Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Ducale 4 stars

Via Leonardo Da Vinci 60, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#3 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 334 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    On first arrival, we thought it was quite a distance from the township. However, this proved a blessing as an escape from the frenetic Main Street. The walk down the hill was pleasant, with beautiful views and the Hotel Shuttle made it very convenient to get to and from town. The view from the dining room at breakfast and dinner was simply spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was amazing and the staff was so welcoming and nice. Since we arrived they made our life really easy. We just gave them the keys of our car and they took care of everything. We were invited to have a delicious drink at their beautiful terrace with stunning views. Our room was beautiful and breakfast this morning was just one of the best breakfast we have ever had. Loads of fresh fruit, great selection of cheese, croissants and amazing teas from Etna. We really didn’t want to leave. It was great! Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a 15 min walk to the centre though they did have shuttle bus periodically

    Very friendly service. They went over and above for our requests. Great spread for breakfast and very sizable rooms with fantastic views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charming upscale boutique hotel. Warm, friendly welcome. Staff all accommodating who want to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Fabulous restaurant view and lots of selection for breakfast. Loved staying out of the main more congested part of this idyllic town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (classic) was pretty small but was comfortable.

    Staff were fantastic and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was delicious and such a fantastic view from the dining room - a great start to the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would have preferred to have a bigger terrasse with a lounge chair.

    The shower was amazing and the bed extremely comfortable. The views were breathtaking and the staff was helpful and kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we had more days.

    Everything from the quality of the service to the food to the comfort was excellent. It is an elegant hotel for travellers who appreciate the very best.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    tasteful interiors combined with superb location (view of aetna + sea). its high up the hills with a 15min super scenic stairway walk down to town centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was too short (2 nights) - we could have easlily stayed much longer.

    The staff were fantastic - some of the best of any hotel that I have ever stayed in (particular thanks goes to Paolo for giving us tips on where to go for the rest of our trip). We were very well looked after the entire time and I felt that the staff exceeded expectations a number of times to accommodate our stay. The room was very classy and the view from our terrace needs to be seen to be believed - a snow capped Etna is stunning. The shuttle service worked well and the hotel is a nice distance from the town - an easy walk down. The food was also excellent, almost entirely home made (including jams, cheese and yoghurts) and the complemtary tea was a lovely touch in the afternoon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is so private and so lovely. The staff was beyond helpful. One person in our party was not feeling well and they brought broth and rice to his room and basically gave him the care that they would their own family. Room service was at your door within minutes of your call. The waterfall shower, the crisp white sheets, the coffee in the room, private deck with spectacular view all made for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing hotel with the friendliest staff I have ever come across in a hotel. So polite and helpful. Loved every minute. The view of Mount Etna and the bay below is breathtaking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water on two mornings which was dealt with and the staff did everything they could to elevate the problem and also offered us some complimentary wine. Also the price for parking I thought was rather expensive (20 euro a day)

    The staff are so friendly and welcoming The view from the hotel is stunning The breakfast is also amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street parking, they could offer an offsite parking facilty where they park your car in secure compound..

    The view across he bay are simply to die for. Breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food was slightly disappointing. It is just a little out of the main town with the walk down to town steep but manageable but we never attempted to walk back up. We either took a taxi or the hotel shuttle which you have to book in advance.

    The staff were excellent. The hotel is lovely and the view of Mount Etna is stunning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner was fine but not excellent, however the breakfast (included) was delisioso!

    Spectacular view, very comfortable bed. We were given a free upgrade to a suite upon arrival. Staff were fantastic, especially Dalia.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walk up the hill was a bit of work!!!

    Location views over Taormina and over to Mount Etna. The food and in particular evening cocktails were magnificent!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were most attentive to detail and superior service, the hotel was luxurious with stunning views. I would return and tell my friends to visit the property as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving

    The most amazing views across the bay to Mount Etna. Food delicious, as were evening cocktails. Rooms comfy, staff so friendly, would love to return. 10 minute walk into town, but quite steep, shuttle bus service too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Fantastic staff at the front desk as well as the dining room. Really make you feel at home and try to accommodate all requests. Free shuttle to Taormina. Food superb with lovely chef who meets the guests. Beautiful room with view of Mt Etna!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredible. They really try to meet your every need. The view is outstanding. The bed was very comfortable with high quality linens. Tremendous breakfast every day. We would go back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As a coeliac the hotel was very accommodating but given the price of the hotel I feel that their gluten free breakfast offering could have been better. It's essentially fruit and packaged cakes, bread and biscuits when there's lots of amazing mediterranean options and freshly baked cakes for everyone else. I've stayed at many hotels across Italy and had greater options at similarly priced if not less expensive hotels.

    We spent a lovely few days at the Villa Ducale. The staff are very friendly and the amenities are excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Nice place outside the too crowdy Taormina. It is not an issue: it is 15 minutes by stairs too reach city center or you may choose the complementary shuttle. Stunting view over the coast and Etna. Very nice people who give very good recommendation for daily activities. High quality service but remains very kind. Makes you feel at home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Muzak playing in background all around the resort but seemed to be heard in our room starting very early.

    Stunning views, luxurious amenities. Staff fantastic. Food and drinks excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The staff are extremely friendly and the hotel is gorgeous. I wish we stayed here longer. We traveled all throughout Italy and this is by the far the best place we stayed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even location is perfect for view, it isn't most reachable place if you want to travel around the island

    View is amazing, staff is very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little far from the center although the hotel does provide a shuttle service.

    The Superior Junior Suite is amazing. Beautiful views of the valley below.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff treat you like family. Incredible location. Great views. Wonderful treatment. You can't go wrong. They have regular shuttles to the city centre which was a great service. A genuine boutique hotel. Will return hopefully one day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Only that we could not have stayed longer than our 5 nights

    Everything: Wonderful staff who made our first visit to VIlla Ducale so special A BIG THANK YOU to the whole team So don't bother wasting your time looking for another boutique hotel in Taormina JUST BOOK VILLA DUCALE !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 9 nights

    This is not a major gripe but the prices in the restaurant are expensive for the quality and range of food offered. I have thought carefully about giving the following information but I feel that it is only fair to do so. I don't, however, wish to suggest that we did not have a stunning stay at the Hotel Villa Ducale. However, ...... The location of the hotel does provide a major problem for people like me who have a physical incapacity (I have made major back surgery recently which has left me with very much reduced feeling in my left leg). Although I mentioned my problem before confirming our booking, I was assured by Paolo, the manager, by email, that I would not have to walk more than 35-45 steps from reception to our room. In fact the room was actually 71 steps from reception which caused me a significant difficulty. Although the staff were able very quickly to relocate us to a room which had 30 fewer steps to negotiate, it was a shame that my original request had been overlooked - and even more, that Paolo made no effort to explain or apologise for, presumably, his inattention to detail. My wife's parents owned and ran a 45 room hotel in England for many years and their mantra was always "The customer is always right and must be made to believe he is". I don't feel that this mantra is always adopted at the Hotel Villa Ducale. On reflection, the hotel was probably, because of my physical problems, not ideal for me but although I queried this with the manager, I was not given helpful information which might have persuaded us to stay at another hotel - Villa Carlotta, perhaps.

    A very well run and luxurious hotel where the staff are dedicated to ensuring that guests enjoy themselves. It is almost as if the staff are your family members. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Although the hotel is situated high above Taormina, the regular shuttle service down to the town coupled with the public bus service which stops almost outside the property removes any problem that the hotel's situation might otherwise have posed. The stunning views of Mount Etna and the coast to the South make an unbelievable backdrop from the terrace. Whilst from the rooms in the annex, literally across the road, the views of Calabria in mainland Italy across the Straits of Messina provide an equally stunning panorama.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Initially we were in a suite on the other side of the road which was a bit dark but moved to a fabulous bright room.

    Breathtaking views over the town and Mount Etna. The staff could not have been more charming, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great.

    We loved Hotel Villa Ducale. The staff were so helpful and friendly and the accommodation is beautiful. The breakfast was also a highlight. The hotel is about 900m from town uphill, however the hotel puts on a shuttle so the distance wasn't an issue at all and meant we had the benefit of amazing views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect.

    The hotel is very high up but the view across to Etna was spectacular. The staff were incredibly attentive and welcoming. The breakfast was Devine and the balcony lounge where we had a welcome cocktail and breakfast beautifully presented. A complimentary bus delivered us down into the city and was prompt and reliable in delivering us back. A great service. Only regret was we didn't have longer to experience the hotel and the beautiful city of Taormina

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great to have even a small pool.

    This is an excellent hotel with awesome views over Taormina and Etna. The staff are excellent; they seem to really care about guests and nothing is too much trouble. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Group
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to stay longer but couldn't because of the G7.

    Staff were wonderful. Breakfast was very nice. Dinner delicious! Shuttle was great. Loved our spacious room with a gorgeous sea view and being near the hot tub.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say i loved enerything. From the start everyone treats you like family. Most welcoming place, staff, food was out of this world, views from room and from bathroom were breathtaking. Requested a dinner alone with a view and they did everything to help me plan a perfect night with roses and Prosecco in the room aswell. I send my regards to Paolo and especially Laura - who was lovely and her fun charismatic personality made us glad we met and look forward to see again. Just Perfect ❤️

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle wasn't available aa much as I would have liked so we spend a lot of money mm taxis

    The view, the room was amazing and comfortable and the staff was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative would be a lack of pool. But one wouldn't really expect one from a hotel built on the side of a hill! The hotel is affiliated with two private beach clubs and provides transport to and from them. So it really wasn't an issue at all.

    Everything was incredible. The hotel has thought of every single detail. I wanted to stay here every night for the rest of my life! Staff were amazing. Our room (and the rest of the hotel) was beautifully decorated (I've stolen lots of inspiration for my own home!). The building is stunning, as is the view. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel. It's the most lovely hotel I've ever been to. Everything else will seem substandard after this!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing

    Villa Ducale was amazing, beautiful location, the view, the lobby, the restaurant, fantastic suite, and maybe above all: extremely kind personel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful stylish boutique hotel, lovely helpful staff, amazing views that can be enjoyed while having fantastic breakfast and dinner. I was here with my Mum and we both enjoyed our stay. Our room, Designer Suite, was beautiful, comfortable and spacious. I recommend class of Prosecco in Hot tub after days sightseeing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was phenomenal. The food was amazing, including the breakfast spread. The staff was so helpful and accommodating. The rooms were amazing. The views were amazing. Complimentary champagne on arrival and a full introduction & directions from Martina at the front desk who was great. Free shuttles to town. I don't see how this isn't a 5-star hotel. It was perfection!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too many steps.

    It is a charming, beautifully-decorated boutique hotel with too many stairs but a fabulousl view of Taormina and Mt. Etna and, above all, it has a wonderful, cheerful, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning views - we were given a very warm welcome and looked after very well - the staff are amazing - lovely breakfast to start the day and the rooms are lovely - would highly recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    There was nothing to fault we had an amazing trip which was down to the attentiveness of the staff (nothing was too much trouble!) and the attention to detail. The views were an added bonus!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the best from the first minute ! Best view in Taormina. Very , very tasty breakfast and even more tasty dinner. Good and kind people are working here. I really want to visit this place many more times)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and approachable and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The bedroom was stylishly laid out and comfortable, we particularly liked the charging system for your i:phones etc. The food was excellent! The view from our balcony encompassing Mount Etna and the town and seaside below us was breathtaking! TIP: the hotel lays on a shuttle service into Taormina and back, however, the most enjoyable way to experience the location and views is to walk!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exclusive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, excellent breakfast , incredible view. Was a very relaxing stay. City centre in absolut walking distance for us , also on the way up back to the hotel. But not made for those who don't like a bit of a challenge .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay at Villa Ducale. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Wonderful breakfast and afternoon tea. We shall definately return some day in the future.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative was that we couldn't stay longer... But we'll go back!

    The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The premise of the hotel is that one should feel at home and they succeeded in making us feel that exactly! The setting is unbelievable with exquisite views. Unfortunately, they are a long way from anything, but they thoughtfully provide a shuttle service to the main part of town - and they expertly park your car for you in their mini-eagles nest parking lot.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Villa Ducale is a wonderful very personal hotel with an astonishing view. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff is incredibly attentive and friendly. Room service is excellent, twice a day. Breakfast and dinner fabulous. The hotel is a bit far from the Center, but the shuttle service is always on time and even does special rides for you, the driver is also very nice! Very professional management! We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of hotel building was poor with bad insulation allowing noise from neighbouring rooms and outdoor traffic to penerate into the room. Bad spacial organisation of the room with kitsch interior decoration. The upper part of Taormina where this hotel is located, exemplifies chaotic urbanism of buildings built with no control which has ruined the beauty of the landscape which is a pity. These new badly constructed hotels and guesthouses may provide a nice view of the coast but the view of Taormina, this hilltop resort, has been destroyed. I chose this hotel since it was part of the Small Luxury Hotel network but the only luxury was the price!

    Staff were all very nice and helpful; the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was very warm! A nice glass of wine at their terrace and Wow what a view! The rooms where very charming decorated the staff friendly and professional and the breakfast was excellent especially the baked goods! Next time in Taormina this is our place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only negative note is that our room was located on the ground floor and we needed to keep curtains closed all the time (loosing the advantage of having a view) because there was a passage in front for other guests of the hotel

    amazing view, nice rooms, very friendly staff, good facilities, I would recommend it

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of steps, both in the hotel and the town generally.

    Stunning views over the sea with Etna dominating the landscape, from breakfast terrace. All the staff without exception are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be a challenge. They have a small area . It is a 5-10 minute drive up the hill from the central village but they do have a shuttle. The breakfast were very nice and in general the food is great but a few dinner entrées are not up to overall standards.

    Villa Ducale is a charming boutique hotel with knock out views , a great breakfast / dinner terrace , and very friendly owners and staff. The rooms are very comfortable with considerable care taken for customer comfort, good bedside lighting, bathroom amenities, extra channels on cable, etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. It was superb.

    Fantastic hotel. Quiet and luxurious. Staff were extremely friendly and made our stay as good as could be. Breakfast was a high point of the day, literally, enjoy coffee and tasty treats on the terrace restaurant overlooking the town and sea below. Kick back each evening with the free nibbles, and enjoy a pre-dinner drink on your balcony to watch the sunset behind Etna. Wow.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't understand how far away it is from Taormina center....it is expensive to get to and fro, the hotel does have a shuttle but we didn't know that when we arrived.

    The hotel is beautiful and the staff are as helpful as anyone you could ask for. The view is stunning and you will never want to leave

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It will be good to have more variety for the breakfast

    Fabulous view, beautiful and chic hotel design, helpful satff, best lamb chop ever had. I rank it as a little paradise.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my only complaint was that we didn't stay long enough. the drive up the hill was exciting due to buses, luckily the shuttle could take you up and down.

    we decided to splurge on a suite, so i can't comment on the regular rooms, however, the property is gorgeous, the views spectacular, the staff exceptional. The linens and bed were the most comfortable of our trip. everything was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people working there make it special above many other things. A natural friendliness and dedication to service. The pillow service is something special!! Breakfast is amazing as well as the view from the central terrace!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't expect the hotel located in the hills above Taormina to be near to the centre of town nor the beach. It is a 15 minute descent or 25 minute ascent up some steep steps to the hotel from the town which is located some distance from the beaches - better opt for the free hotel shuttle to/from the town unless you are feeling fit. Beach shuttles are chargeable.

    Stunning views across the town and the bay. Very comfortable and well furnished rooms. Friendly helpful staff. Would definitely say again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They don't have a pool so if that is important then this may not be the place for you

    The view was amazing The staff was very welcoming and helpful It is many stairs -over 400 - above the town square but they do provide a shuttle into town We love to walk so the stairs were no problem We also had a delicious dinner overlooking the ocean, MT Etna and the town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really comfortable room. When we came back to the hotel at night, I feel like it was our own home. The shower room is big and the shower facility is better then almost every hotel we leaved in Italy. Nice and tasted decoration.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no room service, no swimming pool

    The staff was fantastic (especially Emmanuel), restaurant was one of the best restaurants tasted in whole Italy, the view was majestic. Decoration of the rooms absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As usually, the Wifi internet could be a little better/faster, but no real complaints.

    This place exceeded my expectations, the best hotel in my travels. The staff where wonderful and lovely views from hotel deck and rooms. I particularly love the setup of our room with a dressing & bag area, separate from bedroom and lovely modern bathroom, really well done.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have loved to have a pool in the hotel as the beaches in Taormina are very crowded at this time of the year.

    The view from the hotel, comfort of the rooms and welcoming staff were great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning views, excellent location close to Taormina centre (but without the tourists and the noise). Luxury room, personalized and impeccable service, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, everything was great!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only really minor thing I would change would be the tea cups which could have been bigger.

    Couldn't fault this place. A wonderful experience and would return in a heart beat. Staff, room, bed, location all exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Fantastic location, wonderful friendly professional staff, clean comfortable luxury in the room with a hearty breakfast to get you off to the right start in the morning. Whats not to love!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The service was excellent . From the moment we arrived the hotel staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We had a meeting with a person on the concierge staff and she helped us make plans for activities and dining. The morning breakfast was served in the dining room that overlooked the ocean and mt etna . There was afternoon happy hour with drinks and snacks. The rooms were modern and very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant service was a bit slow on one occasion. No swimming pool but the jacuzzi was a great alternative.

    Amazing room and views, super friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and dinner, loads of mini treats like afternoon tea and sunset bruschetta.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being charged to park the car on premise was a bit rich!!

    The staff from the manager Paulo to the Chef to the shuttle drivers were outstanding in their care and hospitality. The breakfast was fantastic and prepared fresh on premise. The view was memorable and compared to the sister hotel in Taormina, Villa Carlotta was better value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool would be a plus though it was not a must for us. Cannot think of anything!

    Great breakfast at terrace, the hotel is located on a hill with breathtaking views. Staff were alwayd kind and helpful. Design of the room, not too big but loved the typical Sicilian with furniture painted in blue and orange. They have a free shuttle service to Taormina center available for guests.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff have made this good hotel GREAT! I have had two very stressful days but the staff have time and time again made my trip as enjoyable as possible. I was first let down by German Wings. Fellow travellers be careful. They overbooked. I couldn't check in at the Birmingham airport. When I arrived at Düsseldorf, I was told there were no seats left on the plane. Long story short, I arrived at the hotel at 1 am (i.e. 12 hours later than planned). I was welcome by the night manager. I told him I was starving. He managed to get some food and two glasses of wine for us to enjoy the night view at the balcony. I was let down by Avis the second day. I have hit a curb protruding into the road and ruptured the tyre (N.B. The road leading to the hotel is very narrow and busy). I was turned away by Avis Taormina right outside their office. I managed to drive back to the hotel. I was obviously so stressed when I met Paolo. He calmed me down in the first instance and assured me he would sort it out for me. He arranged the spare tyre to be changed and made a few phone calls to Avis and some garages. The next day, his colleague Santi also helped me to made a few further phone calls. All in all, they have all really tried to do their best and helped me. They have definitely done more that what I would expect. I stayed in room 18, a junior suite. The view of the bay and mount Etna was simply breathtaking. The facility was great. The food at the restaurant was also great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too dark, no light passing through, as superior suite we expected to have the view on catania, etna and sea from the living room, but instead we had a extremely small balcony from the bedroom. The shuttle service was just until 23:15, we had to get a taxi because they couldnt wait 10 minutes for us to get to the bus stop (even if we wanted to get the 19:45 shattle to go to the center but was fully booked, and the 20:15 shuttle was 15 minutes late)

    Great view, very careful staff, rich breakfast (even if we expected to be homemade, but it wasnt).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The timings shuttle to the town/ beaches were slightly restrictive but not a significant issue.

    Excellent service throughout our stay and their view- simply breathtaking!

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Villa Ducale traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: