Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946 3 stars

Viale Borri 98, 21100 Varese, Italy

#6 of 18 hotels in Varese

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 357 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is tidy, well organized and well run. It's a good place for a visit to Varese. The city centre is nearby, but you can take the bus (E) to get there if you don't feel like walking. You can even buy your tickets at the reception. Parking is available behind the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I recommend to ask for a room at the backside of the hotel. The views are lovely (doesn't cost that much different). I had a room on the street side and it was rather noisy. Checkout is at 10:30 am, but they start cleaning around 8 am and it is rather noisy. So best to get out early. It is rather far (for walking) to get to the city. I had a small dog (2.2 kg) with me. The hotel was listed as dog friendly but the dog was not allowed to touch the floor anywhere on the main floor. We had to use a side entrance and go up stairs to the elevator to get to the room. It was easy enough for me and the little one but those with bigger dogs might consider. There was grass nearby. I didn't find any nearby restaurants.

    The staff person who helped was extraordinary and helpful. I am grateful. The room was nice and the bathroom very nice. It was good to have parking at the back of the hotel but one needs to be a good driver because it is necessary to back out when leaving.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noise from the traffic outside the window & bright building lights did not allow for a comfortable sleep. Plus, being located near to a major hospital there was constant sirens throughout the day and night, really loud too! It was the room allocated to such bookings, thru Booking.com! Bed was uncomfortable and noisy when one moved around waking up my partner and myself, many times thru the night! Hence I was not too pleased with the quality of the bed! The Hotel was fine but it was not where I thought it was located but that ultimately was of minor consequence as we enjoyed walking from the hotel to the town centre and surrounds!

    Breakfast was great! Staff where very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great stop off close to Malpensa airport.Very reasonably priced.Good breakfast including freshly made scrambled eggs. Staff very friendly and welcoming Large room with massive terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feeling welcomed receives a new meaning with this property and the people working there. It's absolutely amazing how nice they are at every moment of the day for anything you might need or just a simple question. The client is indeed their no 1 priority. As for the room and bathroom, they were super clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was super super good, coffee the same, real Italian espresso. We felt super good as guests of this hotel. We will return for sure. Thank you very much for everything!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'm hard pressed to find a failure. As a small thing beer in the mini bar would have been nice, and a waste bin in the bedroom as well as the bathroom, but that's scraping the barrel for something.

    The staff could not have been more helpful with tips and planning. Breakfast is a select but high quality buffet. Scrambled eggs, when you want, are done for you freshly, not the yellow homogenous mass that some hotels will lay on in mounds. Fresh bread, cold meats, local cheeses, fresh fruit and homemade cookies and cake. We took a Panoramic room at the back of the hotel for a lake view, and although the hotel is on a main road, we slept with the windows open and weren't disturbed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautifully run and maintained property. Tasty fresh breakfast choices with eggs made to order. Nice views of lake from balcony. Easy ride to Malpensa. Could not be better!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Clean hotel and decent breakfast. We were on our way back from vacation and stayed here one night in a family room, which was very big. Private parking at the back of the hotel and complimentary wifi. We chose Varese as an alternative to Como for travelling back from Italy to Belgium; driving from Varese to Switzerland only takes 15 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, highly recommend it.

    The staff was brilliantly kind and helpful, the room was clean and modern. The beds were comfortable. They have a nice breakfast buffet that we all enjoyed. We arrived very late, someone opened the door for us and he was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Easy to find. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early check out

    Breakfast and Italian hospitality

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and great breakfast! Parking for the car and storage for bikes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park spaces are small

    Excellent Breakfast. Great rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for family with 3 kids is spacious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was impeccable just like the other times I've been there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite some mosquitos in the room

    Extensive and very healthy breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly people, one of the best breakfast I have ever had

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking slots are tight, you can prove you driving abilities :-)

    Nice and clean, professional and frendly staff, we had a great stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic breakfast and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the traffic noise can be a bit loud during the evening and the day.

    Room made daily. Cooperative staff. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Map or better info on how to find this hotel.

    Excellent breakfasts

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super friendly. They give you good tips regarding places to eat. Breakfast and upgrade for room was offered for 24 €.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Not the fault of the hotel, but it's about 30 minutes' walk from the city centre. Hotel obtains taxis very quickly, but it's €10 each way.

    The friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. Free Wi-Fi. Freshly-made coffee,

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly helpful staff and very clean room. Conveniently located and on the right side of Varese for an easy trip to Malpensa Airport. We would happily stay again in the future.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very lovely hotel with extreme friendly and helpful staff. We stayed overnight (trip to south of Italy). Very large room - nice bathroom - beds are extremely comfortable. This hotel is recommended !!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great stay and excellent value for money. Staff is super friendly and helpful, rooms are large and clean and well equipped - we loved it and will come back!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a little bit to far from the center and the room was very warm (top Floor). lift to 3th Floor and after that stairs to 4th Floor (not very handy with all the bags)

    Spacious room, Nice bathroom. Ok WiFi. clean.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    alle ore 9 era finito il pane a colazione ...

    L'ariosa camera sotto il tetto, ben climatizzata e con un letto supercomodo. Staff gentile e molto disponibile. Buffet di colazione molto vario, decisamente sopra la norma italiana.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the bathroom and shower to be on the small side.

    The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. She booked a table at a local restaurant, la Vecchia Varese, as well arranging for us to be picked up and returned after the meal by the restaurant owner. The breakfast staff were very pleasant and attentive to our needs.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I heard a lot of noisy coming from other rooms, people talking and their TVs. Maybe I was unlucky or maybe the rooms have a poor sound isolation.

    My room had a balcony.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Family with older children

    Amazing breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    No teapot in the room

    Great staff, our room was at the last floor with a terrific lake view

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Check-out is at 10h30.

    Very friendly staff, nice environment, clean room, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Inconsiderate

    Could have offered more

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staf was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    terrible internet no breakfast included

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Self made cookies and cakes with organic ingredients. Very kind and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff and comfortable hotel. Excellent breakfast.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: