Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Franca 5 stars

Viale Pasitea 318, 84017 Positano, Italy

#21 of 36 hotels in Positano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 235 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    The view was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a Suite and for the money spent, the room was rather small. Having stayed in a lesser expensive hotel previously in Positano where it also had views, but a much larger room, i was rather disappointed. Also, aside from the restaurant dinner service, we found the service in the hotel a little ‘frosty’ and underwhelming. The concierge appeared to not want to go above and beyond to make things happen for us, and in the end we felt like we were nagging or having to ask multiple different front desk people to either get the information we were after or to get bookings made.

    The view was amazing. We had the degustation in the restaurant on our last night and the food and service there was immaculate. Ida was exceptional the whole stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. No negatives for this place!

    The location is amazing. The views from the hotel are spectacular. A beautiful place. Staff couldn’t do more for you, fantastic customer service. Lovely personal touches throughout from the moment you step through the doors you’re greeted with a welcome drink and flannel to cool you down. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast was lovely and a must to try their restaurant on an evening. The roof top pool and eatery was great, good music to be heard while lounging on the sun beds. Again fantastic views while having lunch on the top. Very relaxing. The attention to detail is fabulous. 5 star service. Highly recommend! Perfect for a long weekend break. Will be definitely returning! Thank you for a great stay Villa Franca!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful, luxury hotel, best views in Positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety on the music play list by the pool, if you are there more than a few days it gets repetitive. WiFi went down/very slow a couple of times and a bottle of water by the pool is €8 which is a bit steep even for a 5 star hotel.

    We stayed here on our honeymoon and the hotel is exceptional. We had an ocean view room and it was beautiful, the hotel has the best views in positano. Li Galli restaurant is superb and the best meal we had in positano, breakfast is also excellent quality. Free shuttle bus to and from town and wonderful, friendly staff. Stay here, you won’t regret it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was extremely well maintained and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive. Also it is at the top of the hill with 500 steps to get to beach and shopping. Courtesy van didn't run between noon and 5:00 pm, so had to stay or forced to use steps.

    The hotel was extremely well maintained and the staff were very attentive. Breakfast was outstanding and the pool on the roof was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic personnel , great location, a beautiful hotel that could be a 5-star with some tweaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aside of the rooms being quite small one thing that wasnt quite right was the restaurant. It had a nice look & feel, but was a bit disappointing as it felt rather pretentious. Plates were huge (i am actually referring to the size of the plates) making them look rather ridiculous and not easy to manage. Food was average and in all honesty we expected much more being in an italian regime and a 5-star hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly but overall the experience at the restaurant was below expectations.

    The property was in an excellent location & with great views over Positano. Clean, modern and with very attentive staff. Our room the first night was very small, tiny to be exact and it felt suffocating. Below expectations for a 5-star hotel. The staff turned around the feeling of dissapointment with great service, good advice, in a warm & friendly spirit. We were also given an upgrade which took us to a more spacious room & really nice views! I d rate at 10 the efforts of Max and the whole team running the hotel but the room delivery vs. the promise of the hotel really needs to be thought through & improved, otherwise what can be a great stay will always end up being a disappointment. A 5-star hotel needs to live up to its title! A bit more on the positive side: great breakfast, served even if you arrived at the last minute and excellent coffee. And all that in front of great views. A great way to start your day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Room, breakfast, views, service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great with stunning views to Positano. Only negative thing is it was close to the cleaning room and ladies made a bit of noise in the morning.

    Room, breakfast, views, service... everything was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Every single component was on point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    40 euro per day for parking which is a bit steep but I was aware of this already from reviews. Shuttle doesn’t go between 11am - 5pm and 7-10pm. Walk up the hill isn’t bad. Hotel is at the top of hill but plenty of restaurants close by if you don’t want to walk down to the beach.

    Every single component was on point. The customer service exceeding expectations from the service at concierge to the restaurant and also the porters and cleaners. Every interaction was friendly, polite, attentive and came with a smile. We were lucky enough to be welcomed with champagne, fruit and cake and our room was upgraded. The hotel is luxurious in every way possible. The beautiful aroma the lobby is so refreshing. The room, bathroom and toiletries are stunning. Bed and pillows are really comfortable, it’s like sleeping on a cloud. Pillow menu has several options incase you require something different. Rooftop pool gorgeous. Cookies and lollies at turndown service. Weight scales in room which helped with packing our bags. We were given a present before leaving of their exclusive fragrance which was a real delight. Very happy with our stay!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    SUITES dimensions are not adeguate (less than 30 m declared). Our SUITES 229-330 were: 6 x 3,5 m.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked° 2 SUITES with Sea-Sight. We received room 329 and 330. The dimension of SUITES 329 and 330 are absolutely inadeguate. The rooms are declared as 30 meters, but ... if you take out the functional isle and the narrow bath, remains only 6x3,5 meter. We were obliged to place the second suitcase on the floor. The definition of SUITE is strongly linked to the size. A 6.5 x 3 meter room can at most be defined as LUXURY, but not SUITE. I mean: Luxury and service and high standard CANNOT transform a ROOM in a SUITE.

    The standard quality of the hotel is very excellent and the staff is very polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    The beauty of this resort gifted me with the happiest day of my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Villa Franca is a dream perched on a mountain top overlooking heaven. The owner has a wonderful style and impresses every detail of the property with luxury and modern beauty mixed with traditional Italian charm. 5 star accomodations, 5 star luxury, complete with a 5 star restaurant and a 5 star breakfast buffet with a 10 star view from every window in the property. You will look over the whole of Positano and thank yourself every moment for making your reservation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, amazing views!!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities were not provided but we had a kettle delivered to our room and were able to get tea bags and milk (I think we were charged for milk) Don’t order tea to your room it cost us €16! The fine dining was a little too fancy and expensive for our taste but I imagine foodies would enjoy. Service at breakfast could have been better, we had to go up to waiters to order a few times, it was probably the end of a long season and the staff might have been over it. The hotel is high up to get an amazing view, but lots of stairs to walk up from the beach back to hotel - but after all the pasta and pizza we both needed a little exercise! This is a luxury boutique hotel so don’t expect it to be cheap, but for the price of our stay tea and coffee in room and better service at breakfast would have improved rating.

    We stayed at villa Franca for 5 nights at end October. We had an ocean view room with a stunning view. The room was clean and beautiful! Unfortunately we were there at the end of the season so didn’t get to enjoy the rooftop bar and restaurant but we had sunny days by the pool and the staff set up beds for us. Would have been better if the hotel told us about everything closing so we could have started our trip south, but we also could have done more research. The rooftop pool is beautiful with an amazing view. Internet was high speed! Some reviews here say staff weren’t friendly but we had excellent service from reception. Breakfast buffet was great, all hot and cold options. We drove in before returning our car in Sorrento. The drive is a bit difficult - tight corners and narrow roads - so make sure you are a confident driver! We will definitely be back in summer to enjoy all that Positano and Hotel Villa Franca have to offer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    A welcoming and luxurious place from which to explore Positano and the wider Amalfi coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absence of on site parking, but that would be impossible in Positano! My mother had a few niggles with equipment in her room but they were quickly sorted out by the staff.

    Very efficient and amenable service from everyone at the hotel. Great position and great views! A true feeling of luxury and a pleasantly sized hotel (not too big - made you feel special).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Position withe amazing views of Positano.
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the shuttle bus down to the centre could have run more often in the afternoon

    Position withe amazing views of Positano. Welcome drinks with nibbles Pool area was excellent Staff friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.3
    The room was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a couple of incidents with the hotel! First when we arrive the guy at the reception looked us over the shoulder then he said that we had to park with them, because it was the best option, then we found out that the same parking charge half of the price, at least the hotel should say to guest that if they want to park by them self is shipper, any way, another day we were in the pool and we ask for an Apple, just an Apple, and then they charge us 12 euros for that, really? 12 euros for one Apple, they should give that kind of things as a gift and don’t charge that ridiculous amount of money for that, I complaint about that and they defended saying that the chef cut the Apple and that was why they had to charge that. In conclusion they’re all the time seeing the opportunity to take out the money, that is not a good customer service, beside that the room was amazing, very clean, but I’m not going again.

    The room was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    2.5
    Would never recommend this place. don't be fooled by the modern pictures online!
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had an awful stay at Villa franca, was given a room under the lobby which was very noisy and we couldn't sleep before 4am, we called the reception many times and were told that the hotel is fully booked. at first we were offered a room move by the receptionist who called back and said that someone checked in to it ! AC was tripping and had to have the engineer come and fix it twice in the middle of the night. Breakfast was very poor. Service arrogant, was very disappointing highlight of our stay in Positano. We stayed at Casa Angelina and Palazzo Murat definitely much better than this place! it was a complete rip off hotel!

    Had an awful stay at Villa franca, was given a room under the lobby which was very noisy and we couldn't sleep before 4am, we called the reception many times and were told that the hotel is fully booked. at first we were offered a room move by the receptionist who called back and said that someone checked in to it ! AC was tripping and had to have the engineer come and fix it twice in the middle of the night. Breakfast was very poor. Service arrogant, was very disappointing highlight of our stay in Positano. We stayed at Casa Angelina and Palazzo Murat definitely much better than this place! it was a complete rip off hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Room was spacious with a great view, breakfast included...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious with a great view, breakfast included which was incredible, dining room restaurant was the best dinner we had on our three week trip in Italy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Amazing views, excellent facilities, unhelpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude welcome staff - not very helpful unless you obviously have millions of dollars to spend. Horrible 2nd detached building - make sure you stay in the main building otherwise will be very disappointed - 2 stars not 5 stars.

    Breakfast was amazing with excellent coffee and views. Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    2.9
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception, staff, pool, dirty pool, staff loud at pool and so many more that i couldnt count, i booked for 3 days and checked out after 1 day of course they kept the 3 days money under the penalty clause i should give them a penalty! Do not use the facility you will regret it

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Amazing breakfast view
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really good breakfast set up and I would go there just to see the view again. The staff are very helpful and friendly. They also offer a free shuttle up and down the hill.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, the staff was incredibly hospitable, this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel, the staff was incredibly hospitable, this hotel has everything you need (shuttle, reservations, breakfast, pool, views) it's luxurious,clean and the views are to die for.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Botique, luxury and romantic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't think I can fault anything on this one! Maybe more sunbeds for the pool but due to the size of Positano, none of the pool areas are able to have any more room.

    Fantastic service and excellent luxury and romantic hotel with great views from the top of Positano.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still water wasn't complimentary even though you're paying quite much already for the room, would've been great if it was.

    Amazing views and theme of hotel. Breakfast was good and pool was really nice. Free shuttle to and from the city center. staff were very helpful and always smiling. I would come back to Positano and Villa Franca for sure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Incredible hotel, service and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only let down was the breakfast. 5 star hotel with a 3 star breakfast.

    The hotel was immaculately clean and all staff were super friendly!! Incredible view at the breakfast table and the shuttle bus taking you to and from Positano was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Positano heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps, so many steps. The hotel shuttle service did not work between 11am and 5pm so if you wished to return to the hotel during the day it was an arduous walk up lots and lots of steps.

    The view from the hotel was breathtaking at the top of the ridge. The hotel was spotless. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good, lots of variety including Preseco and a chef cooking eggs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Unreal stay if you are in the main building of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to ask to be moved from the secondary building to the main building of the hotel. The fact that they allow cigars to be smoked and the smell over powers everything.

    The breakfast setting and offerings were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    Positano hotel with a view but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just was not 5 star, staff by pool not offering drinks or food had to keep trying to get their attention. Breakfast was mediocre. We were leaving early and asked for some breakfast and coffee and were told no as the breakfast did not start until 7.30 we had to taxi to Naples for an hour with no breakfast. Everything over priced. Not enough storage space in room for cases. Room was extremely overpriced for the size and quality. No iron in room wanted to charge 25 euro to iron a shirt and pants, no coffee or tea making facilities,

    Great location and room was lovely with sea views. Lovely breakfast room and 1 x restaurant. Bar was very well stocked and service was great but had no atmosphere ie dead as a door nail. Shuttle service down to Positano main beach area was amazing and regular. Rooms were noisy could here your neighbours and cleaners were always banging and clanging by the doors. Pool area nice and relaxing. great big cushioned Day beds. Views to die for. Steps and other restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    The views are amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little small, but we got use to it.

    The Hotel is amazing, the views are spectacular. The service awesome, the staff so friendly. However the stairs are a killer in Positano, and this hotel is on the top of the mountain. The Aperol Sprite is worth the walk once you get there! Loved it! Would stay again easily.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Clean, cozy and beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far away from the beach. (They have shuttles but not enough.) And the rooftop pool was small and it didn't look clean.

    The room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay. Great service, breathtaking views, 5-star free breakfast. Clean comfortable luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps inside and out. Smaller pool area but that's typical due to layout of Positano. A bit of a hike/taxi to town center or most restaurants

    Free breakfast is excellent. Staff is very attentive. View is best in town as it sits on top of a hill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    4.2
    Falls well short of expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I recently stayed at HVF for my honeymoon. What a mistake. Terrible service was provided during our stay, particularly from the evening reception staff. The hot water tap in our shower ceased to work and was not fixed despite notification. This is, of course, totally unacceptable given the extremely high prices. Prepare to be disappointed - not worth the price. The views from our room were the only redeeming feature.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Awesome hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was wonderful with an amazing view. The hotel was excellent with the strongest point being the exceptional service from the staff - so friendly and helpful!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel with beautiful views - staff could use some adjustments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I read reviews prior to our stay that hotel staff wasn't necessarily warm. I could see where those reviews came from. Certain staff at the hotel were very pleasant and accommodating, especially the cleaning cleaning crew and those working in the bar and restaurant area. However, those who work at the frontdesk could use a major attitude adjustment. They weren't overly rude but they were in no certain terms pleasant. If you asked them for help or assistance, it seemed like a burden. Also, there is a shuttle that takes you to the main center in Positano but what's odd is that it doesn't run back/forth during the day hours, which is when you really need it. It stops running at like 11am or noon and it doesn't run again until 5pm. Very strange.

    The hotel has been through a recent renovation and you can tell they put a lot of work into it. The hotel decor and atmosphere is relaxing and the views are breathtaking. The rooms are quite small so if you get a classic room you will be on top of each other. We stayed in a superior and even that was small but doable and nice. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but we had lunch on the rooftop and that was very good with great views of Positano and the breakfast was very nice. The hotel is in a great location but it's furthest from the main center so be prepared for a lot of walking an steps but that's to be expected in Positano.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    fantastic service and amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not much really. our room 168 was right next to the chamber maids storage room and there was a bit of noise coming in through the door when they started their morning shift at 8a.m.

    the service was extraordinary. when reception got busy other staff members joined in to pick up the guests so that we never had to wait. the views are spectacular. breakfast was very good. the pool area is small but really nice with amazing views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.3
    Pompous, arrogant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were arrogant and unwelcoming. Very noisy at night, didn't get much sleep. Problem with the aircon making a noise and staff very unhelpful. Didn't once acknowledge that we were on honey moon. Bedroom was tiny. Definitely not a 5 star standard hotel.

    Views were magnificent. Roof top pool was beautiful. Common areas were to a high standard, very relaxing. Best views in Positano.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Stunning Views and Excellent Service in Positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only the restaurant falls short of what one could expect in a place like this - portions too small and over-ambitious menu. In fact, the lounge/bar menu was much better in what it offered and taste.

    Fantastic views and wonderful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    On the top of Positano uniqueness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just because we hadn't time we didn't try the dinner, spa and wine cellar, but next time we definitely do because we believe it will be top level as all other services in this amazing hotel! :)

    Very friendly and experienced staff, who adviced to upgrade the room for one in the main building, which is not the cheepest one, but really amazing - the room 333 with front sea view. Very nice breakfast, precise shuttle, helpful consierge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    Villa Franca is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness center was tiny and machines were extremely outdated. No one would want to work out in there.

    Staff was excellent- friendly and highly accommodating. Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Special and Unique find is the "tops" in Positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    seems like the "high season" isn't really into effect, even though their high season rates were-their "spa" and gym wasn't quite ready.

    staff were very attentive-breakfast was fantastic. rooms were small but special and views were fabulous with the hotel being at the "top" of the hill in positano

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.7
    PRETTY AND PRETTY EXPENSIVE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE SIZE OF ROOMS. VERY CRAMPED.

    THE ROOMS ARE FAR TOO SMALL. WE HAD TO LEAVE OUR BAGS IN THE TOILET. LUXURY IN EVERY OTHER WAY. ALSO WALKING TO HAVE BREAKFAST FROM ANOTHER BUILDING WAS A BIT TIRESOME. THE SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT BECAUSE OF THE SRI LANKAN STAFF. THEY MADE OUR STAY WORTHWHILE. THE BREAKFAST WAS STANDARD AS IN ALL OTHER HOTELS.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    Gtreat hotel but could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Paid extra for a room with a sea view that was obscured by vegetation. Worlds smallest bath which was v shaped meaning you had to shower with one foot in front of the other

    Great location, Great views, Friendly staff Good facilties.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    The views.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is noisy at night, we could hear all everything going on. The noise travels everywhere, I would strongly recommend bringing ear plugs so you can sleep.

    The views from the hotel are breathtaking, the view during breakfast; which was the best in italy that we had by far, down to the beach is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Perfect ending to a beautiful trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner menu was not very appealing, at all... very limited and it's almost as though they were trying to make it 'High-End Gourmet" when it was really just ridiculously small portions of very overly priced food/selections. Location is great (up top of Positano), but not too many restaurnats or shops up that high-- but not really an issue if you don't mind the hotel driver taking you, and picking you back up, when you go out (be sure to tip him nicely, he's just great-- and works hard).

    The views were utterly amazing! Fantastic!! The jacuzzi tub was just what I needed after hot sticky days on the beach/walking all the steps in Positano in the very humid heat. The hotel shuttle driver was super sweet/very accommodating! They upgraded us to a fabulously large room (beautiful/soothing) with a grand and very spacious balcony overlooking all of Positano! Breakfast (buffet style) was really delicious, probably the best I've had in all of Italy (with champagne) and our server was always very nice! We stayed in Positano for 7 nights in all--5 nights down at a hotel right on the beach-- and 2 here at HVC at the top (perfect ending to a beautiful trip!) It was great to be really pampered/indulged a bit just before heading back home. During the heat (July, August and Sept) the cooler winds blow up here near HFV, so-- that was a HUGE plus!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    Great service, good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't so keen on set up in our room but other services made up for it, and it is going to change

    The staff were exemplary, helpful, and attentive without being intrusive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is in a very prime location in Positano, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a luxury hotel, so we were more than willing and expecting to pay luxury prices. However, some of our interactions with the staff made it really feel like we were being nickel and dimed. For example, we had previously stopped in Tuscany and had a bottle of wine we wanted to enjoy on the balcony from our room. The bottle opener in the mini fridge didn't have a corkscrew and when we asked for another (had assumed it was just broken), they informed us they do not allow corkscrews in the room and we would have to go to the bar instead. I can't think of another reason why they would do this besides funneling people to the bar to pay for the expensive drinks with a hotel up charge. The hotel also advertised shuttle service "upon request"-- which would have been crucial for the 25min all uphill/upstairs hike back to the hotel from the beach. (To the beach is all downhill so that's fine.) Their guidance seemed to indicated that there were set schedule times and beyond those times (11am-5pm) you could call to request a shuttle pick up. That was not the case. They completely stop services from 11am to 5pm and were unhelpful in other suggestions. The parking instructions were a bit vague and from the description, sounds like there is a private lot. This is not the case. You pay $30euro per night for them to then park it in the public lot just down the street. Also, be careful not to drive by the hotel looking for the entrance to the lot as it doesn't exist. If you accidentally pass the hotel, it's a 20min drive to circle back, as Positano is just one long one-way street!

    The hotel is in a very prime location in Positano, and the public spaces as well as the rooms are all beautiful modern, beachy, and clean. There is an incredible hotel pool on the roof that overlooks all of Positano. The omelettes at breakfast were great. The porters are amazingly helpful and were wonderful to us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.5
    A good Hotel at a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room was on the lower level next to the cleaners room. Was very noisy early in the mornings with cleaners going in and out.

    Great Hotel, friendly staff, good location. Restaurant food and service excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    Amazing views, excellent rooftop pool, great ambience and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More frequent shuttle services during the day and evening, and an improvement in reception staff''s knowledge of restaurants, bistro and cafes within walking distance to hotel. Restaurant at hotel is expensive and after a long day out it would be great to eat near the hotel without having to go down to town and get a shuttle back again later. Reception staff said they don't know of any but later from exploring on our own we saw a few near the hotel that we could have gone to. Other than this we enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much and would return to it.

    Amazing views, excellent rooftop pool, great ambience and superb staff. Fresh and high quality food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.6
    The Hotell was excellance!!! the shuttlie bus could run at 1pm to bring you back from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food, my husband had slight food poising from the Fish dinner sick all night and next day, so we were very disappointed. but the breakfast was very nice.

    All Good!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea and Town View - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and their quick service. They also connected us to wonderful limo service and driver who made our visit extra special!! Beautiful views from our balcony. Actually more like a deck. We had a visitor who we let sneak into our room because we happen to love cats. Pics included.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    6.3
    Not quite there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Staff were not welcoming/warm on arrival or very helpful throughout the stay there. -We had a damp problem in our room and workers in our room for many hours on two days trying to fix an issue with the bath, with no notification from any staff or heads up - which impacted on us using the room for two full afternoons. Only once we complained and met with the manager they moved us for the last night only. Because of this, we were uncomfortable for most of our stay, which is unfair. -Not enough pool loungers for guests, which makes it difficult to utilize facilities. Overall, not a 5 star experience but a decent 3 star one nevertheless.

    Views from the pool and breakfast areas! One staff member at the pool was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent return to Positano!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. Use the free shuttle as the steps up to the hotel would be difficult for the unfit.

    The staff were excellent, as were the breakfasts and the rooms, great place. A bit further out of Positano than other places we have stayed but far less expensive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.1
    Great location! Rest was just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Majority of staff were a little cold. Room was very dark (poor lighting and mirrors). Satellite tv worked poorly. Not much effort to correct.

    View was awesome! Resturant/bar area were beautiful!! Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    10
    Heaven on earth!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our shower was very uncomfortable and hard to use, every time we had a shower the bathroom would be flooded. Our balcony door wasn't safe, we couldn't lock it shut, were afraid to leave valuables in the room.

    What an amazing hotel... we were blown away, the views are just breathtaking! The facilities are beautiful as well as our room and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The best hotel we have ever stayed in, well worth the $$$!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    amazing view, great food, very friendly staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    amazing view, great food, very friendly staff,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style and facilities are superb

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Panoramic views, I'll return to this property!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Views from the roof and bar / breakfast area.....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Roof top pool, the views and the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of drinks

    Roof top pool, the views and the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    A unique and stunning boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A unique and stunning boutique hotel. A real jewel on the Amalfi coast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The best hotel stay I have ever experienced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The finest staff I have ever experienced. They were very friendly, experienced, and the service was very personalized.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The best hotel in Positano!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best hotel in Positano!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Max, at the reception was the most helpful staff ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Max, at the reception was the most helpful staff ever. He even helped us with pick ups and tips in Capri. Thank you Max

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Best Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too much up in the hill

    Best staff and service, makes you feel like royalty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice stay. Awesome bartender and drinks ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charge for extra bed was exhorbitant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Villa Franca is an excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villa Franca is an excellent hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant is superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.0
    Positano is amazing. The hote is very contemporary design and did not have a cozy feel.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were synthetic and hard.

    The bed.. the mattress was firm and good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Amazing vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linens were scratchy and there was one lady that was rude when we had to deal with her at the front desk.

    Beautiful views and hotel facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved it... would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was super friendly and helpful... the hotel is absolutely stunning. True 5 star experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    The decor and overall feel of the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor and overall feel of the hotel was great. The bathroom in particular, the water pressure was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    we'll certainly be returning! best part of our trip to Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything exceeded our expectations. highly recommended to anyone!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Great view and food was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view and food was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    A luxury styled hotel which was amazing in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location on hill top Fabulous staff Food amazing Very clean Views are incredible

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed really comfy View - to die for Beautifully decorated, wonderful artwork

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Partial Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small

    Location staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    All 4 star hotel restaurants and non hotel restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All 4 star hotel restaurants and non hotel restaurants served outstanding food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Amazing property amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Location and staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.2
    Front desk staff was rude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff was rude

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Best romantic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ресторан ужин

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: