Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Valkarana Relais di Campagna 4 stars

Loc. Lu Lioni/Lago Del Liscia, 07030 Sant Antonio Di Gallura, Italy

Review score

Based on 214 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful relaxing friendly hotel, to switch off and enjoy Sardinian hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was lovely

    Loved the location and surrounding countryside, the food was beautiful, typical Sardinian fayre which was presented well and the menu also offered alternatives to the set menu. The staff and the owner were very welcoming and took an interest in all the guests, the drinks at the bar were really reasonable considering we were a captive audience. We loved the peacefulness of the place, just gorgeous. We would really recommend this hotel and loved it, but maybe next time we would do a few nights here, then travel lower down on the island for a few nights. You definitely need a car.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Everything about this place , the food was amazing , the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit away from city

    Everything about this place , the food was amazing , the staff very Friendly and helpful and the location is just too amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    The view off the lake, big room, very nice swimmingpool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection was bad in the room. The shower was outdated.

    The view off the lake, big room, very nice swimmingpool, nice staff, good kitchen, quiet surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Relax hotel. Perfect place to spend a few days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    What a nice hotel in the "Sardinian mountains". Very clean and tidy, well maintained, friendly staff, beautiful view on the lake. Peaceful and quiet location. Nice pool. Good bed, except the matrass a bit too hard for us, but that's a personal thing.The photos on Booking.com don't lie. Very satisfied with the breakfast too. I would definitily recommend this place!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location for quiet vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in mountains, consider daily driving if not staying all day.

    Perfect location for quiet vacation. Warm welcome and delicious food. 2 great swimming pools, one of them for kids. Amazing week. Recommend for couples. If you will stay just for a night or so, you may not catch that warm welcome feeling of Sardinians.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has the best view, perfect getaway. Breakfast is great and the stuff is really nice. It’s a bit isolated and the road has no lights so better to arrive before sunset but as soon as your there it’s beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    We had 3 nights at the end of our 14 day trip to Sardinia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 3 nights at the end of our 14 day trip to Sardinia. Location feels remote but only 25 minutes to the coast. Quiet surroundings and nice pool area. We loved the calm and good feeling we got during our stay. The dinners where great with traditional dishes. Rooms clean and spacious. Staff friendly and service minded. We would very much recommend this to other travelers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location, great place to relax and re-energise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff was so welcoming and friendly: Daniela at breakfast was always smiling and talking to all the guests, Salvatore, the manager, really hard working and always there to offer the best customer service. Food was excellent: great quality ingredients and honestly cooked (like you would at home). At dinner, with the menu of the day option we got 4 courses which were different (meat/ fish) every night and delicious. The view from the terrace was beautiful: overlooking the lake and the mountains. Overall, a lovely experience, would love to go back soon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Peaceful and comfortable location with lovely views, wonderful hospitality - and great diners!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV was small and with limited channel options (but that's not so unusual in smaller hotel in Italy). It was therefore a shame that while we could watch the soccer world cup on a small TV in the bar, we couldn't watch the games in our room. That "issue" was more than compensated for by our overall experience at Valkarana - and especially dinner experiences....

    The owner and staff are friendly and helpful which makes guests feel very, very welcome. The peaceful location is perfect for a short break and the view of the lake and surrounding hills is lovely. Our room (junior suite) was simply furnished but clean and comfortable and we had a good view of the lake Above all, the food was excellent and plentiful - we highly recommend the half board option - and having diner while looking at the lake and watching the sun go down was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Located in the middle of the countryside, no network,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located in the middle of the countryside, no network, perfect for relaxing and admiring the nature. Calm Restaurant Breaskfast Staff Unique location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    This place was wonderful and we'll be going there again without any doubt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had to rely on the GPS app on my phone to find the hotel, but once locked in it was easy from then on.

    The room was much larger than I ever expected, a few yards from a lovely swimming and with easy access to the bar and excellent restaurant. I would give their chef 4 stars if I could.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Remarkable setting with lake and mountain views all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Maybe softer pillows?

    Remarkable setting with lake and mountain views all around. Food excellent and all the staff very efficient and warm and friendly at all times. Really a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Amazing beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning surroundings, spacious rooms viewing the lake, great pool area, lovely food! Just wonderful and quiet perfect for relaxing! Would love to visit again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    A wonderful and romantic hide-away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have appreciated some more hot water in the shower (which only lasted for ten minutes each day), and also that a conditioner was provided in the bathroom. The hairdryer is very old and barely blowing at all. I suggest you bring your own hairdryer until the hotel invests in new ones. The chairs in the restaurant are not for people with back problems. Would have loved bar service to the pool area.

    Beautifully located overlooking the sea! You will need a car, and gps (google maps or here) to find the place, and it is well worth the drive! Nice and spacious rooms, nicely cleaned swimming pool. Very good food in a nice restaurant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Would recommend this place to other travellers, especially in the summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only minor thing was that the shower could have been a bit more powerful.

    Wonderful setting in quiet countryside far from noise of modern life! The staff were excellent - all of them - and the boss was a very cheerful, chatty and efficient young man. The room was a good size, the bed v. comfortable. We had a room with lake view which was great. The pool looked good, although it was not too warm or sunny when we stayed but in hotter times you could imagine relaxing by the water. We booked half board because the nearest restaurants are too far away and the food was of a high standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    The owner and staff were absolutely fabulous and made our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The owner and staff were absolutely fabulous and made our stay so enjoyable as was the excellent quality of all the meals we had there. The hotel was clean and tidy and the only drawback would be the beds and pillows could be better quality. However, I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel in the future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    The definition of relaxation and the ultimate place to switch off (don't worry, there's still wifi!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This place is like nowhere i've stayed before - in a good way! - I just wish I had appreciated how remote it was and how expensive taxi's are in Sardinia! It's worth hiring a car just to get you from and to the airport, even if you have no intention of moving a muscle once you get there. Our taxi cost us 80 euros each way - ouch!

    We hadn't hired a car for our stay as I was pregnant, so we spent five days very much taking in the surroundings! The rooms and grounds are beautiful - so clean, so quiet. The views across the lake are fabulous - do be aware though that by the end of August the lake has begun to dry up, so doesn't look as lush as I imagine it looks in May! And the food - thankfully! - was amazing. There was enough variety for us to eat twice a day at the restaurant for five days. We never had a bad meal and felt it was reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and even offered to drive us to the local town for a meal one night in case we were getting cabin fever!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect Hotel and Restaurant Valkarana !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    We stayed at Valkarana this summer. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect, clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was good with fresh made cappuccino! The hotel has a restaurant with delicious food and every day different meals. Also with typical Sardinian food. Make sure you try the red wine from the house. Vino Rosso della casa. ... It is made by the hotel's owner!! When we are on Sardinia again we will definitely return. You need a car because Valkarana is located a little outside the tourist-things, but it's a perfect base the start from when you want to visit Olbia, Palau, Porto Cervo or Costa Esmeralda.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    4.6
    A disappointment - not even close to a 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not even close being a 4* hotel: 3* maybe, at it's best. To start with it feels very run down and almost abandonned. Our shower gel was used when we arrived and no pool towels are provided - we were asked to use our only set of shower towels from the room which shouldn't be the case in what's advertised as a 4* place. There is no wifi in the junior suite, something that should be available (especially as the hotel is so remote that there is also a complete lack of phone reception and 3G). There are no cocktails in the bar, only a small selection of wine and beer (something that maybe is ok when in a town, but as we, as all guests, can't reach the hotel without a vehicle from any surrounding villages this was a disappointment to us). Very limited lunch menu so I'd recommend to only eat dinner at the hotel. Can't say anything about breakfast as it closes 9.30, which we missed after a poor nights sleep in what we thought was an uncomfortable bed. We also had very noisy construction work (drillning in a wall) starting before 10.00 am right next to the suite which we find unacceptable considering both the time and the fact that it's August - maybe leave that kind of work for the low season. All in all, I'm very surprised about all the positive reviews here and on tripadvisor: I always book hotels through booking.com and this is the first time I find the reviews completely missleading.

    The staff is very friendly, especially the waitresses at the restaurant in the evening. The dinner was nice, really enjoyed the dessert, and the wine was good and well priced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Lovely peaceful hotel of a very high standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit hard to find.

    The hotel was in a beautiful place. It was very serene. Everything was beautifully decorated, and clean . The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard and the restaurant staff were wonderful. We had a lovely suite and the children a super room near to the pool. A wonderful relaxing two days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Superb accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Superb accommodation! Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Views are very beautiful with peace and silence. Rooms and pool area are cozy and very clean. Restaurant is excellent and offers very good value. You maybe need a car but place is really worth of it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Great retreat kind of place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet only works on the main building and most of the rooms are far from it, this can be or not a minor, depends on what you want to do there. To improve, I would add a hot tub in the swimming pool area. Also, keep in mind that you might need to climb stairs so not ideal for people with mobility issues.

    The place is super picturesque. Very beautiful estate by the mountain with sweeping views of the lake. Getting there is a fun drive and there is plenty of uncovered parking. Dinner was great and cost about 20 euros for a main, wine and dessert. The included breakfast was Ok, not much variety but fresh coffee from the espresso machine (although its supposed to be limited to 1). The room was huge and with aircon. There are 2 pools, one big and one for kids and there are sunbathing chairs with a special cover that you can use to protect your face from the sun. The staff provided good service. Overall a very pleasant stay, perfect for disconnecting from the world and just enjoying the views, pool, lake and food while reading books or spending time with a loved one.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    The location, the view, the general manager was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did

    The location, the view, the general manager was really helpful! Very clean as well!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    A peacefull week!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet, clean and warm staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    The very nice and spacious room with great view on the lake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very nice and spacious room with great view on the lake (Junior suite). Dinner (menu) was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    The silence, the view, excellent staff, very polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The silence, the view, excellent staff, very polite and helpfull!! Recommend to everybody!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel and great staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    The food was excellent and the daily set menu meant that we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent and the daily set menu meant that we had a great selection of regional dishes. The staff were also excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Vaani (The Reception Manager) was exceptionally helpful. Nice views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is an excellent, tranquil, friendly little hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, food, room, views and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel, food, room, views and pool. Staff were very kind and helpful The perfect place to get away from it all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    The restaurant is really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed quality Have to book for diner

    The restaurant is really good Peaceful location Good service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low sound insulation, although this has charm :)

    Park Privacy, silence, coziness, very hospitable staff, good quality products

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    A great escape!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The peace and tranquility of the place was just what we needed to relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Free suite upgrade very nice with lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard pillow No coffee making facilities in room Tv out of order but not intending to watch it anyway

    Free suite upgrade very nice with lake view Great pool Good food Lake views amazing

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.3
    Nice restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet in the rooms. Fresh vegetables not in breakfast (though general thing in Italy).

    Nice restaurant. The lamb was especially delicious. Tranquil environment. The garden was also very nice. Ideal for discovering the Costa Smeralda area if you don't like the crowds. Car is essential though for this place.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.2
    This hotel is in a stunning location overlooking lake Liscia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative was that the bed was very hard indeed and you only get one pillow each - but to be fair we never got round to asking for more.

    This hotel is in a stunning location overlooking lake Liscia. It is so quiet - all you can hear are the cicadas / crickets. The restaurant was very nice and you eat on a lovely terrace overlooking the lake. The pool is nice, if a little chilly, with comfortable loungers. The room was very spacious, light and airy, with good, easily adjustable air conditioning.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    6.3
    Excellent pool, good breakfast, freindly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is quite remote, so your eating options nearby are quite limited. The hotel restuarant does great pizza but the rest of the menu just slightly misses the mark, it is slighlty trying to hard maybe. They have a slightly odd policy about no eating or drinking in your room, on your terrace or by the pool, which was a little sad. It would have been nice to enjoy a drink on our terrace in the evening or by the pool. The bed and pillows were really hard!

    Excellent pool, good breakfast, freindly staff. Very spacious room (if a little empty). A great starting point for exploring the north of Sardinia.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    We liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing do dislike.

    We liked everything. From the location to the rooms. The staff is very friendly and the food is amazing. A big plus is also the lack of cellphone signal, helps with the relaxation. The hotel has wifi if you need to contact anyone and tell them how great the hotel is :)

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    8.8
    cleanliness, staff, comfort, food, pool, value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    an hours drive from somewhere else you would want to be

    cleanliness, staff, comfort, food, pool, value

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Very quiet and peaceful surroundings next to lake Liscia,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The safe didn't work

    Very quiet and peaceful surroundings next to lake Liscia, good restaurant with fair prices, nice pool

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just perfect

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    Wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful place. Amazing personnel.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: