Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Excelsior Venice 5 stars

Lungomare Marconi 41, 30126 Venice-Lido, Italy

#17 of 36 hotels in Venice-Lido

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 563 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.3
    UNSATISFACTORY NOTES
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something inadmissible: a silk pink jacket was stolen from my wardroom. When I tried to report it at reception, the reaction was of total disinterest. In the room, the curtain was fallen and nobody put it right back. The fuse of the lamp inoperative. Whilst inside my room, a floor attendant entered every day to check my minibar. At the bar, a waiter ordered us in a most unfriendly tone to sit at a table nearest the bar-door. Quite surprised at the coldness at the reception desk. No at all the normal welcoming expected of a very highly priced hotel. A real disappointment. Certainly most unexpected of a five star L Hotel

    The location is charming, splendid architecture, the stylish room. And the sea

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    - Location, amazing views and a short hop in to Venice with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast options for a 5-star hotel A bit pricy drinks and food

    - Location, amazing views and a short hop in to Venice with their complimentary boat shuttle service leaving every 30 minutes - Very beautiful hotel - Very nice heated outdoor pool - Very good drinks - DJ on the beach

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    celebrated our 25th anniversary , free upgrade and bottle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    celebrated our 25th anniversary , free upgrade and bottle of wine waiting for us a nice touch , excellent location , the free water taxi service a very nice touch , price of the hotel shame breakfast was not included

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    A good old hotel with a special relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve said it above

    This is a 5 star hotel so you expect a high standard, things are pricey, main concern relates to noise, well for a whole day they were taking down a marquee, kneumatic torque guns certainly make a racket, it just spoilt the whole day at the pool. You can use a scaffolding spanner? Great free water taxi to the main Venice area, that was so special. We enjoyed the hotel and good service too. Apart from getting kicked out of the relaxing seats on the beach front because I will not pay 12 euros for a small bottle of beer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Huge, spacy, luxury room, frequent, punctual, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was perfect -I must admit- but not quite the "fine-dining" experience I was hoping for, from a 5-star Italian resort. For example I was surprised not to find fish in the otherwise complete breakfast buffet.

    Huge, spacy, luxury room, frequent, punctual, comfortable boat service to San Marco, cute beach, friendly helpful staff - Excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    One Of The Best Hotels In My Life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heavy rain on the third day...((

    The best lodging location in Venice. You can soak up the sun and visit Venice downtown or any other island in the evening for a nice dinner)) Anyway I spent my 50-th Birthday here))

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.8
    Don't expect much, and you'll be fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Smell from canalization Ants on room. And I don't mean like 2 ants. No, like colony of ants everywhere. Carpet, Bathroom etc. NO vegetables at breakfast at all. Literally absolutely not even 1 tomato

    Nice Building Boat Transfer

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    the hotel is very beautiful, clean, staff are very polite,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    130 EURO for the place at the beach FOR HALF DAY?? It is abolutely unacceptable for 5 star hotel! This was a disappointment. In general all prices for all extra services in the hotel are exaggerated, prices in the restaurant are really ridiculous

    the hotel is very beautiful, clean, staff are very polite, the beach is fantastic! Shuttle water bus every 30 mins to Venice centre is well organised

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Location, rooms, staff, free boat shuttle to San Marco square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel did not payed for licence to carry baggage but shuttle boat. So we were allowed to go to free shuttle boat only without our baggage. So you need to pay for taxi boat (60,00 - 70,00 EUR additionaly each way) to take you to hotel and back. For a 5 star hotel this is funny how they try to cut costs with boat licence :)

    Location, rooms, staff, free boat shuttle to San Marco square

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    A luxury in a spectacular setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had asked for champagne to be delivered to my in-laws room before we arrived as we were there to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. It was not delivered :(

    The staff are friendly, the setting fabulous. Will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    A once only stay in an iconic Lido hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was seriously expensive. We have stayed at many 5 star hotels that offer far better value for money. We just couldn't afford more than one drink in the bar on top of the overnight stay price and the restaurant was in another league.

    A magnificently iconic hotel, brimming with history. The setting was super and having its own pontoon and exclusive riva boat to take you into Venice was an unforgettable highlight of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were very comfortable, the products in the bathroom smelled divine, the elevators were very fast as we were on the 6th floor there wasnt any wait time generally, the restaurant was great and service with a smile. The taxi to and from Venice was always on time and never over crowded. The perfect place for the perfect stay....going back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place for a romantic getaway! Rooms and views you'll remember forever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard European Service. It isn't terrible but it isn't anything special either. Delays in aperos, not checking on customers very often, etc. But the staff was very friendly and nice.

    Gorgeous view of the sea! Worth the price. Hotel was very clean and nice and a wonderful place to stay. The island is fairly easy to get around on and there is good boat service to the other islands. Totally worth it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location with superb sun terrace overlooking Venice - perfect for a quick romantic weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    There is no better place to stay on Lido in Venice. The Excelsior is a spectacular hotel set in an amazing location with some of the friendliest staff I have ever come across on my (many!) travels. The breakfast is well worth including in your package.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    we booked this trip to escape from a rainy and cold weekend and it was overall amazing
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unfortunately our room had this awful smell coming from the drainage in the master bathroom. the concierge was very kind in recommending a restaurant close by the hotel, unfortunately the restaurant was miserable, the worst food I have had in Italy so far. i expected such a high class resort to recommend greta restaurants in any price level. that was true a bummer.

    the excelsior is the perfect spot for a weekend getaway. the location is amazing, the comfort of having everything you need for a quick break in one spot is really marvelous. the staff is very kind with children.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    I will be returning again soon for another visit to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Norhing

    Great welcoming staff! Breakfast is amazing also . The pool and beach are just beautiful and the property grounds are just beautifully decorated with lots of outdoor furniture and umbrellas. Free water taxi to SAN Marco square. Staff always greeted you by your name and eager to assist you in any way they can .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    A truly visually grand hotel, which is also quite possibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices for the relatively standard continental breakfast and any food or drink on the premises were astonishing

    A truly visually grand hotel, which is also quite possibly the only one with both beachfront access and a lovely pool in the whole of Venice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic holiday in the best location to enjoy Venice but relax as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of a cup of tea (in a paper cup) by the pool was a bit steep! Would have been nice to have had tea making facilities in the room. Also would be nice to have had drinking water near the pool.

    Location was fantastic, the free boat ride into st marks every half an hour was really handy and a lovely trip. The pool area was really lovely with plenty of (free) sunbeds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    The location and quietness of Lido as compared to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An international hotel where the pool closes at 6pm? That’s crazy!! The food and beverage prices are at a premium level and don’t provide value for money. Fortunately, there is a great restaurant Cucina Toscana, just across the road.

    The location and quietness of Lido as compared to Venice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Not as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Venice View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff un trained. I got room that I did not pay for. Two levels down. When I protested, first they tried to convince me that this is the room. After I showed a picture of the room that I reserved, it took them one hour to find me a replacement room. It was a grade up and I was satisfied. They blame on computer system... yeah, right. Room mades and waiters at breakfast not trained. It seems that 5 star hotel cut the cost on the service quality.

    Location is great, boat service between Venice and hotel, interiors, swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall experience is good,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in the room didn’t work Everything in the room is very old. Hair dryer very bad. No deckchairs on the beach except cabanas( you have to pay for one)

    Overall experience is good, Staff is good. Good breakfast. Well organized boat transfers to/from Venice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Best of both worlds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect here. Definitely return location was excellent , complimentary water taxi every half hour until midnight so after a busy day visiting Venice could relax at the beautiful poolside over looking the sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Oasis of calm
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Venice View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The best of both worlds an oasis of calm away from the very hectic main attractions of Venice but still within easy striking distance via a shuttle boat that the hotel runs. Beautiful building very attentive staff, nice pool, we thoroughly enjoyed our time spent here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    Classic hotel but seen better days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has seen much better days. Bedrooms tired. Breakfast like a big chain hotel. Bedroom not made up till evening single beds very narrow

    Great Location. Best Beach huts. Great Dinner and terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    the place the building
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the service, all is old they dont invest money in this venue. it looks terrble and than they ask for a crazy rate for what they offer.

    the place the building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    I would recommend this hotel to family and friends. We would love to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and bar prices.

    The staff was extremely helpful and genuine. The water taxi was on time and easy connect to and from San Marco. The room service was twice a day and very accommodating. The hotel was pricey on their bar and restaurant but great quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Its is a fabulous, legendary hotel and I can never get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is under new (UK) management (last 2 years) and they have are started cutting corners: the breakfast choices have gone down this year and the fresh orange juice tastes like water (seems to have been heavily diluted into it) and if you forget to include it in your booking package it will cost you 36 euros extra per person. The "heated" swimming pool was freezing (16-18 celsius) much cooler than any other year we have been there (at the same time) and there is a new silly rule which prevents you from swimming before 10 AM and after 6 PM. This not nice for keen swimmers as you will miss breakfast (finishes at 10:30) and this is the only hotel of this class that does not have an accessible pool from 7-8 AM til 7-8 PM. The hotel restaurant is as expensive as a Michelin star restaurant but no where near the simplicity and quality of nearby restaurants (at a third of the price).

    Its is a fabulous, legendary hotel and I can never get enough of it. The location on the Lido next to the Venise film festival hall is exceptional. The staff is fantastic, always smiling and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable but decor is a bit outdated and has not changed over the years we have been going there but when you take a room with a sea-view is does not really matter any more as the outside view is incredible. Forgot to say that this comes at a higher cost but hey you only lives once.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    overall appearance of the hotel was good, breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Venice View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    our shower didn't work properly, the bathroom was quite poor. AC unit was noisy , sealed unit in our window was blown, so you couldn't see out very well. There was building works going on every day, which we did not know about.

    overall appearance of the hotel was good, breakfast was average. don't forget its an expensive 5 star hotel, this means it should be perfect in every way

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Shuttle to Venice was very convinient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During rain tarace door was leaking. We had two rooms and in two rooms doors were leaking. It was impossible to have stable water temperature when shower was taken.

    Shuttle to Venice was very convinient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    I hated the city because of the hotel, and regretted it was optional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are not using the air conditioner in the guest rooms and they are arguing that they are in the winter and do not use the air conditioner except in the summer , when we opened the window the law disturbed us and we did not sleep

    The staff at the hotel are great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    It was pleasant , enjoyable and a peaceful stay at Excelcior.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very costly accommodation. No Halal food available, no Asian food choice!? No vereity to try for Dinner and or No dinner buffet.

    Nice ambiance, clean and tidy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    Would not return. Would search out other 5 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were upgraded to a deluxe room on the ground floor near a smoking courtyard which suited us. Thank-you most appreciated.The Hotel was very quiet and we thought overly expensive for snacks and coffee's for a five star hotel. Loved the flower arrangements. Somehow it lacked the Dolce Vita expected in an establishment of this kind. It was kind of boring. The water-boat transfers to Saint Marc's were a great but necessary feature for this Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.8
    We liked everything about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At breakfast the staff was very busy and did not listen to my request properly and ordered my food wrong every day they were not accommodating to my gluten free requirements. In September it get cold at night and I am tea drinker there is no in room tea facilities available.

    We liked everything about the hotel. Location, Facilities, the Rooms Beautiful Hotel. On arrival the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel in idyllic surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is already fairly expensive so having to pay extra to use a cabana on the private beach was a bit of a surprise and disappointing (we didn't do it) but use of reclining chairs around the beautiful swimming pool is a good alternative and free! Breakfast was nice but a bit expensive at 29 Euros if not booked in advance (although this is probably the going rate for many large hotels). The mattress on our bed was a little too firm for maximum comfort but not really a problem.

    We love the city of Venice but staying on Lido di Venezia gave us the best of both worlds; easy access to a busy and bustling Venice via a frequent complimentary motor launch from the hotel jetty direct to Piazza san Marco versus peace and quiet on the hotel's private beach and terrace when we returned to Lido. Very helpful staff here. Lovely views over the beach from the terrace where we had coffee or a light lunch and very relaxing sitting by the attractive pool (often used for professional photoshoots). The hotel jetty from which the motor launch leaves and private water taxis arrive is probably the most beautiful taxi rank I've seen anywhere in the world!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    enjoyed the complimentary water taxi into beautiful Venice City BEST OF BOTH KINDS OF HOLIDAY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel room although large with a terrace 7th floor was tired/dated but this is reflected in the price.

    I liked the choice of either staying on beach for day quieter hardly any people or simply going to busy Venice City by the complimentary water taxi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    Go somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Venice View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, refused to separate the king to 2 twins. Mother daughter so it was ok, but they did not want to bother splitting up the beds. Lazy. The blankets sizes were not comfortable. Unfriendly front desk, unreliable shuttle service. Got caught in downpour rains and found other guests waiting for hours for the shuttle service. When hotel was called, they did not seem to care at all. No apologies, no recognition that their service was at fault. No compensation offered. Really could not give a rip. Overall felt that because we booked thru bookings.com, that they were not interested in giving us full services. Room was hot, tub surround had black yuck in the corner. Staffs attitude was superior with noses turned upward. I'd not stay here again. Fool me once. For the price go to the JW Marriott, their shuttle service was on time every time!

    Cool old Italian vibe, quiet. Good restaurants around on Lido. Safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Free water shuttle to St Marks Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of some things at the hotel were simply ridiculous- 37 Euros for a hamburger and a glass of water!...really?

    Free water shuttle to St Marks Square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    4.6
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stuff is impolite. No apologizes when something gets wrong. Room not available on time. Problems with the bill. We had lots of comsumptions from the bar on our bill made by someone else - not us. Problems to use the beach.

    We won't go to this hotel again. It was great in the past when it was run by other companies. We really enjoyed it. Never again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    One of the Best Hotels I have ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I very much liked the Moorish style of the hotel with some Pharaonic statues. It was very clean that they were almost waiting for you to get out of the room to clean it, tidy your bed or slip you a biscuit. The staff were very polite and courteous. It had every thing I needed that I didn't have to get out of the hotel to buy anything. The beach is not very good though but that's nature.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Great stay in a classic hotel on the tranquil Lido
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought that the lunch and dinner options were very pricey and rather limited choice of food for such a price.

    Great location and a very sophisticated classic hotel. Rooms were spacious and public spaces very roomy with classic decor. Staff all good and very helpful people. Free motor lauch service to Venice very useful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    I didnt really know what to expect and was pleasantly surprised!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Extra Beds and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price of snacks was off the scale! Some areas such as the rooms needed updating and the use of the cabanas on the beach should have been included in the price of the stay!

    Room was larger than expected and the hotel was very authentic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Very friendly staff, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs renovation, especially dining area. You have to pay approx. 100 eur/ day for the beach ( for small beach house ). Pool area is for free. Breakfast rather poor, also the breakfast area needs cleaning .

    Very friendly staff, great location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    The property is large and very nice, but the hotel needs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is large and very nice, but the hotel needs renovation. The dining room looks like in 3 stars hotels. The rooms are nice but carpets there are dirty. On the beach you have to pay for beach houses ( very expensive!), pool area is nice and free of charge .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    Five-star hotel with three-star service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The service was quite spotty: the luggage was delivered to the room very slowly, housekeeping did not replenish toilet paper, it took an hour for the room service to bring ice cubes. This was quite surprising for the very expensive five-star hotel. Still, we'll be back for the next biennale.

    Lido location was quite good. Bus stops near by. It was nice to explore the island with the bikes rented from the hotel. Pool OK. Convenient commute to the main Venice Biennale venues (Arsenale and Giardini).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.0
    Beautiful hotel.....but please train your staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were little slowly,for example in restaurant I was waiting 25minutes till they came.... unusual on 5* Maybe You have to train your staffs even better and then it will be one of the best hotels in Italy.

    Great and beautiful hotel nice views.... Completelly renovated,beautiful rooms. Hotels water taxi Great beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    I'm glad to visit Excelsior
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect, breakfast- priceless :)...quiet, silent place for a rest with children. The pool is clean and water is warm, staff is helpful and friendly. I would be happy to recommend to my friends and acquaintances.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    3.8
    Terrible service NOT a 5 star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor service from all staff members. This hotel has a serious lack of staff and should have its 5th star removed as it is absoultly not a 5 star experience. From the second you arrive everything is an extra extortionate charge and for 0 service. Nothing is included! If you wish to go to the beach you are landed with a 165 Euro per day charge for 1-2 people in a broken down Cabanna with 0 service other than one overworked exhausted lady who is supposed to service 400 cabanas alone!! The hotel beach accepts out of hotel guests which then leaves hotel guests with even less service and a worry for your personal belongings. The facilities are very run down well past it's expiry date and the Proeprty itself has no air conditioning inside the hotel leaving a horrid smell throughout. The reception was very unhelpful and didn't care that the service was terrible and offered no compensation for any issues and bad service. There is two areas to eat lunch one buffet for a high price with terrible food and a terrace bar - blue bar with hardly any tables high prices and very bad quality. For example a miserable salad for 25 Euro - 45 mins from the dressing to arrive after the salad. Or you could get a seat inside the blue bar if you fancy a sticky lunch with No Ac after sitting in the sun. The hotel does not supply airport transfer instead if you wish for them to organise it they charge you double the price so you must book it alone and do the reacsecth . There is only one complimentary service which is a transfer from the hotel to the main square, however once again the boat is not large enough for the amount of guests so that means you are likely to get rejected and have to wait another 30-40 mins for the next boat. The hotel does not caterer a 5 star service for guests it was a 4 star experience for sure. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone in the future down to the terrible service throughout the stay and lask of care.

    The best and only great member of staff was Donato at the blue bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Wish we could've stayed longer!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were like sleeping on a cloud! The best Buffett breakfast so far on our travels throughout Italy - molto buona 👌🏼 ....especially prosecco for breakfast 🥂

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, perfect base for visiting Venice, regular free boat shuttle to San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is dated, the bath & shower especially could do with updating.

    Bedroom good size, air conditioned, sea view, friendly staff, easy access onto beach, hired a cabana for one day - very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Luxurious stay on Venice Lido
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff a bit indifferent considering the high room rates.

    Atmospheric "classic" beachside hotel built on a Moorish theme. Excellent high quality decoration of rooms and common areas giving a luxurious ambience. Large comfortable beds. Good choice of foods at breakfast. Lovely pool and poolside service. Useful shuttle service to and from San Marco and the hotels private jetty. Great journey and views in Venice lagoon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable room with dressing by area as well as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant a bit slow

    Very comfortable room with dressing by area as well as bathroom en suite. Good regular shuttle to St Mark's Square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.4
    No love in this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you book Hotel Excelsior through booking.com you can be guaranteed they will put you in the worst room in the entire hotel, presumably because they resent paying booking.com a booking fee. We were placed next to the broom closet in the far reaches of the hotel, despite the fact it was not heavily booked. The room was tired and not well maintained including exposed wiring coming out of a socket next to the bed. Not exactly 5 star. The kids club, which costs extra is misrepresented almost fraudulently on their website - promise of kids Yoga and cooking classes amount to nothing. One day we found our children watching cat videos on youtube with their 'trained staff'. We later found out they did this all afternoon. The kids club itself is a disgrace - they've allocated a room in a windowless area of the hotel next to the administration offices. If they take your kids to the pool they don't let them swim unless you are there, which defeats the purpose of kids club I would have thought. Overall the hotel is a joyless place with a funereal air. I was aware they had had some problems but I was shocked by how poorly it is being run. I could not recommend it to anyone and because of the poor room allocation - which has happened when I've used booking.com before - it has made me rethink using booking.com ever again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.3
    Great holiday destination, just overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price of food and drinks (€10 for a bottle of water!) was a real negative...unnecessarily pricey. For a 5 star hotel (and given the pricey food and drinks) the attention to detail by staff wasn't always evident. Doors to service areas were always left open and cleaning trolleys were often left seemingly abandoned in corridors, so you had to squeeze past them....The hairdryer in the bathroom was old fashioned and useless! For a five star hotel I would expect hairdryers that dry hair!

    The facilities at the hotel were very good. We used the gym and pool. The pool area was really great and the beach area was well maintained. The free shuttle boat to St Mark's Square was very handy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Old with great friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property dated and need refreshing. Also, was promised internet in the room but it didn't work due to bad coverage. One has to stand near the door or sometimes pick up the signal from the floor below by the window.

    Beach and pool facilities. Also, good food and well presented in the main restaurant. Staff were great and very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    A great place to unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Extra Beds and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting to and from the Lido is a bit difficult and it was hard to figure out the best way to get there. More information upfront would be helpful. Prices for simple things like drinks and laundry services are way over priced even for a luxury resort.

    Beautiful location, great service and an amazing experience. Pool and beaches made it worth the effort!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no clock in the room to set the time to be waked up , especially important in a critical situation: to reach the airport in proper time. Twice out of four nights, one the last day when I asked 4 different people at the desk to wake me up at 6:30 am, and they FORGOT!!! It seems they don't care. Very important to let the management know about. They should be notified : I asked 2 nights to be waked up in the morning, and both times they forgot. Otherwise, everything fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Door locks keep jamming, electricity in room dropped out once, wi fi not great in room; price of a coffee too much; the pool should be open longer hours.

    Lovely setting, shuttle boat fantastic, great pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel and location but in need of some modernisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Venice View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Aircon was broken and did not get fixed during our 4 night stay. The hotel did provide a mobile aircon unit which helped a little but was noisy and we had to have on all the time so this affected our sleep. The hotel did however give us free breakfast during our stay as compensation. The pool bar drinks prices are also too much.

    Breakfast and the pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.3
    5* Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hospitality for this 5* hotel leaves a lot to be desired. We were not made to feel particularly welcome at anytime during our 3 night stay. Pool area set up is ridiculous. For such a large hotel with a lovely large pool area there are not enough loungers to go around as hardly anyone uses the beach as loungers there are ridiculously over-priced. This led to guests reserving pool loungers in the morning even though they didn't use them until mid afternoon and as a result we witnessed lots of arguments between many guests and poolside staff who were incompetent in dealing with this problem and in addition were frequently rude.

    The best thing about this hotel is their own private jetty with frequent complimentary water shuttle to and from Venice St Marks Square day and evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Excelsior - a real treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tempramental lift which at times made it impossible to get to the main reception floor. Lack of info in the room about immediate area including bus connections.

    Luxury hotel in a beautiful setting. Expensive plus plus but excellent service, fantastic quiet air con in the bedroom which v needed, delicious food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    A grand hotel in marvellous location but poorly managed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Venice View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Management. The staff tried hard, but too many mistakes were made- with the booking, with phone call etc- and coordination was so poor that it was obvious that middle to senior management was not up to par.

    Well established grand hotel in marvellous location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel that needs attention. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we learned that the hotel's air conditioning was not working, had not been working for some time and would not be repaired any time soon as they were waiting for special parts. We changed rooms three times trying to find a cooler spot. We were given a floor fan (cheap one) and finally provided with a portable air conditioner that had a hose that was put through the window. It kept the room cool but of course was noisy and not ideal. The room was tired, missing a bedside lamp and really needed updating. The food and beverage was ridiculously overpriced. Nearby found delicious offerings for a fraction of the cost. The pool was only open 10-6:30 supposedly for maintenance but that can't be true as many pools are open all hours. They should tell the truth and say they don't have lifeguards or ? So no lovely morning healthy swims (without kids, so many kids during the day) and no evening swims. Shame.

    Loved the spacious rooms, high ceilings, beautiful lobby, gorgeous views, fabulous setting, grand foyer. Stunning when you enter. Enjoyed the free boat transfer to Venice. Staff was very good and eager to provide good service. The pool area was wonderful but...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist very rude. Room noisy even though asked for a quiet room. Only moved to a quieter room once I'd agreed to pay 240 euros extra. Tissues and toilet paper not replenished. Some plug sockets didn't work.

    Consierge very helpful and pleasant. Great choice of food at breakfast. Surprised with a little cake on my birthday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Goes down as a firm favourite will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Venice View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared to pay double the normal rate for drinks and food but it's worth it.

    Old style grandeur, fantastic location, excellent boat shuttle to Venice and great staff and service. We loved it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    The Lido is a must stay if you are visiting Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not sure the bar prices are that real. €12 for a bottle of beer in the bar, I had just the one. Cocktails at €20 .........? Walked down the beach to Lio, a nice 5 minute walk, 400mls of Warsteiner €5 and a glass of very nice Prosecco at €2.50. (nice food too)

    Fabulous location with a wonderful beach. Very helpful staff. Wonderful swimming pool. The free boat service across to Saint Mark's Square is so good. Locally, some nice places to eat and drink. A few nice "Chiringuitas" along the roadside on the beach road towards the Main Street on the Lido.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Sublime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The private beach was very beautiful, but there should have been some water taps nearer the sea to wash your feet. The beach personnel (not by the hotel but a different enterprise) knew only little english and was not as obliging as the hotel staff.

    Glamorous atmosphere but not uptight, a peaceful luxury hotel where the staff would do anything for you. The free boat service to San Marco was the key to a perfect holiday combining beach and Venice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were lovely, but not of the quality you would expect paying £400+ a night for a 5 star hotel. Air con was out the whole time we were there. Broken appliances that were not fixed etc etc. We were all eaten alive by bugs the the last few nights (no idea if this was air-con related). But tough to fault the staff as they were all so nice and we still all had a wonderful trip.

    Amazing location. best of both worlds for seeing Venice and having the beach and pool right there. Shuttle boat was a great feature.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditionioning out in entire hotel and had been for two weeks prior to arrival. Nobody informed us! The elevator was also out and our room was on the seventh floor. He had to climb the stairs with no air conditioning. All the pots on the terrace were plastic! Made to look like stone. The plastic lights on terrace to bar had blue lights like a disco and one was broken! Very cheap and inelegant. Because I prepaid with Booking.com I had no leverage to go or change hotels. Outragious!!! More of a bad three star than a five star hotel! They tried to put a portable air con in room but the vent was through the open door which let in a million mosquitoes and we were attacked through the nighr. It was also very noisy and sounded like an outboard motor so all unable to sleep. When we arrived at night there was no soap at all in the bathroom only one small strong smelling shower gel for two people. It took nighttime staff 45 minutes to bring us soap. Really I could go on and on. It was a nightmare. I want my money back.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    6.3
    The staff were very nice and accommodating but considering this is a 5* hotel, it was NOT worth $
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Extra Bed and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO AIR CONDITIONING! It was broken. Food at pool restaurant was horrible and very expensive!

    Breakfasts were good but the same every day. It would have been nice to change the eggs or different meats.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.8
    Great location but hotel management needs a reset
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco in room broken, 1 of the 2 elevators broken, piscine doesn't open until 10am. Come on, you can do better than that! Staff is very friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.4
    Nice but very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, drinks too expensive , not enough restaurants for size of hotel

    Hotel lovely but no air conditioning (broken) and service really slow at Blue bar which was all that was open. Extortionate prices at the bar too

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    On the tracks of Byron or Churchill !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The in-house restaurant is incredibly expensive and relatively low key. Not good value for money and most guests end up eating outside the hotel in restaurants near by or in Venice. The gym needs improvement with more equipment and the swimming pool needs to open at 8AM (instead of 10AM) to attract more dynamic guests who like their early morning exercises (before breakfast which closes at 10:30).

    Great location. Legendary palace upgraded in 2013. Very Friendly staff. Great Breakfast. The rooms with a view on the sea are magical. The beach is great and bicycle rides on the Lido are fantastic (the hotel has nice bicycle to hire for the day).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When not in their summer, peak season; their private beach is closed for renovations.

    The pool was beautiful, the rooms were lovely and the hotel was very authentic. Quite and not busy at all as we stayed out of peak season, however they were getting ready for the summer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    A must stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beaches are not open until 1 June when council clean them

    Excellent value Excellent location Excellent property Excellent staff Excellent food and wine

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.1
    Could be an extraordinary hotel, but didn't quite add up to 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a five star hotel I have stayed in far better five star hotels. The evening menu did not change over our four night stay. The drinks were quite expensive and there was no tea, coffee, water available in the room. Water had to be paid for at 5€. There was no information in the room about the hotel fasciitis etc.

    The breakfast had a good selection and even had water available.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Excelsior Venice traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: