Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Augustus 3 stars

Vico Ausonia 16, 98055 Lipari, Italy

Review score

Based on 588 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable room with terrace and a great view, very close to harbour and touristic area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bunk Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower head was in poor condition, had to climb quite a few stairs to get to the room, there was some noise from a party in the evening and some exhaust fumes on the terrace from ships or trucks in the nearby harbour

    the masonry walls painted white, tall ceiling, tiled floors, beautiful view from large semi-private terrace, good breakfast, friendly and quick check in / check out, the bed layout we got was better than what we saw in the pictures when booking, the office staff made sure we take back our documents which we left as a deposit, we were allowed to take a doggy bag from the breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Old world charm, reasonable value, let down by the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that I couldn’t check in till 2.15pm and yes those previous reviews are right - the toilet is in the shower. When you sit down your feet are bizarrely on the shower drain hole.

    There is a nice atmosphere with its various sitting areas and old world charm. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Close to harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I had the window straight to the main crossing next to the hotel which was really noisy during whole day and even night.

    Nice breakfast served in the main lobby and 24/7 front desk. Staff helped me to rent a scooter for the next day which was brought to the hotel in the morning. Just one minute walking from the harbour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Great Location and Historic Building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great, central location in a very historic setting/building. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate. I found my room spacious and clean!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    perfect, if you get the right room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    unfortunately our room's window/balkony was directly to the main road, so it was very loud the whole night. room didn't look like the rooms on the pictures

    very friendly staff, tasty breakfast, well located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    The daytime receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The late receptionist and night porter hardly understood any other language than Italian, which I don't speak.

    The daytime receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. The reception area is very cosy. There is a nice terrace on the first floor to partake of a sundowner (bring your own)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay in lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    English not spoken very fluently by staff.

    lovely hotel, staff very helpfull and great location. Children very welcome. Lovely and quiet with beautiful inside garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was placed unusually in our bathroom - without cabin, partially separated with curtain, so the bathroom was almost all wet after each showering.

    Great breakfast, especially oranges, 24h reception, excellent location as it is one minute from the port and just a step away from the city centre. The hotel ambient is really great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location for both arrival by boat and for the town centre. Excellent pizzeria/restaurant a bit away from main tourists spots if you turn right out of the hotel entrance and at the top of the alleyway turn left, after 50m you reach the pizzeria (2min from the hotel). Good air conditioning in room. Early breakfast available as my ferry was leaving at 7am.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    Old fashioned hotel where time has stopped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst coffee we had in Italy; the staff didn't speak any English - a bit unexpected for a well established hotel; the room was small and it's quite unusual to have toilet in the shower; the bathroom towels were scratchy; obvious wear and tear throughout the hotel - nothing much has changed since 1950s when the hotel was build.

    Hotel is located close to the ferry terminal (5-min walk); decent breakfast (however, the first morning of our stay we had to ask the waiter to refill the plates as there was almost nothing left).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    A little gem of a place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is rather small but I knew this at time of booking and it doesn't take away from the overall character of the hotel.

    I was a little suspicious booking this as was only €39 but loved the look of the place. And my oh my I was so not disappointed. It was fantastic and we totally enjoyed staying there. It has a real old colonial feel to it and full of character. Brilliant buffet style breakfast. Check out the garden, it's a treat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    4.2
    Not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old toilet in the room. Narrow room Impolite staff. When we arrived our room wasn't ready, the staff said us that hour check-in cannot be schedule, it depends on guests check-out. Italian espresso is not included in breakfast.

    Near the center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.8
    Very convenient location, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that I was shouted at by the receptionist for giving a different name during the check in (booking was on my husband's name not mine). Also, breakfast tasted always a bit dry/old.

    Location and cleanliness of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location close to the Hydrofoil port and from the Main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to the Hydrofoil port and from the Main Street running through Lipari. The staff were welcoming and courteous. The hotel is a little dated but comfortable and a good base for visiting the island and other Aeolian Islands

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    3.8
    Bad customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bunk Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they give me, the shower was basically on top the WC with a holl on the floor. After I asked to have better decent room the director of the hotel act terrible! after I booked for my family of 4 including a 5 years old child, he put me on the spot by saying that I have to pay more if I want a bad for my child! He said that booking.com made mistake and I have to handle it with them. All this with arrogance and high tone! I traveled many places but I never encounter a director with such bad and poor customer service!!! He should be retrained or fired , even the girl receptionist told me that he has bad attitude but " he means good" good with who?

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    Very convenient to the ferry port, not so handy if you want room service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the Booking.com website the property advertised room service and a restaurant. It had neither. Also we needed to ask at reception for the remotes for the a/c and tv. When we left the room we left the windows closed because the mosquitos were very bad - when our room was serviced the windows were left wide open, letting more mozzies in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location, 5 mins walk from port, close to restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old furnitures and I get a room facing the street, noisy even after midnight. Mosquitos in the room too...

    Great location, 5 mins walk from port, close to restaurants,cafes and supermarket. Good equipmented room with everything I need, super clean and comfy bed/pillows. With AC, nice and friendly staff, service even after midnight. Breakfast is fresh bread!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mosquitoes in the garden areas. Limited choices for breakfast.

    Great location, short walk from port and main street. Staff very accommodating. Lovely, leafy outdoor settings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.3
    A fantastic location as you can walk from the ferry. Excellent for walking around the town as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Manager seemed very stressed, and my room was noisy - it was above the laundry so I had to change rooms. The second one was much better.

    Good breakfast. Location. Fascinating objects d'art in the Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    5.8
    VERY RUDE STAFF. Clean and well located room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was rude in general, did not help much with our questions, hardly understood other languages and did not inform well about their services (laundry was extremely expensive and instead of warning us they simply said they did not remember the price so we should better go to our room and check it ourselves. It turned out to be an average price of 10€ per thing so lucky us we checked it ourselves). During breakfast i felt very uncomfortable due to the waiter continuously looking at you. It was probably in order to help you but it was so intense that I felt embarrassed every time I took food from the buffet.

    The building was nice and the room was ok, a bit small maybe, but clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.8
    Central Lipari Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the port in Lipari and just off the main shopping street. Comfortable hotel. Items about the hotels history including old registers in the lobby is a nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    3.3
    The WiFi was good and the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To start with, the room was not "big and airy". Alot of furnitures, very crowded. The shower cabinet was ridiculous small, and the pressure in the shower was BAD! The staff was not really friendly or nice. They treated us disrespectful. It was also very noisy, from slamming doors to traffic outside. The room was tacky renovated. The staff spoke very poorly English. We will not stay here again.

    The WiFi was good and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many mosquitos windows should have net and maybe fish in the small lake

    Strategic location, very good breakfast , nice atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Very close to port, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes

    Very close to port, nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Friendly staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly staff and great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Internet didn’t work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet didn’t work. Personal wasn’t helpsome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location to explore the island, great value, &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to explore the island, great value, & nice breakfast. Unique hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    Location and good breakfasr
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Able to hear everything in next family room

    Location and good breakfasr

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Good deal for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, nice "old-world" athmosphere in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location to walk anywhere in Lipari.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds.

    The breakfast was filling. Meat, cheese, breads, fruit, coffee was a really nice treat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.7
    Location and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude staff, cleaning in the unconvenient time, problems with the reception (check-in and payment)

    Location and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.7
    Excellent breakfast, localisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incompete staff, difficulties with check-in

    Excellent breakfast, localisation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money maybe because we enjoyed a discount; great location in the very center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was small and not confortable

    Location and common area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Its directly in the city center where you can reach beaches easily by bus and you can shop till you drop!Its so nice and quiet and good food!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a bit hot to sleep in

    location was perfect and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    2.5
    Hard to put crap into words
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left after 2 nights because ro was infested with mosquitos and other insects !!!

    Hard to put crap into words

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    CAMERA GRANDE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    RECEPTION ANTIQUATA

    CAMERA GRANDE

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The location is great. Right outside the harbor. Not much walk to do carrying luggage. And 1min away from the main street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    A convenient hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very easy to carry/pull the bags from the port.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.6
    Perfect price for location and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors smell of old but not by much discomfort.

    Fine overall. Especially the location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    6.7
    Very old rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely old furniture and bathroom for the money! Needs complete renovation.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.9
    The location - right next to the jetty where the ferry docks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wi-Fi only in public areas - but that was about it!

    The location - right next to the jetty where the ferry docks (as the only way to get to the island a massive bonus). But still quiet and right on the edge of town.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Great location, a short walk from the dock and main street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, a short walk from the dock and main street. Charming old house with family memorabilia. Sizable room, up-to-date amenities, lovely view, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.3
    The hotel is a short walk from the ferry wharf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a short walk from the ferry wharf. Excellent if you have lots of luggage to cart with you. The hotel is quiet and comfortable with restaurants and shops close by.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    6.7
    Great location, good facilities, well maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi in the room. Breakfast was poor value for money (my package didn't include, and it cost E10 to buy, and no good (canned fruit for instance!). Couldn't get a cup on tea when I rang room service on Sunday afternoon as safe member didn't know how to get hot water. Generally staff were not clear about their jobs, and slow to react to any questions at front desk

    Great location, good facilities, well maintained

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The afternoon staff is unfriendly and unhelpful.

    The location is good. the breakfast place,comfortable and beautiful.the breakfast is good.the room is also nice.i like here its a nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    6.7
    lovely shady terrace for naps or reading, good location near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no air conditioning = woke up every hour as was thirsty and had to sleep with window open leaving mosquito bites everywhere, bed was a camp bed with a wooden board between mattress and springs so VERY noisy, had to sleep with mattress on the floor in the end, lots of stairs and no lift

    lovely shady terrace for naps or reading, good location near main port and supermarket, hotel is also a spa/massage centre if interested

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    7.9
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is great. Easy to find. It is only a few minutes away from the ferry.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.9
    Location , air-conditioning into the room , customer support...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location , air-conditioning into the room , customer support at the front desk

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.1
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff slightly unfriendly.

    The location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    5.0
    The location was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room with a small and uncomfortable bed! The room wasn't properly cleaned. Breakfast was terrible!

    The location was very good

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    The breakfast, the cleanliness, the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast, the cleanliness, the room.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.8
    Vicino al centro !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    La doccia

    Vicino al centro ! Buon rapporto qualità prezzo!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.8
    the hotel is right off the main street in Lipari town, and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the hotel is right off the main street in Lipari town, and a very short walk from the port. one of the few places that will take credit cards.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    8.3
    Slightly quirky but very homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly quirky but very homely. Big room. Breakfast excellent.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Hotel Villa Augustus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: