Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Greta 2 stars

Via Leonardo Da Vinci 46, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#43 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 941 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing not to like here as long as you can meet the demands of hills and steps

    Hotel of great character in an outstanding setting, helpful and friendly staff ( retrieved a handbag we left in a taxi). The beach deal (transport pus sun bed etc) was great value. Taormina is an extraordinary place and this hotel was ideal for our visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel stay far from city center. We had to pay 8 euros to oarking in the hotel parking. They did not pass split the bill when we did the check-out. Breakfast is not so good and food ran on out in less than 1 hour.

    View and room facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many steps from street to accomodation and from room to dinning for each meal. Not suitable if you have knee or leg issues.

    Great views over Taormina.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed upgrading. There were steep steps everywhere which were quirky but made it difficult to get in and out with our cases.

    Beautiful views, comfortable beds, friendly staff. Lovely garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had chosen the room with balcony and sea and mountain views, and it was fabulous, a decent size balcony and simply breathtaking views, and our room was wonderful - bright and light with a super comfy bed and lovely bed linen. Dinner at the hotel was also very good. We don't usually eat in hotels, but had read that the food here was good and it was!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Taormina is challenging unless you are super-fit.

    Terrific views Excellent breakfast with savoury alternatives Good evening meals Friendly staff Would definitely return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps to climb but this is to be expected because of location of hotel. Walk back from Taormina was quite hilly. But then you have the fantastic views.

    Quirky hotel, built on steep the hillside. Lovely views and nice places to sit outside. Great views of Etna and the sea. Flowers everywhere. Room was nice and enough room. Good breakfast with sweet and savoury choices, plenty to eat. also could park our car on th e street near the hotel for free. Could easily walk into Taormina in less than 15 mins.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    two small minus - is position up to Taormina and is not easy to go to Taormina (10 min by food) with the stroller due to the stairs. (but the rest pay this small minus) - mattresses. Somehow we could feel the the springs

    Room space, view and position, children welcome, restaurant, friendly staff, clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked at the last min, and turned up 30 mins later to be greeted by a friendly receptionist. Set near the top of Taormina the hotel's bar offered a spectacular view of the bay, the decor is a little quirky but has a great relaxed feel to the place. Room was as it looked in the photos. As with many places, there is not much car parking but if you arrive at the bottom of the hotel look for a space near the half-finished hotel, we were able to leave there for 2 days. Great find in a wonderful town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of noise from the other rooms (upper floor and next door).

    Mind-blowing view from our private balcony. Very warm hosts, and fluent in English. Delicious, buffet for breakfast, included into the room price. Location is 10min walk to Taormina main street. Internet connection (in the hotel restaurant only). Free parking in the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was outside town up on a hill. It is a pensione (B&B) not a hotel. The price is too high for what is on offer. The property is on several floors with many flights of stairs to get to the reception, rooms, or out of the building. Not suitable for disabled guests. The breakfast was not good. A few bread rolls and sliced cheese or cooked ham. The coffee was undrinkable - we chose not to go down and ate breakfast out. The shower would run either very hot, or very cold so needed to keep moving away from the water during your shower. There is no parking close by. You need to get a bus into town as it is about a mile outside up a steep climb. All in all we wont stay in Villa Greta again and cant recommend it.

    The views were amazing and staff were very friendly and helpful. It is an old building and very quirky for the able bodied guest. Beautiful orchids and pot plants dotted around the property added to the enjoyment of the stay. The food at dinner is so good, pricey but exeptional - recommend the fillet steak, it cut like butter and was so tender.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who served breakfast was very "cold" looked over every move we took... We felt like we were in a prison or school. the many steps in the hotel might cause difficulty to some.

    The food at the hotel was divine. Very well done to the chef. The view at the hotel is divine also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our staying here was perfect. The owner helped us a lot and parked our car in the hotel parking. It is a peculiar hotel since it has several floors and it kind of remind us a laberynth, but in a positive way :). The views are stunning; and if you are lucky you can see the Etna. The breakfast is varied and with good quality. The staff are very nice and make you feel at home. The hotel is near the city centre (10 minutes more or less). You have to have in mind that Taormina is in the hillside of a mountain so it has steep streets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Terras in front of our room, breakfast was amazing, bed was good, loved the house cat Sylvio, easy to go to the centre (went down with the stairs, up with the bus)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism I have is the lack of WiFi in the guest rooms. There was good WiFi in the restaurant and we were welcome to sit there whenever we wanted (7-11), but we would have preferred access in our room.

    The staff was amazingly helpful and here are two examples. One of the tours I had booked canceled and when I booked a new tour, I needed to print my voucher. The man on duty quickly took care of it without hesitation. We had a flight out of Catania early in the morning and the staff arranged for a driver to take us and since we were leaving before breakfast hours, they prepared a tray for our room so we wouldn’t leave hungry. The room was very nice and the bathroom facilities were recently renovated. (Rain shower head in a roomy shower, double sinks and two large drawers to hold toiletries). But the most amazing part we’re the views. They were absolutely spectacular; the town below, the sea, and of course, Mt. Etna.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are a lot of steps around this property as it sits on a hill. Choose wisely if you are an elderly couple. This also goes for getting to the city centre - wherein I recommend you catch a bus. (3.8€) or taxi (15€). The bathrooms look tired and dated with some cracks but clean nonetheless. Food at the hotel is somewhat expensive.

    Views were amazing and the place was generally clean. Staff were also friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the pillows were uncomfortable which caused me to wake up a lot - this is not an issue for me as I had one small bag but there is no lift.

    - The view from our room was breathtaking - The bathroom was huge - The bedroom was nice - We had a lot of towels and soaps - the breakfast was very good - the view from the breakfast room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there in February and it was a bit chilly, nothing we couldn’t handle with a sweater, and we didn’t complain. More consistent heating would have been nice. WiFi was available in the reception area.

    Outstanding views from our balcony. Great bed. Quiet. Fantastic breakfast. We enjoyed the location but we both enjoy walking and didn't mind the climb from town. We arrived by bus and walked 20 minutes uphill to the hotel. Fortunately we had backpack straps on our small suitcases otherwise I recommend taking a taxi. We were able to walk to Madonna Della Roca and beyond to Castelmola from the hotel. We ate in the excellent restaurant only once but like everywhere else in Taormina, it was pricey. There is a good supermarket in Taormina not too far from the hotel, near Porto Catania.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and tidy. The owner is very kind . Also they prepared very delicious breakfast for us. Good experience here with beautiful landscapes of mountains and sea sights

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was the fact that there was no hot water available due to a malfunction in the gas system. Unfortunately, these are things that happen.

    The Hotel is situated in a panoramic environment overlooking Etna and also the picturesque view of Giardini Naxos below Taormina.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance part can be a bit tricky, there is a top entrance and a bottom one. Communicate with hosts beforehand.

    The view from the balcony is breathtaking morning and night. Breakfast was delicious, and hosts were gracious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s just worth noting there isn’t a lobby, rather the dining area is available for sitting and accessing the WiFi.

    The view was phenomenal, and hotel has a lovely charm, coupled with perfectly clean and appointed rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some flaws exist, which could have been better: the shower seemed a bit dated, but we should keep in mind that it's just a 2 star hotel. From that point of view it was excellent value for money.

    Amazing view!!!! Rich breakfast which is extraordinary for Italy. Heating was on during winter which is great,in southern europe. I liked also the details, like the free book corner and the location (10min. Walk to city center and maybe 15 to greek roman theater)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived the receptionist told us to find parking 500 meters up from the entrance. Being from NY we had no idea what 500 meter is. We kept driving up and finally saw one of the staff members standing outside which is when we stopped. There is no parking lot, he told us to park on the road. This took only a few minutes, but we were expecting a lot to pull up to.

    The rooms were clean, the staff helped us with our luggage as there were several flights of stairs to our room. I certainly would not let the stair be a deal breaker, because there are endless flight of stairs in Taormina. We booked a room with a sea view, it was absolutely mesmerizing both in the morning and at night. The staff were super helpful, there is a restaurant right next to the B&B by same owner. I suggest have dinner there, food is good and you have an amazing view as you eat. Overall super happy with my stay here, definitely would come back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The room was very clean and very spacious. the view from our room was breathtaking. The bathroom was extremely large too! Breakfast was good. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was fantastic, wonderful view. The food was traditionally Sicilian, I loved the red prawns and orange. The staff are so kind and generous with their time. Comfortable beds and a great breakfast...with a view. Loved the location on the hill. Excellent exercise, enjoy the view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You're only a ten minute walk down sets of stairs to the center of town. Walking back up those stairs is something of a chore. It's not self-evident how you get from the train station to the hotel by bus. And the taxi was 25 euros for a ten minute ride! (you cannot walk it). But you can take a bus back to the train station fairly easily

    good breakfast, good location, spectacular views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is a bit difficult to get to from the train. Honestly if you took the train, give up on the bus and just go for the cab outside. The view is more than worth it!

    Breath taking view of the most beautiful city in Sicily. The staff were very friendly and I was lucky enough to get one of the rooms with its own balcony. Waking up to the view of the sea is an amazing experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shortest way to go to town in the evening was going down the steps, but it was hectic going back up later.

    Room very comfortable and cosy with a nice view. I appreciated the fact that there was an electric kettle in the room. Breakfast satisfactory.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little bit modernizing, no wifi on the room (it's a must today)

    We liked the green and the amazing view. It's recommendable to have a car available

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would like to have wifi in room. Nice staffer gave us bad information on public bus connection so we ended up having to take a later and longer bus to Catania

    View is spectacular, staff very nice, breakfasts excellent, bed comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It might be because we visited in the cold season but the rooms are a bit moldy. Especially the bathroom. This could be fixed with proper ventilation. The bed is not very comfortable, being made of two single mattresses, but they do specify this in the room description. It's not near the center, but a nice walk on side alleys.

    The rooms have some of the best views you can get in Taormina, both with the volcano and with the sea! The cleaning lady is doing a great job, everything is spotless! All the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfat is poor, the owner lady was a bit rude. We requested a late check-out, and the Hotel approved it in e-mail, but the owner lady called us twice, that we have to leave the room immediately...

    The wiev is beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not convenient to get to the hotel by public transport, the period of bus is one and half hours. I got to Taormina by train, took blue bus to the bus termini and walked half hour to hotel. Otherwise, I shall wait for about one hour at train station to take Line Verdi (an orange bus) which can directly go to hotel.

    got a single room with a balcony and enjoyed great sea and mountain view. The breakfast is healthy and good enough. The stuff in the hotel is helpful, answered questions quickly and timely before I went there and stayed there. The bed is comfortable and I enjoyed really good sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not solo traveller oriented at all. I got breakfast seats with little view despite there were free seats with much better one. But it was highly compensated by the breathtaking balcony scenery in the room.

    Amazing view. Very convenient bus stop location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We liked it all, the only thing that could have consummated our joy would have been to witness Etna having one of its periodic eruptions right in front of us

    Carved out of the cliff the hotel is fairly central but is on five floors with steep steps between them, so one just has to accept that Taormina, built on a mountainside, is a resort of steep steps and stairs, so it is not for the lame or the frail, but other than that this is an extremely pleasant family-run hotel, the rooms have sun-trap balconies with spectacular views of Mt Etna, and the owners and staff could not have been more kind and helpful - Taormina is an expensive resort but the Villa Greta provides excellent value

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hard to think of something..our shades were not black-out shades and that would have been nice.

    The staff was well informed and helpful. The property and accommodation fabulous. The location was wonderful,stairs down to town 5-10 min walking distance... easy from there to all important sites. We walked to the beach too. It's quite steep on the way back. We are relatively fit, but had no trouble.. Breakfast was delicious and breakfast room lovely with view of the Sea and Mt Etna.. Staff helped with carrying luggage and greeted us, helping to find a very close, safe parking spot. Terrace, breakfast room and our own room had amazing views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -cold breakfast

    -loved the view, you can have breakfast with Etna in front of you; -nice walks down to the centre -two sinks in the bathroom!! amazing!! -very clean -cosy terase to sit and enjoy your time -safe parking -friendly staff -cosy atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Was the warm and personal greeting and their helpfulness explaining how to get around etc. you felt valued by the family who were operating it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villa Greta was up very high and you had a 10minute walk down steps to the centre. The staff was great. Alexander parked the car and carried both suit cases to our room. No trouble to make a coffee at anytime. The restaurant was great and acknowledge our friend's birthday with a bottle of champagne. It was very wet so not able to climb Mt Etna but certainly enjoyed all other attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The evenings were a bit too cool for us to eat on the rooftop terrace which was a shame, but maybe next time!

    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, we loved having a terrace to look out over the sea and to mount Etna, and being able to enjoy an early evening aperitif there!.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the welcome from our hosts was pleasant, we thought from some of the previous reviews that it might be more friendly, with it being a family run place. Not quite as chatty or approachable as we expected, but then perhaps that's because they like to leave their guests enough space and not bother them, which is perfectly understandable. Not a big deal! The location, cleanliness and nice rooms (and exceedingly spacious bathrooms - 2 sinks!) more than makes up for it. It's a little tricky to navigate to on first arrival. In the end, once dropped at the Taormina bus terminal, we got a taxi for 10 euros up to the villa. Would very much recommend doing that (best to pick up a taxi in the square - if you pre-order its another 5 euros on top).

    The location is incredible and the view of the bay on ones side and volcano on the other is stunning. The restaurant is amazing too, roof top and beautiful perched right at the top of the villa.. try the seafood gnocchi - it's to die for! If you'd like to know more about Taormina generally, please feel free to read my blog at http://nuggetsofsunshine.co.uk/2017/09/simple-pleasures-in-achingly-expensive-taormina-and-stunning-savoca-sicily/ (although the town is expensive, mainly for food and drinks, the accommodation was comparatively very reasonably priced).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome view, helpful friendly staff, delicious breakfast. If you walk up/down there are stairs that are short cuts to main Taormina street. Lovely city, didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free internet but connection in rooms was a bit patchy because of the location - ok outside and in the dining area. The hotel is above the main part of the old town, but it's only a 10 minute walk down and the walk back up is not too taxing - plenty of buses go past if you don't fancy walking.

    Very helpful staff. Breath-taking views from the patio and public areas. Generous selection for breakfast as part of room rate. We had a very good evening meal in the restaurant one night of our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited internet in room but not a huge problem. Unfortunately no other restaurants or bars in close proximity.

    Amazing views, very helpful reception staff. Bus stop just outside entrance. Restaurant food was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really can't be helped but parking is a problem, though not the hotel's fault.

    The rooftop restaurant was a very pleasant surprise. Really great meals and top notch service. I have found Italy spotty for really good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about Hotel Villa Greta.

    We loved having a balcony with a breathtaking view. We enjoyed the delicious dinner at the patio restaurant. Very romantic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was a bit old, the bathroom was quite moldy/dirty. Also walking uphill from town is do-able but quite heavy. Breakfast was a bit early, but that's probably just me (until 9:30) and there wasn't really something to do around the hotel in the evenings (have a drink or something, they close down around 10) so you'd have to go to the town, but it's very lively and fun there!

    We had a large balcony, the view from the hotel was amazing (Etna and Giardini Naxos), nice bed and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, we have been before and will go again

    The rooms are wonderful, very clean, comfortable, the pool is a welcome addition, along with the fridge freezer supplying water and ice lollies :-) Theresa and Clive are on hand to make your stay hassle free, they are attentive but discreet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing view on Etna and Taormina. The hotel has a good value for money in Taormina. The owner is not really welcoming her guests. However, most of the other staff is really friendly and very helpful in case of questions and tour bookings etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stairs. They did not have a single room for me. So I stayed in a bigger room 2 nights then I had to move the last night

    Staff were so friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms decoration and condition and showers a little lacking in lustre and sad but ok. One had to chase up for decent espresso or cappuccino as only other coffee as part of the buffet was served in a thermos and therefore not good.

    The hotel is lovely if one wants a family run comfortable classical design style hotel which we love. It tumbles in terraces just above the centre of Taormina down the hill over several stories. The bed rooms were really simple, calm, cool and quiet with great air con, comfortable beds and wonderful cotton sheets with lovely views out to sea and over to Etna, The staff were very friendly, welcoming, attentive and helpful. The roof restaurant has a fantastic view down over Taormina and out to sea and the quality of service, food and wine were good, the bruschetta and anything with the incredible tomatoes delicious. The buffet breakfast spread in the lovely lower dining room also with spectacular views was much better than previously experienced in other hotels in Taormina but not the best so far in Sicily where I have travelled and stayed regularly over the last five years whilst doing up a property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very small bathroom that wasn't working properly compared to the prize of the room. I guess you pay mostly the prize cause of its location

    great area, nice view, friendly hosts

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to get to the hotel - this is inevitable though. Plus the view you get from the top makes it worth every step :)

    Amazing views, excellent breakfast, comfortable rooms, great value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    0. Oh sorry leaving.

    I could go on and on. Maybe you think I have after this. The best people you will ever deal with. In fact other hotels should send staff here to learn how to be so welcoming to all guests. From the cleaners to the owners. 10/10. The food here was the best we had in our time in the area. The views well they are simply amazing. The local knowledge offered to planning your trips ! To both Elanor, Alasandro, and the staff Thank you we had a blast. xxx

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very basic and the doorlocks may require some renovation. It's a 2-star though, so don't expect anything too fancy. It's very clean though.

    From Villa Greta's breakfast terrace you get an amazing view on the sea and the surrounding bay, which is great to start the day. Thumbs up for the staff, too: very friendly and smiley and they make you feel at home. Cherry on top of the cake: for only 8EUR day/p.p you get the beach package (shuttle and sunbed/parasol), which is almost free, if you consider how pricey the area is.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Male staff were a bit sour - no smiles at all 2. Distance from the historical centre 3. Parking on the street - although I understand it is safe 4. Wifi not good from the room - although I understand it is available in common areas. But for a hotel of this type, wifi should have been in the rooms and it does not cost much more 5. Small cramped bathroom. I can't get in without knocking myself against the shower doors

    1. Breakfast is OK. Need to have more hot food for a rated hotel 2. View from the hotel and rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not aware of how many stairs there were and that it was on the outskirts of Taormina

    Beds comfortable, lovely view from the balcony. Everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the property was great. Short downhill walk into town but a bit of a hike back up with small children. Bus schedule seemed inconsistent so walking was how we got around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful property with great facilities and the best view of Taormina, Etna and beyond! Alessandro looks after your comfort and accomodation whilst Salvatore and Helena ensure your dining experience is perfect. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful...sorry for not remembering the hostess's name. This place is a true gem and so are the wonderful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast service could have been more proactive e.g. juice ran out and not replenished before finishing breakfast. Parking on-site very limited but street parking available

    Bedroom good - lovely small balcony with stunning views over Taormina and Etna. Breakfast was typically Sicilian and ample choice with fresh fruit. Very clean. Good food in the evening but narrow choice. Located a bit out of town - easy walk down but not back, though there is a bus from the bus station which stops right outside. Don't get a taxi back - charged 15 euros!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I did not appreciate to discover that we have had to pay twice the price for one night as if we were 4 persons.

    We first booked a room for 2 days in the same Villa Greta. We have already answered your inquiry (in french) For personnal reasons we asked for coming one day before and obtained another bedroom which is the one that we presently evaluate. The capacity of tis room is 4 persons. We appreciated it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water, like the WiFi, were intermittent at best.

    Incredible views from the balcony. 10 min walk to centre of Taormina. Really tasty restaurant for dinner if you don't fancy the walk down and back up the hill from town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great attention to detail, staff were excellent, dinner was an amazingly high standard, superb presentation and quality - the best of the holiday. The view from the room and restaurant across the bay with Etna in the background was stunning. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought that it was mean to charge us for sitting down for our evening meal when we were staying at the hotel and because of this we didn't eat there again 👎

    Very happy atmosphere very helpful with taking our suitcases down flights of stairs to our room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps but no lift. Tiny, leaky shower, water temperature was awful. Shutter on door broken, light came through. Distance from Taormina, no buses from early evening, long uphill climb or €15 for taxi back.

    Views were good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the hotel is narrow and it's very difficult to stop long enough to take out your bags. One of the staff parked our car nearby, we had reserved a spot for that in advance.

    The hotel is set into the cliff side above Taormina. There are many flights of stairs to climb and this could be difficult for some people. There is a great view over the city and towards Mt Etna. The restaurant was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views were absolutely out of this world, staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful Breakfast was really nice Pleasure to stay there and will be back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The metal blind in our room didn't move from the position in which we found it. Taormina is a confusing place so a good map on the wall in the hall or as a handout would help.

    We enjoyed having all evening meals there because of the food and the views. Particular trouble was taken to provide gluten free food for one of us. The door of our room opened onto an attractive terrace where we could sit and read. The library is a good idea. The staff made all arrangements very easy for us. None of the above descriptions of the decor applies but we found the room pleasantly neutral and the dining room contrastingly characterful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely sun terrace. Unfortunately it wasn't very clear that it was private, despite a notice saying so, and a few other guests thought it was a public space and wandered around. A small gate would have been useful. Not a big deal but worth bearing in mind.

    Good choice for breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Great views of Etna. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would love to have had a mirror in the room, plenty of wall space to have one. The only mirror is in the bathroom, which was a very narrow room and with two people, it's just a bit difficult for both to get ready to go out. The water in the shower went from cold to hot to cold - back & forth during the entire shower. Not a problem, but something to be aware of. There was also a sewer odor in the bath the entire time.

    The view of both the Sea and Mt. Etna was wonderful. We liked the fact that it was located up higher in the City, out of the heavy traffic. Parking is available to some extent. The owner was very helpful with suggestions and with parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I open the window or door of the room, view was perfect! however, the room was not spacious enough for us. it was difficult to open and lay my luggage on the floor. Room should be a little bigger for us 4 people was hard in that small room. bathroom toliet flush had some problem so that we had to fix it. and the drawer was broken, it doesn't really matter for us. but. not a good image. However breakfast was just wonderful!

    Breakfast was perfect! delicious food such as all different types of delicious cakes. boiled eggs, tomatoes, cucumbers, apples, oranges, pears, yogurt, cereals with milk, cheese, hams, croissants, etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was non-working, even when there was signal.

    View was amazing, at the coast and Etna also. From a balcony you will have Taormina in your hand. Host is very friendly, he draw us a walk tour to city centre on a city map. He helped us with motorcycle parking. Breakfast was above average of Italian breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    TO PARK THE CAR IN THE HOTEL PARKING THE RECEPTIONIST TOLD US TO LEAVE THE CAR KEYS WITH HIM CAUSE HE HAD TO PARK THE CAR.

    THE LOCATION. MOST OF ALL THE VIEW

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Mountain and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound travels between rooms so a light sleeper may be kept awake. Wifi works in limited areas. Lots of stairs may be a deterrent to some, but we didn't mind the exercise.

    Views of the water and MT Etna. Staff are friendly and helpful. Close enough to walk to all attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Villa Greta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: