Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Degli Angeli 4 stars

Via Spiaggia Del Lago, 32, 00040 Castel Gandolfo, Italy

#4 of 5 hotels in Castel Gandolfo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    The view from this hotel is breath-taking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm a pedantic nit-picker, and the only thing I can think of to complain about is that the TV in the room uses the wifi for Netflix, when really they should run an ethernet cable to it.

    The view from this hotel is breath-taking. Ciampino airport is about 15 minutes' drive away. The food in the restaurant was excellent - especially if you enjoy seafood.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    Great location and convenient for Ciampino Rome Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude. Twice had to go looking for someone to serve drinks. Only people dining in evening, though dining area large and on terrace overlooking lake. Felt very strange though food was good.

    Great location and convenient for Ciampino Rome Airport

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing place near Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It will take around 15 minutes to go to the beach and restaurants. It can be an advantage if you seek for a calm place.

    We booked a room with garden view and the administration gave us the lake view which worth a lot. There is a nice terrace with a perfect view on the lake and the castle. Very good breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall it was a great break before flying back to Canada. Castel Gondolfo is highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing,

    This is a lovely hotel with a gorgeous view of the lake Albano and the town of Castel Galdolfo. The visit to Papal summer residence was very interesting. The beaches around the lake are worth visiting. We spent some time on the beach and it is a great pleasure to swim in the Albano lake. Great stop before leaving Italy from Rome. The hotel staff was superbly friendly and knowledgeable. Simona from the reception provided valuable information about surroundings and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.6
    Dont trust the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasnt clean and the the room was not like in the picture. You can find a cheaper hotel above this quality

    There is only a beautiful lake view, the breakfast is average but generally its an old hotel not like in the photos

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    I'll be back again. great choice for both business and leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom had a lovely view with a small terrace but the decoration and bathroom could do with a little more personalisation (but it was lovely nonetheless).

    Many things, the peace, the surrounding, the staff (Patrizie) and the Manager (Michele). The food was great (both the choice and the quality)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    I want to stay forever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hated leaving.

    We had a lost-day issue (missed booking one day in our trip!) we took a chance on this place based on the photos. We were so very fortunate that we did. The drive around the lake to get to the property was lovely and the view from the terrace was stunning. It was the last day before leaving for the airport and we only wished we could stay longer. We had a room at the front with a terrace overlooking the lake (Albano) with the village and the papal summer residence across the bluest lake I've ever seen. since we'd been on the road for almost three weeks we had lunch and dinner in the restaurant. It was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.6
    The receptionists gave us room with a lake view which was...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists gave us room with a lake view which was nice , but right under our room it was a restaurant where was a wedding that night , so we didn't sleep all night due to very loud party and constant music, then in the morning it was a very loud sound of tractor or smth else that was cleaning the area ..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Peaceful, pretty little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem was finding the hotel. There is more emphasis on them being a restaurant rather than a hotel.

    The location was great and a short drive from the train station. Very comfortable room with a nice view of the lake. Decent decor and good sized shower! Breakfast was fab and they offered a decent variety, also it was possible to eat breakfast outside overlooking the lake. Staff were always ready to help and very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    The lake view is awesome and compensate for the rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is permanently closed but the pictures show it, and is is listed under facilities.

    The lake view is awesome and compensate for the rest

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Lot of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so easy to stay there! The place is peaceful, nothing disturbs you! And the stuff were also very kindly. We'll go there again for sure!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Perfect location and lake view from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed this weekend

    Perfect location and lake view from the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Beuatiful location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good service from Patricia

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.5
    Environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Environment

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.3
    great location if your event takes place at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle servce not available. Car is required.

    Service was fantastic. Everyone was very friendly and accomodating

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    loud noise from the party upstairs till late at night to early morning, no warning from the staff, no courtesy for the rest of the hotel guest!!!!

    location

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    5.8
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Zero interaction with staff, only nice person was the guy who checked us in . We were not even asked if we enjoyed our stay when checking out. Our room was over service entrance and was very loud from 5 am to 9am the pool was not in use.

    The view

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.4
    Free room upgrade with lakeview.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small and smelly bathroom. Hotel after season with no guests was a bit spooky. Rooms arranged without any creativity and with old furniture. On Saturday loud weddingparty till two o'clock. Breakfast in discounterquality. Perhaps better adress during the season in summer.

    Free room upgrade with lakeview. Good option to reach rome by train in 40 minutes from Marino station if you have a car (4km drive).

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing!!

    Everything! During our stay our two year old son fell and banged his head. The staff at the hotel were amazing. The hotel owner drove us to the hospital, made sure we were ok and sorted further transport. They helped us with our rooms and were genuinely concerned and caring. Thank you so much to you all. The hotel is fantastic in a breathtaking location with excellent amenities. We cannot wait to visit again.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.6
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only issues I had were fairly minor ones. An iron and ironing board in the superior room would've been very useful. It would've been nice to see the beautiful bar beside reception in working order. A little extra bread selection at breakfast would've been nice (eg: panini) especially to go with the cheeses and cold meat platter.

    Location is excellent. Superior room with terrace was excellent....views were amazing! Air-con was good. Food was good. Staff were very helpful, very friendly, and spoke good english. The variety of outside sitting areas was excellent. The pool area is in a beautiful setting....very relaxing. The vending machine in the corridor was very useful. Pretty much loved everything about this hotel. Didn't want to leave......but I look forward to being back again next year.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.8
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    For a 4 star hotel, the breakfast was slight disappointment. Starting with far from fresh bread and finishing with simple lack of choice. If the heat and warm weather is an issue to offer good quality breakfast, then refrigerators or Menu breakfast would be solution. Also small details in the room one would not expect from the 4 star hotel, like, empty shower gel and noticeable dust underneath the beds.

    Location, location, location. Dinner was very good with small details that should be normal for high quality restaurants, e.g. bread was not fresh. Quality of food and service was just excellent. Pool area has a beautiful view and was really nice. English language skills of service people were very good compare to average level in Italy. View from the restaurant and hotel room is just stunning. Generally very nice hotel with excellent location and exclusive view.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Hotel merveilleusement situé avec une vue magnifique sur le...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel merveilleusement situé avec une vue magnifique sur le lac Albano et la ville de Castel Gandolfo. Petit-déjeuners et dîners excellents. Amabilité du personnel remarquable.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.9
    The place is gorgeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Two parties took place in the hotel premises during our 48 hr stay. It was rather noisy for us, who aimed to spend a quiet weekend.

    The place is gorgeous! The food is superb, and outstanding compared with the rest in the area

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.9
    Location , parking , staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was good enough , but without vegetables.

    Location , parking , staff .

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    7.9
    Excellent cuisine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant a bit pricy.

    Excellent cuisine. Helpful personnel. Stunning views.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    n/a

    Location. Had Castel Gandolfo in front of me from my suite with terrace lake view.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.6
    Comfort, beauty, value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was hard to find the hotel because our GPS systems were off by at least 1km. Once found it was great.

    Comfort, beauty, value.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Loved location and the staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Swimming pool area needs to be tidied up but it was later in the season.

    Loved location and the staff were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.9
    Location, view, atmosphere, food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Other guests.............. of certain countries which make a lot of noise and don't care about other guests.

    Location, view, atmosphere, food.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    8.8
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing that could be described as 'a bad experience'.

    The view. The food. The attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    View from the hotel to die for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View from the hotel to die for. Restaurant - excellent food served by experienced waiters

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful location and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful location and lovely staff

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    Amazing view of the lake from the terrace room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing view of the lake from the terrace room. Is a short (20 min) drive from Ciampino.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.9
    Very quiet and tranquil surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No shops anywhere

    Very quiet and tranquil surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.8
    The location, the hotel was very rustic and traditional.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very poor WIFI.

    The location, the hotel was very rustic and traditional. Very nice. The staff were very friendly especially Paulo.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    9.2
    all good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    could be better signed to find at night

    all good

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Hotel Villa Degli Angeli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: