Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Azalea 3 stars

Via Domo 6, 28831 Baveno, Italy

#7 of 15 hotels in Baveno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 872 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Family road trip from England
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we wished we’d had was an apartment with a lake view as the only apartment was on the ground floor and the view is wonderful.

    Excellent location, friendly staff. Apartment was well kitted out for a self-catering family

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water stream was poor in the shower. Breakfast was very basic, no fresh vegetables or fruit. Bed was a bit stiff.

    Location is pretty good, waking distance to the lake and 3km away from Stresa. Parking is available!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff not overly welcoming. Bit of an unpleasant smell in the bathroom at times

    Great location, secure garage for our motorcycle. Air con in room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Very good location of the hotel with free parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very poor! Horrible bread and coffee - not what I expected in Italy. Quite small rooms, medium comfortable - not bad, but also no highlight.

    Very good location of the hotel with free parking possibilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    nice stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    less space around the toilet (for tall people a little bit difficult), at breakfast no dogs allowed,

    view from balcony and roof view point, breakfast was good for Italy, fee for dog was 15€ announced in advance, clean, housekeeping very friendly, I will come back if possible

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit small, but had everything thing we needed.

    Great location in the old part of the town. Short walk to the lakeside, boat to the islands and lots of restaurant. Balcony with fantastic view of rooftops and the lake. A small pool with sun beds and chairs - really nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Amazing, unbeatable view from room and large balcony (room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe is quite small, barely fits an iPad mini. We couldn’t use the WiFi on our iPhones because the security wasn’t set up properly, but this might not affect everyone.

    Amazing, unbeatable view from room and large balcony (room 401). Room is fairly large especially with the balcony. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location and Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor a bit tired

    Secure parking for mtorcycles, manager very helpful & friendly. Good location not far from lakeside and amazing views. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    A great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice stay. Walking distance to the lake where many beautiful restaurants await you. We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet clean place with a good looking location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Authentic hotel on a beautiful location with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are too hard for our taste. We could hear our neighbors talking and laughing. The rooms on the ground floor don't have a balcony and on top of that the view from our room was blocked (I think for privacy purposes). However, these negatives don't weigh up to the positives!

    Perfect location in the center of the town with a beautiful church next door. The hotel has an authentic feel. Genuine coffee at the bar (tip: it's included with breakfast so don't take the wall coffee from the machines). Breakfast has a small assortment but it was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed in my room was a bit hard for my taste, and the pillows bit big for my taste.

    The breakfast was good. Great views from the balconies. The location is excellent: very close to bus stop where you get cheap opportunities to travel to Stresa and beyond (Belgirate) and to Feriolo, Verbania and beyond. Also very close to water ferries to the islands. Very close is the excellent Posta restaurant: very good food. I did the Chestnut trail between Belgirate and Stresa. From Stresa there is a cable cart up to the peaks of the Alps and to Alpyland. Worth a visit is the Plant and Animal park outside Stresa. This time of year there was beautiful flowers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Well located with excellent parking for the car you need when traveling around Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs better water pressure & fluffier pillows.

    Excellent location, close to the ferry. Secure & convenient parking garage. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    All in all - a nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can hear the train from the room early in the morning, so if your sleep is light - it could be a bit of an issue.

    All in all - a nice hotel. Our room had a balcony facing Maggiore Lake. Amazing to wake up to. The property had free parking, so that was a huge factor for us since we've travelled with a car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent base to visit the Islands and other nearby attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Driving directions to Hotel could be better explained / informed

    Location in Baveno was excellent. An excellent base to reach the Islands and other attractions in the area. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Nicely located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location to explore the lake. Close to the ferry terminal. Staff was great and ready to help. Rooms were big enough with nice view to the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    -excellent location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -slow wifi in room (in lobby OK) -limited choice of bread at breakfast -don't pick this hotel for the size of its swimmingpool

    -excellent location; great view from 4th floor, short distance to lake and various restaurants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Hotel was very clean great old Italian style. The location was perfect for boat trips all around the lake and near to the train station. Staff were friendly and bar prices were good. The breakfast was adequate and it was a great bonus to have a small pool to cool off in at the end of the day. I was part of a group of 9 who stayed for 11 nights and we all said we would return again. Thanks to all staff for making our stay and a big thank you to all the cleaning staff who do are doing an excellent job. 😎🌞

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Baveno beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't special and versatile. I would have hoped to have fresh vegetables and fresh fruits.

    Location was good, peaceful and beautiful. Hotel had a little swimming pool with a little backyard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and relaxing hotel very close to the station, the lake and ample restaurants for a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only thing that was't so great for us was the bed was a bit too hard but that's subjective and I'm sure if it was softer it wouldn't suit other people!

    All staff were really friendly and helpful. Lots of nice choices for breakfast. Room was big and airy and beautiful view from the balcony. Really useful to have a fridge in the room too! Pool and poolside was lovely and clean and ample space (although I don't think we were there on a busy week). Loved being able to walk to the lakefront within 5 mins via beautiful cobbled streets. So close to the station as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Great small hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very basic, but let me be clear - tasty food and enough of it, just there was not a lot to choose from.

    Great location! No traffic (apart from car or two to the hotel), free parking at the back of the hotel. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Very clean hotel. They have a swimming pool!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice place for a vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were hard.

    The location of the property was close to the town and very convenient. The size of the room was good and also the presence of a refrigerator. There was also a swimming pool which I used due to the extremely hot weather.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Great view from the balcony, excellent wifi, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, for light sleepers, the nearby train track is an issue with relatively noisy trains during the night. Select a room to the lake side (music from the bars mostly stopped around 1 AM). The above is just for information, I think it is to be expected in any of the towns around the lake.

    Great view from the balcony, excellent wifi, very friendly and service minded staff, easy parking, everything within walking distance; restaurants, bars, the lake, ferries, small super market.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Good choice in Baveno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the man working the reception desk was not friendly or helpful. The answer to every question started with no. We had to be persistent to get simple requests like a second key, collect our mail, or ask for directions. In contrast, the lady working the other shift was very kind and helpful.

    If you arrive by train, this location is a short walk from the station. I was impressed with the size of room 404 along with the view from the balcony. The room was very clean and well appointed. Except for the church bells, which were charming, it was very quiet. The swimming pool was an unexpected bonus considering the warm weather.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.9
    Basic hotel in the heart of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed sheet didn't smell clean!, the wifi was weak and the breakfast not that appetizing

    Very convenient location to visit Borromean Islands. The free parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Good location in Baveno.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fault of hotel but trains do run through the early hours and can disturb light sleepers.

    Location of hotel was excellent, very close to railway station and ferry port. Very good choice of breakfast offered.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    A very enjoyable stay with no real complaints about hotel, delightful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The hotel is quite old and could do with a little refurbishment of the public areas but the rooms are fresh and clean.

    The breakfast was adequate and fresh but choices were a little limited, the rooms are clean and our room had an excellent view across the lake(3rd floor), the hotel is up a slight hill from the centre in a pedestrian zone although there is adequate parking in the Hotel itself. The garden area is small and the pool is tiny but surrounding facilities are excellent. It is easy to get to other places from Baveno so it is a good place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    6.3
    Great Location with a very nice view from the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think I got one of the worse rooms from the hotel, but it was decent enough if you are not too picky.

    the location is good and you can easily park your car outside free of charge, or underground with a daily charge. The Breakfast was decent and on top of the hotel, you have a nice view of the lake. It has also a small pool if you go in the summer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.8
    Great apartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor but would have preferred duvets instead of blankets on beds but this seems to be all over Italy

    The apartment (annex) was great value, good and well stocked kitchen, very spacious, modern and clean. Very close to a Carrefour Express and close to the lake front, ferry terminal, and restaurants. Parking was ample.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a lovely time staying at Hotel Azalea. The staff was very nice and always willing to help. We had a room on the 4th floor with a beautiful view of the lake. The room was large and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful Lago Maggiore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Always a wake up call by the church bells at 08:00 and followed the 'Áve Maria' by little bells. ;-)

    Baveno is a nice village at Lago maggiore ans Hotel Azalea is situated very close to the boulevard. At a very good price for the region. Very good breakfast and free parking available. Clean, friendly and helpful. Nice trips around possible with boats to the islands. Walking or visiting the region. And a beautiful view at the lake from the top rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.3
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no tea facilities in room but I guess that's normal.

    Nice croissants , nice and flaky. Liked espresso machine in breakfast room , not top quality but good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Location, garage under the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the most welcoming when checking in! Also pretty much ignored when checking out!!

    Location, garage under the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay. Warm, friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony and views. Friendly staff. Pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    The location,friendly to childten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location,friendly to childten.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely fairly priced hotel in beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need non slip tiles. I almost had a fall getting out of the shower and I was sober.

    The location is central on very beautiful lake Maggiore

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location near Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location near Lake

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    loved the stay and will go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice hotel good location friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    It was fairly basic but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was fairly basic but comfortable. Very well located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Our room was fantastic Staff too fantastic super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Our room was fantastic Staff too fantastic super location Definitely will be back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Very relaxing after the hectic tourist scene of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful large room with 2 balconies for a very reasonable price. Great location in a nice quiet town right on Lake Maggiore.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing, beautiful, recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind, attentive crew. Clean, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    close to centre, staff very helpful & friendly. hotel clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    A very comfortable hotel in Baveno.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small pool and sun bathing area.

    A very comfortable and well decorated room with an excellent view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.6
    while i paid the hotel by cash when i left the hotel, they...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    while i paid the hotel by cash when i left the hotel, they charged the credit card by which i had booked the hotel. it is rubish

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location in Baveno, large room but moderate room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location in Baveno, large room but moderate room design. moderate breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    10
    We found the hotel management and their team to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the hotel management and their team to be exceptionally competent and friendly. Especially in our case, they went out of their way to aid us (my wife has problems in using stairs). Apart from the elevator of the hotel (which was of much help), the staff also assigned us a suite of easy access, with an appropriate bathroom. We also enjoyed very much the familiar atmosphere of the hotel. The quiet location, with a beautiful view from the terrace in the fourth floor and the short distance to the ferry boat station were additional pluses.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    5.0
    Location is great - 5 min from the quay / railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Do not take appartments. The beds are really rigid. Very poor isolation from the street noises. There is leakage in the WC, constant water on the floor. It is cold at night, no functioning warming system.

    Location is great - 5 min from the quay / railway station

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.2
    I stayed here for 5 nights to attend a conference being held...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed here for 5 nights to attend a conference being held at a lakefront hotel that was more than twice as expensive. It was an excellent choice. It was only a 5 minute walk, and a pleasant one, to the conference hotel. The rooms were perfectly adequate and the great view from the upper floor rooms was an unexpected bonus. It was about 200 meters from the hotel to Baveno's small train station, and very inexpensive to get from Malpensa and into Milan by train from there. The Azalea is a bit old fashioned, and although it was quite quiet in general, I felt the doors were thin and admitted more than the average amount of hallway noise (you can never go wrong by packing earplugs for a stay in a budget hotel). I would unhesitatingly recommend it and would stay there again if I returned to Baveno.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.3
    Staff were polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi didn't work in the room, we had to stand in the corridor to use it! The view from the balcony wasn't particularly good, it overlooked a bedroom in a private house!

    Staff were polite. We had a lovely room with a large balcony and the room was cleane every second day.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    6.7
    It was central to where we were going to a wedding, also...
    • Group

    There was no kettle in room to make a cup of tea. The hotel was a little regimented. You were not allowed to bring tea up to your room (but we did)! :-) but it was frowned upon. No iron in room. Eventually got the only one in hotel from housekeeping but had to iron dress on bed. We were going to a wedding. Breakfast staff could do with smiling more and greeting guests a little more warmly. At time of booking we booked the rooms we wanted, then we were asked if we wanted breakfast. I asked was it included and manager said yes so I said yes of course. It wasn't mentioned that by having breakfast changed the type of room you had. We had booked the self catering room for one of our party but that was changed to a normal room which meant you go down for breakfast. Self catering room had kettle and you did your own food. The room was eventually changed on the second night but after much persuasion. At breakfast we were watched closely incase we took breakfast food up to the self catering room. Breakfast was basic continental but no fresh fruit or variety of breads. Every morning was same. Shame as it is a nice hotel. Perhaps if we spoke some Italian we may have had a different (Better) experience.

    It was central to where we were going to a wedding, also central to the town and for getting around. We had wonderful views over the river to the islands. It had a swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    The location excellent, the views excellent, the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast poor/minimal selection, reception/dining room staff not over friendly, not made feel welcome, could hear people in next room eg. tap toilet walking doors.

    The location excellent, the views excellent, the room cleaning staff excellent and very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    5.4
    Room with balcony and lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No variety very basic breakfasts. Lacked a warm welcome & customer service. The reception, bar area and breakfast room were uninviting and lacked any atmosphere.

    Room with balcony and lake view. A short walk to ferry port and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.9
    The room, the view and the location of the hotel to the town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was adequate but nothing hot was available e.g toast or eggs. No restaurant option for a meal in the evening was available either.

    The room, the view and the location of the hotel to the town and ferry terminal.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Staff was helpful in finding places to eat and getting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was helpful in finding places to eat and getting around town with directions. Room was great and the balcony was wonderful with a view of the lake.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.5
    Our room on the 4th floor had a fabulous view of the lake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I echo a previous comment about the manager being a control freak. We were told off for grabbing a coffee before the official breakfast start time of 8.00 when we were going off early to a tour (we didn't have any food as we were short of time) which seems excessively petty; also the manager used to hover over the breakfast buffet watching everyone, which made if difficult to relax at breakfast. Basil Fawlty is alive and well and living in Baveno!

    Our room on the 4th floor had a fabulous view of the lake and having a fridge meant we could enjoy a chilled glass of wine on the balcony. Location was good, up a bit of a hill but not too strenuous.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    6.7
    Hotel is comfortable and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast consisted of very poor quality food items. In addition, the male owner of the hotel has a lot to learn about being pleasant and welcoming.

    Hotel is comfortable and well located.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Manager was an unfriendly control freak. Forced to sit at a certain table at breakfast. Air-conditioning not usable. Mosquitoes. Room was very small.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    The apartment was well-appointed and comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't feel happy to use the free wi-fi because Google came up with a message suggesting that it was insecure. We did not, however, persue this with the management.

    The apartment was well-appointed and comfortable and everything worked properly, except for a small problem with the air conditioning which was rectified immediately. The hotel had a friendly atmosphere and was comfortable. There was also a nice pool and garden. We chose to pay for breakfast a couple of times. The breakfast was good and also good value for money. We were very happy there and would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.8
    Location, value for money, breakfast, friendly helpful staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was brick hard

    Location, value for money, breakfast, friendly helpful staff and cleanliness second to none. All you needed from a no frills hotel. Tutto bene

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    Nice hotel in center of Bevano, close to very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very small room, with view on the street, no lake view.

    Nice hotel in center of Bevano, close to very good restaurants, and close to the lake, Garage closed to put your car in a very safe place if driving through. Extremely nice family staff. Clean and breakfast very oke. Good bed.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.8
    goed verzorgde kamer met balkon .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ontbijt en vooral de koffie.de regelmatige langskomende treinen. beakfast, especially the coffee. the passing trains

    goed verzorgde kamer met balkon .de mogelijkheid om voor 5 euro per dag in de afgesloten garage te parkeren,die pal naast de ingang van het hotel is.erg prettig voor mijn gehandicapte echtgenoot . neat pleasant room with balcony viewing pretty well the neighbouring houses and the lake. The possibility to park your car for 5 euro in a closed garage,situated near the entrance of the hotel.Very confenient for my disabled husband.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    4.2
    The hotel was cute from the outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was not friendly, elevator was not broken, however was being worked on during check out times. My mother could not walk the stairs which caused a delay in checking out by 11am. The front desk told us that we needed to leave right away as they needed to turn the rooms over. Unfortunately we were lost the previous day and didn't check in till 1:30am. We were extret tired the next morning and then had to check out with all of our luggage and no elevator for my mother.

    The hotel was cute from the outside

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    6.7
    Close to station, lake and restaurants .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you like friendly , good service, enthusiastic and helpful staff this hotel is not for you. A smile would have been good.

    Close to station, lake and restaurants .

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    8.8
    I travelled with family and we had a top floor bedroom with ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I travelled with family and we had a top floor bedroom with lovely view over the lake, also a self- catering studio. Both rooms were clean & comfortable with nice toilet/shower facilities, Staff were approachable & helpful and continental breakfast satisfactory and plenty of it. The hotel was in a good central position for Boats & trains. Swinging pool was small and mainly unused although appeared clean enough.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    8.8
    Very clean, view from balcony on third floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Same breakfast everyday

    Very clean, view from balcony on third floor.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    6.3
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from the fridge at night made it hard to sleep without ear plugs. No kettle to boil water and no ironing facilities.

    Location was good

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    7.5
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location parking

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    6.3
    Proximity to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic hotel. Mediocre breakfast.

    Proximity to town. Easy walking.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.3
    Useful secure parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was perhaps too ambitious. Would have preferred better quality brioche and bread and less choice

    Useful secure parking

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.2
    We stayed in a superior room with magnificent view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in a superior room with magnificent view. Everything was fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    7.1
    friendly staff, clean/spacious rooms, good WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small pool, no great value for money

    friendly staff, clean/spacious rooms, good WiFi

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.9
    The staff was really nice and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was really nice and helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    7.1
    Good location, garage and free private parking, friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Awful Wi-Fi, poor breakfast, uncontrolable aircondition

    Good location, garage and free private parking, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    I did not like the amount of light that comes into the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I did not like the amount of light that comes into the morning. It is so bright that when you wake up it is hard to get back to sleep.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: