Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Valentino Centro Storico 3 stars

Via Angelo Da Orvieto, 32, 05018 Orvieto, Italy

#16 of 34 hotels in Orvieto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 356 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only a two minute walk to the duomo and less than a minute to the main street, Cava Cavour, with its restaurants and coffee shops etc., but still very quiet. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sylvia was an absolute pleasure. She was understanding and helpful and incredibly sweet. I feel as if I made a friend. Like she would remember us if we came back in a year or 10 years. She made staying there feel like home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom was outdated. According to the staff they are going to work on it, but not sure if they will do it before your stay. No wi-fi coverage inside the rooms. Breakfast was poor.

    Location was great and personnel staff was very nice. Even though, this is a hotel and not a B&B, they told us that the check-in had to be before 6 pm if not they will charge you a fee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing for our puproses.

    We did not choose breakfast, so no way to evaluate. Very nice and helpful staff. Parking outside town walls, requiring a short uphill walk to property. Most places do offer parking for an additional fee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some fresh fruit for breakfast.

    The staff is so friendly and helpful, with directions, solutions, and suggestions. Plus, this location has access to parking, both in the hotel garage and street parking just meters away. With less than a two minute walk, you reach the main drag, Corso Cavour. Take it to the left and you pass interesting shops and on to the major parking area and the funicular down to Orvieto Scalo. Take it right and you will find great restaurants, shops of every description, and, a few blocks up, a left hand turn toward the Duomo.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rolling luggage along cobbled streets can be tricky.

    Accommodating is the watchword for this lovely, friendly hotel. I had special circumstances during my stay and the staff were very generous in their response. My room was large, comfortable and just what I needed after 16+ straight hours of travel. The sheets were crisp, clean, and cool, and the bathroom sparkled. The receptionist/concierge was able to point me to a great restaurant for an evening meal, a supermarket for essentials, and anything else that came up. I would definitely recommend the Hotel Valentino.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location. Difficult to locate as it's tucked away on a one-way street off a small piazza. The street is one-way in the opposite direction from approach to the hotel. Parking is two blocks away at an underground unattended parking lot in a space leased to the hotel; guest pays $12.00 daily.

    Normal continental breakfast. No eggs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maria and Piero and their staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I traveled with 13 college students and it was perfect for us. With rooms that were clean and that could be shared. The location was very good, close to everything and to the main entry of the town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all.

    We enjoyed the entire experience. The town of Orvieto was stunning, people are friendly, Hotel Valentino was in a perfect location with very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could write down the important numbers on the phone in the room (e.g., the number of the desk, so one doesn't have to go all the way down to ask wifi password). Also could leave wifi password somewhere visible inside the room, so there is no need to go around asking for it.

    It was quite quick to book and easy to find. The room was a bit small, but in general clean, tidy and comfortable. Perfect for overnight stays. Also the location is quite comfortable: close to main sights of the city, especially the famous St. Patrick's well!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too short a stay.

    Best breakfast we had on our 10 day trip to Italy. And the biggest room. Very nice place to stay while visiting this wonderful town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wouldn't stay here again. Check out time in booking.com indicates 7am to 12pm and the manager wanted us to check out by 10:30am, REALLY? It left a very bad impression, total disregard for the guest/tourist experience and for what was advertised/contracted. The A/C in the quadruple room didn't work and was very noisy, terrible for a hot day in August. Staff doesn't speak English, which is OK, so don't advertise that they do. It was a nightmare getting driving instructions from staff to get to the hotel. Paying for public parking at the square close to hotel is cheaper than the 12 euros/day charged by hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonably priced hotel in the middle Orvieto. Easy to get to the major sights and funicular. The made to order coffee at breakfast was great. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Strong wifi.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a nice area with a pleasant walk to some of the sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been bigger, beds more comfortable.

    Breakfast was very good. Service was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had no walls and the bathroom floor got all wet and very slippery.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing not to like

    Close to center of town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and accommodating. Not in the busy tourist area but only a give minute walk away. Excellent family restaurant only a block away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location centre of Orivietto, near shops, restaurants , cafe and il Duomo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints , nice hotel

    Staff were very nice, breakfeast was good,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very nice espacially the workers were friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was away from the hotel and not indicated as such on the website or booking.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast good and great friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was difficult to use especially for. Older people.

    The staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We felt quite comfortable in Valentino. Very warm welcome and convinient location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior dated

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of cigarette smoke in room, needed a good airing

    Location was perfect, staff couldn't do enough

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ok but could do better. Bath with no shower option

    Great location and friendly staff. Good size triple room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration outdated Breakfast poor Bathroom outdated

    Location Room space

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on bed was very old and sagged in the middle. Bathroom had mould in the shower

    Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was a little dated but still grand.

    Neighborhood was easy to walk. We found restaurants nearby . Staff was very helpful. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location. Only a few minute walk to the city center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be better: mould in the shower.

    Comfortable bed and quiet location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Would have been great if we had driving directions, so we did not have to drive trough the old city to get to the Hotel. Internet connections was really not good.

    Great location, Walking distance form all the main sites.This is also a great location for travels around this area. Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly. We had everything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The man we checked us in was very grumpy. Our fridge and bathroom light did not work. Was further from the bus stop than I thought

    The breakfast was good for the italian standard

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Smallest room i've seen. Took a room for two, removed a table and threw in a twin bed. Also onlr a handheld shower that wouldnt stay on.

    Clean. Good location

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was absolutely no problem with the hotel whatsoever. The only problem we had -- and it was NOT with the hotel -- was with Rick Steves' guidebook and restaurant recommendations, many of which are no longer open.

    This charming hotel was very easy to reach by foot from the train station via the funicular. Our family of two adults (late 40s, early 50s) and two early teenagers (13 and 15) came to the hotel with full backpacks and rolling suitcases in tow after confirming the street location through the information desk located opposite the Duomo. The hotel is run by a lovely family with a special history in this building. The room for our family on the top floor was immaculate, comfortable, and quiet -- all the things we desired, plus more. AC worked great for us. WiFi did, too. It was off of the busy main street, which we wanted, but also very close and within walking distance to everything. Orvieto is a great walking town, and the location of this hotel was perfect. It is also easy to quickly walk to the local bus lines (5-7 minutes of hustle), which we took early one day to travel to Civita di Bagnoregio. We recommend taking the first bus of the day if you desire to go to Civita. This lovely hotel also had an amazing breakfast spread, elevated by the homemade cappuccino that they make for you (which, for us, made it all the more worth it because many places have self-service cappuccino machines that just don't compare in taste with the "real deal"). Finally, I took quite ill one of our evenings there, and the owner was so kind to prepare a little tray with tea cups and a pot of tea for me. It made all of the difference in the world. [Il Malandrino Bistrot is THE restaurant we recommend the highest. What a wonderful meal we enjoyed with superb wine, unique dishes that combined innovative with traditional tuscan flavors, and a warm, vivacious owner, Riccardo, who treated us like kings.] The evening passiagiata is worth experiencing with the local people, as is the walk around the outer path surrounding this little city. Thank you to the wonderful hotel staff for making our stay so pleasant in Orvieto. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to move to another room because the AC was not working, the guy at the front desk at night had his friends over to party right under our window at night.

    Location was good, room was very large by European standards, elevator, decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At arrival there has been a problem with booking.com not having transferred the reservation to the hotel (although we had the confirmation email). While I was looking for a parking spot, my girlfriend (non Italian speaker) stepped in but the old guy at reception almost sent her to hell because he couldn't find the reservation, assuming she was wrong. Then when I arrived with the email and Italian speaking, he was suddenly nice and helpful. Which to me is simply unacceptable and impolite. Room was not working as it should: water in the shower took forever to flow away, electric system was crashing just by using a hairdryer. Suggestion to the hotel manager: let the young guy work during the day and the old one during the night, in order to minimize the amount of customers who would get in touch with him!

    Location is perfect to reach the main center. The guy doing reception at night is very nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not any bad experience at all. We were staying at a discount which made the value for money very good. If the price is typically $400 I don't think I would stay for that but it is a VERY nice hotel ... best we stayed at for our entire trip!

    We loved the desk help. The older gentleman, who we assume runs the hotel, was extremely kind. It looked like it might rain and he gave us top notch umbrellas (we had none of our own). He was very helpful in every way possible. The younger gentleman was very helpful and prepared fresh cappuccinos for us in the morning with our breakfast. He was also very kind.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast minimal

    Location exccellent, bed comfy

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing negative

    Great location. Loved the coffee drinks made to order for breakfast. Nice breakfast set up. Nice staff. Great room.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Great location, clean, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff gave a great recommendation for a restaurant around the corner. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very convenient for centre of Orvietto. Helpful and friendly staff. Clean. Good choice at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location in old town, clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were very helpful - especially the young men at the desk

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was uncomfortable. Wifi unreliable and slow. Breakfast average.

    Good lication

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ineffective wifi - not operative in room. Small shower space. Cramped room.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom shower uncomfortable. In Corner. Banging elbows on wall.

    Parking close by

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful friendly staff. In the heart of the town.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel hard to find.

    historical old town. Duomo was well worth a visit Ride on funicular was fun

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location. We drove our car virtually to the hotel door, parked it in the garage and we could easily walk to all the City's attractions

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy

    Central position,

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaking shower base .

    Quiet street friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Flickering light bulb in bathroom which made use uncomfortable

    The Old City.......and surrounds

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Garage parking available for a reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Very welcoming . Clean and comfortable. Ease of walking to all sites in beautiful Orvieto.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very quite and comfortable, I would recommend this hotel if you were staying in this beautiful little town.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location in centre of town.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi limited to one device

    Location, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard mattress

    Location

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The heating system's fan was a little bit noisy

    View to the Duomo from room window, breakfast, garage

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would have liked an extra pillow

    loved the city

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Right in the old centre, garage car parking available at very reasonable cost. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Good breakfast.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: