Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Carolina 4 stars

Via Marina 50/55, Forio di Ischia, 80075 Ischia, Italy

#83 of 179 hotels in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Luciano at the front desk was very helpful and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was surprised that there were no amenities (shampoo, etc.) at a 4 star hotel. And the functional design of the rooms were terrible - light switches downstairs for an upstairs light; the only closet at the top of the stairs; no comfortable seating; not much in the "mini bar" fridge.

    Luciano at the front desk was very helpful and informative. The location was perfection. The two dinners I enjoyed at the hotel were excellent - the fish fresh and the service always attentive. And breakfast had freshly baked croissants, the smell of which wafted through the hotel early morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool on the roof was very very nice but some features (water fall and idromassage) was not working. This do not impact so much the amazing view we enjoyed from inside the water.

    The central position and the Staff at reception was the best of the hotel. The hotel is nice and I would come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Great view from the roof top pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was next to a loud bar which was open until the early hours of the morning. Air conditioning didn't work in our room.

    Great view from the roof top pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    Very nice looking hotel but a bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the rooms. Very impersonal. Rooms are comfortable but basic. Basic food for breakfast.

    Excellent location on the harbor of Forio. Pleasant terrace with a plunge pool on the roof with a nice view on the harbor and the sea. We booked a room for 3 and ended up with 2 separate rooms in the same hotel room which was very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay in Ischia, wonderful view and near by restaurants and stores.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The insonorisation of the room. WE heard our neighbors yelling often.

    The location (near restaurants and stores), the view, the pool, cleanliness places/rooms and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are more firm than we prefer but that's just personal preference!

    The staff (especially Roberto) gave us the most phenomenal recommendations for places to eat/drink see and do and it made our time on the island extra special. The location was perfect - closet to everything in Forio (beaches and restaurants) and steps from the bus/taxis to get into Ischia or around the island. We loved that there was a rooftop pool in the hotel as well!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel for a short stay in Ischia. Invaluable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel looks abandoned in some areas and the continental breakfast was awful af. The worst scrambled eggs we ever had in our lives

    The location was really good as we had the ferry port in front of the hotel. The facilities in the room were pretty nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Great personal and place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got room 115, which was really uncomfortable with the windows at the ceiling and behind them a large flower pot and stairs, so you feel like you're in the cellar. The bathroom looked undefended. Upon request for upgrade, we were shocked at a price of 100 euros per night. But in the afternoon we came to see that we have a free room overlooking the sea and it was amazing !!! Two floors and a large opening door with a huge balcony! Thank you for your approach! Service is amazing, people are smiling and friendly. They advise you what you can do on Ischia, give you discounts on bathing in thermal baths, the bus is free to the poseidon bath. The hotel's rooftop pool and location are great too! I recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this hotel particularly for the spa facilities.Unfortunately we were a little early in the season to enjoy the facilities, although the pool was open we were not able to have a massage or sauna as they were closed. We only had dinner one night in the hotel as the meal was quite a bad experience and wouldn't recommend it. There are lots of nice restaurants nearby.

    Our room was large and airy with a balcony overlooking the sea. Bed was comfortable and nice bedding. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful about places to visit and things to see. Breakfast was buffet style but plenty of choice and most enjoyable. Defininately recommend the hotel, we would chose this again if we were in the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Comfortable hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sun bed cushions were wet most mornings as they had splits in them, the foam inside was sodden which made your towel wet. It would be good to either take them in of a night time or Invest in new ones.

    The hotel was I a great location. The cost of the hotel was very reasonable. The roof top area was nice and quiet for relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.2
    camera assolutamente insufficiente come spazi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    camera assolutamente insufficiente come spazi

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff is amazing, specially the receptionists.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is amazing, specially the receptionists. Excellent location if you want to explore the island.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Awesome location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi would be nice in rooms.

    Excellent location. View from the pool was awesome. Easy to get to from harbor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Lovely breakfast, room really clean, pool was a little small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Lovely breakfast, room really clean, pool was a little small but pool area was great with lovely sunbeds, staff were lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location. Beautifully renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More fresh fruit at breakfast i.e.daily rather than once or twice a week.

    Beautiful terrace with gorgeous views. Plunge pool only small but adequate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.8
    The hotel has excelent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were actually missing 2 things - glasses in the room (only disposable plastic cups were available) and more "continental" breakfast (bit wider selection of cold meatscand cheses which are both great in Italy and some vegetables).

    The hotel has excelent location. Beach, great restaurants and cafeterias are in the closest neighborhood. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great coffe served during breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.8
    staff very nice, location excellent, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No lift for 4 days, no restaurant as such, just few tables in the reception hall. Otherwise eating outside very nice, if the weather is good.

    staff very nice, location excellent, very clean

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    loved the roof terrace .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not like the pond not working in the reception area.

    loved the roof terrace .room was good then we got upgraded which was really good as we had a sea view.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.9
    Localization is perfect - you're right in the port,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    in my opinion it's too expensive. breakfast was nice for 3star hotel, but definitely not for 4star.

    Localization is perfect - you're right in the port, beach & the centre of Forio. Big and nice rooms, nice bed & nice balcony with sea view

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is located in the Forio de Ischia porto, 50 meters...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is located in the Forio de Ischia porto, 50 meters from the ferry stop. The breakfast is good. The pool and sunbeds on the roof with a view on the see are enjoyable. Private beaches, restaurants and boat rentals all in short walking distance.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Browse Hotel Villa Carolina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: