Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Victoria Maiorino 4 stars

Corso Mazzini 4, 84013 Cava deʼ Tirreni, Italy

#1 of 5 hotels in Cava deʼ Tirreni

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 286 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Convenient and good quality stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing needs a look and the room could do with a refresh, especially the mattress has seen better days.

    Really great breakfast and very nice, attentative staff. The room was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is a step back in time (historically as well) to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This hotel is a step back in time (historically as well) to when service mattered. From the breakfast selections and eggs cooked to order to dinner that has a diverse menu the staff, waiters, and cleaning staff all work hard to make your stay pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful town and hotel
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel as it was convenient for our route back to France and we were amazed how lovely the town of Cava di Tireni is. We enjoyed a relaxed stroll through the town after dinner. The hotel is very stylish and we were given the most beautiful suite to stay in. The staff were excellent, very helpful and spoke very good English. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Touring Amalfi & surroundings? Perfect location for staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The blankets & pillows in the bed need updating for more modern standards.

    Traditional hotel renovated with a manner that the renovation was not obvious, preserving the 19th century feeling with high roofing, but still modern bathrooms gave an experience we fondly remember. For the staff working in the hotel, I must give extra recognition of their excellent service provided to us. Underground garage for our car was definitely a big bonus, with no extra cost. The place seemed to be popular with motorcyclists, which I fully understand as a biker myself and would choose this hotel when traveling with motorcycle. Beautiful garden with relaxation area was a nice, too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family operated hotel. Very friendly staff. Private parking hall. Beautiful carden with bar and restaurant. Great location in middle of Tirreni with a short distance to beaches and Pompei. Excellent value for your money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC wasn't very powerful and only in one of the rooms (not in single room) but that seems to be the pattern with hotels and apartments in south Italy

    The staff at this hotel make it a superb place to stay. Every member was willing to help as much as possible. They were friendly, efficient and very helpful with public transport and places to travel to. Saverio, a gentleman who works there, was especially obliging and friendly. The breakfast was plentiful and you could order pretty much any type of egg, free of charge. Location was good but with a toddler can be quite long. You have to take a bus/train to Salerno and then ferry/train from there to get to amalfi/positano/Pompeii. Better to travel from Naples to Capri as much shorter ferry journey. Cava itself is a beautiful cute town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Traditional Italian Town. Good inexpensive location to visit the sights of The Amalfi Coast from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The food was very good. We enjoyed a very nice dinner sitting in the garden.The breakfast varied, plentiful and served from 5 until 10.30 am. Cava de Terrini turned out to be a very interesting, historical Italian town. Whilst we were staying there The Festival of Santuario Francescano was taking place. The town was buzzing with a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    All staff were hepful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location seemed a bit far from the coast and you have to pay a toll charge every time you travel from the hotel to the coast by car.

    All staff were hepful and friendly. They ensured we had a comfortable stay at all times.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Classic old hotel in Cava
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner downstairs was ho-hum though the price and convenience was right.

    Grand old hotel at beginning of the main pedestrian area in Cava, high ceilings, large room, can feel the history of the place. Likely past it's prime but they're trying hard to keep the place updated. Wonderful breakfast and great staff. Parking underground on back side of property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect home base for the Amalfi Coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking access somewhat difficult, but to be expected in an old town.

    Easy access to Amalfi coastal towns. Right in the heart of Cava's pedestrian walkway. Great restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    4.2
    Private parking , but very difficult to find
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor, cucumber was look like 3 days old. Some Little bread. and Some green beans what I think was a left over from the dinner. And waiter was like he didn't want hear us. For a 4 star hotel is this Hotel very overrated. Price Quality not good. Also they copy your passport , what is illegal . When we asked the copy they didn't have it any more. What a lot people don't know you not have to give your passport you only show it. Not give to the reception !!

    Private parking , but very difficult to find

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit old dated

    Very helpfull staff Breakfast was very nice Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean with character and a great location and superb breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given an upgrade to a suite so it was amazing - Really nice range of buffet breakfast or cooked breakfast at no extra cost. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.9
    A beautiful trip to the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt like a travel to the past. It's a beauriful property and the staff is very gentile.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel should be renovated

    The breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony was smelling bed

    The breakfast is great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    The lady of the house does very nice baking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady of the house does very nice baking. She takes good care ......!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, going over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, going over and above to help us organise trips and activities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    The hotel was very nice and comfortable!
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very nice and comfortable! The staff were very helpfull! The room was clean! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Location is good, staff are friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprisingly very expensive & limited restaurants in this small town. Okay stay for short period.

    Location is good, staff are friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    A hotel of the other times, wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hotel of the other times, wonderful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location and the STAFF! very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable room, friendly staff, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car parking difficult to find (one side of the hotel is located in a pedestrian area, so you need to drive around the back side of the hotel to get there)

    Comfortable room, friendly staff, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    We stayed for 7 nights, so we experienced quite everything:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for 7 nights, so we experienced quite everything: the staff were very nice and friendly, they offered us an upgrade to the room that we booked, the hotel is very clean, with beautiful furniture and great architecture. Safe parking, right near the hotel. Very good positioning, right at the begining of the city pedestrian area, were one can find a lot of shops and restaurants. Also, very convenient to start visiting the Amalfi area. Breakfast was very good for an italian hotel, you can also order eggs and omlettes for free. A great holiday, nothing to dislike.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful little village close to Salerno, excellent base...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - all very good

    Beautiful little village close to Salerno, excellent base from where to explore Amalfi Coast, Pompeii etc Staff outstanding, nothing was any trouble and they went out of there way to ensure our comfort. Reasonably accommodation and food/beverage

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful building in a beautiful location in a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi signal was very weak in our room (#31) - it worked like a charm in the public areas. Pool hours are only from 10am until 6:30pm, why not earlier and why not later?

    Beautiful building in a beautiful location in a beautiful town. The super friendly guys welcoming us helped us navigate the narrow streets of Ravello and parked our car for us. Comfortable rooms with great views over the surrounding mountains. Pool area is just amazing, comfortable towels provided by the attentive staff. Poolside you find the very classy restaurant where we had a great lunch and ditto breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    10
    Our choice for the last three days of our two week holiday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to not like.

    Our choice for the last three days of our two week holiday could not have been better. We entered a beautiful, interior designed, airy building. It was tasteful from the entrance-way up to our room. How could we be so fortunate? We were given a junior suite instead of the double we booked. This suite was thoughtfully set out. It contained lovely furniture, and allowed us to relax.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    Everything was superb they made us feel very important.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    None everything was excellent

    Everything was superb they made us feel very important.Can not wait to visit again.Do not bother looking for a place to stay in Amalfi stay in Cava de trenni instead

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    10
    The whole experience was like the way hotel service used to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is nothing not to like.

    The whole experience was like the way hotel service used to be. Quiet, unobtrusive but with someone always ready to attend to your every need. FANTASTIC!!!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Staff very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very pleasant. A very traditional hotel updated with modern comforts. Situated along the beautiful porticos of the town. We have stayed here before and look forward to our next visit.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were pleasantly suprised to find that on arrival, we had been upgraded to a suite. We liked the little touches in the room, such as flowers and fresh fruit. All the beautiful white linen was changed daily, the whole hotel was absolutely spotless. Every morning we enjoyed a wide selection of local specialities, and if you wanted anything extra, it was no trouble to the staff. Overall, it was a great experience, and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    9.2
    The staff very friendly and help, good and pleasure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The staff very friendly and help, good and pleasure hospitality, nice furniture

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    10
    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. Rooms have acoustically isolated windows, augmenting the comfort even more.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    This hotel exceed our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel exceed our expectations. The staff were extremely attentive, I would certainly recommend staying here, it is only 5 kms from Salerno.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    Location and staff very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Business facilities could be better

    Location and staff very good

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.5
    goon hospitality and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The parking is far from the holtel (under the next building) dificult with bugs.

    goon hospitality and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    10
    Faster WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Faster WiFi

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Hotel Victoria Maiorino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: