Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Del Lauro 4 stars

Via Ecce Homo 11, 97100 Ragusa, Italy

#13 of 22 hotels in Ragusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 113 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    The facilities are lovely good location from Ragusa duomo and walking distance to supermarket+shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a ground floor room without proper windows so no views :/ but I guess someone has to end up with that room I would next time request a room overlooking the garden if possible.

    I like the area of the property beautiful breakfast room and pool side area. The hotel and rooms all feel very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Very stylish and comfy beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention to detail like at least a shelf in the bathroom to put things- Im it’s desire to be cool and sophisticated, it lacked the finer touches that bring warmth and thoughtfulness. Mezzanine bedrooms hot as air con doesn’t reach the top level!

    Very stylish and comfy beds! Staff helpful. Great breakfast. Good pool space.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, very helpful staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely, staff Were really helpful. It was booked v last minute and now in hind sight we would have preferred to be down in old town . But it is only a 10 minute walk but a lot of steps up and down. We had hire car and hotel kindly provided visitors permits .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    We had an excellent 4 nights with a relaxing experience at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gardeners were carrying out major work in the garden and pool area on 2 consecutive days. This was disruptive. The sun loungers looked good but were extremely uncomfortable. The pool was shaded by a high wall in the morning and was very cold (late April)

    Staff were very friendly and helpful/informative. Views from the room were excellent. The hotel was very stylish and clean, Quality of the continental breakfast was very good. The location of the hotel is excellent, being close to restaurants in the old centre of Ragusa and a reasonable walk (less than 1km) to the centre of Ragusa Ibla. Parking permits are available for nearby parking spaces.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    It was very near the steps down to Ragusa Ibla which afford...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told there was no parking when we arrived but in fact the hotel had parking vouchers that they could give out - we only discovered this from another guest who we saw using one - there needs to be better communication by the staff.

    It was very near the steps down to Ragusa Ibla which afford amazing views of the old town. Luxury room and breakfast and attractive pool. Hotel also very helpful in organising a taxi for us when we needed to get back in the rain from the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    I could have stayed there for ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are a bit hard to climb for older people, and being an old villa the hotel doesnt have a lift.

    We would recommend the hotel to the couples and families with children. We liked the spacious room with a balcony on to a street; the comfortable bed that could easily fit four people; the fridge stocked every day with a rich variety of cold drinks, all on the house; a tasty breakfast which we enjoyed for its freshness and a great variety of dishes for seven days; a spectacular swimming pool with cold and clean water; and, most of all, the friendly, helpful, kind and hospitable staff. The hotel is conveniently located to reach the old town with its baroque duomo, piazzas and churches. It's also less than 10 minutes away from a large selection of cafes and restaurants. The cool marble floors and high ceilings create an atmosphere of luxury. It's a great place to return to after a walk in the blazing and relentless Sicilian sun. Our flight was at 21:00 and we asked if we could stay till 19:00 instead of checking out at 11:00. We were permitted to do so without extra charge. Incredible generosity!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Quality property with accommodating staff but location in a residential area with no activity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of property and difficulty in parking car at the garage three blocks away. Also lighting in bathroom was very poor due to the room (#2) construction with barrel ceilings.

    Staff was outstanding in meeting needs. Grounds were well maintained.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel in a quiet attractive setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden furniture could better serve shady afternoons in the sun. Lots of steps going up 2 floors to room.

    Lovely room and excellent setting. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.3
    Great property, but don't recommend the Deluxe Double Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got the Deluxe Double Room, a step above the Superior Double Room. Not recommended. The bed is up in a loft with quite a few wooden steps leading up to it. The main area, including closet and bathroom, are on the lower level. Very inconvenient, especially if you need to get up during the night.

    The staff was wonderful and the hotel and grounds, overall, were terrific.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.8
    Interesting building, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    In spite of the fact it was early in the year, it was sunny and I wanted to sit outside, but the only option was a hard chair on the terrace, not in the sun for long. We would also have liked an armchair in the room - it was big enough. Bathrobes and slippers would have been good - the stone floors are cold.

    The building is interesting, and warm in Feb. Aqua de Parma toiletries were great! Staff helpful with booking of restaurants and taxis etc. We were in room 5, quite a large room, on first floor, nice wide stairs.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Charming location, spacious room with a terrace, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to ask extra cleaning on the first day and toilette paper was missing

    Charming location, spacious room with a terrace, comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful view over the garden and Ragusa Ibla.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view over the garden and Ragusa Ibla. Staff were exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    All the staff were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were so friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and couldn’t recommend this hotel more highly. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Pool was a great bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be prepared for lots of walking and steps to see around the local area!

    Lovely hotel and helpful staff. Swimming pool was a great bonus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay with great breakfast and nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice sheets and comfortable mattress

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    The receptionist and breakfast girl was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else

    The receptionist and breakfast girl was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Historic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    it is very nice the rennovation of this ancient building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air condition in the room

    it is very nice the rennovation of this ancient building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking occasionally difficult. Bathroom slightly cramped.

    Good breakfast on the terrace. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    The style - modern elegance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking. The bed was a little hard. The shower room was too small.

    The style - modern elegance. Good kind staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    swimming pool garden eating outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location-very hilly

    swimming pool garden eating outside

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful staff,accommodated all requests with a smile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful staff,accommodated all requests with a smile. Beautiful and well kept garden and pool area in a stunning building. Delicate and tasty breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    6.7
    Good sized suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool area - nowhere to sit comfortably. Too many pigeons. No outdoor tables and chairs. Suite room with ridiculously small shower and only a trickle of water!

    Good sized suite. Kitchenette in suite with decent fridge. Park outside hotel. Nice, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.3
    Gaetano, from the front office.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Gaetano, from the front office. He was absolutely lovely in helping us with the parking (extremely sloopy street) and in providing us all info to enjoy the hotel at its best. We also loved the pool area, very well appointed and relaxing, a real oasis, pretty unusual downtown in ancient cities as Ragusa is.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    The pool, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    /

    The pool, location

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.1
    Garden and the swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lighting in the room was poor.

    Garden and the swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    Hotel has a lot of charm and character, plus staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel has a lot of charm and character, plus staff were very friendly and helpful,

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Spacious rooms and delicious breakfast with healthy options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious rooms and delicious breakfast with healthy options

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: