Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of UNA Hotel Palace 4 stars

Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Italy

#2 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1519 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    This is a great location, within easy walking distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say about the hotel. You won’t be disappointed to choose this place to stay.

    This is a great location, within easy walking distance of all the bars and restaurants in Catania. The staff are very helpful and nice and really went out of their way to assist us. My recommendation, check out the view of mount etna from the roof top bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Love this modern, elegant and friendly hotel in the centre of Catania. Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great, just need a slightly more robust wifi signal.

    Loved the central location, the design, the quality of the welcome and the friendliness of the staff. Also adored the rooftop bar with views to Mt Etna - fantastic! Also, great breakfast and close to lots of great bars, cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The personnel at all levels except for the evening dinner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening staff on the roof restaurant.

    The personnel at all levels except for the evening dinner service staff were extremely helpful in every way. Rosella who waited on us for breakfast our last morning was everything one could wish for in a food service person- of the highest order! Our meals morning and night were excellent, we usually never go to a restaurant a second time on a trip. But the roof atmosphere and the food were great. The evening staff with the exception of the older gentleman were not pleasant, discounted women and never looked at the customer giving an order, always glancing around the room. Other than that blip on the screen, it was a very pleasant stay and we appreciated all the help of the front desk staff as well as Rosella!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed it very much! Friendly and helpful staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning is centrally controlled and it can get cold. Talk to the staff to switch it off. Parking is available for €20 a night

    Excellent location, friendly staff, comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Well, it was just great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is great. We ate at the restaurant and whereas it has an amazing view and looks great for the aperitif we weren’t satisfied with the meal. The staff however looked forward for receiving feedbacks and was helpful, they didn’t even put on the bill the dishes we didn’t eat so that in the end they were really fair and we appreciated that. It is however a pricey restaurant for what it is and you definitely pay for the view/location rather than for the rest.

    Well, it was just great. We highly appreciated the politeness and friendliness of the staff and the hotel was a quiet oasis in the hot Catania.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Great comfortable economical clean exciting stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym needs attention to equipment

    Hotel was located in a beautiful inner city location with restaurants and shopping close by with natural parks and sights

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Catania UNA Palace Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft for us.

    The staff were particularly helpful. Rita who greeted us at the front desk with a wonderful smile not only checked us in but also gave us a detailed description of what to do and where to go during our stay. The room was well appointed and spotless. The location excellent for getting to a number of Catania’s must see sights and shopping all on foot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Great terrace, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located at the main street which is great, unless you come by car. They have parking where the access is located on the back street, very narrow if you have a big car. Make sure you set up your GPS not under the hotel name but under the street number, it should be easier to get there and then there is a convenient valet parking - where they will park your car for you. Otherwise, the hotel was very nice, with beautiful terrace with a view on Etna Vulcano. The rooms were comfy and the service was very polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    A good, clean hotel in a nice area of town on the main drag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded to a room on multiple levels that really didn't work.

    The view from the roof restaurant of Etna was incredible. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean and tidy, good bed and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop restaurant was overpriced for what you got. Much better food and more efficient waiting staff in almost every restaurant town. Nice view, but not to be recommended for any sort of “special” meal.

    Clean and tidy, good bed and bathroom. High standard of fittings and friendly staff. Very good breakfast. City centre location very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Good location and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff were excellent. They helped us with our arrangements regarding onward travel and assisted when we had an issue with a restaurant bill. The rooftop bar is a fantastic spot for an evening drink to view Mount Etna. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but it looked very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    big disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the "triple executive" we booked does not exist. it's a normal executive double room with a foldable bed placed in a corner, with no headboard and no bedside. also there were only two hand towels, only two glasses for the minibar. a massive disappointment, this room shouldn't have been listed at all. also, the breakfast is not served on the rooftop bar (that's an additional service, at a cost).

    the position of the hotel is very good and the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    An exceptionally comfortable hotel in one of the best possible sections of Catania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    The desk service wasn't particularly gracious, but it wasn't offensive either. Service at arrival was good enough. Upon departure, very early in the morning, the poor desk clerk didn't seem to know what he was doing, but he meant well. If I hadn't spoken Italian, it might have been a little challenging.

    We were at the hotel very briefly, barely overnight, before our transfer to Rome and were rather surprised by the beauty and comfort of the rooms. UNA Palace is extremely well maintained and the bathrooms are terrific! The hotel is very well appointed in the most convenient section of old Catania.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given dark room at back of hotel overlooking derelict rooftops. Checked in at 12.... pushed to back of queue and told we were too early. Man too lazy to help w luggage from car on street to reception so I lost my place in check in queue. No coffee machine. Poor toiletries. Checked out early ... asked for coffee told to get coffee at airport!

    Central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is not to everyone’s taste

    Very freindly and efficient staff. Great location in central Catania - we used it as the start and end point of our Sicily trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    We were very pleased with the hotel and the location during our stay in Catania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were very pleased with the staff, the room, and the amenities. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The location was fantastic. We were in the center of the city and close to everything. For day trips to Siracusa and Taormina, it was easy to use the metro to get to the train or bus stations. This was a great place to base in Sicily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    I would recommend UNA in Catania mainly because of great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    limited breakfast offer room on the main street very noisy, fortunately able to change the 2nd night Parking convenient because in the hotel but not practical in terms of space

    flexibility of the staff who offered a more silent room after 1st night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Roof top bar was excellent, breakfast was great - lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room with black carpet - very dark! Our friends had the same room but one that was recently renovated with new pale grey hardwood. What a difference, the room was bright and airy.

    Roof top bar was excellent, breakfast was great - lots of choices, staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Will definitely be back and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Sicily!
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old styled curtains in bedrooms and reception area. Badly need refurbishing.

    Well spoken English. Very fluent! Staff in the reception and the restaurants were highly professionals, smart and efficient! Dining in the roof restaurant is a must. A splendid experience in itself. Worth every penny.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for short weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom smelled of drains

    Top location, very convenient for airport transfer, shops, buses, restaurants etc. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    The most stunning view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is expensive hotel and it is a pity there is additional charge of 10 eur for breakfast served on the roof. We choose this hotel because of the roof terrace so we accepted. It is not easy to find parking entrance although there is a description on the hotel web.

    Very good service, helpful and kind. Great views on Etna. Right on the shopping street few hundred meters from all atractions. Has own parking that is important in Catania.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    the best choice in sicilly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I mention a too hard beed matress

    My favorite hotel chain in Italy! very good all-city, location , breadfast, clean, size of the room and bath room,quiet, near the park and near the local market.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    A decent hotel but reading the small print and paying attention to detail is essential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning is a problem. Also, to have breakfast on the roof you need to pay extra, not a problem of course but it would be nice to mention this at the time of booking

    Location is excellent please see my other review

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    A decent hotel but reading the small print is essential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two points: the view from the roof is amazing - if the weather is good that is - but the hotel never mentions that the breakfast room is not in fact on the roof but rather on the first floor and has no windows and no view. Also, air conditioning is a problem, it turns itself off in the middle of the night making it impossible to sleep. Needless to say that trying to fix the conditioner wakes you up nicely. It would be good to make the thing work reliably.

    The location was perfect, cannot be better, on the central avenue of the city, within walking distance of all the main sightseeing spots, and right next to a stop of Alibus, a bus from the airport to Catania. Note that the bus makes a circle and return to the airport not reversing its direction at any point. The breakfast is very good and the staff is superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Overall enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable and very hard bed. Unable to adjust temperature in room for more than a few minutes.

    Excellent breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean. Excellent location for the centre of Catania. Excursion to Mount Etna booked seamlessly and quickly. Overall very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast, very helpful staff, great location on Via...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complementary water in the room - small bottle for 3,5 Euro?! No kettle and tea set.

    Good breakfast, very helpful staff, great location on Via Etnea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Great centrally situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great centrally situated. Airport bus stops right outside the Hotel for 4 euros a bargain. Hotel was clean and the breakfasts very good anyone who has complained about the breakfasts has obviously nothing better to do! Everything you could possibly want and plenty of it! Loved the roof terrace although never ate here but had plenty of drinks at night in the bar! Although the bar and restaurant are lovely the seats in the bar area look good but not comfortable that is my only gripe! Loved the Hotel and would recommend it to everyone. Views are spectacular of Mount Etna. A must is going to Palermo on the local train although 3 hrs well worth it and not expensive! Unfortunately the weather wasn't very good on Mount Etna so we were unable to go on the tour! But the views from the Hotel were fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    It was a good choice. I would recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed mattress was too hard. We would have preferred it softer. We missed tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Excellent location, right in the heart of Catania. Our room was clean and quiet, even at night when we opened the window. The staff was helpful, giving us useful advice where to go.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When asking for extra pillows, i was pleasantly surprised that the hotel has 4 different types of pillows to choose from as per the client's preference! Amazing!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Very good choice for exploring Catania and East cost of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Just ask for a higher floor to avoid possible noise for the street.

    Very good choice for exploring Catania and East cost of Sicily. Central location, very nice hotel, very good staff, especially reception staff with very good advices and recommendations. Beautiful roof garden with amazing view on mount Etna. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.0
    Warm welcoming feeling. Will return.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fairly varied however, constant refilling was lacking. Scrambled egg stuck to the bottom of the dish and hence became extra dry. Utensils, like fork, knives and spoons for the buffet breakfast were not changed all the time and were dirty with other food I was not interested in. Last thing I want on the morning is helping myself to cheese with a fork or spoon full of the bacons oil!!! Plates under utensils need to be changed and monitored. Bathroom. One hand soap got two guests is very miserable. Reception desk on arrival did not explain all facilities as explained to other guests. This was noticed upon check out. A new guest arrived, given all details whereas we had no idea of the spa, gym and the €12 supplement for the roof breakfast. Having to share lift with maintenance staff is unacceptable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Location at Via Etna is very attractive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    Location at Via Etna is very attractive. What is important, the rooms are very silent, including nights. Service is professional and very nice. And the view at Etna Form the main restaurant is impressive indeed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    We will definitely return thanks to the lovely staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was too hard.

    The breakfast was incredible..all the sweet things were very fresh. lovely selection of eggs and bread too. the hams were only of an inferior quality. we expected Parma ham or speck. the Manager at the breakfast room was outstanding.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    We stayed for only 3 days and was a lastminute booking but we enjoyed every minute of our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we were given was Very spacious and comfortable. The restaurant on the roof terrace is an excellent location with great views of the city and Etna and supported with great service All the staff were very kind, polite and very gracious and spoke excellent English!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Will go there again, just perfect!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely quite rooms in busy Via Etnea Catania, extremely accommodating concierge, nothing was impossible, secure parking accessed from the street parallel to via |Etnea behind the hotel. Very good breakfast included in the price, and a nice bar on the seventh floor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, very kind and proactive staff, superb breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent, very kind and proactive staff, superb breakfast and comfortable room. Best location on the main street of Catania close to restaurants, amenities and local beauties.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Excellent. Would strongly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the bathroom was poor for make up application or shaving- this could be improved but is a common problem with hotel bathrooms.

    Breakfast was amazing with a great choice and excellent service. The staff were attentive, helpful and approachable. They were able to advise on a number of matters

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice central stay with great views of Etna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - so-so wifi in the room - some weird machine noise that went on for most of the day and night (a repeated whirring noise which sounded like tires from race cars being replaced, although I'm sure it was something else).

    - Upgrade to a bigger room, 2 bedrooms, good beds, two TVs, a fridge, safe, and nice bathroom, balcony with a view of some nearby apartments/city area. - Good fresh breakfast with some highlights (bacon, eggs and local cakes were especially good); additional fee for having breakfast on the rooftop terrace applies (nice view of the Etna volcano!). - - One night we had the appetizer buffet on the rooftop terrace, which comes with any drink (for 15 Euro total), a nice deal. - Great staff all around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    good central location in Catania , nice clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was a little cold and at times appeared uninterested in answering any questions, rooms were clean and pretty well maintained, except for small scuff marks and paint touch ups throughout the rooms and hotel which give the atmosphere that management is not at its peak performance

    The location was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    A brief one-night stay - very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable, spacious room. Nice décor. Quiet - no noise from the street when the windows were closed. Hotel is well-located, close to the park and to the shopping district. Front desk staff was very accommodating in storing our luggage.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    The friendliness of the staff is worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The friendliness of the staff is worth the stay. The place was a typical tourist hotel, perfect for groups. The parking was great, i leave it in front and they park it. Catania is a hard place to drive and the hotel makes this easy. The hotel is modern, clean and bigger. Our room, 2nd floor facing the street is great, was not loud. the bathroom and room is very good but not exceptional. Space is worth it, This is a very good hotel. the rooftop was also very good but the food is not great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Suited us perfectly being central and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace bar at top of building was disappointing. Not really comfortable and far too expensive. The foyer had a bar that was not in use while we were there and would have been so much better and potentially with a really good ambience and atmosphere.

    General comfort and excellent bedroom. Lovely environment in foyer etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location and staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was not the standard that this hotel should be aiming for. The fungus around the bath tub and the toilets constant lack of water during flushing.

    The great staff and decor of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.4
    Good room, but rooftop dining experience was erratic. The hotel could make life a bit easier for guests arriving by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it's quite awkward to drive up to this hotel because of traffic restrictions, the hotel should take the initiative to provide directions.

    A room on the first floor at the front was comfortable and spacious with some street noise. Going to the rooftop bar and restaurant (waiter service only) for sunset is a good idea. At the restaurant you pay for the view of course, but service can be very slow. I had to leave the table several times to find a waiter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    5 star hotel, gorgeous motif and rooms, location great to see the heart of Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I wasnt there longer !

    Expensive hotel, but it was our last nigh before leaving so we splurged. Well worth it. The rooms were modern and classy. Very spacious, huge bathroom, lots of closet space and room. The balcony looked out onto the city street. Went with 2 other couples. Were all on different floors and had different rooms. The others 2 rooms had windows with views as well. All had sitting area or large open area. Each room was different but still gorgeous. We all loved it! Now sorry we didn't have another day there! Not far from the main piazza. Right in the shopping area with beautiful shops and gelato near by. Location was great. Didn't get to take advantage of any amenities though. Parking - the hotel takes your car to the lot for you, will offer wake up call and have your car ready for you outside when you leave. We got there in the mist of a forty person group, but they were terrific and fast. We hardly had a wait to check in. I will say I wish I was there longer!!! I am sure you wont be disappointed!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    A handsome hotel, close to being a great experience but let down by inflexible service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all charming and friendly and almost totally useless. Breakfast service was so slow. We were refused a seat on the roof terrace for a drink as the sun set as the table was booked later for dinner. It seemed to me that the staff were under trained in service & adaptability and over constrained by rules that served the hotel more than the guests.

    Elegance. View from the roof. Best ever firm bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Very Good choice for this City. Possibly the best in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No View from our room even though they said we had had a "free upgrade".

    The Hotel is in the centre of a big busy City, so expect all that goes with that. The roof top restaurant is very good, you can eat cheaper but not ridiculously priced. The staff were very professional and personable, there is concierge for your car parking, which you must book and pay for. A very well presented clean well positioned City Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Ecellent location to see the sights of Catania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have liked more control of the Air Conditioning. Otherwise we were very happy with our choice of hotel.

    The Una Hotel was a comfortable hotel in a perfect location for our stay. The breakfast, on the first floor was excellent, didn't try the Sicilian Breakfast on the seventh floor. The staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Location, I was upgraded to a bigger room with no extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was just ok, little space to hang clothes...basically just another room, high price Breakfast was ok

    Location, I was upgraded to a bigger room with no extra charges, friendly staff who helped book the excursion to Mount Etna.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds

    Rooms were great, very spacious however the beds were a little hard - apart from that we had a great stay. The location was excellent, very handy to shops, restaurants etc, loved the shopping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel - beautifully kept, and very centrally located. Good room with TV, etc. I would have liked an iron on the room - the hotel leant is one, but it didn't work... apart from that minor detail, the hotel was just fine. The area was great for shopping, and for strolling. It was close to a station, so we could get a train to some of the local attractions also. Recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    Ticks all the boxes except for the rock solid mattress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and the mattress was incredibly firm. It wasn't a pleasure or a comfort laying on the bed and sleeping.

    Location was perfect, right on the Main Street of Catania. AStaff were lovely. The breakfast on the rooftop is a must, great views of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Hi,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hi, During check-in lady was very polite. In proper English explained main areas of the city, what hotel offers, provided map and info about excursions. As well we got much bigger room than ordered for the same price. Room very clean, comfortable, a lot of towels. Breakfast tasty, personal friendly. Defently would choose UNA once again! Thanks!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electrical outlets next to bedside would be helpful, although staff quickly responded to extension cord request for Cpap device.

    Great location. Walkable to many sites, restaurants, bars, etc. Fast & relatively "easy" highway access. Thank you Google maps. Wonderful rooftop bar & restaurant. Very attentive staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.1
    A bit expensive but worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They seemed to reserve the seats outside for people going to dinner this was dissapointing

    Location was excellent right in the centre of the city waking distance from lots of good restaurants and a bar and restaurant overlooking Etna.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast bakery selection although lovely, weren't in my opinion very breakfastey, lots of tarts and cakes. Would have preferred pastries. But still an excellent breakfast!

    Excellent aircon because it was very hot outside. The roof top bar and views of Etna were fantastic! We went there every night! Absolutely loved staying there!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location and amenities come at a price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some aspects of the hotel have aged a bit and could be renovated (bathroom for instance) Pricing is a bit stiff overall when taking the breakfast option. Could use a shuttle option from/to the airport, even if the Alibus isn't that far from away.

    Great location on Via Etnea Very nice staff, giving advice on the city. Superb breakfast with an Etna view on top of the hotel Clean and modern equipment at the gym

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    We loved the rooftop bat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking but again front desk was helpful

    We loved the rooftop bat. Good central location for Catania. Parking was hard but front desk was very helpful with that!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    The stuff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning just didnt't want to switch off. It remianed constantly on the same temperature level and it was impossible to change it.

    The stuff was very helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed dinner and also breakfast in the restaurant on the roof.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.7
    Staff were helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room lighting was poor and too complicated. Bed and pillow not that comfortable, and I hate bath showers. The rooftop breakfast was poor value for money.

    Staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    Very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee is quite bad.

    Easy to find location, some good view of Etna. Very helpful staff, they even helped us to rent a car that was delivered to hotel door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous staff, roof terrace restaurant, amazing breakfast. Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small things we had problems with were the following: Pillows No coffe maker in room. When enquiring about it I was told that the hotel only supplies these in executive suites! However, a small Percolator would be handy and ideal in any room.

    Loved the hotel - location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel, would stay here again or in one of the other Una hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and there were not any real drawers for clothes

    The hotel was really clean and fresh. The breakfast options were great and the roof terrace was incredible

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Short stay without the Kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Etnea Roof restaurant wasn't cool enough in the searing heat. Outside was good for a beer in the evening but the enclosed space wasn't properly air-conditioned.

    Great location for shopping and historic sights. Nice roof top bar with views to Mount Etna. Staff were all exceptionally welcoming and couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location, the breakfast was good, we did get a free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were stains on the carpet, and grime around the bathroom sink. The view out of the window was terrible, and the rooftop bar seemed quite expensive with no atmosphere. I think the hotel was very overpriced for the quality, it didn't feel luxurious at all.

    Great location, the breakfast was good, we did get a free room upgrade. The bathroom was large and quite nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Luxurious,helpful staff,light and airy rooms and central to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ambiance created by the furnishings, especially the ground floor entry was very chic. Breakfast offered a substantial range to suit most needs. Staff were very engaging and helpful. Position was in close proximity to everything. Having breakfast with the view of the smoking Mt Etna was the best. The breakfast range was superb and the dining room was opulent with its black and gold furnishings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly, breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel arranged a taxi transfer that was double the price quoted at the next hotel that we stayed at. This was disappointing service.

    Staff were very friendly, breakfast was amazing. Location is ideal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Simple & Chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more light for shaving.

    This is one of the best hotels I've visited! From the moment of arrival and the welcome at the reception "Rita M." Who gave us a comprehensive description of the city of Catania and the sites to visit (in Italian to my wife and French to me) to the moment of departure. The room was excellent. I salute the interior designers who managed to combine simple and chic to perfection. Dinner on Etnea Roof is a must!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Location, great vies from the rooftop restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is possible at the hotel but at 20€/night is a bit expensive. Our room was a bit small but overall comfortable.

    Location, great vies from the rooftop restaurant. Staff is helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    The staff were an absolute delight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wasted some time trying to find the hotel garage but when we decided just to pull up outside the hotel and ask directions, they valet parked the car. Wish we had known that valet parking was available before we arrived.

    The staff were an absolute delight. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always ready with a smile. We were upgraded to a suite which was an added bonus. It was lovely to dine on the terrace overlooking Mount Etna on our last night in Sicily (booking essential). Food and wine were delicious! Good choice of food at breakfast. Very central location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good location and valet parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is professional, but not very friendly - we stayed in an hotel of the same group (UNA ONE in Syracuse) where the staff is of an exceptional friendliness! The Saturday night we arrived in Catania it was a little late, even so the receptionist booked a table for us at the rooftop restaurant: the place is very beautiful and we appreciated the dishes. But what we did not like at all was the way we were pressed to leave at the stroke of midnight! In this type of restaurants there must be the sensitivity to realize when a customer needs 10 or 15 minutes to finish the wine.

    Very good location and valet parking. Room space.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable in Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the AC was at lowest setting and blowing cool from the vent, the room felt muggy. In fairness I did not bring it to anyone's attention because I assumed it was just the way it was.

    Staff very accommodating even with special requests. Staff came out and took our car and parked it. Booked us a private tour to Mt. Etna for s very reasonable price; less than an hour away Great location, can walk to many sights, restaurants, bars and cafes. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice. Rooftop restaurant very nice for drink or dinner

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Birthday trip in Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had late lunch when we arrived in the afternoon, food was just ok for the price, staff was not active at all. It was a birthday trip, but no one realised or went for extra mile for the service.

    Very good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Centrally located in Catania and overall good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff not very responsive or sympathetic to problems with air conditioner. Eventually changed room which corrected problem.

    Facilities were very nice and very clean. Rooftop restaurant great view and good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mini-bar price, particularly lack of complimentary water.

    Quiet room as requested (no 607); view of Mt Etna from roof terrace; helpful, friendly staff and great, central location for a one-night stopover.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse UNA Hotel Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: