Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta 5 stars

Via Sempione Nord 123, 28838 Stresa, Italy

#5 of 29 hotels in Stresa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 454 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Luxurious and intimate hotel where the staff would go to any lengths to make you comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Two restaurants serving very good food, but in the one, more informal restaurant, the menu could have been more varied and changed more frequently. Weddings could be a bit noisy if your bedroom is on the lakeside. Although all noise stopped about 1am.

    Beautiful hotel. Full of interesting things to look at - paintings, china, chandeliers. Very Art Deco. Staff lovely. Food very good. Would certainly go again. Even the occasional rainy morning was fine, as it was lovely just to spend time and read a book and in the numerous hotel seating areas. Lovely toiletries - Aqua Parma and Bulgari.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Not what you think you get from pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked, nothing is mentioned that it would be not in the mail hotel building. They build a small few unit building behind and that's where they showed our rooms. We booked 2 lake view rooms, thinking it was in the main hotel. Per pictures, that's what it was supposed to be. We would be ok with the building behind, but one huge thing came up after we stated for few minutes in the rooms. 1. The terrible stink of the gasoline or whatever chemicals were in two rooms on the 1st floor. I have no clue what it was, but me and a friend of ours got a terrible headache after few minutes we were in the rooms. 2. We asked to do something about it and after few hours they managed to change the room for partial lake view...for lake view we had to pay additional money. 3. The partial view room was half of the side of the room that was stinking. Hardly fit in 2 large suitcases. 4. Dinner menus is beautiful but not tasty.

    Pros 1.The breakfast food and service is outstanding. I think it was better than in como 5 star hotel we stayed few days before. 2.The view during breakfast on the lake is great. 3. Sauna is really nice. 4. Its an instagramers paradise. The hotel is tiny, but tons of detail work. Which makes it look outstanding on any picture.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.4
    View on the lake and the great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced. The « private beach » is not at all maintained, and in any case you have to cross a heavy traffic road to reach the lake. The solarium near the beach is polluted by the noise from the road, no service no person to offer a towel, no space to get changed. On the other side of the road, the swimming pool is in the shadow during all afternoon, which limits its attractiveness.

    View on the lake and the great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff are amazingly friendly and interested in your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town is a bit too far to walk but super quick if you have your own vehicle

    The staff are amazingly friendly and interested in your company, the beds and pillows are so comfortable that you look forward to getting home after a long day, super thoughtful toiletries for including a body scrub for the shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    A luxury beautiful hotel facing Lago Maggiore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A nice variety for breakfast, but not high quality or special as you would expect from such a luxury hotel. Bathroom at the suit is huge, but no separate toilets, so 2 guests are still waiting for each other. The design faucets splash water all around.

    Location of the hotel is perfect, overviewing Lago Maggiore just in front of the Borromean islands. The hotel interior is beautiful with a lot of art and magnificent furniture. We were upgraded from a Junior suit to a suit, which was very spacious and beautiful. The shower is very nice, and there is also a jacuzzi. The air conditioner was excellent in the August heat. Breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace facing the lake, and the staff there is very friendly. Car parking is easy , just at the back of the hotel. The staff in general is very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Nicely run and decorated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bit road noisy rooms, and not an easy walk to the town centre. Although always many staff on duty, they are inattentive and one needs to chase them for service - odd, really.

    No doubt the best small quality hotel in Stresa. There is one other quality hotel, but it is huge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff were exceptionally helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior double room is a stretch The room was the smallest I’ve ever stayed In. Breakfast was ok. Limited selection of choice.

    Staff were exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Beatufull views on the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior is very kitsch. Please change the lights bulbs throughout the hotel with warm light. Those lights kill the athmosphere. Price/quality is not good if you compare it for example with the grandeur of Grand hotel Iles des Borromees a bit further to the centre if Stresa.

    Beatufull views on the lake. Nice veranda. Very friendly staff. Food. An older public felt very at home. Nice exterior.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Very nice but small room for price. Toiletries great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for price and although we paid extra for room overlooking part lake part garden, no one pointed out that the big in between was a car park

    Staff very friendly and efficient. Food excellent. Room very ‘Italian’

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, a real five stars, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar could stay open a bit more late, but I guess this is a wishful thinking for Europe except Spain.

    The palazzo is amazing, the rooms, the facilities in general, the staff, the cleanness, the view (our room was a "lake view room"), the parking. The restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent position with great views and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in my room was suitable for a midget - needed to stand on my knees!

    Fantastic position conveniently located to experience the adventures of the lake and the great hikes in the area. Great views and good restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Except for the outrageous prices in the restaurant, everything else was spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View - Split level
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant overpriced for the quality and quantity of food. 8 euros for a bottle of water! 16 euros for a small bowl of pasta fagoli soup. 16 euros for each dessert. And your female guest is given a menu without any prices listed.

    Absolutely beautiful property. We had a two story suite with a balcony overlooking the lake. The views were spectacular. Fantastic daily breakfast buffet. Beautiful bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, we'll surely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably by mistake we were at first put in a room that was much smaller than the one we booked online, and completely different from the pictures on booking.com: to get the suite we would have wanted, we had to pay an additional charge.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the view from the hotel is amazing, and the food was great: we are very happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    A stunning hotel with staff that made our stay amazing. They managed to go beyond our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing negative about this hotel what’s so ever. The only comment I would make is there could be more space for personal toiletries in the bathroom sink area.

    The hotel and staff were amazing, it was wonderful to see staff working in a friendly happy and professional manner. The whole holiday experience at this hotel was one of the best I have encountered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, opulent suite. Perfect Italian lake experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View - Split level
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No path on the road around hotel. You have to drive everywhere to be safe

    Beau Foul hotel A palatial suite with a winning view Amazing breakfast Friendly and helpful staff Fun, OTT, opulent decor. Loved the golden cheetahs on diamanté leads! We felt like Hollywood royalty :) We’ll be back in warmer weather to try the pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Lovely place with great view, but not comparable to other houses from the LHW catalogue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is directly on the main road which is during the day loud, I didn't mind, but my family did. Bathrooms don't have ventilation. We booked a junior suite which was by far not state of the art and it was not possible to sleep on the guest bed. Room also needed some paint.. and we found ants. The stuff was kind enough to relocate us to other room which was very good. Food was good but not really outstanding and way too expensive for what it was offering, also the menu did not change in the three days we were there, so we ate mostly outside. Breakfast was rather very simple. E.g. only one kind of salami, ham and cheese for which you had to ask and received few small peaces. Of course one could ask again and again but it was not really relaxing and not what you would expect from a LHW hotel list. In a 4 star hotel one wouldn't mind, but not if you strive for excellency and put a respective price tag to it.

    The view over the islands is one of the kind and other hotels in the city are not comparable due to the special location of the hotel which is a little bit outside the city. Except of view exception the stuff is very friendly and extremely helpful which made us feel better. Wonderful terrace and balcony views. The hotel also has private docks which is a nice add on. Though no direct path to the city the stuff is happy to shuttle you around (either for free of for a fair taxi price). Nice garden and pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Perfect and wish I could have stayed for longer.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we were not able to use the water cocoon in the spa.

    Place is spectacular. Great value, breakfast was fantastic, service was on point. The food at every restaurant we went was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    We travelled with a 3-year old, and her reaction the moment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s located slightly outside of Stresa with no pedestrian sidewalks. Walking on the main road to Stresa is not pleasant and late in the evening probably even dangerous

    We travelled with a 3-year old, and her reaction the moment we entered the room was priceless - jacuzzi bath, Belle Époque style with the top over the bed, and bathrobes and slippers for all of us including her own little kids slippers were absolute hit, she wanted to wear her little slippers everywhere since then! True 5 star experience - excellent restaurants, very nice spa with hammam. We had a room with a garden view and then a room with the lake view - and honestly both were very pleasant. It was too early to use the pool but it looked very tempting. Clearly the place to return!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Fell in love.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. We had an absolutely perfect weekend.

    The staff the staff the staff. Lovely, charming, funny...an absolute delight. So much character to the place, and the spa was INCREDIBLE.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic luxurious hotel. Highly recommended. The service was impeccable and the stay memorable..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reaching the hotel from Milan Malpensa was very expensive. We did not have any option other than taxi transfer or hotel transfer as the only remaining option was a bus service every 3 hours. The walk to Stresa centre was a bit dangerous as there are parts where there are no pavements and are not well lit at night. The hotel does offer free transport to Stresa centre till 6pm. It would have been greatly appreciated if the service would be offered till at least 9pm. The spa only has a steam room, a jacuzzi and treatment rooms. There are no saunas.

    The property is beautiful. It is evident that the owner really loves the property and chose each detail carefully, with love and an expert eye. The decor was extraordinary and the view breath-taking. It is situated right on the lake with the Isole Borromeo exactly in front of it. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. The spa/grotto looks amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    An elegant hotel with great staff - generally recommended for a visit to Lago Maggiore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and cramped, and the washroom was tight with not enough counter space. Initially at least, the room was overheated and staff had trouble getting the temperature down. Too far from downtown Stresa, and too dangerous for a bike ride. A car was necessary to get into town, and parking availability there was iffy.

    Beautifully decorated. The view from the breakfast area was worth a lot. The breakfast was excellent. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    One of the best hotels I have stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating control could have been a bit higher for the chilly night

    Beautiful decoration throughout the hotel, excellent food and service. Spectacular views across to the islands. Useful shuttle service to centre of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    The hotel is beautifully decorated and in a wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is beautifully decorated and in a wonderful location directly across from the lake. The food on the property is excellent and the service and staff is amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    friendly staff, clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is hard to walk to town which is only one mile away. It is close to a busy road

    friendly staff, clean and comfortable room. They changed the sheets everyday. Great buffet breakfast. Amazing views of the lake and mountains.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Fabulous views of Lake Maggiore and the islands with exceptional breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed with the bedroom we had the first night of our stay. I had requested a room on a high floor (side lake view). The room allocated was on the top floor with a balcony but felt very dark and tired. The furnishings of red and yellow were not to our taste with old carpet and curtains. The shower was not freestanding but over the bath and impossible to stand up fully due to the sloping ceiling over the bath. As a 'Leading Hotel of the World' we had expected better. It was also the last hotel of our trip to Italy and this hotel room did not match up to the previous hotels of this trip: The Yard Milan and Villa Crespi where we had been thoroughly spoilt. We should have mentioned it immediately but as we were in a hurry to see the nearby islands whilst the sun was shining we accepted the room allocated. Having spent a rather depressing night in the room and trying to shower the following morning we told the receptionist of our disappointment and she very kindly offered to show us another more recently updated room of the category we had booked and that we had seen on the website. This room was on a low floor and only had a view of the car park and hotel service area but had a beautiful bathroom and bedroom so we changed. If we were to return I would definitely take more care in choosing a room.

    Excellent breakfast with amazing choice. Beautiful setting and views from the outside terrace. We had two lunches on the terrace and a dinner in the 'I Mori' restaurant all of which were very good with very professional and friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Superb hospitality customized service, a boutique hotel of exceptional aesthetic beauty and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Even though chef was really flexible and tried to work with dietary restrictions, more knowledge in this area would be good for them to acquire. The gluten free breads and pastries which are not home made which are provided are exceptionally poor quality and I would not eat them. That being said, when I made specific suggestions, the Chefs were really flexible and made some excellent meals for me. Pool should really provide 50+ sunscreen as well as the other lesser screened ones. I got really burned on face using 20+ Smoking area I think should be restricted more - currently outside terrace is smoking area and this is where most people want to sit for meals. There is another outside area, just down from the upper terrace, also with lovely views, easy for smokers to get to from the restaurant - and this I think should be the smoking area. Most of the world does not allow smoking in eating areas, whether that is inside or outside. Given the location, given that people want to eat outside, it would be more fair to allow smoking in the outside terrace which is just below the eating area. Spa massage facilities are excellent - I would like to see extra hours. Currently the last massage is 7pm. Be nice to have option to have a massage after dinner.

    Spa Massage was truly superb - masseuse Lucy exceptional. Would like more hours (currently last massage is at 7pm and it would be nice to have the option to have a massage later in the evening as well). My special diet was well taken into account and chef flexible. Staff were fantastic. Comfort in rooms wonderful. Aesthetic beauty of the whole hotel, rooms, general facilities, outdoor, really exceptional. It is not for those wanting rowdy fun time. More for gentle rest and gentile style. I liked this.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.8
    A unique and amazing location and view for a hotel which is way too expensive for what it offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is literally by the main road and a few meters from the railway. You don't have that many trains, but it can be an issue if your room is at the back of the hotel. I shall add that the rooms themselves are not really soundproof as the hotel is located in an old building. Rooms are pretty small (we had a double deluxe room) and the bathroom is also very tiny. The hotel is approximately 20 minute walk from Stresa city center: the first 10 minutes you have to walk on the main road with the cars passing by you and this is not very convenient (hotel provides courtesy cars 6 times a day).

    The view is the most amazing among all the Stresa hotels. You can see all the Borromean islands and you are hidden from the main road. The swimming pool is amazing as well with fantastic views across the lake. The spa is very nice, in an old golden "grotta" in the basement. Breakfast buffet is excellent, even though service can be quite slow and old style.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    Wonderful though with not a great ending!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Park View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menus were the same though they were flexible when asked. My son was bitten by what we think were bed bugs and he also got head lice which we all ended up getting!

    Views across the lake, staff, service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful, stunning, gorgeous property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People behaved so poorly at the breakfast included buffet the hotel staff couldn't keep it clean and appetizing. The pool is underwhelming, small and full of children wearing not so absorbent swim diapers. More than the hotel and its staff the guests of this hotel were not of a caliber you'd expect from such a high quality property.

    The property is beautiful and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no negative comments regarding a stay here. It is perfect.

    A fabulous stay. It is worth paying the extra to get a lake view room as opposed to a side lake view room. We stayed in 206 and it was perfect. A nice touch is that all the soft drinks and beer in room fridge are complimentary. The bathroom have luxury toiletries. The balcony had an amazing view. We couldn't fault the hotel down to reception staff to restaurant staff. It is my very favourite hotel from all of our travels and we have travelled extensively . I can't wait to return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    The hotel is beautiful and the owner and staff are all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful and the owner and staff are all charming and very caring. We couldn't have been looked after better or in a more peaceful and restful place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    What a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service to the pool was pretty slow and their cocktails sucked sadly. That's about it for bad things.

    What a wonderful stay. I would say that this old world style hotel is the benchmark many others strive for when using the term "5 star". The facilities whilst a little older were well kept and impeccably clean. Staff were all very bright and cheery! The breakfast is absolutely amazing and the setting on the terrace with the view over the lake just tops it off. What a great place, just a bit pricey. But you get what you pay for I guess.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Luxury Boutique Hotel for a Romantic Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I thought the spa treatments were overpriced for the quality. Breakfast was a bit repetitive

    The Staff were very helpful and the experience in the hotel was luxurious. The grotto and pool were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Nice view from the hotel, the best one on Borromean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small but balcony was nice.

    Nice view from the hotel, the best one on Borromean islands in Stresa, good swimming pool, excellent breakfast. Shattle to the center of Stresa is convenient. You will find in room all ameninities you need. Also convenient free use mineral water in the room and bar( non alcoholic).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel, perfect views, perfect service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't think I can fault anything that was provided by the Hotel. The courtesy shuttle to and from town made getting about very easy if you did not want to book a private car or walk the 20 minutes to town. The pool was a welcome extra as it was very hot when we were there with fantastic spa as a bonus. The views are spectacular and the hotel is worthy of its 5 star rating. Superb.

    The hotel only has 69 rooms so is not too big. The hotel manager made a point of greeting all guests personally each day and the hotel provided all the facilities at the level you would expect for a hotel of this standard. The food both at breakfast and dinner was fantastic, with a wide choice of local specialities as well as high quality produce.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Stunning lake break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little pricey..I expected it to be expensive and it was a truly beautiful place, but a bottle of water was more expensive than a glass of prosecco or rose which I found a bit strange (€8/9). The food however was worth the money, it was exceptional! Also a slight downfall is that you couldn't really walk anywhere, as the roads weren't designed for pedestrians. We had a hire car however and parking was easy and the centre only a few minutes drive so it didn't really affect us.

    The pool is gorgeous and the view from the restaurants of the lake is absolutely stunning! Sitting outside to eat dinner was something I looked forward to each day. The staff are so lovely and friendly, and so talented - most of them spoke about 4 languages perfectly! The spa is really beautiful too, very good for mid day when it gets very hot. We had the best full body massage we've ever had. The food truly was exceptional, some of the best dishes I've ever tasted, and the wine was amazing too! A very romantic and beautiful hotel and location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    The upmarket hotel was attractive and well managed by friendly staff at all posts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    less expensive!

    The shuttle bus facility was very useful because walking to town was possible but long. The position of the hotel was very good however and seemed a favorite of the wealthier traveler. It was not yet busy during our stay in early June and we enjoyed the attention of numerous waiters and staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly staff with 'old 'school' formalities. The hotel is a good 20 minute walk in to Stresa, some of which is on a busy road but the hotel offers a free shuttle service through out the day and a very reasonable taxi service at other times. Good selection at the buffet breakfast which is served on a beautiful terrace over looking the islands and lake

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Almost Perfect- it rained one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was happy with everything as was my wife

    The position of the hotel on the lake. The beautiful flowers all round the hotel. The food was good if not exceptional. The staff were were excellent all the time and in all their roles. The hire of a boat to visit the islands was the thing to do especially given how pleasant the skipper was. Visiting the botanical gardens is a must

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely amazing hotel in wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the noise from the road, slightly busier than expected and if we had wanted to walk into Stresa we would have had to walk on the road part of way. Having said that, the hotel ran an extremely efficient shuttle bus which was complementary. None of the above would deter a second stay at the hotel.

    Nothing to dislike, everything about the hotel was fabulous. The decor was wondrously ornate! The attention to detail was 100 per cent from the room to the service from the pool attendant! Immaculate hotel and the food was incredible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Heavenly bliss in idyllic surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi...

    It was the stay of a lifetime - one we will never forget....beautiful surroundings , breathtaking views , impeccable service ....nothing to fault...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent staff and lovely hotel with magnificent views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. Needed a full size comfy armchair in the room Needed a mirror that wasn't in the bathroom

    Staff very friendly and attentive. Excellent breakfast Comfortable beds Comfortable seating in public areas The amazing view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    superbe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing at all

    amazing hotel with the most friendly staff and beautifull accomodation very very good food and breakfast espcially the people are so friendly and helpfull good rooms and great atmosphere stunning lakeviews and boromeo islands this is a must have hotel if visiting the italian lakes we are so happy to have been there

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Simply a dream!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magnificent design of interior of a hotel, very beautiful! Fantastical view from every point of the hotel, from every large window and, certainly, from the balcony of our room. Very good breakfasts. Very good restaurant for lunch and dinner (open all day). Friendly staff. Excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    We can highly recommand this hotel, we really enjoyed our stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, very good breakfast, very clean room, very nice and elegant hotel furnished with taste, beautiful view on Isola Bella & Isola Pescatori

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.8
    Stunning luxurious hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many private functions whilst we were there thus severely cutting down the tables available for dinner and making a reservation impossible without many hours notice. Prior warning of such functions would have been appreciated. Also more flexibility with the courtesy car times.

    The luxury of the hotel. The view from our lake view room. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.3
    Amazing setting, disappointing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Contrary to its billing, I wouldn't say it was at all family friendly - almost unwelcoming in that regard. The earliest evening meal was 7.30pm, which was too late for a toddler. As a result we were forced to eat in town every evening, which was ok. The hotel runs a good shuttle bus service that picks you up at a cost beyond 6pm. We found the reception staff aloof and a bit too inclined to 'shoulder shrug' at family-related requests...'it is what it is' type attitude. They're proud of the décor, which is typical over the top Italian, but it's a bit tired/shabby and in need of a refurbishment. Our room had amazing views, but it was very small. The limited food we had there was excellent, but overpriced. The road the hotel is on is very busy and loud-ish at night as a result. If you don't take the shuttle bus or drive, the walk into Stresa requires you to walk 500m on the edge of the road with no footpath before you can cut down to the waterfront, not ideal.

    The views from the hotel are superb, it seemed to have the best position of any of the big waterfront hotels in Stresa for views. The boat trip round the islands arranged by the hotel was the highlight of our trip, just allow 3 hours for each of the bigger islands or you won't see it all. Breakfasts were good, with the restaurant having an excellent panoramic view across the lake to the islands. The housekeeping staff were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.8
    could you please to be a bit tender?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know if the hotel is too old or the staff are not professional. I was waked by the fire ring in mid night 3:00 and the ring lasted one hour! We called the desk several times but the answer were always same"we are working for it". Since we were not able to sleep with this shrilling, my boy friend went out to check. Eventually he and another guest pulled out the electric wires then the ring stoped. The poor staff stood there , did nothing for help. In the second day, we didn't get any apologies till I finished checking and had paid the bill. When we were about to leave, the manager who just standing next to me smiled and said brightly "sorry for disturbing last night". I escaped. Wow,I am so lucy that I don't need to pay extra for this special accident what made me unsleep almost one night.

    The hotel is very well decorated and looks very elegant. The restaurant inside has good lake view, the breakfast is rich enough. I almost gave them a big plauso if they could do better in terms of guest service. They made me so angry with this fantastic hardware.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Will definitely be going back. Absolutely loved our stay. Could describe as 'Out of this world'.Attention to detail incredible.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.7
    Breakfasts are good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    30 mins walk from town down a road that didn't have a footpath for a third of the distance. The hotel bus should run hourly. The hotel lounges were not what one could describe as comfortable although they are beautifully appointed. The pool is on the east side of the hotel; it would be better on the west side. Bedroom was not big with only 1 chair (for 2 people).

    Breakfasts are good; dinners are good too, but expensive. Service is very good. The hotel is very smart, well decorated, well kept and impressive. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.1
    I can't recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "superior double room" was tiny as a postage stamp and had a door connecting to the adjacent room through which we could hear our neighbors. The bathroom was too small for two people to be in at the same time. Worst, the room was stifling hot, and when we asked the owner to turn on the air-conditioning, he at first refused, later granting our request. Our final night, the room was hot again, and in the morning he confessed that they had turned up the temperature on the air conditioning. I do not feel that he should try to save money at the expense of the guests comfort. The bed was hard as a rock, and upon checking out we were told that we could have asked for a mattress topper, however this was not told to us when we checked in. You need to have a car to stay at this property, because it is not near enough to Stressa to walk.

    Breakfast was excellent and in a beautiful room with a gorgeous view. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel very friendly professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel very friendly professional staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Very classy hotel with lovely competent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very classy hotel with lovely competent staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfekt

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    an exquisite stay at villa aminta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    internet reception

    room was beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Extraordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small for three persons and a little bit loud

    Extremly friendly stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    If you can stay anywhere in the world, pick this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View - Split level
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was amazing. Every detail was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The special attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The special attention to detail.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    A nice place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very small compared to others that I travelled with

    Generally very friendly place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel needed attention
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really good for gluten free diet could have been better

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was too hard for us

    the staff were the most helpful and courteous that I have ever encountered in Europe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Totally worth a splurge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Elegant place with incredible view and delightful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    An amazing staff, beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Lake View - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An amazing staff, beautiful property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    We had a lovely time, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Perfectly Italian
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite with Lake View - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave

    Everything. Amazing views. Old school but perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    it was amazing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View - Split level
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was amazing .all the staff professional for sur i will come back again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    Staff was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were small. Did bot like carpet in room. Lots of families w you g children. Nit a romatic getaway spot

    Staff was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    they make you feel welcome the minute you step in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    they make you feel welcome the minute you step in the hotel. nothing is to much of a problem. exceptional breakfast with most stunning view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful room ( bed is very comfortable)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessibility of the Hotel with public transportation is not so easy.

    Beautiful room ( bed is very comfortable) Breakfast buffet is huge

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful, romantic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I go again, I would select a room on a lower floor.

    The hotel is outstanding. The staff are so polite and friendly. A real treat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    amazing place and the location was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn't work the air in the room

    amazing place and the location was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    The property was slightly away from the main centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to walk along a busy road, with intermittent footpath, to get to main centre.

    The property was slightly away from the main centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    It is a magical place with friendly and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a magical place with friendly and attentive staff. Will highly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Perfect vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel, beautiful view, amezing rooms, best on Lago Maggiore. And very tasty restaurant with perfect wine list

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: