Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Curina Resort

Strada Provinciale 62, 24, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy

#3 of 25 hotels in Castelnuovo Berardenga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 108 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a place like this I would expect the quality of a food at the breakfast to be better, maybe more local or homemade products? Juice was so diluted that we could barely feel its taste. The walls in the tuscan farmhouse where we were located are too thin, we could hear guests from the other room, which was sometime annoying.

    Lovely and peaceful place. Beautiful and healthy garden with a beautiful view on the Chianti hills. Room was very clean with comfortable double-bed. Nice and helpful staff. You can buy homemade olive and prosecco. Local restaurants available 5-15 minutes distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since it was beginning of May, there was no service for breakfast/ dinner outside (where all the view was).

    Atmosphere was amazing. Beautiful nature surrounded with all green! Birds singing every morning! The rooms were clean and nice. Enough spacious. The breakfast was nice. The staff was helpful. The hotel is in the heart of chianti with a beautiful view. Siena is 1.30 hours driving away - which we had our dinner in there. Easy parking option, we will definitely stay in there again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffee in the room...hard pillows.

    outstanding views...well located near Sienna, Chianti region and the 'crete' road. A good restaurant and wine list . an historical house and annexed facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful hotel in lovely location. We booked this hotel as we were attending a party near-by and had no idea that the restaurant would be so good. An added bonus! We had a delicious meal accompanied by some well recommended local wines and limoncello and arancino made on-site. The sommelier was very helpful assisting us with the wine list - and didn't just recommend the most costly bottles!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs rooms were very hot and the air conditioner didn't work at all. The onsite restaurant was expensive and not child friendly.

    Beautiful views from every window in our suite. The staff were extremely helpful with booking and questions on the area and modified our room when we needed it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The AC in our rooms didn't work that well and we were there when it was very hot.

    Beautiful resort with a huge pool, very large rooms, excellent food - great breakfast spread and the restaurant onsite is very good! Got to meet the sommalier and get a tour of the wine cellar. The staff were all very helpful - we had nothing booked before we came and they arranged several great activities for us!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super accommodating and friendly. The pool area was a perfect way to end hectic sightseeing days. Multiple small towns within driving distance for great dinner meals. We loved both of our rooms, as each had breathtaking views. Complimentary breakfast and lattes/coffees were perfect starts to each day. Free wi-if was the best of our entire stay in Italy. Will likely stay at Villa Curina again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little hard to find via gps. Could use some better directions

    One evening there were drinks and local hors d'ouvres. It was lovely to eat outside and meet other guests. Nice breakfasts Helpful staff Beautiful view from our room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could not find anything wrong with resort, other than the restaurant next store needed longer hours for dinner. Nothing close by

    The staff was friendly and helpful. , the cleanliness of the resort,,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed one night as chef was ill, more of a inconvenience than anything!!

    Everything from our room, pool area, food & most importantly the lovely friendly staff. Owner of hotel was so helpful & gave us very good advice on where to go & what to see.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not with the same quality as the rest of the resort. Disappointment compared to last year. Must be improved. Lunch and poolside service also leaves room for improvement.

    Great location and very nice facilities. Friendly and serviceminded reception.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Special Offer - Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave too soon.

    Property is gorgeous with beautigpful winery views. The staff are fantastic, especially Shane who went out of his way to assist us, even after our departure. The restaurant food was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Great location, great staff. Very nice outdoor pool, very nice breakfast sitting outside the restaurant facing the hills of Tuscany and the city of Siena. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Special Offer - Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that could have improved our stay was a couple of extra days...

    Villa Curina was a wonderful interlude between Rome and Florence, and a great jumping off point for excursions to Siena, Pienza and Chianti. The property is gorgeous (and extremely well maintained), with magnificent views, a splendid pool and a restaurant terrace overlooking vineyards and sunflower fields. Our suite was very comfortable, the food was outstanding, and the staff really extended themselves in every possible way. While not inexpensive, Villa Curina was a great value and worth every penny.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Special Offer - Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - the breakfast: not home made marmalade but industrial, only bread with sesame seeds (it is an allergenic seed!) = ....poor / cheap, and not ready at 07:30 as scheduled - the restaurant : not vegan or vegetarian food ( also if requested the previous morning !), none indication of allergens in the foods and none indication of the provenience of the ingredients (both are compulsory in EU !) - the dimension of rooms: we rented an apartment and at the ground floor all space was wasted in a wide lounge with a sofa without a TV, and at the 1st floor a great room with two beds for kids and a very little room for a queen size bed for parents with no space for anything , also non for luggages !!

    the setting in the middle of Chianti area

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magic and most relaxing atmosphere I ‘ve ever experienced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get sat nav to locate the hotel

    Perfect views, super helpful staff, lovely place, excellent food, relaxing pool corner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Th setting was in the middle of a vineyard and olive tree grove. Great place to unwind, and views where fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to come up with something - there is no hot tub.

    The staff were amazing! The restaurant was excellent, and the views were exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was excellent! The room was wonderful - thanks for the upgrade

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little dated

    Good breakfast. Nice (but cold) swimming pool. Good facilities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Stunning setting Superb service Interesting rooms Excellent pool Good restaurant and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    restaurant repetitive for dinner same menu every night owners were very distant and unfriendly

    great staff beautiful property with views of sienna

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a nice 4 star experience but at a 5 star price.

    Staff was great, nice view, pool and location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much

    The friendliness and help from the staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing!

    Absolutely amazing villa in a great location with excellent rooms and a very friendly staff. Our four days there were the best part of a week-long family trip to Italy.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In this April, unfortunately, the hotel impressed neglect. The area is not removed, the flowers are not planted, lots of bird droppings. Breakfast without hot dishes. The room is clean, cleaning quality, but shampoo and wipes strictly rationed. If you have guests unprofitable, need to be closed as the other hotels in the winter season. Or to warn customers that the service will be limited. Probably we will look for other hotels. Probably we will look for other hotels for next visit.

    We visited this hotel for the third time. The Nature of Toscana is beautiful as always. In past visits all our impressions were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room could do with a bit of better interior design, with different colours and it could use a set of drawers

    We liked the position and the layout of the property. The food was very good, if a bit expensive

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Uneven floor in room Bedroom separated from dressing area by full flight of stairs Poor natural daylight in room. Extreme noise from guests in room above due to wooden floors and those guests walking around in ? Cycling shoes. Poor quality orange juice at breakfast.

    Good restaurant Good view from outside Breakfast average

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No problems whatsoever.

    Exactly what you envision in a Tuscany Villa resort. Beautiful grounds, lovely clean pool, and a view across the valley of hilltop towns, steeples, with olive groves and vineyards as far as you can see. Great location for exploring the area and very helpful staff. Very nice restaurant on the property was a huge plus.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at all levels could not have been more welcoming, pleasant , helpful and responsive to requests. The setting overlooking Siena in the distance is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi wasn't really working and there was an unpleasant smell in the room. The air conditioner had to be repaired during our stay, but finally worked fine.

    Beautiful little villa, in the middle of Toscana, great pool, friendly prices in the bar. Nice staff (we got a little compensation due to the smell).

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a big gripe, but a full length mirror in the bedroom would have been nice.

    The rooms, the views, the lovely gardens, the large pool, the friendly staff, delicious choice of breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The air conditioning in the room worked but did not make the room cool enough for us....but then we were from Canada and are use to cooler rooms. The bed comfort was okay, not great. We were in the separate 2 bedroom villa with a sitting room downstairs.

    The scenery, pool, lounge areas, breakfast, spectacular views, service was amazing. You can see Siena in the distance while sitting in the lounge area over looking rolling hills.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor breakfast. When you came morning 7:30 you will find every plates with full of breakfast ingredients but if you came one hour later you have to look at dirty table because staff have a lot to do and they don't have time to pick dirty dishes up and send it to kitchen. Breakfast is only not big range you can find there poor scrambled eggs some not good looking sausage, some jams ( which should be home made ), there is a lot of honey factory but hey served honey in sachets !!! It is Michelin. Fruits - morning you could find quite interesting fruit salad but one hour later there was only waste of salad and none going to refill !!! Capuccino - poor, espresso - only ok. they do not have passion for resort. Lunch time - open lunch time bar is till 3 pm so like Italy it is so good. Quality of meal nothing more than ok. My opinion they do not understand kitchen and same staff are waiters, barista, and prepare breakfast and lunch. It is not good when they have restaurant which wish herself to reach Michelin star ?????

    It is really nice quiet resort although I can't give them max points because they are recommended by Michelin and costed not low money so my expection is also higher. Poor free wifi, swimming pool quit big with enough sunbeds, besides swimming pool and possibilities to rent a bike there is nothing more. Staff was kind and professional but not top.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Was difficult to find the place, better instructions would be needed how to drive there.

    Great place to stay for visiting Siena and the surrounding wine regions eg. Montepulciano, Montalcino, Chianti. Beautiful surroundings. Great cuisine both at the hotel's own restaurant and in S. Gusme. Nice large swimming pool for relaxing after sightseeing. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we indicated that we are celebrating our engagement and my birthday and nothing was done about it : (

    the place is wonderfully handeled. quiet, romantic, clean, free wifi, amazing view. a real pearl in tuscany

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The views and location are outstanding and the hotel itself is beautiful. The hotel staff were always welcoming and helpful. The restaurant was very good although the menus could have had a little more variety.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no negative about this hotel, and the little town is also charming

    Architecture, large size classical painting of the rooms, beautifully manicured grounds and pool, and great breakfasts, and staff

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very minor issue but it was a little remote.

    Genuinely friendly staff. Great WiFi service anywhere on grounds and as well as in room. Lots of areas to relax outside and enjoy the surroundings. Pool area large and well equipped with sun loungers and umbrellas. Most impressed with the fact that our bed linens and towels were changed EVERY day!! (We stayed 5 nights).

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    beautiful loccation/excellent accommodation

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    friendly staff, good location,

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was amazing. Resort is beautiful, stunning views and nice rooms. Great restaurant on site as well.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Leaving

    The restaurant was amazing and the hotel staff was great.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large comfortable room. Wonderful restaurant with friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Spectacular setting in the Tuscan hills and beautiful grounds and buildings.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You had to have a car there was nowhere to walk to

    The pool area was great.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely perfect place to stop and discover Tuscany. Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful rooms. Amazing breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool was fabulous, location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location. Great food. Beautiful grounds and accommodations

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The firm pillows

    Nothing else compared to the setting and picturesque views of this magnificent villa.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything and only wish that we had even more time here. But for sure a we look forward to coming back!

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: