Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Casalecchi 4 stars

Loc. Casalecchi 18 - Strada del Mandorlo, 53011 Castellina in Chianti, Italy

#4 of 17 hotels in Castellina in Chianti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 861 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Picturesque setting for relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great selection for breakfast and €5 extra for eggs is excessive. The dinner menu is basic at best. Being such an isolated property, you would like a wider selection.

    The scenery surrounding the property is beautiful and exactly what we hoped for in the Tuscan countryside. Plenty of vineyards close by too. The staff were all friendly, helpful and always looking to improve your stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our family had such a wonderful stay here! Beautiful, peaceful villa in the perfect location for exploring Tuscany. Welcoming and friendly staff, amazing breakfast. Surpassed all of our expectations!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    The staff were great and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were great and very friendly. It felt like going home. The location was great and having breakfast and the evening meals on the terrace was nice and relaxing. Oh...the cellar was great too :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area a bit outdated but still good

    Very friendly staff! Good breakfast and lunch/ dinner in the restaurant. Location very good in the heart of Tuscany. Beautiful views from the hotel and very nice style and decor inside the hotel Make sure to have a drink (from their bar) in the beautiful living-room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Two nights at Villa Casalecchi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice property located into the woods 1km outside the Castellina town centre. We spent two nights at Villa Castalecchi. One day relaxing by the swimming pool and the other day we drove 35 minutes to spend the day in beautiful Siena, which was amazing. Breakfast is good, staff very friendly and welcoming, especially the gentleman Franco. Room and bed was okay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful house the owner Franco gave us a tour of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit to hard but ok.

    Beautiful house the owner Franco gave us a tour of the entire property, he was very kind It felt like we were at our house.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Rural retreat - a good base to explore the Chianti region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Approximately 1/2 hour walk to centre of Castellina in Chianti down a largely unlit country lane with no local taxi service.

    Great breakfast. Lovely pool with pleasant country views. Very peaceful. Attractive property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircondition on room needs to be addressed...half effective and so noisy it is difficult to sleep if turned to max speed.

    Awesome ambiance, great location, hospitable staff and old value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Nice Villa to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice spot for the pool but water was cold. Rooms are not soundproof.

    Great place to stay. Excellent breakfast, Mario was really helpful to suggest vineyards, room was confortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful Castle hotel at Tosca country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, but stuff will help you for luggage s. No window for my room, instead there is a balcony and balcony door has windows. Bed was little stiff. I informed hotel the bathroom fan made noise,

    Beautiful Castel hotel at beautiful mountain view. Breakfast is a great Italian style. Pool is also nice, quite relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excellent - small, very charming, good value and within striking distance of many Tuscan gems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is small and over 400 years old, with stunning views of the surrounding Tuscan countryside. The owner and manager is delightful and welcoming as are all the staff. The decoration is authentic with painted ceilings and interesting antique furniture. There is also a good size pool and sunbathing area. Pretty gardens and a terrace add to its charm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Great place, with great people! Top location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love everythink!

    Staying in Villa elwas really great. The place is awesome, rooms are very nice, staff is really great. I fully recomended this place. Ypu can really rekax and enjoy. Also mr. Franco ( the boss) is the best! We will come back! And also breakfast- beyond our expectations 👍!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Summer Castle for your Amazement!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothning.

    We had the most amazing room with the mobilier from 1800 with fireplace (not working) - it was just amazing room. Service was more than excellent. it was built as a summer castle... it is just great.!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    The director and staff were extremely accommodating,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The director and staff were extremely accommodating, professional and friendly. They made us feel like family, we would definitely go back and would highly recommend the hotel. The location couldn’t have been better for touring Tuscany. We hated to leave!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff made us feel like we were part of their family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options were limited. We were expecting fresh products from a country hotel.

    Staff made us feel like we were part of their family. They helped us in everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great location short drive to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice if the in house restaurant was available.

    Great location short drive to town. Large room in a great large property. The breakfast was really good with a good selection and friendly staff. Franko the host made us feel at home and loved showing us around the great old manor house. We decided to stay an extra night 2 in total. Great base to explore nearby hill top towns in Tuscany.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Top!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Franco was the first host in my experience, who hugged me just to greet) so italian and so charmant! Loved the place, the view, the restaurants suggested by Marco, and the breakfast was very very good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    I would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a little difficult to find.

    Franco was an excellent host. He made us feel that he was genuinely pleased that we were staying at his property. He gave us a tour of the facility, which was extremely interesting. The breakfast was excellent, with numerous options available. I hope to go back some day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place with very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place with very nice staff. Great location for a restful day in the country. Wonderful breakfast, but unfortunately the restaurant was closed (not stated clearly on their website). Good bathroom and beautiful view from the room. We would have loved a dip in the pool on a warmer day. Some distance from town and you will need a car to get there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    We will go back! Should have stayed at this villa the entire time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room was in process of closing for the season and therefore limited service!

    Wonderful, beautiful Villa! Comfortable, lovely and beautifully appointed rooms. Frankie our host is very attentive and charming!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi a little patchy in the stables (Kids feedback)

    Authentic, old Tuscan villa with loads of charm set in a peaceful location surrounded by rolling Chianti hills and vines. Easy(ish) drives to reach Siena, Florence and San Gimignano. A few good restaurants in Castellini, that were recommended by the host although when open,the hotel restaurant served good traditional Tuscan food. We stayed in a family room which is detached from the main hotel and in the old stables. Fantastic and friendly staff made our stay feel very welcoming and relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    The location of the hotel was out of the village which we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was out of the village which we like pretty much, the atmosphere and view is breathtaking. Rooms are very romantic and the service is very warm and very friendly. The owner/ manager gives you a home feeling. Wine collection is awesome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Awesome property in Tuscany .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better street signs to find the property would be appreciated. Just bigger or more colorful signs that make it easier to read for people getting to the property at night.

    Awesome property in Tuscany . Breakfast was delicious. Great staff, good location if you’re exploring Tuscany. Great restaurants nearby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    Extremely friendly host, and even introduced me his family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the lights in the rooms could be brighter, I would feel more comfortable.

    Extremely friendly host, and even introduced me his family. It is a quaint and quiet hotel with a lot of host's collections. I feel relax and enjoyed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    A pleasure to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu at dinner.

    So quite there, beautiful view, clean sheets and towels and of course the lovely Franco. What else could you ask for! Only criticism was the dinner menu needs a different special everyday as it’s very limited.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Gem in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful villa with fantastic friendly staff. Great location for driving to Florence, Siena and other Tuscany towns. They also offer cooking classes and wine tasting but must enquire and book in early. We did cooking class with Mario, it was fun and relaxed!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautifull surroundings and nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The yard was located in beautifull sorroundings. We had a lovely room with a nice view and people was very sweet and welcoming. And we got a delicious brekfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely stunning 17th century country house immersed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely stunning 17th century country house immersed in unspoilt nature. The forest views from the swimming pool and gardens are magnificent. Delicious breakfast and dinner served in a majestic dining room by experienced waiters. Great selection of wines - the property also organizes tastings upon demand. Franco is a very friendly, unassuming host who gives all guests undivided attention. Our room in the Annex was larger than expected, very comfortable and quiet. Will definitely revisit!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Great house with super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is amazing. I went with my parents only for one night, and it was lovely. We wish we could have stayed longer. Franco and his wife, are great host. Super friendly and always attentive to any question we had. The house is beautiful, everything is clean and well organized. I definitely recommend anyone to come to Villa Casalecchi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant on site was not good value. Tiny portions and over - priced. Some of the dishes were bland. We told the proprietor but he didn't take the items off our bill or offer us anything else in lieu. The shower in our room was poor. Soaked the floor, half a door.

    Beautiful location, very tranquil, close to village. Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    A near perfect experience; relaxing, comfortable, full of beautiful landscapes and friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant provides a unique setting for dinner, although the meals and wines (all haute cuisine) were a little pricey and sometimes short on volume.

    The location and accommodation (we had a ground floor garden room) were wonderful. The host (Franco) was full of warmth and good humour. The staff were polite, helpful and always on hand to help. Athura (Ginge) the cat was a welcomed visitor each day. At breakfast the selection was vast and, above all, the coffee was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Charming villa with lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want to stay in a Tuscan villa, this is an amazing one with old world charm and furnishings. Lovely views and welcoming owners with genuine warmth. Amazing breakfast buffet, our best breakfast ever in Italy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Great place to staff in Tuscan area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property was beautiful, well maintained, a quiet and quaint place in Tuscan area. Food and staff were exceptional and made you feel at home. This was perfect place to the start of our vacation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    The pool area is nice, and the restaurant was very good with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something about the atmosphere at this place just felt a little bit off. It's like time has stopped here and not necessarily in a good way. Booked a superior room and did not find it to be worth the extra money. It was a good enough room but nothing special and too expensive considering what you got. Had very high expectations coming to this place but it wasn't what we had hoped for.

    The pool area is nice, and the restaurant was very good with beautiful views of the surroundings (restaurant is closed on Wednesdays). Close by Castellina in Chianti is a wonderful village and it's possible to go there by foot although the road gets really dark at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Great little villa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so hard our backs were pretty sore.

    Unbelievable food and service here. The staff was amazing and will take care of you. The wine tasting was great with Mario and Rodrico was an amazing server.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful property with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful property with friendly staff. We stayed in the Family Room and it was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The pool area and grounds were amazingly beautiful. The restaurant served delicious food and the waitstaff were hospitable and friendly. We highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.6
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 120 Euros/night in a 4* hotel, you could expect at least a bottle of water or a hand with the luggage. No one really cared about anything. Had to ring 3x times before someone came for a check in. Small water bottle in the room was eventually charged 1.5 Euro, although there was no sign saying so. Unless you were dining and paying at the overpriced restaurant, no one really cares, if you are there or not.

    It was remote & quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    The food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got bitten a lot during the one night stay. It would be helpful to have plug in mosquito repellent in the rooms.

    The food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The pool was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    There was heat wave abt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was heat wave abt. 43 at day and very hot at night. All rooms had air con and extra fans provided, which was sufficient to keep cool. Very friendly staff. Very good food and very decent price for the excellent local Chianti Wine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    4.2
    Too expensive family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was neither welcoming nor very helpful (and the manager was actually kinda creepy) everything looks worn out in the hotel, pool wasn't clean, AC unit in the room was really noisy, the bed base was made of mere wooden lathes and so on. Clearly not up to the standard you would expect from a 4 star hotel. This would have been ok for 50% less on the price we paid, really

    Nothing, really

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    The best so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff extremely friendly, environment is stunning and the location is just perfect, 30 minutes from Siena and San Gimignano. Monteriggiomi just around there. We have got a room in the dependance, just few steps away from the main building. Swimming pool is big and nice, our daughter loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Our time at Villa Casalecchi was delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting was beautiful among the Tuscan Hills. The breakfasts were delicious, offering sweet and savory options and you could eat inside or outside. We loved the pool as it was extremely hot when we were there so needed to cool off after a day of exploring. The location was ideal in Tuscany and we took several day trips from the property. The staff were all very warm and welcoming and Franco the manager could not have been kinder. I took a Tuscan cooking course one afternoon with Mario and it was fabulous. Can't wait to practice some of what I learned!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming host and staff - super service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the property is via a dusty unpaved road.

    Very welcoming host and staff - super service. A nice old building and attractive outdoors facilities including the pool. Great breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful peaceful escape to a true Tuscan Villa experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bees that hung around the fruit and juices when eating breakfast outside were annoying but I never saw them sting anyone.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Franco, the owner was so attentive, greeting each guest personally and sharing some of the lovely building's history. The Villa is gorgeous and the pool has amazing views of the surrounding hills and valley below. We had a lovely continental breakfast every morning and the meals from the reataurant for dinner were thoroughly enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    softer pillows would be a great idea

    The hotel was beautiful, full of character and the staff made the whole experience just perfect. We took advantage of the private wine tasting at hotel which was fun and informative, and a big plus no increase on prices if you bought from here instead of other shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful villa in the hills of Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was absolutely beautiful, the host family incredibly friendly - they were so kind and warm to our little kids - the town adjacent to the villa was charming with some excellent restaurants. The free breakfast was also delicious with a gorgeous view and freshly baked goodies.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful Villa. Food great, location challenging without a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Kind of out of your control, however, we were unable to enjoy walks around the villa as it was the World Bow Hunting Championship and it was unsafe to explore. The travel from Cinque Terre was not so pleasant. We thought we could do the train, but ended up getting off in the middle of no - where and had to find a cab which was not so easy or convenient. Recommendations to all heading to Tuscany - rent car. Very difficult to get around and explore without one.

    The Villa itself was extremely nice. The staff were very nice, the family was very nice, except the son - his customer service was nothing like his sister's or his father. They were extremely nice. Breakfasts were amazing for continental breakfast. We had dinner there one - very yummy. Lunch there perfect for what we were looking for. The pool was nice and very refreshing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    A warm welcome in a beautiful villa in the Tuscan hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a marvellous property set in the Tuscan hills and has fabulous views. It has a super style with spacious rooms. The pool was wonderful to spend time in on our return from visiting Siena and the local area. The owner and his staff are friendly and helpful. We had a memorable stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Magnificent castle in Chianti
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff that really takes care of you. A castle from the good old days with a lot of history, small hall ways and an excellent scenic view of the valley.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    The place was nice, not in the village, outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is challenging ti find that place. No sign .

    The place was nice, not in the village, outside. The owner were very polite, helpful. Breakfast exellent, price 9 €, It was difficult to find this place. There should be a sign at least in that place, were on should turn to the road leading to the hotel. The surrounding was nice, unfortunally we had no time to stay there longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    I would come here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilets are very noisy.

    The view from the swimming pool is amazing. Franco (the owner) is a very friendly and positive person as well as his staff. Big and beautiful room, good food and the choice of wine. The location is quite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Overall a very nice place to stay in Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few things look like they need some TLC.

    Scenic and convenient location in a beautiful Tuscan villa. Very nice staff that want to make your stay comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.0
    So much Potential But....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of attention to cleanliness... whilst toilet, basin were clean....mildew on shower curtain and bath surround is somewhat 'off putting'...

    This hotel is beautifully situated but appears to be in desperate need for some attention....our room was not only small but in need of 'cleaning attention'... cobwebs on ceiling and mildew on shower curtain are not appealing but the friendliness of the staff is commendable....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Remarkable holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a family room and the TV was located in the second bedroom. A TV in the main bedroom would have been a plus.

    The property is excellently located if you wish to experience the magical Tuscan countryside. It is also a stone's throw away from Siena, Florence and San Gimignano which are definitely worth a visit. Franco, the owner, and his family are extremely friendly and welcoming and take care of their guests. The property is located in a quiet location and ideal for a relaxing holiday. We highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    as a little hard to find on GPS but when we arrived it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as a little hard to find on GPS but when we arrived it was everything we thought it would be. We only spent the one night but should have kept it as our base hotel. Rooms were very comfortable, views were spectacular and the breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Franco was extremely welcoming and Mario who conducted our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was such a shame the tennis courts weren't open when we went -hopefully next time.

    Franco was extremely welcoming and Mario who conducted our wine tasting was very interesting and knowledgable. The house was beautiful and set amongst a stunning backdrop. Very clean and comfortable and the staff were lovely. It was very easy to get into town which is definitely worth doing both Day and evening. The restaurant was charming and the food delicious. We only wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Location of the hotel is perfect for touring around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The garden rooms were adequate and it was great to have the outside seating area. Bathroom needs some renovation with a new shower curtain and the ceiling could do with a lick of paint.

    Location of the hotel is perfect for touring around the Chianti region and an easy drive to Sienna. Beautiful views from the room and very peaceful. Lovely breakfast, plenty of choice and lots of fresh fruit. The warm croissants were delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    Hotel Villa Casalecchi - recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we got a room in an off building than the main hotel. Double room was but less maintained. The windows are smaller and did not face the beautiful view seen from the rooms of the main building.

    The property is beautiful and located in awesome area. We liked the outside restaurant facing beautiful view. Staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    The place is quite beautiful although our room was not in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had an issue with a missing credit card- I called the property and that never called back l--then I used booking. Com message to send them an email and I received no response. I am concerned that I may have to cancel my card --would have appreciated a response from the hotel.

    The place is quite beautiful although our room was not in the gorgeous man on building, the property was nice. The personal wine tasting was a lovely experience and we purchased 3 bottles. The restAurant is closed on Wednesday so we were so disappointed that we could not have dinner there---the place in town was just ok. The breakfast included was very good and the view from the breakfast patio was lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful classic Tuscan Villa surrounded by breathtaking countryside. A relaxing, memorable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pasta at dinner was delicious but a little more choice of food would have been good. Can't complain though!

    The Blood orange juice at breakfast and the homemade cakes were lovely. Also the hours of breakfast were really convenient! The staff were really helpful and accommodating and the owner was a warm and friendly local and nothing was too much trouble!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Tuscan Villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a bad experience in the restaurant. The waiter was obviously under pressure (although he only had 6 tables to manage). very rude (unlike all the rest of the hotel staff who were charming). We ordered a particularly (relatively expensive) local Chianti, but found when we got the bill, it was the more expensive vintage. The restaurant was outside and as the sun went down, my wife was getting cold. We asked for the bill, were ignored for 20 minutes (as were the two ladies at the next table) and when I asked a second time, the waiter banged both hands on the table and let off a tirade of Italian which were could not understand but which we found very threatening. We complained to the owner and the on duty manager and received apologies and a correction to the bill. We ate the next two evenings at the Tre Porte restaurant in the town ( minutes away) and this was superb. We went back the second night to have the Spinach Souffle. All the dishes we had were a cut above most other Tuscan restaurants which can set their standards at the passing tourist market. This restaurant is a must visit and reasonably priced - frequented mostly by locals.

    Old Tuscan villa now a beautiful country hotel. Very quiet as it is a 'dusty' drive from the SP 222 - Chianti route. We were initially given a room at the back but asked for a change and had a south facing room with a lovely view. The public areas are well kept and there are lots of passageways to explore. The area round the swimming pool might tempt some visitors to spend the whole day there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor improvement suggestion - the numbering on the rooms is a little hard to see and in one afternoon we had 3 separate people try to enter our room by mistake! Not a big deal but could be avoided if the rooms were clearly labelled.

    We had a great couple of days at the villa.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent room with porch and a stunning view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little hard to find if you're travelling by car at dusk or night. I think there should be more signs along the way, but the road although unpaved, is not too rough.

    Excellent room with porch and a stunning view. Very good breakfast upstairs and a lovely owner Franco that greeted everyone each morning with a smile, making everyone feel welcomed. Good wine and excellent overall experience. The pictures just don't do it justice! I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    The property was beautiful don't stuff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was same all the days so variation is required!

    The property was beautiful don't stuff was very helpful...enjoyed our three day stay with younger kids here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Bliss in chianti
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no coffee/tea facilities in room room on lower ground was cold despite 3 heaters fluffier pillow or more than one pillow needed

    very warm welcome, staff are very hospitable. beautiful setting, great location to explore the small towns of chianti and surrounding wine farms. Breakfast buffet was delicious! Love the breakfast "tart". great apertif/wine selection.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Quite place to explore Chianti region with beautiful park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet place right at the middle of Chianti region. Beautiful park and terrace, great breakfast, cheerful stuff. You can have cooking courses or wine degustation if you want.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful, Zen, adorable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    End of March it was still quite cold at night and the heating worked only twice a day for around 2-3 hours, once in the evening 20-22 and once in the morning 5-7... Summer should be OK though.

    Lovely location, stylish old fashioned atmosphere of the hotel, peaceful, immediate natural surroundings, decent and varied breakfast, good and friendly customer service. Castellina is a lovely town in Chianti, no floods of tourists. Comfortably in the middle between Firenze and Siena. Absolutely recommendable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    Perfect and quite place to discover the Chianti region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the restaurant is not up to the standard of the warm welcoming and nice building, and the bathroom and room could be modernized just a bit.

    I liked most the building. The inside is magnificent, quite living room and library to seat and read. Quite good exteriors with small but nice garden, swimming pool with views onto the wineyards in the valley. The hotel personnel is super welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing hotel in Chianti
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Great location for travelling in Chianti. The place itself was beautiful, the staff were extremely nice and attentive, and it was very quiet. The breakfast was really good, with a lot of choices. Great coffee.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Dream like
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed, but for march it's normal

    Nice and cosy building with very nice furniture on common areas. Breakfast was great, different every day. Very nice host - Franco and his team. Good price offer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is a beautiful old villa down a small road just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a beautiful old villa down a small road just outside Castellina in Chianti. We were welcomed by the charming Franco, who showed us to our 4 person room in the "Dependance" annex. Our room had a separate double bedroom and a living room with 2 beds which was perfect for us as we travelled with our 2 children. Breakfast was fantastic with a wide selection of cold cuts as well as cakes, yogurt, juices and of course cappuccino.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect, we'll never had such an amazing host of our journey. It was great to stay here and feel like being a part of the casalecchi family. Highly recommended !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great

    The hospitality of the owner and the friendliness of the staff are exceptional. I recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy wine and beautiful surroundings. Excellent breakfast. A completely different compared to conventional hotels.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.3
    The personal is very kind and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By booking I have'nt noticed The room has no window.

    The personal is very kind and friendly. Breakfast is good. The location is nice with beautiful view.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    A must stay for all visiting the area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this place is lovely. Form Franco who made us feel like family when we arrived, the setting of the hotel and the truly unforgettable breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: