Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Barbarina

Località Santa Maria La Palma, 07041 Santa Maria la Palma, Italy

#9 of 15 hotels in Santa Maria la Palma

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a car because the property is far from everything. There is nothing to put showergel on in the shower which is a bit difficult. The room is very noisy at night/early morning because of birds sitting/walking/scratching on the roof.

    Very warm welcome. The room was very beautiful and clean. Nice bathroom with rainshower. Great pool. Very quite and relaxing surrounding. Near the airport and about a 10-15 min drive to Alghero and the beaches.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (3a) was noisy. The rooms in the main building are located around the restaurant+terras. Our room was straight above the kitchen and as such it was noisy until midnight and starting again in the morning around 7.30 when breakfast started. Personnel could be more friendly, probably the hotel is more fucused on business travellers than leisure/holiday people

    Great location, easy access to beautiful beaches in the neighbourhood. Very nice swimming pool and good pizzas

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Giovanni, please repair the holes in the road :-) (Some others have written that there are many weddings and then the guests of the house are not the priority - this is true)

    Very nice and friendly staff. Thank you Eliana and Giovanni! Beautiful place and very well kept. The first evening we had two separate rooms far away from each other the rest of the time we got a great family appartment with two bedrooms and two bathrooms,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the whole hotel is totally beautiful. if you look for a hotel avoiding amounts of rooms and look for a relaxing environment you should go there. the olive trees, the enormous grass field and the swimming pool deserve staying the day there even having those amazing beaches so close! alghero also deserves a visit and it's really close

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a constant rotten egg sewer like smell surrounding the property, almost all the time. We especially noticed it at supper since we dined outside in the court yard. The smell was awful and we're not certain if it's related to their septic systems but where ever it originated from it was putrid. Also, we departed the hotel at 5:30 am. There was no moonlight and none of the property was lit up even though it was surrounded by what appeared to be evening type lights. Luckily I had a flashlight or else we would have had a very difficult time navigating our w from the hotel to the parking lot.

    This is a very well maintained, comfortable property that's just minutes from the Alghero airport which is one of the primary reasons why we picked it to overnight prior to our early morning departure for Rome the next day. We booked their Sardinian feast for supper and it was outstanding...way too much food and it was all exceptional. Fantastic pool and expertly manicured golf course like grass - see pic!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Difficult to find the location in the first day.

    Excellent location.Don Giovanni,excellent landlord.The staff verry friendly.Excellent restaurant.I recomand "cenna sarda"For only 35 euro you eat for 3 days. You have to rent a car to reach the beaches.Alghero is a crowded and noisy town,d'ont reccomand. D'ont miss Stintino and Porto Cervi. I'll return any time to Villa Barbarina.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is boring . The wifi connection works only in the lobby and the area, but you don't really care when you are in such a beautiful place

    Loved the beautiful design of the apartment , the garden, the pool, location, friendly staff. Excellent kitchen

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - nothing :-)

    - professional and friendly staff - hotel is clean and "cool" designed - the room was like on the web picture, everything was working and clean - very friendly owner - good location near to airport Alghero - the place looks very "cool"

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would've liked at this hotel was free wifi.

    Great hotel secluded away from all the tourists, amidst vinyards and olivetrees.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much noise in the rooms! Rooms too small

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we did not like!

    Up a small off-the-map road, surrounded by vineyard and olive groves, the Villa Barbarina is a little gem. A little more motel style than hotel perhaps but immaculate, friendly, very comfortable and real value for money. And to cap it all they have a decent ristorante/pizzeria which, while we were there, attracted a lot of locals - always a good sign! I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They neglected to clean/refresh my room until I reminded them late in the day. They were very apologetic about the oversight, however.

    Good and quiet location close to airport. But you need a rent car if you want to explore more of the area in that part of Sardinia. Food is very good.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor Wifi in the room

    The size of both the room and the bathroom. The atmosphere of the place and the size and cleanliness of the pool and the location altogether.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet not available in rooms, not even on the terrase

    Cosy and confortable rooms, very nice atmosphere at restaurant, a perfect choise for a few days stay in Alghero, close to the airport

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Weak Wifi (max 2mbps) and only in reception. Very poor restaurant.

    Nice pool. Very friendly Staff. Convenient base to visit around Alghero.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    That i had to leave

    The environment and the staff were perfect

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16

Guests also reviewed these properties: