Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Belvedere 3 stars

Via Dante 14, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#39 of 44 hotels in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 573 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners English was not very good Breakfast could have been better - lots of cake! Tea wasn’t served hot.

    Room & bathroom facilities were good & clean- fresh towels every day. Nice swimming area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cramped. The furnishings were dated. At least there was a fridge in the room. The television was microscopic. The breakfast food was limited but adequate. The villa was tired looking. The garden and garden furniture could do with a bit of a spruce up. It has the potential to be a really nice hotel.

    The Villa was 10 minutes easy walk from the old city gate. The pool had an excellent view over the Tuscan valley. The size of the pool was generous and the banana chairs were mostly modern and clean. Plenty of beach umbrellas. We spent every afternoon around the pool which was a wonderful relief from the heat of the day. Excellent parking for the car so close to the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast a little sparse in that not a lot of choice - only meat and cheese, no eggs. Croissants every day and cake a little tired after 3 days. Coffee too strong - had stayed in an Italian hotel in the days prior to this and had more choice.

    Great location - friendly staff. Helpful if you speak a little Italian.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    We deliberately picked this b&b add it was outside of the walls and the setting certainly makes the short walk too town worthwhile. Family running the b&b are very helpful and friendly. Parking is simple another plus, compared to inside walls. Breakfast was more than adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could be more varied and " modern" more fruit, cereal .

    Quiet , and pleasant outside space, for relaxing. Staff helpful Ample hot water , good showers and beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As nice as the property is, the web site projects a different image, in real life everything feels much closer.

    The room was large and clean. Parking very convenient. A well organized hotel with attractive grounds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location next to a busy road, so not really a quiet night over here :-(. Hotel should invest in better insulation (like better windows, double or triple pane windows would help a lot already)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect from the amazing view from the villa, the pool, the breakfast and the lovely staff! My fiance and I had a wonderful stay and will definitely go back :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor and room a little dated, but still very clean and comfortable.

    Pool, staff and views were great, family room for four was big enough and very clean. Free Wifi and free, easy parking on site so near the historical centre was great.Just a quick 5-10 minute walk into the centre also near a supermarket. Breakfast was good, continental buffet with a wide selection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in our room was on but didn't do anything to cool the room down so neither of us slept all night. There was absolutely zero value for money at this hotel as all we wanted was somewhere to sleep and couldn't even get that. Such a disappointment - AVOID AVOID AVOID! All the staff except for the lady that checked us in were rude and grumpy and when I told the man at reception about air con not working he basically called me a liar (in our broken French/English conversation!). No one at the hotel spoke English which isn't a problem, just FYI.

    Not too far from the old town, plenty of free parking and one friendly lady checked us in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is a bit dated.

    The property is in a great location, the staff were lovely, some had better English but it didn't matter, pool which was a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the owner was especially helpful and friendly, and advised us very good restaurants. The hotel is simple, but clean. There are little places like a hammock where you can enjoy the silence. At the pool are enough sunbeds for everyone. There is parking space in the shade but you don't need a car going into San Gimignano.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was rather basic but adequate. All in all though, I would stay again as the location is so Good.

    Our room was ground floor and with hind sight maybe we should have asked For a first Floor room. The bed was Great And bathroom Fine. Good shower. The location is the ideal for this small Family ran hotel. You can park the Car And forget it As To walk to San gimignano is 15 mins! Perfect and to have a pool to come Back to is the icing on the cake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening menu was somewhat limited but the food was good.

    Pleasant hotel with only a short walking distance into the centre of San Gimignano. Pool and grounds would be nice if staying a little longer than the one night we were there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The convenience of the hotel is just a short walk to the main town centre, which allows you to be in a quieter area yet within reach of all bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a very friendly hotel with lovely staff - seemed to be loads of different people! It's just outside of the walled town with a steep walk up (but a nice downhill walk back!). The views were lovely. Parking was very easy. The pool was lovely with plenty of sun loungers and the gardens were very pretty. The bedroom was a little dated. San Gimignano is beautiful and the drive to this hotel took us through some serious stunning countryside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely family run hotel in an old Tuscan villa. Great location as can walk into town within 10 mins so no need to drink and drive! Pool and garden overlooking vineyards. Simple in style but lots of charm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning was not working, the wifi was slow and stopped working, every thing in de hotel is just old and the breakfast was terrible.

    The hotel is based near the old city centre. It's about a 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showering facilities in the standard rooms could be better Breakfast was very limited with the selection of food available

    Breakfast was average at best and we only had one breakfast through out our 5 night stay Staff very pleasant and helpful The grounds and the views were excellent also the pool looked very clean but we didn't venture in I think having stayed for 5 nights the hotel lacked atmosphere as people seemed to be just passing through using this as an overnight stop

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worn out, overpriced hole. Paper thin walls. Feels like sleeping in the corridor, or in the same room with your neighbor. Avoid.

    Half decent location for a San Gimignano visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could have been more comfortable.

    The owner was super friendly and helpful. The hotel was cozy, with a homey feel to it, and the grounds were picture pretty. Good parking, close walking distance to the center. Breakfast was delicious as was dinner.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tad bit difficult to find, and the uphill walk to town center. We were not affected much, but it may be a bit more difficult for older people or people with kids.

    Pretty much everything. Good service, good price. Not all staff speaks English, but they understand enough to help and they always welcome you with smiles.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food brilliant and it was such a lovely homely accommodation with a beautiful garden with plenty of places to sit and relax. A lovely clean swimming pool and close proximity to the beautiful town of san gimignano

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All acceptable, Except the breakfast bread in the morning. Dry and hard as if 3 days old, every day. Bought our own eventually, market is just a couple steps away.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - just a little noisy rooms. If you are not that sensitive it will work fine.

    - Great location also if you are traveling around Toscana by car. San gimignano is a very nice and beautiful place and this hotel is well situated. - Very friendly staff. - cosy pool - good wifi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A menu at breakfast would be helpful to know what cooked food is available.

    Lovely evening meal and a relaxed atmosphere. Good to have the pool to use after a day of sight seeing. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great central position in Tuscany for sight seeing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lady serving breakfast a bit dour in attitude, on and off. Coffee quite mediocre for Italy

    Location just 5 mins outside the gates of the old town was great. Having a pool on site.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel advertises as 24-hour check-in... we arrived around 23:30 because of bad weather, rain and thunder... when we arrived we were told that they were about to close for the night (!). my husband is elderly and has difficulty walking so i came in with our bags... 2 men were at the reception and no one offered or tried to help me with the bags that i had to carry by myself. the hotel is very 60s-70s with just a new coat of paint... the rooms small. so we found the price expensive and were surprised that for the price the breakfast was not included. the hotel advertises it's walking distance to the town but it's really quite a way up and down hills. it's walking distance for people who are into hiking (!). in the morning the woman at the reception kept pointing at her watch to remind us about check out starting more than a half hour before check out time ! this is one of those hotels that seem nice from the description and photographs but are nothing like you imagined... quite a disappointment...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a bit old but the character of the whole setting made us not mind about that at all.

    Location was superb, away from the busyness, 15min walk from the town. Which was a lovely litle village. Staff was very friendly en helping. It was very hot when we were there so the pool was a big plus.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the staff didn't speak English at all and wasn't very friendly (the looked like the guests bother them all the time) - we booked a triple room but got only two towels - the building is old, needs reconstruction, very old bathroom - AC was not possible to adjust properly - breakfast - all food bought from Lidl - mosquitos, lizards and insect everywhere - no lift

    - parking on the property for free - private pool - good location - 400 meters to the historic city centre

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is excellent. The staff were very friendly and super helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and the views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool Beats closed.

    Very quiet.Good Breakdance.friendly people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to town for walking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pour breakfast, pour food quality, no vegetables or other nutritional foods.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newish UK Plug adaptor didn’t fit in the sockets

    Very close to the city walls. Good parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    outside charming villa, interior should be updated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for San Gimignano town, clean but a little outdated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and very efficient giving a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday. Beautiful location with plenty of places to explore.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was good & breakfast was yummy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool, the short distance to San Gimignano, the garden around, the view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location a short walk from town. Lovely to have a pool to cool down in! Breakfast good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    swimming pool and near the town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly staff, good location, close to the city centre. Nice and clean swimming pool and private places for relaxing. Easy parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - just outside walls of town On-site parking Nice pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was great easy to find within walking distance to town nice pool very friendly staff nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi not great x breakfast ok

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 3. bed was uncomfortable.

    Home made cakes.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very close to the town centre, easy parking, very quiet, easy to find

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner wasn't that good. We should have gone into town to eat.

    Location to the center and view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful panorama, close to the center, excellent parking, quick wi-fi

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was our second visit to the Villa Belvedere. Excellent location, free parking, friendly service and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful old italian villa, close to the center of amazing San Gimignano. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom somewhat outdated

    Nice view, walking dinstance village, swimming pool, breakfast, servicelevel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tough 10 min walk uphill to the town.

    Nice pool, breakfast in the garden

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, 10 minutes walk from the town center. A spacious room for three.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were sometimes rude and impatient and we did not feel welcomed or at ease at times

    Outside area was nice if the weather had been better and views were great

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Almost invisible signage when walking into town on the Via Francigena - we walked straight past the 'hotel' at first. Hotel is perhaps too grand a word. The Belvedere had a rather tired atmosphere with a very low-key welcome by the staff (owners??). Neither the bar nor the restaurant were open that evening. Although the brochure claims the hotel is newly renovated our bathroom was rather dated, as was the decoration of the rooms. Pillows extremely uncomfortable. Garden is pleasant but could be wonderful with a little more care to the layout and garden furniture. The swimming pool looked lovely but we did not have time to use it. Breakfast was poor compared with other places we stayed at in the region. There is a fridge in the room which is good, containing 4 small bottles of water, which we thought were complimentary, as there was no list of minibar prices on display and they were the only items in the fridge. Apparently not complimentary: the charge was 1 Euro per small bottle!. This was also the most expensive place we stayed in on our walk but the amenities and the welcome were nowhere near as good as that we received at other hotels and B and Bs. Nothing really major but they could do so much better.

    The location is fine, short walk into the old town centre. Near a nice food shop. Large garden, though view were a bit overgrown, and plenty of parking space if you come by car.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    photos are outdated - the current state of a hotel is worse than on pictures room photos don't show their actual size and interiors - ours (economy double #23) turned out to be much smaller than pictures showing it bathroom in economy double room needs renovation breakfast is comparatively poor (mostly consists of bought products - yogurt, toasts, corn flakes, cakes, jelly, juice, etc.) we got an impression they don't have a restaurant in hotel close to a busy noisy road

    10 min walk uphill to historical center nice territory around hotel and views to the north-east private parking

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower had some tiny mold but it was a nice place

    Location was great... After check in we grabbed the best slice of pizza across the street and walked up the road, hang a right at the bustop and takes you right into town walls!

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    I stayed in a single room which was big enough for one person. Bathroom large. Bed comfortable. Hotel is located a short distance from San Gimignano. Easy to walk it. Breakfast is served in the dining room and has a decent variety of options. Fruit cheese meats cereal juice coffee and cakes. Dinner is available if you chose to stay in for that meal.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The viĺla is beautiful,and was easy to find.The view from there is fantastic. We had a room for 3. It was big and comfortable. The breakfast was quite good.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to find and free parking. 10 minute walk to town which was perfect. Lovely views over the countryside. Pool looked inviting but weather was a bit too chilly for a swim. Staff helpful and friendly. San Gimignano is so beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was difficult to use. Television remote did not work.

    Very nice and quaint hotel located down the hill from San Gimignano but only a 10 minute walk up hill to the historic area so not bad. The room was a bit dated but very comfortable and large enough for two. The bathroom was very nice and user friendly for all but those with disability. Hard to get in and out of the shower for someone with disability. Breakfast was quite good and buffet style.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was a small - we used the small patches of free space on the floor to unfold the two suitcases we had and then had to jump over them when moving around the room.

    Nice garden, where the breakfast was served. Accommodation with parking but still only a few steps from the city center - this is a good deal and not easy to find in Tuscany in general.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We forgot two jackets by leaving with motorcycle. They have send this directly to belgium . This is something that i respect . THX 2 the owners!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although we didn't pay as much as friends we thought the hotel just needed a little 'tidy up', a little TLC and it would be perfect. A little more breakfast choice too but now I'm being picky

    We liked the position a 10 minute walk outside the walls of San Gim, friends who stayed more centrally said it was noisy and busy, we had tranquillity. The pool was handy, friends didn't have one and it was HOT!! A lovely man drove us to a meeting point to go to a wedding as he couldn't get us a taxi.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent, served outside in the garden. We used the swimming pool and enjoyed the sun. Only 10 min walk from the center. peaceful and beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Comfortable, clean and quiet hotel with friendly staff. The pool was great for cooling down at the end of a day of sightseeing. Car parking on site and within easy walking distance of town centre.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I've read many reviews that the hotel is far from town. It's not that far, it's just up hill. I walked it at least once a day. In the evenings, we usually got a taxi up which cost €20 for 6 people. Be prepared to pay a little more than you would for a UK taxi. Walk down is easy. Most of the town hotels don't have a pool, so seen as it was 40'c during our stay, I didn't mind the walk if it meant we had a pool.

    Lovely family run hotel. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Pool area was excellent. Rooms were clean and were cleaned thoroughly every day. Room had a fridge and mini bar, there was free wifi in the hotel, and drinks could be ordered and put on your room tab. There's a really nice deli over the road- brush up on your Italian before going. In fact, brush up on your Italian anyway. It's nice to be able to use it and it does help. Remember to leave your room key at reception when you leave in the evening so they know when everyone is back so they can lock the gate. A taxi was easily booked for us at reception to get to the centre of town (on the nights we didn't fancy walking). Cost €20 for 6 people. The area is stunning.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The miserable lady who runs (or rather doesn't run) the restaurant. Very rude indeed.

    This hotel is in a great location and the pool was a bonus. There are good facilities at this hotel but the owners do not seem to want to get the best out of them. It is a family run hotel and the gentleman that greeted us at reception was excellent. However, the other members of staff (or family members) need some customer service training as they were the rudest people I have ever met and made us feel very un-welcome. Shame!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Family with older children

    Fantastic Hotel and location We had dinner first night excellent food reasonably priced. Staff and facilities wonderful I will definitely recommend

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed wasn't very comfortable, air cond didn't work very well. Wifi poor in the room but OK in reception.

    Easy walk to San Gimignano from hotel. Lovely view. Nice to have a pool

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful - helped us book a horse riding session, and recommended and booked a local wine tasting at a vineyard. The pool was nice and the breakfast was tasty. Private parking which is useful.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It's nothing fancy but had a pool, was clean and the location was excellent. Would stay here again. We were also happy to see fruit for breakfast...we're a little tired of sweet buns.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: