Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Valadier 4 stars

Via della Fontanella 15, Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy

#332 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1240 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.0
    The AC did not work in one of the rooms and hotel staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC did not work in one of the rooms and hotel staff would not switch rooms. They said they were booked, but we still waiting for 3 rooms to check in at 10:00 pm. Heat was unbearable. Hotel did not even offer a discount and refused to give one when asked because the room was booked through booking.com. Nice location and space, but you'd have better luck with a properly maintained hotel or one with better customer service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Valadier great choice !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller rooms are quite tiny, not enough room for two people, a/c very noisy

    Upgrading to a biger room 511, very comfortable with a lovely view of the surrounding area, staff very friendly and helpful, excellent location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from our window. A little bit dark room. Noisy air conditioning machine.

    Incredible staff. Delicious breakfast and nice views from the rooftop.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location to explore Rome, but noise a problem for quality sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Barely any toiletries, no conditioner or body lotion, shower cap ect, just soap, shampoo and body wash. Bed was small for two people. Avoid room 508 as the roof top bar is directly above and there must be some garbage shoot that runs in the wall beside the room, because we had regular bouts of clanking down through the wall and stiletto's crunching on the ceiling above us until the early hours of the morning. You will not be able to get to sleep before 2 am.

    The roof top bar is a lovely place to relax after a day in Rome and it serves great cocktails. The restaurant down stairs has great food. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The decorations throughout the hotel are very funky.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy rooms, asked for an adapter they said they cant give me one because the whole hotel only has ONE, asked for an iron they said theres only one and they’ll give it to me the next day. I moved rooms 3 times to get a semi quiet room to sleep. There are no mirrors in the rooms except for 1! And i was there for a wedding.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very close to the Piazza del Popolo...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some aspects of the interior decoration are a bit tacky, such as the ceiling mirrors in the rooms. It's some idea from the 1970's which needs to be freshened up.

    Great location, very close to the Piazza del Popolo underground stop. This is critically important as moving around Rome in above-ground transport means is very difficult.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and facilies let down a little by slow service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had very noisy air condition units outside the window. Service at the bars was a bit hit and miss.

    Great decor in communal areas. Marble lobby etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    It´s only worth the price depending the type of room you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room first offered wasn´t at all like we saw online and where expecting and less of all worth the price payed. It was almost in an underground, had to walk up and down three stairs, enter through a bathroom and had an upper small window. Modern but asceptic like, extremely simple, bad bed. We asked for a change and, very willing to help, the staff changed us to a better one. Very very small but better looking. After two nights they changed us again to another room, definitely better, it was what we had seen online and worth the price. But that only happened two of four nights.

    The staff was very polite and willing to help with our requests. They made everything possible in order to meet our expectations. Breakfast, drinks and terrace were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Nil
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel doesn’t qualify to be 4 stars . 3 stars should be correct. Breakfast staff was rude n unfriendly. Hotel on split level which make it a bit difficult at times

    Location was good. Receptionist were friendly n helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    I'm a long time client of booking And when I book Valadier for 5! Nights through booking I payed 20
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm a long time client of booking And when I book Valadier for 5! Nights through booking I payed 200€ without breakfast My friend booked after me for 2 nights -160€ each night and breakfast was included. I feel like booking take advantage of me big time and very unhappy the way Booking treat me as a client. I'm very frequent user of services but after this expensive I consider to use other websites

    I'm a long time client of booking And when I book Valadier for 5! Nights through booking I payed 200€ without breakfast My friend booked after me for 2 nights -160€ each night and breakfast was included. I feel like booking take advantage of me big time and very unhappy the way Booking treat me as a client. I'm very frequent user of services but after this expensive I consider to use other websites

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    great location, good atmosphere but room very nosey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    mattress was quite hard and room 515 was VERY nosey all night due to the roof top restaurant one floor above

    loved the quirky decor in the public areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Until they change mattresses, won’t return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were like sleeping on a cement slab. Noise all night from club downstairs. The a/c in the room could not be turned on while we were there during the end of March and beginning of April. It was warm in the room so we opened the window, which normally would be fine. However, it allowed more noise from the downstairs bar along with cigarette smoke. Just ask for a quiet room in back.

    Location is great. Staff was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Probably the best hotel we say at. visiting 10 years. This is better than many 5 star hotels. Al
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would like to stay for longer

    Probably the best hotel we say at. visiting 10 years. This is better than many 5 star hotels. All staff are extremely helpful and courteous Impressive uniformed housekeeping staff. Breakfast is best we have had in any hotel. Beautiful rooftop breakfast restaurant with panoramic views of Rome including Borghese Victor Emanuel, St Peter's etc. Location is incredible. A few minutes walk to Borghese park and gallery. Church with Caravaggio paintings only 2 minutes across Piazza del Popolo , a short stroll to Spanish Steps. Loads of high quality shops nearby. Easy walk to Parthenon, Vatican etc, Décor is like being in a fine Roman Vllla both inside rooms and in public areas stairways and corridors. apart from excellent hotel bar and restaurants. lots of other trattoria restaurants etc only 2 minutes or less. We did lots of research and could this is definitely the best in Rome

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and relaxing stay in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In our room 401 you could hear some background nightclub music which went on until 2pm each night but this wasn't too bad.

    Comfortable rooms well appointed rooms, good restaurants and friendly staff.Breakfast was enjoyable. Wonderful location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was below average , shame because the roof top is just lovely

    The rooms are full of character and the hotel gives you a great Italian experience with an amazing roof top

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Sleepless in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy, especially on weekends when bar downstairs is extremely loud until early morning hours. Sleepless Friday and Saturday!

    Location & breakfast area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    You will love the location and the staff, but not the facilities :-(
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dark and the rooms (on the old side of the hotel) are very dark, with very small windows. It was my third time here (the Hotel is close by the company I’m working with), and I’ve always had the same concern. Ask for a room on the new part of the hotel, they are very nice and sunny, but the minus is that to get there you’ll have to go through a long and different way. The overall experience is not that of 4 stars hotel. Is more of a 2-3 stars hotel.

    The staff is so kind and so helpful! And the location is absolutely TOP! The breakfast terrace is very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Second time at the hotel and will return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed might feel not long enough if you are very tall. Electric sockets are loose -> potential fire hazard. Hot water could have been hotter. The safe box is not big enough for a 13-inch laptop, thus making the safe box useless for me. The room requires minor repairs. Overall, the advantages outnumber any disadvantages but one. The hotel staff perform some kind of a regular room check after 3 PM or so. I forgot to insert my key card into the card slot and one of the maids entered the room using her key because, as she explained, I should have inserted my key card in the card slot (there's a green light on outside the room when your key card is in its slot). I paid for the room in a 4-star hotel and I didn't want to be disturbed no matter where my key card was (mind the time period, after 3PM). You don't usually expect hotel staff to show up in your room that late for whatever reason. Probably, it's really my fault so I don't explicitly blame anyone.

    Breakfast on the open terrace, very friendly and helpful staff, good food, great location (close to the Flaminio subway station and Piazza del Popolo). My second time at the hotel. I hope to return again. Though not being very long, the bed is comfy and that's a real double bed [ ] and not [][] - two single beds put together as a number of hotels will advertise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.3
    Luxury in the city center for a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise of disco at night, the room did not smell good. The staff could have been nicer.

    Excellent location, nice breakfast on the rooftop, luxury design of the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    Perfect location, uncomfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dusty and the hotel was very noisey. I think my room was below the kitchen as both nights there was loud noises from above and again early morning.

    The hotel location is perfect to explore the centre of Rome

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Staff was really nice, and kind. It's located center of Rome, so every famous spot is walking distance. Also, if you want to go to borgese museum, then this hotel is fit for you. Breakfast tasted really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    The Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea and coffee facility provided and cheap toiletries.

    Exception location in the greatest city on earth. Special breakfast with rooftop views. Small rooms and doof doof till 3am couldn't kill the good vibes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    3.3
    Nightmare hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small even you cant put your leggage and the bathroom was disaster and it was very noisy because of the bar in the ground floor so i couldn't sleep until 4 o'clock

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant with great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were steps at entrance as well as to get to our room. In order to reach the rooftop restaurant for breakfast, more steps after getting off the elevator. Not really handicap accessible and those with limited mobility should look elsewhere. Porter was prompt and courteous as well.

    We liked the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The rooms were very spacious and clean with good spots for luggage.The breakfast was lovely as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Very good location and great breakfast at terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in, the reception should have explained clearly that we would stay at an adjacent facility of the hotel (Corso 12 Rooms and Suites).

    Very good location and great breakfast at terrace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Amazing location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    smallest room ever, ugly and old. First time there was amazing so I was very upset for finding such a difference. They change it to another one, a bit better. Service amazing. Lovely staff. Everyone.

    amazing service and restaurant view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Friendly hotel in the heart of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was a Disadvantage was the hairdryer. The lead was too short and it kept cutting out

    Friendly, courteous staff. The hotel is situated in a central spot. Walking distance to al that this amazing city has to offer. The rooms were small but very well equipped and clean. Breakfast was buffet style with everything you would fancy, from pastries to sauceages and scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had issues in our first room with Air and TV not working. Had to request to be moved to another room. Could use more soap shampoo etc. in rooms. Pretty sparse. We were put in room right under club that did get noisy late at night. Luckily we were very tired! All in all a comfortable stay.

    Location was excellent!! Able to walk to many attractions very easily! Staff was very kind and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel and staff in wonderful location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The upstairs restaurant is excellent and my wife and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner there on our first night. Breakfast, in the same location, is wonderful with excellent food and an amazing view of the city skyline. The location is excellent; walking distance to many attractions and near a metro stop. Staff were extremely helpful and the room was spacious and luxurious. Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, close to shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The suites were a bit far from the concierge in a separate building.

    Great location, close to shops and restaurants. Staff were very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    We would definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a fabulous time at this location. We were able to walk around this area of Rome and felt quite comfortable for it being the big city that it is. We were able to walk to some very lovely squares and shops. The food was fabulous!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Excellent trip and definitely going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices in the Hi Res restaurant. Top prices for average plates of food.

    Perfect location for the local coffee shops and eateries and ideal as a base for visiting the tourist attraction sites in Rome and the Vatican City

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    perfect perfect perfect, 10 mins walk from spanish steps and 15 mins walk from Pantheon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was a little dark as it was an inner room but as we were out sight seeing we didnt care, id recommend when booking you request a front facing room for more natural light

    The entire staff were AMAZING, from reception to restaurant..we had a slight problem with the shower water draining away and they fixed it IMMEDIATELY, the rooftop restaurant called Hi-Res is worthy of a mitchelin star and the bar staff are true mixologists

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Basically it was just a nice bed in a standard room - all extras failed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 star hotel and quite $$$ - the TV remote barely worked, so we couldnt use the TV. The shower was poor and took about 20 minutes to get warm. The air conditioning was super sporadic and very difficult to set properly. This may sound a little bit precious - but for the price, the air con tv and shower were very poor. So we were left only with a nice bed and nice breakfast!

    Breakfast was good and staff very nice and accomodating. The bell boys were cool and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.8
    I wouldn't stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with a view and a balcony, but I was given a room on the 1st floor that was like a dungeon with very little light. After speaking to reception, I was told there were no rooms with balconies left, except for one, but work was being done in the room above, so I was warned there may be noise. I accepted the room with the agreement that I would try it for one night and if the noise was unbearable, I would speak to reception in the morning again. There was no noise, which was great, however the balcony seemed half built, it definitely didn't have a view and it was absolutely filthy. I asked for the cleaner and she came, but the balcony was still filthy. For the money I was paying, I definitely expected better.

    The location was perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't make the aircon cooler

    The staff were really helpful and very friendly. The room was very nice bed, bathroom aircon etc and it was in a great location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room quite small and furniture a bit dated. We also had a serious noise issue, as our room was on the 2nd floor facing the street and we could hear the bass and beat from the disco / piano bar on the ground floor. We called the reception to complain and first they told us they would turn down the volume, and then at 3.30 am they offered us another room. Eventually the disco stopped at 4 so we did not change, but we had a sleepless night. Plus a false fire alarm earlier in the evening (around 11 pm) where nobody seemed to take it seriously. Quite annoying for a leisure weekend stay when you want to sleep more.

    Location couldn't be better, check-in personnel nice and professional, the view from the terrace restaurant just stunning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Comfy but below expectations for a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tissue box in the room, no water heater no complimentary water, tea and coffee. No hair shampoo. No blankets. Only sheets was there. Room was so very small.

    The hi-rise restaurant was good Food is was nice and the atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    3 day break in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was about slow but it was the free one so you get what you don't pay for. Only needed for social media, messaging etc so fine. Would recommend paying if it's a business trip

    Great air con in the room. Very boutique and stylish. Lovely cocktail terrace

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    A clean lovely hotel in a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a the same each day and not that tasty. Items made to order cost extra.

    The rooms were good but a little on the small side.its in a great location near shops, restaurants and tourist sites.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Expensive drinks in piano bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was noisy restoration works going on in the hotel so we were woke up in the morning by the noise. Hotels should mention this before hand so you can decide to book or not . The price of the drinks in the piano bar were expensive 15 euros for a beer !! Thats just a rip off. Shame this let's it down which is otherwise a nice hotel.

    Good location and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.4
    Very small rooms, not well maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the standard room but it was too small, room furnishing old and not well maintained, bathroom not good or clean. Completely dissatisfied with the room as not up to the standard of a Four Star hotel.

    Location in city center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    Aging property in prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel decor is a bit clubby. Would benefit from facelift. Internet did not work properly. Breakfast buffet nice but need to pay extra for eggs or fresh juice. Limited value for money.

    Location is excellent close to piazza popolo.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Clean and very handy to most popular places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was normal. There was a major remodeling of the next floor and they began work at 7:30AM.

    Clean and very handy to most popular places.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in the room, but good electric lighting to compensate. Associated restaurants outside the hotel are not worth it - go somewhere else!

    Excellent breakfast on the roof terrace and great location for Rome's sights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Very elegant hotel with an exceptional breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the bar. We had a room on the 1st floor to start with but the hotel moved us because it was too noisy.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, the room was lovely that they moved us to and the piano bar for a drink at 5pm was perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Great base with which to explore Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little small and dark, but somewhat to be expected in Rome.

    Quirky layout and decor, great location, great rooftop bar and restaurant, very nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    The hotel has a art Nuevo style throughout, with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were a little frosty and intimidating. We were given a discount card to use in the restaurants which gave you 10% off- a nice gesture in such an expensive city. We took advantage of this one evening and decided to enjoy a glass of wine on the rooftop restaurant. The portion was tiny! Maybe just over a thimble full! And cost €10. When we paid and produced the discount card, the waitress looked at us with disgust, marching us from one till to another before taking €1 off a €20 bill. So some friendly advice- go elsewhere for wine.

    The hotel has a art Nuevo style throughout, with lots of nice details. The breakfast really special due to the roof top terrace and efficient staff. A great way to start the day. We got a great deal with booking.com with about 80% off so good value for money, would have been very disappointed had we paid full rate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    All the staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a superior double room. I did not accept the first room I was given but did take the second one but although being told it was a superior double room it had nothing to do with your photos or description. Also I wasn't going to waste all morning going round rooms. ROOM NO 512.

    All the staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.5
    Best location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on high floor (5th) but very small and a very tiny window. it's good if u want just to sleep and leave but not enjoyable room to stay! So I feel we paid to much for this kind of room

    Best location! The breakfast was nice and good view from the rooftop. The staff very friendly and helpful and they speak English and french. There is a piano bar in the hotel with live music and it's very cool. But pretty loud music if ur room is not on the higher floor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.3
    Request an easy access room. Great location and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction outside to repair road we were not told about and all 3 days there they were drilling at 6 and 7am. Hotel is a maze to get to our room one elevator, 2 halls, 2 flights of steps and 2 more halls to our room. Our room was right under the hotel bar which was very noisy until 3 am! The Wifi was very slow.

    Location was great although a cab ride from the train still. Staff were friendly, and room was spacious. Comfy bed and pillows and an excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.8
    Hot and Stuffy but a great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room was very hot as the air conditioning was not yet working- they don't turn it on until May 15. The room was very noisy as there was an all night party outside on 3 of the 4 nights we stayed. We couldn't open the windows because of the loud music and party noise and so the room became too stifling at night. Also there was a lot of noise in the hallways in the middle of the night as staff attended to some business.

    The room was very clean and the bed very large and comfortable. The staff was friendly and approachable. The roof top breakfast was very good and the scenery and fresh air delightful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Happy visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location and very friendly staff. The breakfast is very good and there is a good restaurant next door for dinner where you get a discount. All in all a very pleasant experience

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a drink in the bar one evening and settled payment on leaving and received a 30 euro bill for 2 drinks. Small bottle of beer and glass of prosecco. Apparently it is 15 euros a drink after 10.30 pm which was not advised a the time of ordering. I found that to be a rip off and not something you would expect from the hoteL. They offered 10% DISCOUNT FOR STAYING THERE which I declined and they did settle for less but by then it had spoilt my night.

    Fabulous breakfast on the roof top terrace. Didn't need lunch after that!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Oh whata find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing not to like...fabulous hotel. Staff wonderful.

    There is absolutely nothing we would say was negative about our stay. Ròom was small but hey we were only in it at bedtime.....shattered. The staff are absolutely fabulous...made us feel like VIPs. Hotel is beautiful inside and facinating finding your way around. Perfect location for everywhere and everything. Would recommend 100%

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel full of character with pleasant staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift wasn't working when we arrived and the staircases are steep and winding. The stairs and communal areas are quite dark. There was no view from the room,as the building is old and full of character just a small window onto an enclosed courtyard.

    Buffet breakfast was excellent. Bed was comfy. Very clean bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friends travelling with us found that the fifth floor was very noisy in the early hours due to late night revellers on the top floor.

    Location great, the staff were very helpful, the rooms were as described and the linked restaurant was excellent. We would definitely consider staying at the Valadier again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel in need of modernization
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Load noise from the street 3 floors down (Via della Fontanella) Double glazing not effective enough to shut out noise. Trouble sleeping.

    Breakfast room on top floor on a sunny day is very nice. Breakfast selection good. Location at the top end of Via del Corso is good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    6.7
    Avoid rooms in lower floors because of piano bar noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night in room on second floor kept awake until 5am due to very noisy party in hotels piano bar on ground floor Were moved to 4th floor after complaining.

    Good beds and nice room once moved Nice rooftop terrace but very difficult to get food there as chef said we could not eat outside not even a snack while others were doing so. Explanation from waiter rivaled Manuel in Fawlty Towers

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    8.8
    Fin vistelse med trevlig personal, rummets läge inte helt bra!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rummet var i et annex, som i ett separat hotel, fler trappor i mellan reception och matsal. Alldeles för varmt, luftkonditionering hjälpte inte!

    Frukost och matsal samt personalen fantastiskt!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Everything is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect! Nothing is better than a very warm reception when you are new to a country in the early morning! I got the early check in. The staffs are very friendly. The breakfast is very good together with nice dining room on the roof. The hotel is very clean. The location is very convenient. I will definitely recommend to friends!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location and friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small dark room. The air conditioning didn't work properly. Slightly shabby bathroom.

    Excellent location and friendly, helpful staff. Nice breakfast room/bar on the roof terrace.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    6.7
    Hotel Valadier my experiance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed at this hotel on and off for the past 5 years and so has my boss. We have both found that the property is becoming rundown. Panelling in the room is falling off, the ceiling light in the bathroom was dropped out of the hole. The smell of cigar and cigarette smoke from the piano bar is horrendous. This is the first thing you smell in the lobby when checking in. they try to cover it up with a foul smelling deodoriser almost smells like a urinal tablet.

    The staff are excellent always have a smile and willing to assist you. Reasonable variety at breakfast, but requires more variety. However spectacular views on the roof top for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The hotel also offers discounts to the local restaurants they own or lease, which are right outside the door. one has local cuisine and the other is the German pub with a reasonable selection of food. which ever one you eat at you will have excellent food. the location is excellent near the meto lines and urban train. a lot of restaurants in the vicinity and shopping galore for the woman in your life. bankomat (ATM) are close as well and it is very safe area. only a 5 min walk to Villa Borghese gardens, a large park, on the weekends it is a really nice place for walks, views of the city and plenty to do on the weekends, with cafes, bikes single or for four people. the speed skaters are excellent to watch. The piano bar is excellent and has great live music and vibe about it, but it doesn't kick off till late each night and you will not find a better host the Sayed and the hotel manager Manuel is excellent. however if you are a non smoker this is not the place for you, as there is no ventilation and the hotel reeks of the smell even in the elevator.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.9
    Nice central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my room was still ok but quite outdated

    Central location, very nice staff (a special positive note for Fabrizio at reception with a warm welcome), good generous breakfast -splendid breakfast room with a view over the roofs of Rome

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.5
    Location! Location! Location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY VERY noisy!!!! Probably I was unlucky but my room (521) was facing a street with people chatting until 3AM. Moreover is was close to an electronic door that every time was activated was beeping so loudly to wake me up :-(. The room was supe tiny (I asked and paid for a superior double room... not sure if it was) and very dark. IMO it would need some refurbishing because it looked very old and run down. Reaching the room requires some serious orientation skills...the hotel is a maze!

    Location!!!! Staff is very friendly, breakfast in the superb terrace

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.9
    Great comfortable location, with good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in room. Air Con in hotel was turned off for winter, but room was Quite hot, they did provide a fan.

    Very good breakfast selection. Liked the roof bar

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay at Valadier
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms, poor toilet amnesties

    Location, friendly staff, clean rooms, fluffy towels and bath robes, the restaurant Hi-res with its excellent food, impeccable service, roof view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress could have been softer but that's according to personal preference.

    Location was amazing, staff were very helpful and their piano bar is very lively during the weekends. Hotel restaurants were great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    5.8
    Great location and staff. Hard beds and poor wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were extremely hard. No douna. Only a sheet. No English channels on TV. Bad wifi. Shower flooded and smelt.

    Location. Inclusive breakfast. Rooftop restaurant. Walking distance to all major attractions. Really nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    Beautiful location near the Villa Borgese, in a walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location near the Villa Borgese, in a walking distance from St. Peter's Basilica, St. Angel Castle and all major attractions. A lot of shops nearby.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.8
    breakfast was a good location and much choice , fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was great but we stayed in the building next to the hotel were our suite , and to move in between hotel and street it was cold and people there is some construction in that building , for the rest was perfect i will

    breakfast was a good location and much choice , fantastic! staff was top !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    6.7
    Unwelcoming staff, wifi not free, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advertises free wifi but the speed is ridiculously slow (0.5 Mb). Even to look something up on google maps to plan our day took over 5 min. When we mentioned it to the hotel manager, we were "offered" high speed wifi (just the normal 30Mb) for just 10 euros/day!!! Extremely disappointing for a 4 star hotel... Very noisy bedroom with windows facing Via del Corso, the main shopping street of Rome. The staff were very unwelcoming and ignored us completely. The staff in the lobby never said hi on our way in. We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and never felt comfortable.

    The rooms were beautifully decorated with really big showers. The cleaning service was very well done. The breakfast buffet had many options and it was served on the rooftop offering great views of the city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.1
    Disappointing and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No welcome drink as mentioned on the confirmation. Very small room and bathroom. We asked for a quiet room, but it faced the street and was close to the lifts. Despite being on the 4th floor there was constant noise from the street, slamming doors and people coming out from the lifts. The soundproofing is not adequate at all. The nightclub downstairs plays very loud music every night until 3am and Saturday night until 4am. Indoor smoking area close to the bar on the 6th floor, despite having an open air terrace with tables for smokers. There is smoke day and night coming from the street and from upstairs. Better ventilation is needed for children and non-smokers. Overpriced drinks at the rooftop bar in the afternoon: €23,50 for a prosecco and a house red wine. Room service all day, but no possibility to buy the same snacks at the rooftop bar in the afternoon. We visited the pizzeria 'Il Brillo Parlante' in previous trips but the current service and quality are not even a shadow of what it used to be in the past. Tasteless food and poor service, even when not busy.

    Check-in and check out were fast. They helped us with our luggage both times. We liked the character of the room and the building. Toiletries and slippers were included. The room had a minibar and big safe. Firm and comfortable bed. High standard of cleanliness in the room and the premises. Beautiful rooftop restaurant and a varied breakfast included. Very kind, helpful and very efficient staff, especially during breakfast and housekeeping. We stayed nearby on previous occasions and like the central location. It allow us to spend whole days exploring this beautiful city. That was the reason to choose this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.1
    Neat hotel, perfect location get a room at the back to avoid noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy room.Thumping music from the hotel's restaurant and bar.Ask for a room overlooking the back yard and not the street. We have stayed in Rome many times and I have lived there so for the staff to say Rome is always noisy as their excuse, I know this is not correct. Small rooms

    Pretty neat hotel. Very different decor etc. Made a refreshing change. Great location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    The hotel didn't disappoint, the position in the centre of Rome , could not have been better.we wal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The black tiled floor was very glamorous, there were a few steps from the sitting area to bedroom, the lighting could have been a little brighter by steps.

    The breakfast was amazing, never seen such a choice, the custard cakes were the best I have ever tasted.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: