Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of SHG Hotel Villa Carlotta 4 stars

Via Mazzini 121, 28832 Belgirate, Italy

#14 of 15 hotels in Belgirate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 248 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small. No room for bags. Bathroom tiles were cracked. Very tired and needed updating. The hallway carpet was worn. When arriving at the reception you thought this is nice but our room wasnt. Restaurant was very classy and food nice but small.

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom needs renovation.

    The lake view is amazing! Choose a room with lake view and you will not forget it. The included breakfast was also fine with a variety of things. Hotel parking is also very convenient and free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what you get. The room was in need of updating, the shutters collapsed, we couldn’t lock the balcony door, the air conditioning didn’t work.

    Nice location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures don't match what you pay for. The hotel was said to be at a 40% discount price, which I don't believe to be true

    Great location and great views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swiming pool was not in service (Under heavy maintenance as there was even not a drop of water inside): this should be highlight when booking

    Very quiet hotel with clean & large rooms. The view on the garden is peacefull. Breakfast is fantastic. Location near Stresa city and access to Island is really a must.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is terrible. Great if you have a sweet tooth - extremely poor if you want to eat healthy. Mostly white bread, no vegetables, hardly fruits. And no personnel to fill up

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, noisy, uncomfortable, poor service, hasn’t been renovated for decades. The profile on booking.com is not true - photos not representative of the property or rooms.

    Nothing. Don’t believe what you see in the photos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is totally different from the pictures from the internet at booking.com. The first one I got had no real shower but a bath tube that I had to hold the “shower” with my hands. After asking for another room, I got one in the renovated area which was better but still far from I’ve seen in the pictures.

    Staff is really friendly and always there to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls between rooms are extremely thin! We could even hear how our neighbors were switching off the light. Couldn’t fall asleep as the neighbors were lauging and chatting... felt like they were in our room. Mold in the shower area.

    Good location on the lake ... very good staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed by the fruit juices at breakfast and the cake, which were industrial (or tasted like industrial food).

    Very comfortable beds and beautiful view! Good breakfast (except for the juices - see below)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A cozier more welcoming bar area would be nice.

    This charming hotel, though past it's youthful glory, has a lovely air about it. It is steps from the lake and enjoys an unobstructed and inspiring view of the rising sun. The staff demonstrated top-notch customer service. We enjoyed both dinners we had in the hotel and were particularly impressed by our waiter Luca. In fact, I have to say that Luca stands out as one of the most elegant professionals I've ever encountered. He was warm but not obsequious, attentive in just the right way, and just as charming as this old hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place, close to the lake. They also have fantastic restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel with great food but sadly the pool was closed in June which was disappointing and the beach non existent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the side window

    the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom old fashioned. Not clean enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel, bed and pillow were super uncomfortable

    Location, breakfast and garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast chaotic. Rooms very old fashioned. Terrass door barely opened.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange smell in corridors and room Room and bathroom shabby Very thin walls

    Breakfast Receptionist

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old and most things broken. No kettle. Noisy air con. We asked for an upgrade that we would pay for. It none were available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting and view from our room was beautiful The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos published showvthe hotel fee years ago. Rooms are decadent, old dirty, with insects like ants inside.

    Fantastic location close to the lake

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    Location, the hotel, friendly and beyond helpful staff, tasty breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: