Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ultimo Mulino 4 stars

La Ripresa di Vistarenni, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy

#7 of 12 hotels in Gaiole in Chianti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 294 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC wasn’t on yet , due to a late Spring season ? However we kept our windows open ( no screens ) & it gave a nice breeze & no insects came in !

    Everything , the hotel, grounds ,staff, atmosphere ,,, all exceeded our expectations !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was so lovely, we were told about the history of the building too. Surrounded by loads of trees, peaceful and real chill time. They made dinner for us every night so that’s a mega plus at the end of a long day out... just a really lovely hotel! Thank you L’Ultimo Mulino 😁

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ... hmmm ... add chicken to the menu😜

    The staff were extremely hospitable... Very polite and helpful .... the trip became memorable mostly because of them

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn't really cool our room - because of the nature of the dense thick stone walls it retained the heat of the day. Also the shower screen is terrible. Ended up flooding the bathroom floor! Had to use all of the towels to mop up. There must be a better way.

    A lovely rustic location and a well appointed hotel. We only stayed for one night but enjoyed the experience. The restaurant at the Hotel is wonderful - fresh, local cuisine! Definitely worth staying on site for dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we had booked a hotel with a view but there were no view, it was surrounded by trees.

    Cosy if you look for a quiet place, not close to a village.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is lovely! Clean, comfortable, beautiful property and building, great location, close to many wineries and villages. Dinner was excellent! Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect and quite location in the forest. Drive to next village just some minutes. Friendly stuff and good breakfast including the possibility to have dinner in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast OK particularly earlier, not as good as described.

    Lovely peaceful hotel, comfortable bed, restaurant and wines good and very helpful staff, especially Gabriela.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is poor and staff unfriendly. Everything you ask seems like a massive effort. The property is advertised to have room service which it doesn't have. Airconditioning in room didn't work properly. Overall, it's and over-promise and under-delivery on services offered.

    Great location and very peaceful and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No winery within the premise or around the premise within walking distance. Outrageously over priced winery excursions offered by hotel. Very expensive shuttle to the nearest train station/city.(Ideally they should offer shuttle at minimum price for guests since the property is far off.) No bicycle hire (which was clearly mentioned in booking.com & their hotel website) 70 euros for hiring two basic bicycles w/o gear for a day!!!!

    The serene secluded premise. Warmth & the scenary. Spacious rooms and bath area. Good wifi Good pool (can be temperature controlled with a minimum shelter covering (for better hygiene - leaf & insects from hill keep flowing in) Boutique hotel with attentive staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiter, reception and kitchen personal is sometimes the same person. Therefore was the first impresson not so good. The restaurant is to much expensive and the quality is not equal to the price (1 glass cheapest wine 7€, main course for about 20€, but for me is the price not a problem. Problem is, it was not so good. ). The restaurant are also not very nice. For example, in the nearest city (12km), there you can visit a michelin guide restaurant, nicer, food is traditional and excellent, and better wine costs are 7€ for a cup. We know toskana, and for that quality is the restaurant really very expensive. The air condition is old and noisy. The doors in the room are thin and we could hear the peoples outside our room. The breakfast was generally ok, but we had to ask, because there are no glasses later, no vegetables, or eggs. So you have to tell it them. Reason is, the wsiter have also prepared the breakfast, ask you for a caffe, so are maybe verry bussy.

    The location is very very nice, there is a big parking direct in the areal. Rooms are clean, pool was good. You need a car or a scooter, but there are other small villages and city near in a few km. A nice winery, a lot of restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot of sunlight as it is in a valley with lots of trees around, so no view at all. Pool was smaller than on the photos. The shower was small and the shower head didn't stay up properly so we had to hold it in one hand. Price too expensive for what we got.

    Nice mattress

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No welcome drink which is supposed to be a genius perk. Card machine could not get signal therefore our stay was paid for but timed out half way through which meant our stay was debited from our account but didn't reach theirs had to borrow money to try again not good when your stay is well over £1000 top tip pay before you go

    Staff are friendly breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tuscan charm, history and beautiful surrounding nags, easy to get to Radda and centrally located. Great restaurant and definitely enjoyed the barbecue. Excellent staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had to leave :)

    We stayed there for three nights. The place is great!! Grate location!! Very nice room!! Very very nice and attentive personal!! Thanks for a wonderful time!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very bad phone connection !! In rest just GREAT !!

    Great location !! It is a hotel in an old mill . Very cosy and pleasent , nice rooms with private patio ( the rooms on ground floor ) , outdoor swimming pool , nice restaurant ( Michelin guide recommended ) , good breakfast , good Wi fii !!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location almost into the wood for this beautiful decorated hotel. Nice patio in front of the room. The restaurant of the hotel serves good dishes.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is A little old.

    The place is beautiful, it is located in the middle of Chianti region so you can easily move around the Tuscany. The staff was very helpful. Best breakfast around!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely country hotel in a gorgeous countryside location in the heart of the Chianti area. Staff were so helpful and friendly. We loved our room (deluxe) and the layout of the hotel. Pool was lovely as well! Restaurant was very handy too and served great food. Very much enjoyed our time here, could have easily stayed longer than the 4 nights we had.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and calm hotel in the middle of Tuscan nature. Everything clean, very calm and nice environment. Helpful and very kind stuff. Good breakfest and also possibility to have dinner in the restaurant. Everyday special offer, once we had barbecue all you can eat, which was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very in the middle of Chianti. The sightseeing is amazing, but a little far from other cities.

    The place is wonderful, in the middle of Chianti bosco. It is much better than pictures shows. Rooms very confortable. Sheets and towels very nice. The restaurant is very good with different options every day. Great place to relax.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. The place is a the quietest spot in the peace of the Tuscan countryside. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think about

    Very beautiful place in Toscana, highly recommended

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place about 7km from Radda in Chianti. Typical Tuscan style with nice outside dining area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was beautiful & so was everything about the hotel. Stunning setting with friendly staff and fantastic food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast and dinner were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi signal and aircondition. Very poor mobile phone signal or even No signal.

    Very good food, nice room and Very plesent area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quietness and the relaxation it offers. Very friendly and helpful staff. The Chianti area is awesome!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Underwhelming greeting and room was not superior....cramped and dark

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, a very unique hotel! A real garden of eden and we will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very beautiful place with an easy going atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is off the beaten track - it took us forever to get back to a main road from which to explore

    Beautiful location and building

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional place to relax. Would come again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast and a quiet location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every single detail. But the staff is the best in Italy. Grazie!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great place!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent however fruit could be fresher.

    Comfy room, rustic country feel, friendly staff, good food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are lost without a car Wifi unstable

    Wonderful surroundings Very clean Good breakfast Quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Quiet but within walking distance to all the sights

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in the middle of nature

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very quiet, peaceful and relax place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms very dark in a valley so no view at all very overgrown no good signage

    Tuscany everywhere is nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't very friendly; it's not worth the price.

    The bed was very comfy and the place looks clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was outstanding. The wine selection was excellent. The grounds were exquisite.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A near by town. But that's ok.

    Bed was the best we had on our Italy tour.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    €85 Euro for a 30min transfer each way was steep - no public transport or taxi service.

    Food,staff & room was great. It's a great place to getaway from it all & stop. We were there just before Summer crowds. Great part of our Honeymoon.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing I can think of

    especially would like to comment on the excellent breakfast buffet. It was the best we had while in Italy. Also the staff was super nice, professional, and always eager to help or get anything you wanted. We were offered a prosecco on arrival which was unexpected and I thought a very nice welcoming gesture.We were upgraded to a nicer room which had a terrace without asking.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were allocated a very dark room which adjoined another room. The door separating the two rooms had no better sound insulation than cardboard resulting in the feeling that our neighbours were lying in the bed next to us. Make sure you avoid this room if you value your privacy.

    The staff were pleasant and helpful, the property was well maintained and the food was quite good.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A renovated old building in the middle of the Chianti countryside, surrounded by forest. Comfortable and tasteful rooms with large bathrooms, friendly staff, great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was lovely, our room looked out across a stream, we had a little patio and sun beds. The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was super. We had a really lovely stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    dusty, repetitive breakfast

    Ambiance, ample parking, nice local wine selection. Tries to be luxury but lacks details

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location in the middle of nowhere but beside Radda and other small villages

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shape up the pool and new sunbeds. The entire property feels like it's in need of a better finish.

    Excellent location to discover Chianti area!

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a thing

    Helpful friendly staff

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Ultimo Mulino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: