Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Carlotta 4 stars

Via Gandhi 3, 97100 Ragusa, Italy

#17 of 20 hotels in Ragusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 124 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, quiet and will be revisted!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Towels need to be changed since they have been used for a long time and have fringed and also changed colour.

    The room was excellent, except for the towels which need to be replaced by new ones because the ones given to us were old and greyish in colour. Breakfast was very good and varied. Staff and service excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Great parking and fine dining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs bedroom was separated from the downstairs bathroom which made access to the bathroom difficult at night. The hotel was 15 km from any attractions.

    Great parking and fine dining.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Love love loved it!!!🤩
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant experience at Carlotta Hotel! We totally loved it - the staff was professional, the place cozy and modern, the restaurant served truly delicious food! Ragusa is a quiet city to be, yet there are lots of places to visit. I feel happy after our little trip and would like to say big thanks to Carlotta Hotel for such a great service! Keep it up guys :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    4.6
    Pool was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel way overpriced for the area. Taking into account what you are offered for the cost it is poor I would think.You would get a much better breakfast in a b&b.

    Pool was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Waitress at breakfast (pity didn't get her name) was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is crap!!! Wish to return but won't because of the wifi there

    Waitress at breakfast (pity didn't get her name) was very very polite and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    The hotel was comfortable for 1 night driving holiday around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was comfortable for 1 night driving holiday around Sicily but would stay in a more central hotel for a longer period. The restaurant is overpriced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel wrong location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location was too far from town which resulted in the need to drive / get a taxi to be able to enjoy local restaurants

    We had a junior suite which was great and slept 4 comfortably. Pool was big and clean. we ate dinner in the restaurant one evening which was fantastic but expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked for 3 nights on booking. When we arrived, we had the feeling to be in a different place. The pictures on the website are so different from the reality. It looks like a corporate average hotel. Then we réalisés we couldn't go for a swim because there's was huge wedding party by the pool. when we went to the reception to complain that we couldn't use the facilities, and that we boooked this place because we wanted to rest they told us that there was another wedding coming the day after. We asked the manager to stay just one night and cancel the other 2 ( because we paid for a calm stay and at the end, the product is really different) he just laughed at us. And told us that he couldn't care less. He was really disrespectful. When we woke up the day after, we realised that they kept our passeport, and we had to claim to get it back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Really great hotel, would recommend it to everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot complain about anything.

    As you drive up, the hotel doesn't look like much but once you are inside the grounds, it is fantastic. Family room was spotless, big and comfortable. Pool was great. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Ragusa is a truly beautiful town. So sorry we didn't stay for longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Very nice swimming pool, good parking, modern construction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is in a nondescript charmless area outside of Ragusa. It is convenient to roads going to the various towns of interest (e.g., Modica, Ragusa Marina) but not near that part of Ragusa of tourist interest (Ragusa Ibla).

    Very nice swimming pool, good parking, modern construction. Great Michelin-starred restaurant on site. Very good breakfast. WiFi had good signal in room and at pool (but had to sign-on multiple times). Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilets by the restaurant and bar could have been cleaner. The service at breakfast could have been a bit more attentive.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. Anyway, what we liked most of all was the hotel's restaurant. We had a spectacular gourmet dinner that we will remember for a long time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Rooms were nice, modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the restaurant is full because of events.

    Rooms were nice, modern and clean. It's always good to have parking in Italy. Breakfast is good. Pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    Very good choice, we will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I hated the dog which barked at night. Hope it is dead by now...

    We liked very much how friendly they were. Particularly the woman who served the breakfast (very tasty) und the girl at the reception! Yo feel at home!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel's restaurant is in a Michelin guide. Very friendly staff. Spacious parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.8
    Only the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is really poor, ladies was unkind during the breakfast!

    Only the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Fantastico weekend di relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff camere e piscina

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstanding restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel, very friendly people, clean, beautiful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    6.3
    not a good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was dark and the walls where dirty (had footprints all round) the air condition makes alot of noise

    the restaurant was good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    10
    The restaurant was superb, whether for dinner or breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. It was delightful

    The restaurant was superb, whether for dinner or breakfast. The location was semi-rurual, perfect fo the holiday retreat. The staff were perfect; helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    Good breakfasts, excellent restaurant, friendly helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfasts, excellent restaurant, friendly helpful staff, cleverly done restoration of old building with modern well-integrated additions. Really an exceptional hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    5.8
    The hotel is an ideal base for going out and about and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strangely enough, the hotel climate seemed to be a few degrees colder weather and occasional cloud and rain that were not experienced everywhere else. As we drive out of the area where the hotel is situated, we noticed the temperature and the sun increase! A strange thing that the staff put down to the hotel being in a hilly area. Southern Sicily is very poor and run down with lots of derelict buildings of what once were farms, factories and houses. In some areas it looks like a war torn country as though people have just locked up and left the country, which may be true. This made it difficult to find places to eat out, which is something we enjoy doing on holiday. The further north you go however things start to improve as there is more money, more tourism, more places to eat out, and generally more going on. Would suggest staying north in Palermo perhaps rather than South.

    The hotel is an ideal base for going out and about and exploring by car, which is what we did. For example, we visited Modica, Catania, and did a tour up Mount Etna (definitely to be recommended as this was the highlight of the trip, a fantastic experience). The hotel has a Michelin star restaurant which is excellent, we are there twice, once as a couple and the other time as a special meal for my parents wedding anniversiary who were staying 40 mins away in the very cute coastal town of Punta Secca (worth a visit there). As the hotel is fairly small, the staff are able to provide a fairly personal touch, which was appreciated, for example, they helped us with a problem we had with our hire car and also helped us with directions and information for various excursions we arranged for ourselves.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    2.9
    The whole hotel is new, modern and fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The feeling was that the hotel was not full speed. Eg. the swimming pool had a large bar that was not open.

    The whole hotel is new, modern and fancy. The bathroom was sufficient but I missed a bathtub. The decoration was simple but smart. The swimming pool and the area around it was wonderful. Very tiny gym. Good Italian like breakfast, no eggs or warm dishes. Nice staff. We did not tried the restaurant but we could see the people enjoying the dishes at dinner. The location was very well signaled when leaving the main roads.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    8.3
    Modern hotel with charming elements of the original farm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We initially booked a junior suite with the bedroom upstairs under the rafters however as aircon is downstairs the cool air just doesn't go up making it way too hot in summer. We. Asked to be moved to a standard room an the hotel was happy to do this - but still charged us for the junior suite! The shower grout needs a good clean and dose of mould killer and the pillows are very average. Some areas of the hotel are looking a little tired - the timber floors need sanding and polishing and the pool decking needs to be replaced. There are no other restaurants, bars or cafes nearby so you need to drive everywhere and parking can be a real challenge in the towns.

    Modern hotel with charming elements of the original farm buildings incorporated which give warmth and a sense of history. The hotel is located in the not-so-pretty outskirts of Ragusa, but is well placed so that you look out onto grass and olive trees - the location is great for parking (easy and on-site) and is a good base for exploring Ragusa, Ibla and the surrounding towns. The pool is great for a dip and a rest on a hot day and the lovely young lady who looks after the pool service is exceptional and a real asset to the hotel. Wonderful restaurant (La Fenice) on site with some of the best food we have eaten anywhere at very reasonable prices - highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.6
    The staff were welcoming and went above and beyond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were welcoming and went above and beyond. The food was absolutely delicious and served with a flourish and the story behind it. A great welcome to Sicily.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Stunning food Friendly staff Great bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning food Friendly staff Great bed!

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    9.6
    High grade comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in unremarkable suburb.

    High grade comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds and good value one-Michelin star restaurant. Car parking no problem.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Friendly welcome even though we arrived late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find.....at least with the 2 sat-navs I used!

    Friendly welcome even though we arrived late. Fantastic dinner in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Amazing hotel good food, friendly staff, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing hotel good food, friendly staff, very clean and beautiful pool area.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    7.1
    We stayed at Villa Carlotta due to La Fenice, which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Modern minimalistic layout without much character.

    We stayed at Villa Carlotta due to La Fenice, which was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    8.3
    The michelin 1 star restaurant was really good and this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The michelin 1 star restaurant was really good and this guaranteed very nice breakfast

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: