Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Angela 4 stars

Via Leonardo Da Vinci, Sn, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#6 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 183 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The updated bathrooms were lovely and the shower superb. The view from our balcony of mount Etna was stunning and we could see the sea. Comfy bed and pillows. The restaurant was good value and the food exceptional. The staff are so helpful and the bus service down to the centre and back is a great service. The welcome from the long serving staff members makes you feel special and this lasts long after we go home.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Guests who care about cleanliness will be satisfied. Room, bathroom, towel were clean. The view is ocean view as a whole. My room was at the end, but the sea was well visible. It had a balcony so I could drink tea or have a view. I especially like to praise breakfast. Variety and quality of food, bread, cakes, fresh fruits, especially vegetable dishes are not simply salads but cooked. Vegetable dishes are some similar to Korean styles. The lunch at the restaurant was delicious at reasonable prices and there was no need to eat in the downtown. It was difficult to walk around in downtown from the hotel, but it had shuttle service to downtown. It was convenient. The young staff at the restaurant was friendly and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was perfect with a great view of Mt. Etna and the sea. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very comfortable had all necessities. Breakfast was excellent with good choice. It's a good walk from hotel to the town center but we enjoyed the walk down and back. Shuttle bus available also. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not have a restaurant offering dinner although they can prepare toasted sandwiches, salad and soups. The staff were happy to make dinner reservations in town on our behalf. There is a car park but it is very small.

    All rooms have a superb view of Taormina and Mount Etna. The hotel run a shuttle service into the centre of Taormina but if you have enough energy there is a good footpath which gives great views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was one of the most amazing hotels my partner and I have ever stayed at, in what has to be one of the most beautiful locations in Sicily - Taormina. We discovered that the hotel was owned and lovingly created by Jim Kerr and its an absolute beauty. We stayed only for four nights but, felt like we were temporarily living with the staff who were so friendly and helpful. Location, the food and relaxation and that view!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame not to have an evening restaurant - but plenty available in town!

    This is a great boutique hotel. Well done Jim Kerr and his manager Charlie. The room and balcony were lovely, although shame to be slightly on the end so no view over the pool (the curse of a Booking.com Genius.?) Pool area very pleasant and refreshing temperature.. The breakfast/lunch area were excellent and he staff very accommodating - thanks Sam! Lunch menu was spot on with salads or filling toasties. Mini-bus service to and from town was just excellent - quick, efficient and frequent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It would have been useful to have had a little more information in the room about the shuttle and nearby restaurants.

    Really cool, comfortable room - extremely private and quiet. Our balcony had loungers as well as a table and chairs and an amazing view down to the sea and across to Mount Etna. We loved the pool. Staff were friendly and helpful - a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We took the train from Rome to experience the countryside and crossing to Messina and there directly to Taormina without any change in train. It was an easy journey, and upon arrival in Taormina taxis were at the station to take us to Villa Angela, so a seamless trip. There was nothing to fault in this fabulous hotel. All rooms and terraces are spacious each have a stunning view of Etna and the coast, it is decorated so that you feel you actually are in Sicily with the local ceramics and décor. The location was spot on, and with the regular hotel shuttle bus there was absolutely no need for a car (which we hired in Taormina upon leaving) with a short drive down to the town from where most things happen. Breakfast was delicious, as was lunch, but it is recommended to have dinner out, as the hotel only serve snacks in the evening. The swimming pool is a plus to swim and sunbathe. The staff are great, all happy and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lovely Hotel with a spectacular view of Etna. Can't fault the facilities and in particular the staff were wonderful - professional yet friendly and could not do enough for you. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Taormina.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic small hotel with great rooms and large balcony. Friendly staff. Great free shuttle bus into Taormina. Fabulous views of Etna and the bay. Really enjoy our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a bit basic for the price. Shuttle isn't complementary, no free water provided in room. Was a bit disappointed we had to haul all our luggage up the ramp to the parking lot on our own in 40 degree heat without any help from reception.

    The staff were generally very friendly. The view from the room was excellent, and the pool was nice to have. Shuttle into town was convenient (and necessary). Parking was provided and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is far from town, although they provide a shuttle bus service every hour or half an hour at night you have to book well ahead to get a place and pay a fee... if you intend on staying by the hotel pool all day and only heading into town for the night then it would be ok...

    - Breakfast - Decor of hotel - View from room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a previous review that did not capture how much I loved the hotel, I noted concern regarding the bed size. But I need to clarify that the website stated a rate for a double bed and I assumed the bed would be what Americans call king sized because I found that many of the hotels that I booked in Italy stated double but would then be king. Villa Angela's bed is what Americans call queen sized. So my previous comments were not meant as complaints rather as an advisory to someone who might expect a larger bed, as I did. I also found the pillows to be harder than I like, preferring feather pillows instead, but I was later told I could have requested other pillows. This is something other travelers should know.

    The location of the hotel is ideal. You are close enough to the town below to walk, albeit a lot of stairs but I loved the walk and think it made the stay special, but far enough away from the noise and crowds to relax and experience serenity. The views from shared areas, the restaurant and the room terraces are simply amazing. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We were concerned about parking as the parking area has some tight angles, which I know other reviewers mentioned as problematic. However, we simply went into the hotel and asked for help and the staff parked the car for us and brought all of the suitcases in. One staff member also provided great directions in writing to the ferry in Messina and gave us very helpful information about the ferry service, what to expect, what we would see etc. I also found Katharine to be very thoughtful and considerate when I inquired while traveling in Italy about certain amenities that I was hoping to find at the hotel. She wrote back quickly and thoughtfully and made me feel that she really cared about my concerns. We loved the breakfast, which is served outdoors with the view overlooking Taormina and the sea. The food was great, the selection really varied and it was just a lovely way to start every day. There are many restaurants in town to choose from but there is also a really nice restaurant with plenty of outdoor seating and a great view only about a five minute walk from the hotel. You don't get this great view of Taormina and the sea from too many places in the town below so I found this to be a nice bonus. You can spend the day in the busy and crowded town or at the beach, come back to the quiet of the hotel and take a short walk to dinner. Villa Angela is also very close to Castelmola, one of the lovliest villages you will ever see. I would happily return to Villa Angela for another stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There note really anything I didn't like but the only thing I didn't like was the sixe of the shower but this could have changed this by paying for a larger room/suite which I didn't so my fault.

    The view, staff, location and service is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amount and choice of food was fantastic but slightly disappointed by the lack of taste of fruits/vegetables 2nd floor room a bit noisy and smaller bathroom on 1st night ; top floor room and bathroom just great on 2nd night

    Good size swimming pool ; Great view ; easily walk-able to city center (stairs) ; 2 great terraces ; free parking ; free and efficient WIFI ; comfortable bed ; nice common areas ; last but not least : extremely kind and helpful service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    The amenities of the hotel were excellent and the friendly, helpful staff were second to none. The views from our furnished balcony. The regular shuttle service (€20 pp) for a week was very much worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Parking lot was very small, but we were lucky and got the last spot available.

    We love our stay in this nice hotel. The room was comfortable, but the terrazza with sun beds and views over the Volcano were astonishing. And the smell of Gelsomino was delightful. The staff was very nice, and the restaurant really good - one of the best breakfast we ever had in Sicily! There's free parking (but very small) and you can walk to town if you want (although you need to be fit to walk back up hill afterwards).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do wish these top notch hotels would have tea/coffee facilities in the room, especially as you're paying top notch prices for the room. It would just finish it off perfectly to be able to make your own cuppa first thing in the morning.

    Fantastic views! Super hotel, was very pleased with it. Shuttle bus was very useful too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - all great.

    Very large rooms and bathrooms. Huge terrace with grandstand views over Taormina. Great breakfasts and stunning pool overlooking the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel shuttle bus service is convienient for the long stay guests but for the guests of 3~4 day stay it is rather expensive, so we take the public bus(Etna transport) to the Taormina town. it runs every 1 hours and very convienient to go to town and Castel Mola.

    we stayed in suite room on the top floor of the hotel which has two balcony with magnificent view of mount Etna, gulf and Castel Mola. it was very nice that toilet was separate from bathroom with jacuuzi bathtub. and staff was very friendly both front and rstaurent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a criticism as it did not impact on us but it is not for the infirm as it is situated high on the hills above Taormina.

    A good place for those who value some peace and quiet.Good staff and excellent shuttle service from hotel to Taormina town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is basically one restaurant within walking distance from the hotel but it is supposed to be very nice. We tried to reserve at 4pm on the day of and it was unfortunately full, so I only suggest you reserve earlier.

    A very nice hotel with a beautiful view, and a very good breakfast. The shuttle service to the city was absoloutely crucial, and made the relatively far distance a non-issue. Reception staff were all very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING

    The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was superb and immaculately clean. It was the best short break we have had. Big thanks to all at Villa Angela.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of the staff that we came across did whatever they could to make our stay a pleasure. Obviously the location is stunning, but the bus service down to the centre of town made everything accessible.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is that the hotel is 5 minutes drive away from the city center. This was no surprise as it is clearly indicated in the hotel description and there was a super efficient transfer from the hotel to the city center. However it would have been more convenient for us (2 adults and 3 small children) to stay within walk distance from the heart of Taormina.

    We stayed in the Etna suite and the view was spectacular. Breakfast was great, on top of the traditional breakfast buffet there were always local sweet and savory specialities (different every day !). Staff is wonderful and efficient, and made us feel very welcomed even when our 3 little boys were loud and running everywhere. At walking distance there is an amazing restaurant with the best view in town "Al Saraceno", a must to go for lunch or early dinner to enjoy the sunset.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel. Most welcoming, helpful staff. The rooms were spacious, as were the balconies with amazing views of Etna and the sea. A little paradise on earth and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Villa Angela exceeded our expectations. Such a beautiful hotel in an amazing location in the hills in Taormina. Wonderful views from the balcony of the room and a fantastic pool area. The hotel were able to organise for us a massage and manicure/pedicure in our room from a local beauty salon which was a lovely treat! The staff were fantastic- so helpful and nice. Can't wait to go back again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twisty turny hairpin bends with cars parked both sides and the eagles nest of a car park were interesting, but worth doing!

    Everything. Views, balconies, rooms, peace, pool, staff and minibus to town were all excellent. Brilliant start to our holiday in Sicily.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To leave the hotel

    I work in a 4 star deluxe in the U.K. As a supervisor so I know what to expect from a luxury hotel. Villa Angela is by far the best hotel I have ever been in Sicily - the hotel standards as in staff friendliness and helpfulness and the cleaning standards of rooms and facilities are just outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going home!!

    All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The view from the balcony of Mount Etna was amazing.The hotel shuttle bus made it easy to come and go to Taormina

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everythibg.The staff the food ,location and the room was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It’s got a fantastic view. It’s got good food and good service. Have been there twice now.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General atmosphere and very helpful staff The shuttle bus service was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - extra cost for shuttle

    + breakfast + panoramic view from room terrace + shuttle service + pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is not open for dinner, only light items, which means going back down to the center for dinner.

    The scenary is unbelievable!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little far from the centre but hotel provides a shuttle

    View breathtaking - staff lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle bus, balcony & view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was fabulous!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the whole experience was excellent with the staff supporting us as we had left our passports in our apartment and they assisted us with this

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything pure luxury, nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in room

    Lovely hotel helpful staff lovely view couldn't fault anything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view. Very good staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view on Ethna mountain

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, really.

    The staff were excellent. The location likewise - great views of Etna from every room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast at the weekend was very crowded and staff straggled to accomodate

    the check in people was very helpfull

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very difficult to navigate the road getting there if you're driving yourself.

    The view of Mt. Etna from our suite was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking! But the hotel staff parked the car for us

    Fantastic views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb view of Etna from our bed!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed only for 1 night. Breakfast was good. Room clean. Staff very nice! All that you need!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower stall leaked because lack of lip on the floor.

    Pool and room perched on the top of the town with excellent views of mt Etna and the bay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent shuttle bus system to town, lovely lunch and wine, nice sized rooms with spacious balcony. Great view over the town and Etna.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave

    Loved the pool and fantastic views!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Could not recommend enough

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about the hotel shows attention to detail. Friendly staff, excellent service, fantastic food, and amazing views.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    Fantastic hotel in every aspect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The room had a wonderful balcony with lounge chairs from which we enjoyed fantastic views of the sea and Mt. Etna. The breakfasts (which included many hot and cold items, all delicious) were served on a terrace from which we had the same great view. The staff was friendly, helpful and informative. A shuttle took us to and from the town below on a regular schedule and for a minimal price. The room was clean, spacious and bright.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was a little far from the center, but the shuttle bus was very practical and picked us up in Taormina minutes after we called the hotel. Since you cannot drive in Taormina, it worked out well.

    The hotel staff was very friendly. In fact when the young woman checking us in found out my husband was a cyclist and wanted to ride in Taormina she got on the phone and spoke to a colleague who took my husband out the next day.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find using Satnav. Difficult location to reach due to busy, narrow roads and general lack of road signs. Had to move rooms due to faulty power activation card thing and high pitched buzzing noise but upgraded to a suite. We did think the original standard room was nicer than the suite though!

    Excellent views of Etna and bay. Good sized room with balcony. Long stairway down to main town but good exercise.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The maintenance of the bathroom may be better and there isn’t elevator from the parking place, only from the lobby.

    Great and helpful staff, amazing view from the room and balcony, the hotel’s shuttle very helpful, free parking and delicious and rich breakfast. Big room.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving.

    A Truly amazing and charming hotel; exuding warmth and friendliness. Every member of staff we met was so helpful; making your holiday relaxing and memorable was their mission. We had a room with sea and Etna view, superb with great furnishing. Exceptionally clean and comfortable room. The breakfast was varied and interesting, sweet and savoury options, actually very good for vegetarians. The hotel suggested and helped us to organise a trip to Etna, which was incredible. We made full use of the shuttle service back from the town, after a pleasant stroll down steps from the castle to the centre with lots of restaurants to choose from. The hotel also recommended their local restaurant Al Saraceno, which was excellent. We travelled in April; great time of year for walking and exploring so managed to see lots of the wonderful location. After many years travelling this is probably my favourite hotel ever, exquisite.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is overlooking the wonderful city of Taromina. Fantastic view on both shore-side and the Etna. The distance to the city is only a few hundred meters—but most of it is vertical. 20 min walk if you have some breath, but very challenging with a stroller. Don’t even think of taking the walk if you are using a manual wheelchair or rolling walkers. The hotel offers a bus shuttle on a weekly rate. For shorter stays they will reduce the cost in a fair manner. Parking is free on the flat top roof. The rooms had a private spacious terrace with two loungers and a table for two. Our room (standard room) was cosy and clean. Breakfast was high quality and served near the very nice pool area. Highly recommendable hotel even for longer stays, and the city of Taormina is certainly worth a visit!

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in the suite which was perfect for us giving us more space than we needed. It also had a jacuzzi in one of the bathrooms. Our balconies had amazing views of Etna & the coast with deck chairs for us to laze around on in the afternoon sun. The hotel is located a 5 minute drive up the hill from Taormina town & the hotel provides a cheap & very regular shuttle up & down for all guests. The staff were all very friendly & couldn't do enough for us. Our stay was just perfect & we both highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The balcony doesn't provide as much privacy as we would have liked.

    Villa Angela provides the most beautiful view! You can see Etna, the sea and the mountains right in front of you and Etna at sunset is just beautiful. The room was lovely, the bed very comfortable and the balcony space was great. The hotel is situated quite far from the centre of Taormina but the staff provide a great shuttle bus service and they are very friendly at the same time. The local restaurant is lovely - a must at least once during your stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really comfortable and the staff were extremely kind and helpful. There was a courtesy bus to take you to the centre of town, practically any time of the day and evening. Excellent hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds are terribly uncomfortable. Especially the pillows - they are rock hard to sleep on and the mattress isn't too far behind.

    Loved the location, panoramic views and the style of Villa Angela! Lovely building and lovely rooms, pool was fantastic also!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Having to leave

    2nd time we've stayed at VA I love the location.. pool and overall cleanness of this hotel The colours of the hotel and accessories are very warm and inviting Plus I grew up listening to and loving Jim Kerr and Simple Minds

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous position, very friendly staff and our experience of this hotel was a great start to our 8 days in Sicily. George and Helene Byron Bay Australia

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the price of the room the shuttle should been free as it's very far up. Other places in Italy that we have travelled where the hotel was located this high and difficult to get to provided a free shuttle. €20 per person is steep if only staying for two days plus there seen to be too many regulations governing times of use. We used the local bus instead, also the Air-conditioning in rooms was also not great and the shower head was terrible.

    The view was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is distant from the old town, but the shuttle makes it easier to get to the old town.

    The hotel is located in the outskirts of Taormina old town. There's a shuttle that goes out to the town center and back every 30 minutes. The hotel is located high on a cliff and has a beautiful view. Our room was small but very convenient and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pool closed at 6.30 every night. How crazy as we were out all day and it would have been nice to use it later at night.

    The location and view was superb. The staff were so helpful and professional. Loved the shuttle bus to the town. Loved the atmosphere of the hotel with lovely artworks .

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only two things we thought could be better suited to our needs were a larger shower cubicle (we are not huge!) and softer, plumper pillows (they were flat and compact).

    The Villa was very welcoming. The staff were exceptionally helpful with guidance regarding trips and places to eat. There was an excellent service to the town and to the beach meaning there was no need to drive and have the problems of parking. The Villa was tastefully decorated with works by local artists and it was interesting to spot the Simple Minds logos and references dotted around. The pool was great with sufficient sunbeds, umbrellas and two poolside showers. There is an abundance of beatiful plants and flowers in the garden and on the terraces. The view is spectacular overlooking Taormina and the sea and Etna in the distance. Our balcony was a good size with stunning views and included two sunbeds and a table with two chairs.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was the most expensive hotel of our Sicilian trip and it did not disappoint. Excellent views from bedroom and public areas. All staff was particularly helpful and friendly. Mini bus shuttle service to town centre is an ``excellent'' idea. Quiet setting considering Taormina is a lively town. Had dinner at the hotel one evening because we found the setting much more romantic than in town. Would recommend it. Wonderful walk to the town centre from the hotel, a must!

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Villa Angela traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: