.8
    The dinner was very very good in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The door is also the window. There is no separate window

    The dinner was very very good in the hotel. Also the pool was very nice and the fig tree has always fresh fruits for you!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.9
    Both the best and worst things about this property are its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Both the best and worst things about this property are its location. The sweeping views across the landscape and along the coast are truly spectacular, especially at night. However, it is remote and requires a 25 minute drive to reach either Avola or Noto, the latter with a fantastic choice of restaurants. We did eat at the on-site restaurant once but prefer to have a choice, so drove to Noto. So far as the hotel goes, the pool is lovely.The bedrooms are compact but quiet. The staff were tied up with a birthday lunch for a large party when we arrived so we didn't feel especially welcomed but they made up for it with their solicitousness and friendliness after that.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    The location is in the middle of nowhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi signal was very weak

    The location is in the middle of nowhere....perfect for a relaxing holiday. The food was exellent and abundant. I recomened this agritourism to anyone who wants to spend a couple of days relaxing in the middle of nature.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room could be a drawback for some people.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The views over Avola and the coastline are fantastic. The pool is very nice set in a relaxing quiet area. The highlight is the food, every night they provide excellent, well prepared Sicilian cuisine. We will return if back in the same area again.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    7.1
    I liked the location as it was quiet, rural and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sadly, the pool was ready when I arrived and when it became ready, it was too cold to use.

    I liked the location as it was quiet, rural and had fantastic views. I liked the staff who were very friendly and welcoming. I liked the food that was excellent

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    10
    Very nice people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice people! Amazing food, the view from the terrace was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Very nice view, 500 meters above sea level, The affable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Very nice view, 500 meters above sea level, The affable owner, The GREAT and varied dinner!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Quiet place, friendly staff, excellent food, amazing view ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Quiet place, friendly staff, excellent food, amazing view , big swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    The view is fabulous, the swimming pool is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view is fabulous, the swimming pool is great.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Awesome food , great pool and amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long drive up mountain road to get there. But it is worth it

    Awesome food , great pool and amazing view

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Avola Antica traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: