Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Athena 5 stars

Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Italy

#2 of 13 hotels in Agrigento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 694 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful property one front desk person argumentative
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having control of the air conditioning I was so hot in the night I felt sick when I tried to tell front desk she argued with me and said it was summer regardless it was too hot to sleep

    Loved the view the room the location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    All fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was idillic. Maybe the food could be better, it is good but not incredible.

    All fantastic. The place, the villa, the staff, the view. It really feels like you are back in time. A plus is that the hotel has a private access to the temples.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    nice view but limited choices on breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are stairs to entre the main entrance, which was quite inconvenient for us with baby stroller. And the breakfast has limited choice, for extra you need to pay.

    The location is marvelous and the hotel is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Idyllic, scenic location with amazing amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything.

    Incredible room, staff, facilities, view and bed. A private entrance to the Valley of the temples. Free parking just feet from the room. An excellent on-site restaurant with a spectacular lunch area. The views cannot be beat, especially from the swimming pool, which overlooks the Temple of Concordia.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, quiet and with an exceptional view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good, but somewhat pricey.

    Excellent location, quiet and with an exceptional view of the valley of the temples. Nice room with very comfortable beds and a large bathroom. We enjoyed a free guided bus tour in the evening, courtesy of the hotel. Nice pool!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Small things could make this hotel better. But in general a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable. The gym was very disappointing . The running machines in the gym were broken Breakfast choice was minimal unless you like cake !

    This hotel has a private access to the temples . Nice pool area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Fascinating— great location for exploring!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon entering, we found a cobweb with a bug on it... it is no biggie but for a 5 Star hotel, the housekeeping should be tighter.

    The location and view are unbeatable. We had the Valley of Temples in our backyard! And the swimming pool is great for Sicilian summer. At night we strolled around the temples with our 2 dogs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    great view, very good restaurant, comfortable room, but not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    price for a lower ground floor room is too high. Non functioning hamam/Turkish Bath.

    pool, view from restaurant, excellent wine list reasonably priced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    We've been travelling for 5 weeks and this was the only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't improve on perfection!

    We've been travelling for 5 weeks and this was the only hotel I scored 10. Everything was amazing, the room, staff, food, view, access to the temples and facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Talk about a room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't much to not like but we did think the dinner wasn't as we expected in a 5 star hotel. We had been travelling for weeks and actually found better food and service in remote areas. The staff at the restaurant didnt even know we were booked and there was a little confusion and a small delay but other than that I highly recommend this venue.

    We were excited about this one night stay at Hotel Villa Athena knowing we booked a room with a view of the Temple Concordia and dinner included. The view was breathtaking to say the least from our room and terrace. We had private access for a fee of 10euro to see the Valley of the temples and dinner included in our booking. We found complimentary italian biscuits in our room and there was a kettle with tea and coffee which is rare in Italy/Sicily. We took advantage of the pool in the summer heat and found the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and beautiful property. A gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No closet in the room (it had been converted into a nice bar). Room is small for the price and with two suitcases out in the open it becomes cluttered quickly. Pool was too warm (who knew such a thing was possible?) though beautiful.

    Very comfortable bed. Charming room with modern bathroom. Very clean. Small terrace was nice. Front desk and staff were very helpful. Best part though is the location. If you go on Sunday, there's free access to the Temples and you can just walk right there from a gate on the back of the hotel property. Makes for a lovely way to spend the day and so nice to be able to walk back to the hotel. Also, at night, dine at the (pricey) delicious restaurant with a view of the illuminated temples for a very special treat. Great breakfast. Nice fitness center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Location, beautiful, service by Giovanna was Outstanding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greeted unpleasantly when we checked in. We may not have looked our best after a long drive and visit to Piazza Aremina. Other staff that worked the front desk were great.

    Location, beautiful, service by Giovanna was Outstanding during our dinners.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    We loved the whole experience and views from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa therapist was very good, but the basement all white spa seemed like an afterthought and lacked any atmosphere.

    Excellent and as expected from a 5* hotel. Superb dinner overlooking the Greek temple could not be faulted. Service slick but very friendly, excellent female sommelier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Location within the valley of the temples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we were not staying another night !

    Location within the valley of the temples. The wonderful staff ! And dining on the terrace in view of the temple of Concord - it was marvellous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely but not 5 stars as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They nickeled and dimed us. We ate a wonderful but very expensive meal in the restaurant and they actually charged a 6 euro table seat charge even though we were staying at the hotel. There was also a big wedding right outside our room which kept us awake. It did not wreck our stay but the staff should have let us know ahead of time.

    The number one reason to visit Agrigento is the ruins and the hotel is perfectly located. The pool area and its view were superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Lunch at hotel was ridiculously overpriced and represented...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch at hotel was ridiculously overpriced and represented poor value for money. It cost 2 of us nearly $20 Australian to sit at the table where we were staying. Food on top of that was the worst meal we have eaten in Sicily in 2 weeks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Wonderful memories ruined
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay here 3 years ago, but the hotel has really lost its gloss in the intervening time. Most staff were ok but the reception are surly and rude. So is the maitre de of the restaurant, an extremely rude little man. Our meal there was second rate in terms of service and quality. This is a very expensive hotel, and just not worth the expense, it is becoming run down. Sicily has some wonderful accomodation, Hotel Athena is trading on past glories. Avoid.

    The view and the pool area are wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Ability to access valley of the temples is a huge bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ability to access valley of the temples is a huge bonus. Great restaurant with fabulous night views of the lit up temples. Lots of very secure and easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    A little underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booked wanted to absolutely love this place, but was left disappointed. The main part of the hotel used to be a private residence which was once upon a time a well planned house with spacious rooms and large windows I imagine. However it has been vastly extended to accommodate extra guests rooms from all sides of the ground and first floor I think. Those rooms do have garden access but it means the middle of the hotel which comprises the reception, lounge and the bar, do not have any windows or views (lots of sky light) but the area is just not very inviting. The breakfast room/restaurant has only indoor sitting, which is so disappointing when the weather is the nicest you are having to sit in what looks like an airport lounge . You have to walk across the car park to get to breakfast and the views are also just of the car park. We were the first ones at breakfast and the waitress had to come twice to get our order of eggs and coffee right and she still got the eggs order wrong... To access the pool you also have to walk via the car park. The whole place is just a little disjointed. Have not witnessed any pool side service. We only had a basic room with views of the car park and it’s a shame €400 doesn’t buy you enough space to open the suitcase properly or fit in bedside tables at least. We were so excited to eat at the restaurant as the menu appeared very interesting and the views breathtaking. Unfortunately the food just was not tasty. The chef clearly tried to be inventive but some of the dishes just looked so unappetising. We are both very adventurous and open minded when it comes to food, but some combinations were just not right... simple pasta with prawns had a starchy almost glue like sauce as if some corn flour was added. We had to carry our own suitcases at check in and check out as it took for ever to wait for someone, even though no one else was checking in or checking out with us!

    Stunning views from the restaurant terrace. Great pool and pool area also with views of the ruins. Great location with direct access to the ruins.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Agrigento!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located adjacent to the temples which can be seen from property! It’s a magnificent view and the hotel is clean and very well run. Loved our stay there and will return next time we’re in the area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t really go for the clear glass look for bathrooms. Also: the coat hangers are the sort that indicate the hotel thinks you’re going to steal them... I *hate* that sort of hanger

    Fantastic views. Good rooms and service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful place to experience the Valley fo the Temples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, private feeling location at the foot of the Valley of the Temples. Take one dinner at night for the evening view. Enjoyed the walk from the private entry to the Temples

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The best hotel ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The brakfast is not included. And this was a unpleasant surprise.

    The best hotel ever. You can go to Agrigento in a normal trip, and you can go to Agrigento and Stay at Villa Athena, in a remarkable trip. It’ s a unforgetble site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful property with ample parking, great reception staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful property with ample parking, great reception staff and a stunning view of the temple. It was an added bonus to have access to the Temple from the hotel. Fortunately, we had a room with a large patio deck overlooking the pool and full view of the temple. Would definitely recommend booking a room with this view. We had our pre-dinner martinis sent to room and it was simply fabulous to lounge privately on our sunny deck (complimentary appetizers). Service at the outdoor (patio heaters) restaurant was very good with a decent wine list and menu. Cannot comment on the spa or workout room as we did not use during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful temple valley view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast for 5* hotel. Noisy in rooms, you heard room close to your room.

    Beautiful temple valley view. Very good restaurant, it is necessary to book before

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay with the best view onto the temples
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location with stunning views to the ancient Greek temples. Private gate to the archarological site. Top service. Restaurant with Gourmet dining and great buffet breakfast. Wonderful garden with pool and bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Not recommended out of season
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial room we were given was not good but in fairness we were eventually given a beautiful room. Plastic sheets on the beds - I’ve never come across this before in a 5* hotel! Air conditioning didn’t appear to be working and toilet would not flush. Staff were generally excellent but our check in experience could have been better. Worst of all though was the restaurant which is just not up to standard. The food was OK and the service was good but the place itself was next to the Spa had bench seating and just felt like a high street Italian. No atmosphere and no view!! I appreciate it was out of season so dinner on the terrace was not offered but as the view is what this hotel is all about more effort should be made to make the terrace usable in the colder weather.

    Amazing location with stunning views of the temples. Great car parking. Good WiFi and lots of English channels on TV. Very clean and the room we were eventually given was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    It is just a very amazing Location next to the temples
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for the size of the rooms Very small gym No good spa facilities

    It is just a very amazing Location next to the temples Very good quality of food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise between rooms - you could hear your neighbours and for those rooms near the reception you could also hear reception activity.

    The restaurant staff were brilliant as was the food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Great position for The Valley of the Temples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged for breakfast.

    The proximity to The Valley of the Temples and the private access to the site (albeit at the normal entry cost). The hotel restaurant is excellent from a cuisine, wine and service perspective. Rooms are reasonably large, well and tastefully appointed and we had a ‘private’ terrace and a superb view of the temple. On site and free car parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location with fantastic views :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not so great for rainy winter days since you need to go outside to get to any common area - but a very small price to pay for such a great venue and location.

    Great location with fantastic views :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    On Bucket list - no doubts.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - I expected better quality. Scrambled eggs from powder - common. Restaurant - food is medium class. Expensive.

    Amazing location. Very nice place to live with tarrace, view and garden. Spacious and pleasant room. Feeling comfortable all the places in hotel. Private entrance to temple.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful place and wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel restaurant emphasized being fancy rather than hot, good food.

    Reception staff wonderful and Laura superb. Very good parking and access to archeological park wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Eclectic and thoroughly well designed villa in great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have spent there one night in February and it was too cold. I do not know whether there is a problem that nobody started the warming in time (through Aircon only) or the system simply does not work well but we had 17 C at the evening and 18 C in the morning and the system worked (very loud) all night. We have been the only guests and I believe that was the reason for very poor breakfast. Regarding the previous observation of other guests that they had better experience it looks the villa is just not ready to except the guests during the winter. Othervise the house is really nice ...

    Eclectic and thoroughly well designed villa in great location. Nicely decorated,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Nearly everything, had a wonderful stay (one night)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - High humidity in the room, because there is only a glass partition between bedroom and bath. - Breakfast not included (3 Euro tax per night and person not included)

    Nearly everything, had a wonderful stay (one night) - set my alarm early to watch the sun rise above the temple on my own teras - incredible view - Private entrance to the zona archeologica (without bags, since they don't have a metal detector) - Safe parking - Beautiful room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Amazing view of the Temples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view of the Temples. Restaurant was very good. I can imagine how wonderful it would in the spring and summer when most meals are served outside!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Can’t fault this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault this hotel. It’s wonderful staying so close to the Valley of the Temples. The room (garden view, superior) was beautiful. Breakfast delicious. Wish I had stayed there longer

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Exclusive Hotel among the temples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a bit humid and could be easily regulated with a dehumidifier.

    Friendly staff members (Dining/kitchen staff could brush up on English-although I could use help with my Italian...), great location with awesome view of Temples, exclusive path to Temple areas for hotel guests, plenty of sunshine in room, chic decor, and breakfast variety of foods.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful and comfortable property perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the very few times we interacted with the front desk (check-in, check-out, a couple of minor questions) they weren't very warm or friendly, a bit snobby and disengaged.

    Very comfortable, warm and spacious room and bathroom. Beautifully situated hotel on the grounds of the Ancient ruins and Temples. Easy access to the park, parking easy and safe. Hotel grounds, cafe, plantings and pool area all perfectly laid out and comfortable for a relaxing experience. Excellent internet speed too. We were there off-season, so many of the outdoor facilities were closed or non-functioning but we could easily imagine a wonderful in-season experience. A very convenient hotel to stay at if you're visiting the Temple ruins.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Great Hotel highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not to leave

    All was perfect, now that we left the hotel we miss our beautiful room. Location is great with exceptional views onto the archeological site and the Concordia (temple), service at the hotel was perfect, room in great shape, I can only say great things about our stay. 10/10

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Drinking a glass of Sicilian wine on the terrace overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinking a glass of Sicilian wine on the terrace overlooking the lighted temples at dusk is absolutely otherworldly. It is an unforgetable experience well worth the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    This is a special experience, staying among ancient temples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant. The view is obviously amazing. But conceptually, it either doesn’t know what it wants to be yet, or they’re missing the target. They source a lot of the produce and olive oil(delicious) on the grounds. I think, service wise, they should focus on that and drop the formal attitude. But it has massive potential.

    Location, location, location. If you are in Agrigento for the Valley of the Temples this place(the only place) is basically IN the Valley of the Temples. No joke. The hotel has a private entrance, so you can make an elegant entrance and skip the line of bus tourists and knick knack peddlers. The accommodations are first rate. It’s the kind of service that gives you the feeling they’re just hoping you have a whim to be met. It’s a cozy bathrobe on the bed eating chocolates out of the minibar kind of a place. The view of the temples from the hotel, all lit up at night, is otherworldly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location but for one night only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed that the room had no view other than a hedge ! Also lack of other eating facilities other than the Al carte restaurant and the fact the menu didn't change for the three nights we stayed.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coperto was 5 euros each for dinner.

    Very good location near the temples . Great restaurant, fantastic room which we were given as an upgrade. Staff we're very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Enjoyable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staying in a beautiful hotel and listening to the wild dogs barking at night. how ridiculous is that! Sicily, do something about your domestic animals, caring for them would be a start.

    it was a very spiffy hotel but if you want to see the ruins at night it is the place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent introduction to the sites of Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a large suite and private patio(s) that were accessed only by crossing the outdoor dining area and bar. There were events there during the day/evening, so there was noise from the music. Separate Sitting area quite sparsely decorated and not too comfortable. A lot of steps to come and go from our suite, which could be problems for some.

    The view of the Greek Ruins were unparalleled from the dining terrace and our private patio. Dinner was wonderful and staff very accommodating. Excellent bathroom facilities, good products. Excellent location for touring, and the hotel had private olive tree lined path/ walkway to the ruins, so we could avoid crowds and parking issues.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    The best hotel for visitng Valley of the Temples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were slow and a little impatient Breakfast is lacking

    Extremely close location to the valley of the temples as well as a private passage for easy access Cute welcome pastries Nice view of the main temple

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    outstanding experience in wonderful historical location--the views of the temples from the hotel wer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    finding the hotel was not easy, even with GPS --would be great to provide very specific and direct travel directions for guests arriving by car--whether from Syracusa or Taormina directions.

    pillows and bed very comfy, all restaurant and terrace areas were great, some with outstanding views of the temples

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pricey but for its location it was worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing location (the only hotel) in the Valley of the Temples park. We could take a 5 minute walk and be at the Temple of Concordia. Lovely hotel with beautiful al fresco dining, pool, bar, and attentive staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Loved the fabulous breakfast, the hotel restaurant, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A minor point but the gym didn't seem to be effectively air-conditioned.

    Loved the fabulous breakfast, the hotel restaurant, and the magnificent view. The pool was also sensational.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    A Blessing From the Greek Gods!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    This hotel rocks for its outstanding location and private entrance into the Valley of the Temples. The constant view of the Temple of Concordia from every location of the hotel grounds makes you feel like a Greek god throughout your stay. The staff were all very courteous and all of my private excursions were handled professionally by the concierge. I would definitely return to this resort!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is an expensive hotel, both to stay and to dine, just about worth it. Of course it´s the special location that you pay for.

    The views from the hotel are fabulous, and it´s great being able to walk to the temples. Staff were very frinedly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view, the temples lit at night, the private walk thru the orchard to the temple, dinner, breakfast, cookies in room, the garden, the ancient well under floor...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    The location and the diner at the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is a big joke : 18 euros per person for a very limited selection of low quality products. Cakes were not fresh and fruits were tasteless. While good, the drinks are also extremely expensive, the most that we have paid during our entire trip in Italy (17 euro for 1 Bloody marry).

    The location and the diner at the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.3
    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was snooty, snotty, and very unhelpful at every encounter. Example - they booked us a very expensive, but horrible (dirty, bumpy, driver spoke no english) cab to Syracuse when I asked for an upscale limo for my mom's comfort and a driver that spoke english and could provide some commentary along the way. Meal at the restaurant was insanely expensive and not very good, and service was horrible.

    Location and views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was expensive to stay there, but there was little other choice of hotels in such a great position near the temples - and given all the services and facilities, we felt it was a worthwhile choice.

    Excellent location near the temples with private access. Evening guided tour to all the sites was very good. The pool, the breakfast, the staff, the room were all very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Luxury short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything.

    Being within walking distance of the Valley of the Temples. The very helpful and friendly staff. The whole ambience of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb location! Hotel has direct access to the temples by only 5 minutes walk. New clean bathroom is far better than other five star hotels bathrooms in Sicily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    An unmissable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was a little "stark"!

    The wonderful setting. Dinner at night in the open air but with heating( if required gazing at the Valle dei Templi illuminated at night was surrealistically fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    One of the best we have ever visited
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unrivalled location, seriously well run, excellent food, the private entrance to the Valley of the Temples makes all the difference. This is a not to be missed experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.3
    Restaurant service lets down otherwise great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner at their terrace dinner restaurant was like a classic Faulty Towers experience and they weren't even that busy. After being seated it took 30 minutes to get menus - as they were being used by another table. Seriously not enough menus (and I noticed the same thing happen to another couple - while we using the menus). It seemed of the 8 staff - each had their specific role and wouldn't do anything else. After 1 hour and prompting we finally got our order taken. Had to ask for bread after sitting there for 30 mins of nothing. Overall, if we hadn't laughed at the whole evenings performance it would have been a disaster. However food, when it finally arrived was good.

    Front desk staff excellent. Lovely room. Great view. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed that dinner and breakfast were served indoors, rather than on the gorgeous terrace overlooking the Temple of Concordia.

    Unbeatable location with a clear view of the Valle dei Templi from most areas of the hotel, including from our private terrace. Private entry to the archaeological park was an unexpected bonus of our decision to stay the night at the Villa Athena. The swimming pool was a comfortable temperature for swimming laps, and I had the water to myself. As we arrived by car, on site parking was another bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Excellent view of the Concordia Temple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tub drain wasn't able to hold water when tub was full. Asked for it to be fixed, but when employee showed tub only filled with little water, so the drain worked. Didn't pursue although I like to take a full bath.

    The view was paramount. Comfortable suite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    DISSAPOINTING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lady at front desk told us we couldn't use there access to the ruins because we did not buy a combined ticket from their desk ,we arrived early so decided to walk up town where we decided that we had time to visit the Museum(which included the ruins in ticket price) a little disappointing even though we stayed 2 nights , also did not feel you got value for money when I book a table at their restaurant , for the cost that was charged very minimal food given for a 5 star hotel quite poor, and still had to pay for Breakfast $22++ per person which we did not partake, We stayed in some lovely B&B"s prior and after that included breakfast in the price and by heck they dished us up some great food. Disappointing our amenities were not topped up on our 2nd day after cleaners had been in I had to remove dirt from doorway that was not picked up . Overall would not recommend paying that amount of money for a bed Disappointing

    Garden room still had good View of Temples , Some staff were great ,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful customer care and services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Wonderful customer care and services. Lovely gardens, and a spectacular view. Quiet and calm. Super food and a super pianist... The private entrance to the Valley of Temples!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.1
    Great hotel, amazing views, good food but not so good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed with the service from the restaurant. For a place of this caliber, the staff really dropped the ball. The food was great but the delivery was poor.

    The view of the Greek ruins from the terrace and the beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Worth the whole trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave

    An amazing hotel, near an amazing site : the Valley of the Temples. The temple view from our room, the pool area or the terrace was unique. Visiting the temple valley is possible thru a private (paying) entrance. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.6
    Would not recommend .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with information provided to us upon arrival. They did not abide exactly to the reservations we had made through booking, alloting them differently than it was requested, therefore creating a problem among us the group. The so called «spa» only allows two people at a time so not a proper spa. Few chances for booking availability. Rooms are nicely decorated combining blacks, and whites ,abut nor size nor maintenance is A +. The carpet in the corridors does not correspond at all to a five star hotel. The view is impressive for rooms facing the temple but charging 385 euros for a classic double room with no view is worthless. Go for lunch, enjoy view, and dont spend any more.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Worth every penny, no wonder it is so hard to get into this palce
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was perfect, room was huge, water pressure and bathroom were fantastic with heated towel racks, beds and pillows were so comfortable, staff was incredibly friendly, food was fancy, rustic, delicious and great wine selections

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    The Best Experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a single thing . . absolutely perfetto!!!

    From booking.com website, I knew this was a nice hotel, but EVERYTHING about it EXCEEDED our expectations. Wonderful, friendly & helpful staff; GREAT food; AMAZING view;, and the easiest place to view & experience the temples. The spa was tremendous as well. Don't hesitate to book a a stay at this little luxurious gem of a hotel!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    10
    Very special and highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor points – coat hanger railings in wardrobe much too high – just over 2 meters! A small bed side cabinet would have been handy – the shelf behind the bed is too high.

    Very impressive hotel in all respects and a must place to stay. Front desk staff very helpful at all times with attention to detail. We got upgraded to a room with a view of the temple – these rooms provide a stunning view and are well worth the extra. If we stay again, I would definitely book this type of room in advance as it provides such an impressive view! Restaurant very good quality, plenty of choice with knowledgeable and professional waiters. Great access to the park from the hotel – purchase tickets from reception.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    Agrigento's Premier Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were bothered by the tobacco smoke from the adjacent balcony, but it is Italy, where public smoking is a national phenomenon. That said, the interior of the hotel is non-smoking.

    The staff is extraordinarily helpful and warm, the facilities are fantastic, and the location is without equal. Our room, complete with a massive balcony, had a phenomenal view of the Temple of Concord, which stood only a few hundred meters away. The hotel has a private entry to the temple complex; purchase your tickets at the reception desk, receive an electronic key for the gate, and enjoy the ruins at your leisure. The food at its restaurants is also Sicilian cooking at its best, and the wait-service is fluid perfection in motion but with an Italian warmth and charm

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.2
    Perfection marred by inconsiderate design
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a bit small for the price. The clothes rack in the closet was too high for me to reach and, to make it truly unusable, the hangers were those awful, insulting anti-theft ones. Why do hotels insist on using those? And especially five-star hotels!

    The hotel is beautifully designed. The views of the temple are spectacular. There is a private entrance to the temples from the hotel (but no bags allowed because there is no security point at the private entrance).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    5 star hotel, 5 star service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed only a night.

    We stayed temple view room, which had a great unforgetable view. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were super friendly. The property, including its garden was very beautiful. Restaurant was fine and we appreciated their wine recommendation. Valley of Temples is also very close from the property.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    A perfect place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The perfect organisation, our compliments!!everything remains relaxed. The staff was so nice and pleasant and the food in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: