Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Esperia 3 stars

V.Le Margherita Di Savoia 53, 90151 Mondello, Italy

#3 of 6 hotels in Mondello

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 246 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the view of the villa is amezing, the house exceeded our expectations, it have all we needed, and his owner helped us at all times, we would return the next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was like a pull out bed and incredibly hard. The noise was unbelievable. The walls paper thin - I could hear the people next door coming home, and going to the toilet, having a shower and hocking up whatever for over 15mins. I would never stay here again. The breakfast is also poor. This is my 5th visit to Sicily, so I’m used to all types of accommodation.

    Only thing I liked was that it was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was not helpful at all, we were looking for a place for dinner with our 2 year old son, he made no recommendation and just sent us walking around towards Mondello square. The hotel restaurant was closed that evening. It was extremely loud, it is located on a main street, there was loud music from cars all night, loud honking, since there is a traffic light right at the location. We had asked for a quiet room, did not receive one without comment. Communication before our stay was poor, I had requested to check in at 2 PM, which worked out, but I never received feedback. Also I had asked about parking, but did not receive an answer.

    The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious and clean. The villa is beautiful. Patio in the back to sit outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    View from the balcony was wonderfull, staff very polite and friendly and tried to do their best in helping with all our requests! Additional pro of this hotel is very cosy and tasty restaurant inside of it! Bus stop to Palermo was exactly in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is renovated but there are still many old fashioned furniture and devices inside. E.g the bed and the rest of furniture in the room are old and noisy (bed was still ok for sleep). The bathroom is renovated but the toilet is old fashioned (works still good). The worth thing was a very noisy super small elevator we only used to bring our luggage upstairs. Our room was next to the elevator (low cost room) and we couldn't sleep after 07:00 a.m. every day because people were using it all the time. Cleaning is until 12:00 p.m. so if you go out later than 12:00 the room will be not cleaned. The price was actually quite high for what you get. Mondello is not so touristic and there are not so many hotels so it was still ok to stay in Villa Esperia.

    The location was very good, close to the beach and supermarkets, cafes. Nice view from the window, upper floor. Bathroom was partly recently renovated and clean. Breakfast was tasty, different fruits were offered, good Cappuchino. Friendly staff, especially the woman responsible for the breakfast. Spacious room with much daylight, good airconditioner, good wifi. There is a bus station (to Palermo) in front of the hotel but we always took the one before, because the bus was already too full in summer. Reception speaks english.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    Villa Esperia has a special kind of charm. Not too big though with an elevator, big room (single), high ceilings. The staff was extremely nice - a special mention to Danilo, Silivia and Franca! Mille grazie per la gentillezza!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities. No iron available in whole hotel is not acceptable in 2017. Breakfast buffet would benefit from more variety.

    Small and well positioned to the beach areas. Staff polite but a little distant with the guests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have little balcony or at least a clothes rack to dry wet towels etc from the beach

    Location- 5 min walk to the beach. Bus stop right outside the hotel. Free bus 85 takes you around Mondello, all two number busses are free! Bus to Palermo stops outside the hotel too. Hotel room well designed, nice view of mountain, bathroom good size, power shower. AC and wifi worked perfect. Staff- very friendly and helpful Breakfast- good all around choice, nice coffee Hotel restaurant- food and staff fantastico!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food but If eating at their restaurant just be sure to check the prices of fresh caught fish On the menu. They weigh the fish whole raw and charge you per pound but you really don't get that much of it once it's cooked. We paid an outrageous amount of money for three large dishes of that fish. Everything else we ate was spectacular !

    That was the second Time that I stayed there but I've eaten there three years in a row. The food is incredible at there restaurant and the prices are reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very dark and cramped. We had a pull out sofa as well as a king sized bed. It's hard to say which was more uncomfortable. The mattress was very thin. We did not have any outdoor space although you could sit at a table in the common areas. I would have expected better for the money we paid. The area does not offer a lot to do other than the beach. There are not a lot of restaurants or sights.

    The restaurant was excellent. They were able to accommodate our celiac son. The food was excellent as was the service. If you have young children it appears they offer entertainment for them while you eat. The hotel had a very nice typical breakfast but also offered scrambled eggs which was a new experience for us here In Italy. The hotel was abou a ten minute walk to the beach. We lived the beach but be prepared to pay for it. It cost us 37 euros for three chairs and two umbrellas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place as such tries to look like a rustical villa which is nice, however, the furniture including the bed is older and our door to bathroom was very noisy when opening. Our room was right next to an older elevator and it was quite noisy. We missed a small fridge in the room.

    Location and breakfast were great - bus stop for bus to Palermo was in front of the hotel, it was 2minutes to the beach and we finally found some not only sweet breakfast. The staff was very nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little hard

    Just such a lovely stay friendly staff and very helpful:) great location in terms of the beach, - a little walk to the marina but we love the evening stroll😊 Well done brilliant hotel and great value too 👌🏻

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food exceptional. We booked three rooms. They kindly provided a crib and a refrigerator in the room where the baby was staying. Hotel support staff exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are tired, and in need of a facelift. Bathroom is dated, and beds need to be replaced.

    The hotel has a lovely ambiance - nice garden setting, and a beautiful building. It would have been very regal in its day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the ground floor and was very dark; there was a bad smell and the bed was very uncomfortable.

    The building is beautiful. Location is good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Guys in the reception not helpful, some of them not speaking a word english or other languange than Italian, rooms too small, noise coming outside the street, we could feel that the rooms would need some refreshment...

    Walking distance to the beach, a nice climate of old villa style Italian building, very good restaurant for the evening

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little noisey at night with the lift

    amazing location to the beach and close to some restaurants/ local gelatio stores/ bars, and just a short walk to the main square. Staff were friendly and let us use their printer to print off plane tickets and the breakfast buffet was yummy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area always seemed empty with just a few people but the places to sit were always left in a shambles. I could not figure out how the staff could not be on top of getting the tables cleaned and could not get the breakfast food replenished.

    Yes the food was good, But could have included hard boiled eggs. The croissants were nice and the juice and especially loved the fresh fruit!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value, just a few minutes walk to the beach and easy to get to by bus. Nice room with lots of space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise in the hallway in the morning. Walls seem to be made of paper. Breakfast really poor, nothing replaced after it finished.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pollite staff; Fridge in the room; Terrace in the room; Breakfast was good; Beach is very near by foot

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good.Valeria was the good English speaker at the villa.CLean,good coffe,poor breakfast,nice modern room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good breakfast. Very close to the Mondello beach. A lot of green trees and bushes in the inner yard of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal,location,room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything about this property

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. Good wifi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms' interior is not well thought through.

    Reception, breakfast, room keeping

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small room and too expensive for such price. One day Internet was not working at all, however may be this is not hotel fault. The lady at reception in the morning is not so friendly, however she helped. No safe box on the room, no fridge

    Location and the territory, man at reception in the evening

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was on 3rd floor next to elevator. In evening and in night closing elevator door and people going from elevator to rooms was too noisy and disturbing. Also elevator motor was too noisy and disturbing all night. Next thing is not regarding hotel, but it might help some travelers : All beaches in Mondello are surrounded by fence and usually very expensive around 20 eur person/day. There is very limited free beach area and there are no facilities on beach (free area). (no water to wash your feet from sand) But again, this is not regarding hotel but more regarding location (Mondello)

    Breakfast was very good :-) and staff was very nice. Even when some of them did not speak perfect English they was helpful all the time.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Low English capacity of the people at Reception. The most common answer you may expect from them: 'I do not know' (except for Senior Vittorio who was very helpful when I asked for any information etc. Thanks Vittorio!

    Quiet place, close to the beach with great view

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The wifi was intermittent for connection

    Location to beach and close to Palermo . Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situation personnel

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location in Mondello, friendly staff and beautiful old buidling, would recommend!!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very few rooms with balconies, no fridge facility in rooms, very little shower cabin

    Spirit, service, good wi-fi, coffee on breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The lack of an ironing board and iron for guests use.

    The lovely girl on duty at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Short bus ride to center of Palermo.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was hard and the WIFI did´nt work mostly during our stay.

    Friendly staff and good location. Near by the beach. Beautiful rooms.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Hotel Villa Esperia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: