Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Giovanna

Via Nastro Verde 23/C, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

Review score

Based on 383 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was a little out of the way however, they offered a free shuttle into sorrento and back throughout the day and evening until 11pm which was very helpful.

    The staff were extremely attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Very clean rooms and beautiful setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Again perfect place to explore Amalfi Coast. Great service (especially shuttle to downtown Sorrento and Airport Naples!). Hearty breakfast, comfortable room and spectacular view! Highly recommendable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes no internet connection in room. Understandable when your in the mountains though

    Everything else! Location beautiful, views stunning, comfy spacious lovely staff. Great Villa didn't want to leave :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is a quaint hotel with an amazing property surrounding it. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, they make you feel right at home. This hotel turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. A regular shuttle to the centre of Sorrento was handy but also you can walk there in about 20 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite difficult to find as we didnt find any hotel signs on the street.

    Really nice people working there. Completely satisfied with all the surroundings :) They provide a private shuttle several times a day for visiting the city centre or going out until midnight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm family atmosphere - we were greeted with a kiss on the cheek and driven into to town anytime we wished. Really nice breakfast on the patio overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grandiose in every way really.

    Clean, pristine, secluded up in the mountains. Loved the outside tables facing the sunset, the cradles and the hammock. Perfect natural decorations, lemon and orange trees with red roses growing on the walls, authentic italian pots & vases scattered everywhere... Wow!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were supposed to stay at Villa Giovanna, but for whatever reason they sent us to Johanna Park, the hotel which was next to it. I checked the prices and the rooms there were cheaper so I felt a bit ripped off. We were given a room with twin beds as opposed to one with a double bed and the room had old furniture and a worn out vibe.

    The breakfast was nice and the staff was friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of building work going on around the building and thus a bit noisy. No signs into the villa...for a second you think you might be entering a private residence. Thank for god for google maps!

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Loved the outside seating area. Great breakfast. Late checkout was great. Great price!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A problem with the shuttle service left us stranded downtown for an hour & a half after a fabulous cooking lesson at Villa Giovanna's affiliated restaurant, & that put a bit of a damper on what had started out being a magnificent experience...

    The staff at the front desk were extremely friendly & helpful...they work very hard at making an enjoyable visit for guests...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was patchy at best, which could be a problem when phone signal wasn’t the strongest out of town.

    The staff were great and the regular, free shuttle bus to and from the town centre was a lifesaver ... especially as the weather wasn’t the best during our stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, rather noisy... The swimming pool is really small...

    The staff is very friendly and helpfull. We had a beautifull vieuw. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice, fresh fruit and every day another home made cake. A little bar to have an Aperitivo, or a fresh made Sorrento 'lemon'ade. The shuttle service to Sorrento is definitely a plus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little confused as the sign to look out for is Johanna Park not villa Giovanna

    The staff were amazing and the breakfast was lovely. A gentleman working there took us up and down the very long winding hill for free on several occasions and picked us up in Sorrento after 10pm. So kind xx a beautiful romantic setting. Clean and beautifully decorated x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Villa Giovanna was an amazing place to stay. Free parking and a fantastic view from our room. They had a shuttle service during the day and at night if needed. We did walk into Sorrento town and back again and the walk was lovely. Breakfast was nice and varied from croissants, cereal to eggs and bacon and homemade cake. Staff were so helpful and friendly. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in Sorrento. Even if you can't walk far the shuttle service can be used.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing of the rooms

    Very comfortable beds, spacious rooms, great range of breakfast and as an extra unexpected bonus free shuttle service to and from Sorrento centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find as there is no sign, it's in the grounds of Hotel Johanna.Staff are very friendly and helpful with any requests. Breakfast was plentiful and varied and ran late until 1045. We had a room at the back, so didn't have the sea view but the front rooms would have a perfect vista across the bay of Naples. WiFi signal was intermittent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location to stay in Sorrento. It's a 20 minute walk up hill from town (if you don't want to take their shuttle), and it offers peace and solitude that the center of Sorrento just wouldn't be able to do. Exceptionally friendly staff that went out of their way to help us with many little details of our trip, a delicious breakfast each morning, and a quiet, clean place to sleep at night. Would love to return someday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    usual italian breakfast, old furniture in the room, only reachable by car

    great location, oceanview from the garden, pretty decorated garden, nice staff, bathroom modern, good shower, shuttle service down to sorrento as well as nice path to go down in 15 min, parking area included

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved this hotel, amazing views, adorable hotel cat and the nicest staff we experienced in Italy (our cleaning lady was honestly a gem). One of the rare times parking was supplied free of charge. Easy to walk to everything through the secret lane, steep walk back if you are lazy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very helpful, organised tours for us on arrival. Collected and delivered us from station, which was useful as hotel is a little out of town, Uphill! hence the lovely view of the bay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing I didn't really like . One suggestion would be is to have a mini fridge in the room and more hooks in the bathrooms. :)

    Loved the free shuttle, the villa is about a 10 minute drive from the city center . Breakfast was included and offered eggs and bacon along with fruit and various breads. The manager was very accommodating, even securing a reasonably price taxi to take us to the airport .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only issue was that there was a little leakage of rain in through the bottom of some of the windows, but there was a torrential downpour and several thunderstorms that day, so there's not much that could be done about that, and I was able to dry it up easily enough with towels. Also the wifi is quite spotty at times.

    Very authentic Italian villas up in the hills, with beautiful scenery, quiet, very helpful and accommodating staff. Really enjoyed my visit and would go again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool looked lovely with a view of the sea and jaccuzzi type water action but we didn't use it as the water was cold. The bathroom was a bit smelly in the morning, probably the drains but it soon went.

    the double bed was huge and comfy, the view from the balcony at ground floor level was over the bay of Naples with wonderful sunsets and bats flying. The breakfasts were generous and my daughter loved the real cappucino. The bathroom was grand wih lovely tiles and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They were friendly, welcoming and lovely. It is close to town, but you need to take their shuttle as the road up is steep. The hotel's shuttle service was great, they will fetch you when you arrive at the train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No dinner available, but you can eat at another hotel's restaurant 2 mins up the road.

    Peaceful escape, good views, beautiful villa and a nice pool with convenient shuttle bus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and hosts were amazing, the shuttle service to sorrento town was extremely helpful, overall very comfortable Their sister restaurant in sorrento had great food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not as clean as I would have liked. 3 large bugs upon checking in. I had to get a centipede out of the room. Beds were not very comfortable. I got an extra blanket out of the closet and it had a dead bug smashed on it. Gross! And some filthy dirt. The floor was not very clean. Due to the location which is very far from the town a taxi is extremely expensive to get up and down the hill. The wifi does not work in the room only outside near the front desk which was a pain. Also no cell signal at all in the room.

    Absolutely beautiful property!!! Very friendly staff. Really lovely people. Couldn't beat the serenity or view!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The buffet breakfast is OK, not great - could do with a few more cooked options - although the friendly girl organising the breakfast was more than happy to make an omelette if asked.

    Lovely location on the hills above Sorrento. The walk down into town is manageable - but its a good 15 minutes to get to main street on the west of Sorrento ( the side the Villa is) the walk back up is much more effort - fine if you're young and fit, not possible if your old or in anyway physically disabled. However the shuttle bus run by the Villa is great if you are happy to go at the times it runs. Being able to use the pool at the neighbouring hotel (Johanna) is a big benefit - its a lovely pool with stupendous views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool wasn't a pool as such. More of a plunge pool. Breakfast room was dull.

    Nice and secluded and quiet place. And an amazing free shuttle and very accommodating staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    unless go with times of the villa shuttle the taxi very expensive to go , you can walk into town but walking back can be a challenge as all up hill - 3 km

    Staff were amazing , room was spacious and clean . Very authentic Italian style villas set out of town so rely on bus or taxi to go into town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle service to and from Sorrento has large gaps of when it leaves and goes , only down point as Taxis are very expensive .

    Laura was so friendly & helpful advising us on places to go and eat, even booking our trip to Capri. She also changed our room to a sea view one (without being asked to) the second morning of our trip .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi difficult to get but could do so if close to office.

    This place grew on us.It had a few faults but the staff went out of their way to attend to the few grievances we had.And it turned out to be a very happy stay.Breakfasts were fabulous.Views across Mediterranean wonderful.Fun to mix with other guests around bar/pool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A lovely little oasis overlooking Sorrento. Rather like staying in a villa but with breakfast on hand! Laura, the owner, was so helpful and welcoming and we were delighted with our stay. The shuttle service down to Sorrento was vital and really was the icing on the cake. Any issues were dealt with swiftly. A real gem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    No visible sign from road internet ok but not great

    Lovely quiet location about 15 minutes walk from Sorrento with nice views , Staff very helpful and friendly, great shuttle service and also at public bus stop. Great room clean and comfortable with good air con and terrace. Nice selection of food on the breakfast buffet. Great place to just chill out (nice small pool and shaded seating area)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very bad, prety small and cold pool (but we were able to visit the pool in the next villa which was great)

    Loved the room, great view, good breakfast and close enogh to sorrento

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, above the city, 2-3 deggres lower temperatur than in the center. The staff is very kind, smiling and helpful, they made comfortable our stay.The small pool is suitable to refresh yourself after a trip.We loved for breakfeast served home made cakes! For us was a better choice the Villa compare to a hotel, because of the garden and the familiar feeling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one day where the water from the pipes was dirty and brown, it's not the hotels fault but that was the downfall to our stay.

    Beautiful gardens and pool area. Very romantic and authentic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not entirely understanding English witch made difficult to get help if needed. Property difficult to reach as there are no signs anywhere, even not onsite at the property.

    Location of the property uphill with short (but intensive) 15-20min walk to center. Nice and cosy garden perfect to relax with beautiful views to coast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pick-up point for shuttle really far walk with luggage from train station. Suggested (co-owned) restaurant in Sorrento "La Tavola di Lucullo" did not live up to it's rating on tripadviser.

    Nice and calm "resort" within reach of Sorrento with the Hotels shuttle service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely hard , like rock and made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. But we found this in quite a few places in italy.

    This is lovely place not far from sorrento main town. They have a free shuttle into town and back, a few times a day for guests which is really good. The english is ok, the staff are very good The room was a great size and it gets serviced every day which was good! The pool area is very good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better Eg fresh orange juice, greater variety of cerials English tea.

    Although the locatiin was only fair they did lay on a shuttle bus throughout the day. The position of the villa lent it to a very relaxex ambiance,the staff were helpful,and unobtrusive. Sorrento is place you go to viit various local places of interest, so villa giovanna was an oasis of calm relaxation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely peaceful setting.Breakfast well provided for.Did have to ask to change rooms as what we were given wasn't as expected.But did move next day to a better room and discount was given at end of our stay.Nearly forgot -distinct lack of coathangers!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from town to the villa is a steep hill and not suitable for the majority of people however this can be overcome by using the hotel shuttle, this has set times for use and needs prebooking.

    Very authentic old style Italian appearance. Perfect location not far from town and within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the location was stunning it was only 3km up a hill from Main Street sorrento. If you didn't take the last free shuttle back to hotel at 10.15 it cost a minimum of 25 Euro in a taxi! If you forgot something at the shop you had to either walk a steep hill, wait for the next shuttle or get a taxi. If you don't like to stay near the pool or relax all day and like to shop it's definitely not the place for you

    The view from the property is amazing, perfect to watch the sunset. The place is beautifully quaint and very peaceful, lots of stunning areas to sit in or out of the sun, the free shuttle was a bonus, but could be a little more frequent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was ants in the room. It would be great a more accurate description and signs on the road to find the Villa.

    A great deal of breakfast, nice surrounding and garden, near the bus stop, free shuttle to Sorrento, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit hard to find and outdated facilities. Room was cold and moist. Maybe it is better at summer.

    Nice surrounding and garden. Good view and quiet location. Surprisingly good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi signal was variable. Access into/out of shower was awkward due to a narrow step (room 203).

    Beautiful, large and well furnished double room with a lovely sea view (room 203). Dressing room and private balcony. Close to the breakfast room so only one flight of steps. Wide selection of breakfast items. Free minibus shuttle runs to/from Sorrento six times a day taking ten minutes and avoiding a €30 taxi fare.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-Fi connection and mobile reception were intermittent. We heard people shooting birds early in the morning.

    Lovely location on the hills above Sorrento. We were impressed by the free shuttle service run by the hotel to and from the town. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very difficult to find - not sign posted on the main road - please look for Hotel Johanna Park Hotel entrance and go through the gates and turn right and than drive down 30 to 40 meters and the Hotel Giovanna entrance is on the left! Other than that - perfect!!

    The most unbelievable location, beautiful views, nice cottage like room, clean bathroom, comfortable bed, air conditioned but not required, friendly staff and really fantastic continental breakfast - good spread! Loads of parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi fi only worked up near the main office - it did not work in the rooms, or even on the balcony. Be aware, the location requires quite a long trek to get to the marina. There are "shuttles"...however in four days we never once saw a shuttle heading the direction of Sorrento. We did appreciate Laura's willingness to provide a driver for us at certain times, to a wonderful restaurant and one other central location.

    Beautiful scenery, and a very tranquil setting. The rooms were simple, but clean. Laura's food recommendations were amazing! We ate many nights in the restaurant she recommended, which was delicious. We loved the variety of seating areas on the grounds, providing an opportunity to meet other guests.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the minibus which takes guests into Sorrento on the Saturday morning. Although there was a lot of traffic and the road is extremely bendy, the female member of staff was using her mobile phone whilst driving to look at texts or something. As this was so dangerous and there were 4 of us and a small child in our party, we opted to get a taxi back to the hotel and it cost €28!

    Loved the views and the rooms. Bathrooms were good too. Great pool and food in the restaurant of the neighbouring Hotel Johanna which you are able to use. Would love to go back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast was very dull. broken shower head, hairdryer. Uncomfortable bed. very thin walls between rooms.

    Pretty grounds away from the tourists The cat was cute Mini bus shuttle up the hill was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lady at the reception was not so great with English. Although big, the room had ants, and they were always on our towels, and at the end, it wasn't so pleasant stay. Because the room was under the reception, the noise of footsteps is unbearable. Somehow looks like nobody is taking care of villa, and just a little bit more attention to same details would give much better results. For example, there are no hooks for towels, so you must hang it on shower cabin or pack it wet.

    We didn't have problem to find the villa and there is free parking at the spot. Our room, just below the reception, was big and spacious, and WiFi, probably because of the location of the room, was good. The shuttle bus service worked excellent, and was a really good thing to have.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner. Bad wifi (though they also have plug-in internet). Overall, I felt we paid rather a lot for what it was.

    Really lovely location up in the hills of Sorrento. Beautiful garden and view, and staff on the whole helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. It's too out of the way. Guest must rely on the shuttle bus. Although the owners say the shuttle is available when guest's need it this is not always so. The driver drops guests off at the outskirts of the town centre which is of no use when the train station is at the opposite side of the town. And no amount of pleading will get the driver to take you and all your luggage to the train station

    Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you missed the shuttle bus and chise to walk, it was a 2km walk which included about a 1km walk uphill

    Access to pool was a bonus and the shuttle bus service offered was excellent. The location on the side of a cliff also meant great views of the bay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surroundings is really nice but the rooms are used up, unpleasant smell and occasionally you could find some dirt on the door or mold in the bathroom. Though we were told from the kind lady in the reception (and were given small discount from the bar) it is caused by humidity I do not find it according to the price range of the place ideal. It was very uncomfortable and spoiled our stay. Also even with navigation VERY hard to find the Villa! No sign at the front or by the road. The wifi really works only in the small reception area.

    The swimming pool and the garden are nice. The shuttle bus to Sorrento is great. Breakfast is ok. Nice host.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors did not have shutters, so affected me as a light sleeper. But did not affect my partners sleep so not a deal breaker!

    This B & B is 25 mins walk downhill to the centre of Sorrento. A free shuttle bus leaves for the centre 5 times a day and returns to the hotel 5 times a day, which is very useful. We would suggest contacting the B & B for shuttle times in advance as a taxi from the port/station etc could be very expensive (€30). Staff were very friendly and helpful, and welcomed us with a glass of prosecco on arrival. Surroundings very comfortable with lots of places to relax and enjoy the poolside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had the misfortune to stay in a room (107) which i can only describe as unhealthy. The bathroom ceiling was covered in mold and the room had repainted spots on the walls, probably to cover the mold from there too. So because of that, the moisture of the room was unbearable and not even the AC could cope with it.

    The only good things were the garden, where they did a pretty good job, and the shuttle bus driving to the city every two hours.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was no more than OK. Also, directions need to be clearer. You actually drive through the gates to the Johanna Park Hotel and turn right down a track.

    Beautiful hotel and location. Very friendly and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The best place we stayed in Italy! Away from all of the overly touristy parts of Sorrento this place is a relaxing paradise. The best breakfast and the most lovely lady serving it every morning, she went out of her way to please our 2 year old son.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is important to know that the location of this hotel is not in the centre of Sorrento. However it is a perfect location as you are higher in the hills so you have a beautiful view and it is peaceful. There is a free shuttle bus service that runs regularly to take you into Sorrento and back to the hotel. Very useful as taxis are extremely expensive. There is also a nice walk into the centre however very steep. There is a nice medium sized pool at the sister hotel next door you can use and a nice restaurant. Highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in room. Musty and mouldy smell in room...allergies pretty bad. Location not good for backpackers...30 minute hike straight uphill. Location was hard to locate.

    Breakfast buffet was awesome! Front desk offered a shuttle bus into town. Bathtub in room very luxurious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi was very spasmodic, but given the location, i.e. up in the hills, it was to be expected. Who needs Wifi when you are in such a lovely place anyway?

    'Loved this hotel, very small and intimate, staff very friendly and willing to accommodate any request. Beautiful location amongst the lemon trees and the view from our balcony was stunning. Quiet and relaxing. Breakfast was very good and plenty of it. All in all, a really nice place to stay. The fresh plums every day were delicious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The pool is small. Too small to swim or play ball. Perfect for lounging and cooling down.

    Laura and everyone else working there bend over backwards to help. They want to ensure that everyone is looked after extremely well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our balcony door was broken and we could not use it. We asked several times to fix it but they didn't. As a compensation they took of our small bar bill. The room wasn't the cleanest, spider web in corners and in lists of doors.

    The staff were super helpful! I recommend any who book this hotel to book their shuttle or to take the bus "Amalfi" from Sorrento station and say you are going to "Johanna park hotel" it's in the same property. Those who wrote that it's hard to find, it is if you don't know that the small villa Giovanna is right next to the Johanna park so look for that sign! Overall I feel that you get what you pay for. If you are looking for luxuries it's nothing for you but if you easy can adapt and loves nature and calm places, it's for you. Villa Giovanna is quite high up the hills which provide an amazing view. Good free shuttle service to and from Sorrento city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a quaint little hotel, with individual 'villa' style rooms, set in an idyllic, picturesque part of Sorrento. It is quiet, just enough for that relaxed feel break, but with the shuttle bus, you are only a few minutes away from the bustling city centre. The staff are very accommodating and very friendly. This is one hotel I would definitely return too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. Everything was perfect.

    Hospitality by all staff was superb,they went out of their way to see that we had an excellent vacation. The breakfast included a huge buffet of fresh fruit, sweet pastries, eggs, bacon, and cheeses plus cappuccino to order and carafes of coffee and juices.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - it was all fabulous

    The rooms were scattered through the grounds of the hotel which gave it a more relaxed feel. Loved the small infinity pool and especially the courtesy bus which meant we didn't need to use our car in the evening when going into Sorrento for a meal. The staff were so helpful and friendly and we were welcomed with a complimentary glass of Prosecco when we arrived

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a comfortable walk back!

    It’s beautiful, very bohemian and relaxing. View from our room was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was super small and the bed was very uncomfortable

    The location is beautiful, and the hotel look like a paradise...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect ! Shuttle service into town was a bonus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great. The room and property were exactly what we expected. Wonderful hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was outstanding, super helpful and friendly. They went extra miles to ensure we had best conditions to relax and enjoy Sorrento :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff ans shuttle driver excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: