Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Barberino

Viale Barberino, 19, 52022 Meleto, Italy

#2 of 3 hotels in Meleto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 491 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Amazing Tuscan experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutly nothing, a little suggestion would be some extra children menu's like pizza.

    The staff where super helpfull. Amazing location with beautiful Tuscan rooms and buildings, wonderfull gardens and nature and a perfect pool. They have an amazing restaurant with a wonderfull Chef and Waiter. The looking is off a verry high level! Superb terras with beautiful vieuw. Whe stayed 6 Nights and are going back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.4
    Over rated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - they forgot to say that the hotel is in front of a nuclear plant - room very humid and A.C. not efficient - staff at the door nor veey friendly

    The swimming pool,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Peaceful haven with amazing food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a bar to get drinks and also one day no lunch facilities as no one about. Surrounding area not so pretty - some sort of power station close by! Not that it affects your stay.

    Lovely pool area and grounds were stunning - everything well looked after. Fab food in the restaurant at night and great buffet breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    Restaurant was lovely, the food was very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was average and poorly laid out. No aircon or mosquito guards on the windows so was too hot at night. Swimming pool was a little untidy and at times full of bugs.

    Restaurant was lovely, the food was very good! The grounds were exceptionally well presented.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    3.8
    Don't stay here if you want to have a real Tuscan experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My reviews are rarely this negative, but here it goes anyway. We visited the property end of April and left in the beginning of May. We arrived 2 hours before check-in time and were told that we are to early. Ok, no problem, we'll just sit down and have a glass of wine. But there was nowhere to sit down comfortably. All the metal chairs outside were dirty from bird droppings and other elements of nature, there were no pillows (we were told that they were being washed), there were empty wine bottles from the night before lying under one of the tables, cigarette buds on the ground here and there. Nobody was cleaning up, they just did not care. Lousy first experience. We wanted to go use the lounge chairs by the pool, but wait! The pool opens 1 May, it's a law in Italy, so we could not. Ok, no problem. But we were surprised that the pool was still covered up and closed on 1 and 2 May. They could not be bothered to get it ready although they were fully booked. Something about the bad weather we were having. Well ... The room was basic and not well-kept. There was hair behind the door in the bathroom and it was not really clean. There was dust on the lamps and in every corner. It felt like we surprised them 2 months before season start, nothing was ready. The property outside is beautiful, BUT: forget about a great Tuscan view. You get a view of a big power plant in the valley and power lines crossing the landscape. The view is not really a surprise since you need to drive through an industrial zone to get to the property. Luckily we go to Tuscany every year and know that there are beautiful parts and great options - if this was our only experience we would probably never return. Dear people from the property - if you are reading this - please level up your game and give your guests the experience they paid for.

    The breakfast was very good, the waiting staff was very friendly, we had dinner twice and it was also very good, the waiter with the moustache was funny and friendly (and about the only good thing about the place). The estate is beautiful from the outside, there is ample parking space available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful stop over
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I visited here over four years ago to find the Internet didn’t work only this time it still didn’t work, your phones don’t pick up reception in this area so forward planning advisable before your trip. The bathroom we didn’t have any hot water the next day reception was quick to give us a room for a shower...

    Beautiful location lovely rooms and decorations. Nice and warm for those February days

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    4.2
    Missing the mark...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had 2 rooms at the villa. One with zero wifi and the other with poor wifi. When this was mentioned I was informed that i was correct about the room i was in but wrong about the other... Remember the customer is always right. One of the bathrooms had mould. The other was a little dirty. The pillows were like bricks. The restaurant is large and brightly lit. The restaurant staff are friendly. I had the slow cooked pork which was served cold. The location is not in the prettiest part of town. With the view over 2 vast industrial cooling towers. I really regret booking here when there are some beautiful hotels near by.

    This is a property with a lot of promise but it is missing the mark. Thankfully we stayed only for one night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.7
    Loved views and grounds beautiful and evening restaurant and staff great but otherwise too isolated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English at reception no tourist or vineyard advice. No facilities at all during day for eats drinks or coffee

    Location for Tuscany style villa and views very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    A true Tuscan experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onsite restaurant is very expensive!

    A real Tuscan experience! Sensational food! Great pool area, free onsite parking. The entire grounds are extremely well kept.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.2
    Skip this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, there was no one to be seen, it was basically deserted besides the woman in reception. The bar was closed on the patio, the pool bar was bared up, it was like a ghost town. We decided to walk into the village to get some snacks and the village was even worst - there is just nothing around. The location is horrible. It's so far from anything, the industrial village is basically shut down besides some men playing cards outside a social club. And the worst part, its beside two HUGE nuclear (looking) power plant stacks. I have pictures, you can see them from the garden, it's not their fault but the whole area just kind of sucks. I couldn't believe it as the pictures online are amazing. If you are looking for the Tuscan experience, do not stay here. The rooms were a dated Tuscan feel, think, fake flowers and hard beds. The yogurt cake at breakfast was, was, so stale, basically like dust.

    The grounds were pretty, and dinner was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    People are very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None of the pictures display the huge power plant view as expected... It was disappointing. Toiletries are poor.

    People are very nice. Whole garden experience is very nice, except the power plant view. Restaurant is nice, though overrated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.8
    Had expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I had expected more. Photos in website signal a higher standard than the one experienced. A/C in both rented rooms could not be regulated; only on or off. The ventilation of the one bathroom is inadequate (no window) and the roof top window was very moulded. In description of junior suite, slippers should be included, but there were none. There were much to few sunbeds by the pool. Folding chairs cannot be referred to as sunbeds. Restaurant only open for dinner, and the pool bar served only very basic food for lunch. The lunch salads include canned food. A moulded breakfast cake should not happen and the staff reaction was shameful. The outside dining area has no view to the lake. We had pre-booked dinner seats for our first evening. Only upon arrival late afternoon were we informed of a private function by the pool, which meant that we had to sit inside for a most disappointing buffet, at Euro25,-/each. A Saturday wedding and another arrangement during that day gave us a feeling of being 2nd-rate guests all day and evening.

    Staff very nice and smiling. Spacy grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Great Hotel Spoiled by Green Pool and Gray Eggs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and management don't care about their customers. The breakfast was absolutely horrible. It was the same every day using the cheapest ham they could find, cheese that was undescribable, fake eggs that look gray and leftover dinner rolls from the night before .The pillows on the bed are like rocks. Dirty bedspreads aren't washed between guests. The staff is overwhelmed and the never available. Main attraction of this place was their pool which was green half the time we were there. The problem was only fixed after we brought it to the staff's attention. Hiring few people, redoing all linens and mattresses in hotel, improving breakfast 100% and maintaining facilities would correct most of Villa Barbetinos issues.

    The historic buildings and grounds of Villa Barbarino are absolutely amazing. The potential for this facility is unbounded. Picturesque views and his stork charm lend Villa Barbarino to be the premier vacation destination in Chianti.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    too fancy for 'agriturismo' ; not good enough for 'hotel'
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1. room : we had a so called 'superior' room ; not clear what was superior : shower hardly worked ; airco was very noisy and could only be switched on/off ; in comparison : our kids had a 'regular' room, with a nice modern step in shower and an individual airco, where they could choose the temperature ; 2. breakfast : rather poor choice ; in a so called 'agriturismo', you expect at least a choice of some local products 3 restaurant : kitchen was OK, only : knowing that they have a public who spend several days there, they should offer a daily menu ; now the choice was too limited to stay there every night, so we had to drive out to find other restaurants (which aren't that close) 4. in conclusion : too fancy to be called 'agriturismo' ; not good enough to be a real hotel

    excellent location ; fantastic property ; very friendly owner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    3.3
    Don't bother, go to Chianti instead which is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to a power station. Closed pool early one day to hold a private party without informing any of the guests. Beds where uncomfortable. The shower was broken and the apartment was not clean.

    The pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Ok place for schort stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu at the restaurant, lack of wie from the roomed and Terrasse Promoted as 4 stars but is rated by the hotel as 3

    Location in Toscany where perfekt, where we were able to drive to most locations. Beautiful buildings and Garten.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Andrea our server during several sittings was extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed short staffed at times.

    Andrea our server during several sittings was extremely helpful and knowledgeable in selecting food and wine. Very personable. Loved the pool area for mid day relaxation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful touch of the real Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Whilst the food at dinner was superb, the menu was a little limited. Unlike most guests who only stayed one or two nights, we were there for a week and it was difficult after the first couple of days to make choices that we hadn't had already. The dinner menu was headed "Autumn/Winter" and we visited in June. One of the dishes was unavailable as it was a winter dish. The menu should perhaps have been reprinted for "Summer". They also briefly ran out of the "house" wine. There was no communal area for relaxation and/or a bar so guests had to retire to their rooms after dinner; but, if you'd been out all day and/or had dinner out, then you had to go straight to your room. Finally, the provision of information on local markets, wine tastings etc would have been a nice gesture. All these comments could make a lovely venue even better. They did not spoil our experience.

    Our room was great. As was the pool area. Breakfast was good. Food at dinner was superb. Eating outside was lovely. Lovely location and views across surrounding countryside. Staff were very friendly and helpful (e.g. printing of train times etc).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Good but can be excellent!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lack of hotel staff presence, no information about room service, no tea and coffee facilities in the room, no complementary water difficult to know if any snacks or food was available outside restaurant times.Bathroom not up to the standard of the rest of the property if these things are fixed it would be a great place for the price

    Property ambiance is fantastic. Views are very nice. Restaurant setting is very nice. Restaurant staff very nice. Generally speaking a relaxing place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    our stay at villa Barberino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it quite a drive from Florence.

    well maintained, very romantic place with clean assets. feels private and you can easily make it 'your' breakout place. restaurant is amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.8
    The property is really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - just a few meal options in the menu - room was not very clean - no ventilation in the bathroom - wifi did not work in the room

    The property is really nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.7
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not so good.a lot of different connectingpoints and logins and a lot of them did not worry

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast and service staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Relaxing stay in a great setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a tiny detail - our shower had both a rain shower head and a handheld shower. The first one did not really work well, so showers had to be done with the handheld one (which worked very well). The bathroom was large and luminous, btw.

    Our stay at villa Barberino was very relaxing. The premises were restaured with great taste and attention to detail. The place feels very authentic and exudes the charm of old age and Italian culture. Staff is very friendly and make you feel comfortable and at home. The place is also very child-friendly. We stayed with our three young children, who had a blast exploring the gardens, running around the site, and swimming in the pool. Our rooms were tidy, large and with a pretty view on the valley. Breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    Super place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the living room were old and dirty (especially sofa). Some parts of the possession visible from the balcony were still under construction.

    This place is in fact a small settlement and consist of few completely different in style buildings. The surrounding is very nice and well maintained

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    4.6
    No reason to go again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right next to power central The main house we see on the photos not the house to stay. That house is private property. I even made a mistake drive in there and got told off by the reception lady 🙄 Room was ok and decent. But i was expecting to stay in a room with view and big windows. So actually place they rent is the annex cottage, was very cold, dark and nothing i expected. Bed was very old strange matress.. Breakfast was like left overs from day before fruits were cut old..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.5
    No castle, the restaurant is not allways in the location that you see..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    According to the pictures, it should have been like a castle, it was ok but you get a different picture before you go... I went out on the street just check it was the right number..of the street..

    The area is beautyful... good ide with a car ...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Stunning Property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from two sides of the property are stunning, however from one side is a massive power station less than a kilometre away, from one side are block of flats, so if it's a view you want from you room make sure you ask.The swimming pool is only open from May. The restaurant was a real disappointment with a very limited menu and is not at the standard we hoped it would be, if you do not eat red meat or pigeon (rare) you will struggle.

    Beautiful, historic, peaceful and charming property, grounds are stunning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    6.7
    Honeymoon stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Place a little rundown over winter. We were not notified of facilities like the pool and tennis courts closed. Make sure you have a car as no public transport and with the restaurant closed for lunch you will need to travel

    Remote location, lovely to get away and relax

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.5
    Rustic, charming and romantic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet is very dodgy even thought management went to great lengths to ensure wifi throughout the property. Take an adapter, only EU power plugs with thin sprockets will fit in the old power plugs. Mostly just Italian TV channels. Better to come here to 'escape' from technology! Rather far from the closest town where any type of shopping is possible. When the villa gets busy, they tend to run out of hot water, so shower early. The self catering apartment had old bedding and basic amenities (though it adds to the rustic charm). All these are actually positive if you seek an authentic 'country life' breakaway!

    If you seek solitude or peace and quiet then you will find plenty here. All the charms of a classic Tuscan Villa, where it is easy to escape the trappings of the 21st century. Friendly staff that can manage simple requests in English. Perched on top of a hill the views are breathtaking, even in the dead of winter, provided you are not facing the nearby power station. The on-site restaurant offers good food and local wine. Better to come in the warmer months when the pool is in use, this is a gem for outdoor enthusiasts. In the heart of Tuscany, it is the perfect base for exploring in all directions, incl. Florence, Siena and Arezzo. Parking is free. Overall the atmosphere was warm and welcoming and exactly what you would expect from a Tuscan experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Brilliant Break in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful site with a cluster of traditional buildings large and small, grand and vernacular, view over the lake. Brilliant breakfasts, excellent evening menu, helpful, happy staff. Interesting history.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.8
    Excellent exterior, cold interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very very cold and they didn't want to turn on the heat even thow we had 2 children with us and we were afraid for them not to get sick. The breakfast - very poor.

    Everything on the outside was awesome, amazing views and spectacular garden

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    VILLA BARBERINO - TUSCANY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I DIDN'T LIKE THE SMELL OF CIGARETTE SMOKE ON BEDROOM PILLOW AND BEDCOVER. GUESTS SHOULD NOT SMOKE IN THE ROOMS

    THE GARDENS AND THE TYPICAL TUSCAN HOUSES

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    4.6
    Dissapointed with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coal powered power station less than 1km away. Rooms dark and dingy. 100 metre walk from car to room with no porter. Loud wedding until midnight. Small breakfast room sharing a table. Poor value for money.

    Gardens and building were very pretty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    4.6
    Overrated and expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a room where wifi was very difficult to come by. Being connected to the internet was normally not our target but we needed to check some maps and plans for the next day so it took us quite a lot of time. There where mosquitos in the room and when I went to reception to ask for some help, the reception was already locked for the night. Although the booking had a welcome drink include, there was no such thing - again even if you want to ask or check - there is no one at reception during evenings. For the amount they charge, we expected much more.

    Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful Tuscany...affordable for weak ZAR
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room spacious and comfortable.Beautiful well maintained private property...close to Tuscany wine areas...ideal first night sleep in Italy...close to Florence...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic atmosophere, typical Toscan feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only 1 thing where they need a little bit more is the breakfast, the food is delicious, but if you stay more than 2 nights in the 3rd times so borring to get same.

    If you want to stay a typical Toscan hotel, it is. Staffs were very friendly, hotel atmosphere was fantastic (nice garden, pool, waterworks etc) Restaurant is excellent, you can feel very good , food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.7
    No fridge in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room. No coffee or milk in bedroom. Kettle only fitted in plug next to bed?? Hotel restaurant very expensive for what you got. No facility on site to buy a cool drink or beer after hot day touring.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    9.2
    The Villa was beautiful,our room was perfect, even with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nearby there is a power station but you don't see it. And honestly once you get to Villa Barberino you just forget about it with the beautiful gardens, lake views...

    The Villa was beautiful,our room was perfect, even with our own fireplace. We had dinner at the restaurant in the garden on a gorgeous summer night which made our stay even better.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    4.5
    Doesn't live up to the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    So many Mosquitos and stingy fit out of the apartment very basic. Bar by the pool was closed most days and restaurant was too formal and uncomfortable.

    Gardens and pool beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.2
    A hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not a criticism as the Villa is not affected by it but there is a power station close by - cannot be seen at all from the Villa but it does mean that the immediate surrounding area isn't that pretty. However just 5 mins down the road and you are in the heart land of Chianti.

    A real gem. We had a large three double bed apartment with its own balcony, large enough to dine on, with a fantastic view. The whole property is stunning, superb gardens and a lovely pool surrounded by olive trees. It is very quiet and relaxing. Restaurant food was also of a high standard.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    6.7
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan or air con in one of the rooms was unbearably hot couldn't open the windows due to mosquitos they need to provide room fans and fumigate the gardens in the evenings Also the shower was broken in one of the rooms

    Beautiful surroundings nice swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor issue was a wedding dinner party at night, when guests filled the parking lot with their cars, making it difficult for us to park when we came back. They should've reserved some parking spots for people staying the night like us and have the wedding guests park outside

    The villa is set on a hill overlooking a lake. We were a bit worried about the view, since the lake is home to a hydroelectric power plant, but it is in fact completely hidden. The villa is actually a lovely old farm, insulating guests like a time bubble from the modern reality of the town it is part of. The staff is nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    The stuff was very nice and the breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasn't so good and they need to do something with the mosquitos in all the villa area.

    The stuff was very nice and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    Beautifull setting, very nice rooms, nice pool area with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had dinner at the restaurant, and it was very disappointing - not worth the money! Try their white wine - very good.

    Beautifull setting, very nice rooms, nice pool area with small café, very pleasant staff. Go to San Giovanni Valderno and have dinner - nice town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    3.8
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the appartment was true to the pictures on the website, it was damp, the cellar smell was empowering the minute you stepped in and when going to bed the sheets felts damp too. No way to use the sitting area outside as the horrid army of mosquitoes would attack the second you sat down. This flat was on the ground floor of a refurbished farm and obviously ventilation and damp proofing hasn't been addressed adequately. As for the renovation it was on the whole well done and true to the pictures, so possibly other flats/rooms may be ok and even nice. The hotel however was full so we cut our stay shortand left dissappointed.

    The place is an old property, very large grounds with many shaded corners in the garden and a pool. There is a very good restaurant with excellent staff. Very good wine list too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.6
    A beautiful honeymoon at barberino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were very kind , and the place is extremely beautiful. Food at the evening restaurant was very good and location is great . Just 30 min. Drive from Florance , Siena , and other lovely towns such as Arezzo.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    3.3
    Very bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was rude and not helpful. Our bathroom broke and they did not fix it or offered another room.shower very dirty . Breakfast was very poor, only few choices and very expensive for €8. They did not replace toilet paper, or towels. No air conditioning in a 35degrre heat and Many moschitos, so could not open windows

    The external part of the property is beautiful and the location is nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    6.3
    Staff was lovely
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a wedding taking place there during our stay,so we were not allowed to go through the main entrance and music was a bit loud that night.

    Staff was lovely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    the key is universal and there was no label on the key, I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the key is universal and there was no label on the key, I happened to open the two wrong doors next to my room....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    2.5
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible location near to a power station and run down industrial area.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Picturesque view, ancient building, beautiful gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picturesque view, ancient building, beautiful gardens

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    A lovely find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, great pool, delicious food and warm friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Amazing grounds, beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing grounds, beautiful views. Lovely pool, friendly staff and very nice and clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Very charming, nice and clean place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything

    Very clean, nice place, good breakfast and very pleasant owner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.2
    Tje villa has a greta potential but it is poor maintened and cleanliness is poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cleanliness

    great potential

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    We had a very enjoyable stay would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We really liked EVERYTHING. We spent 4 wonderful, relaxing days there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Amazing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were not very comfortable.

    Amazing views around, atmosphere, service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property. Beautiful room. Excellent breakfast. Dinner was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was very bad (signal). Bedroom didn't have refrigerator.

    Good breakfast and staff. Hotel is very beautiful (gardens and so on).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff is never there, is not helpfull and does not speak english.

    Good location, wonderfull facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was good

    all good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    view
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed did not good

    view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Great Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Location perfect for tour of Tuscany. Staff friendly and helpful. Room very clean and comfortable. Surroundings gorgeous. Sorry to leave.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Tuscan dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool needed to be maintained a bit more often

    Amazing Tuscan villa, with beautiful gardens, a pool and wine tasting option. The perfect Tuscan dream!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice pool, nice garden
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room without windows

    Nice pool, nice garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    The surroundings are very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Little things like a missing toiletpaper holder and the opening hours of the pool bar.

    The surroundings are very beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    2.5
    Go somewhere else!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going away from it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    top etape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    impression de village , environment magnifique

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good food, lots of space in appartement for family

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Nice Villa stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Villa with large garden area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    You can easily hear your neighbours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can easily hear your neighbours.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    great restaurant and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great restaurant and service!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.5
    Great location and ambient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt room heating was insufficient but perhaps also due to low season

    Great location and ambient

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Villa Barberino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: