Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica

Via Empolese 69, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy

#17 of 35 hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 88 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    This Villa was a good place for a 3 night stay in Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room did not have any good views and the villa does not have elevators but the staff did help carry our bags to the room when we arrived. The matresses were very hard and we noticed what a big differnce it was when we went to our next hotel which had memory foam toppers on the matress making our sleep experience much more comfrotable. Also there was a problem with my husband being locked out of the grounds as he had to go out to retrieve something from our car and he ruined an expensive pair of pants climbing the wall to get back in. When he walked out to the car the gates were open and when he returned they were locked . There is no buzzer or call system to get back into the property.

    The place is a nice retreat after a busy day of sightseeing, The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. The breakfast has a nice selection of healthy appetizing foods and the servers are happy to bring a cappacino to your table. The breakfast room is very pleasant & one has the option to take food outside,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Great value for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful - gave us excellent advise on Firenze. we got a free Upgrade. room and bathroom were beautiful. Views were excellent. The decor was excellent. Easy to find and close to Florence

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    A romantic, elegant and cozy substitute for your own home in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (no. 2) was located rather near the breakfast room and a happy group of American tourists on their way to Siena woke us up rather early in the morning. Our breakfast, though, was excellent!

    Villa Il Poggiale is an 18th century mansion purchased by a wealthy Turin family soon after the 2nd world war and then converted into a hotel by their sons, some 10-15 years ago. As you enter the premises you have the impression of being in a private house, not just a hotel, and this is true all around the place, making your stay really special. From the common areas to the private bedroom, furniture is never "pompous", but always marked by a very fine touch of good taste. We stayed only one night and weather was not friendly, so couldn't enjoy the outer grounds properly: we could only have a short stroll around, but it was enough to say that the place is worth returning soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    The hotel is an oasis of relaxation and tranquility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is an oasis of relaxation and tranquility. Particularly after a day of hustle and awesome impressions in Florence. The location is just wonderful. So is the building and so are the rooms. Very friendly staff, excellent kitchen and good amenities. Like sipping from a glass of wine and watching sunset over the grapevines on the terrace. We will be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful villa with fantastic restaurant; a treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would recommend trying to stay in a room upstairs, as we had one downstairs originally and there was no view. Also the hotel is near a road, however, this didn't disturb us.

    This hotel is amazing! It is the ex-summer house of an Italian family, and you feel like you are staying as their guest. The staff show you around, the house is beautiful, and the garden and views across the valley are stunning, particularly sunset. The room had a four poster bed, beautiful old bathroom and was very comfortable. There is an honesty bar - with chianti wine - and a fantastic restaurant for residents only. If you come for one thing only, come for the food. It is fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Wished we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a tad outside of nearest town, but short drive by car.

    Romantic villa and room. Large bath and shower/tub. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite without asking. Breakfast buffet was included and was excellent. Beautiful vineyard/mountain views from pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Peaceful villa with gorgeous views and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful villa with gorgeous views and food! Loved opera in the kitchen and learning to make pasta with Anna! The tour with Marco was also brilliant!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Villa Il Poggiale Dimora Storica was peaceful and memorable for a family of 4 adults on 28 May 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not something we did not like (i.e., we liked everything). We had no issue with lack of elevator because our family members are very mobile and the staff transported our luggage.

    Our family of 4 adults stayed only 1 night (Sunday 28 May 2017, 89F/31.7C) in an air-conditioned, second (top) floor 2-bedroom, 2-bath apartment with wood-beamed ceilings and full kitchen/dining area. Parking was available in an open orchard opposite the gated entrance after we unloaded our vehicle at the front doorsteps of the villa. The villa does not have an elevator so there were 4 flights of stairs to deal with. Fortunately the villa provided staff to carry luggage to our apartment upon arrival and to our vehicle upon departure. The office receptionist was friendly, spoke English very well, made checkin and checkout easy, and gave us a helpful introduction to the villa property and its amenities. The villa was wonderfully quiet, peaceful, and serene. We agree with one of the villa’s brochures that states the owners (Vitta family) and this holiday-home-turned-hotel preserve the harmony and elegance of a patrician Tuscan country mansion. Although we wish we had been able to stay longer, we felt lucky that we stayed Sunday because it was far quieter with far fewer guests (especially smokers) than other days. We had our choice sitting anywhere (e.g., chaise loungers at poolside, loungers on a pebbly area in front of a lawn surrounded by orchard, tables overlooking the pool and the orchard, and tables on a very large second floor outdoor patio facing east towards the small towns of Il Bardella and Gentilino). The pool and eating areas have westward views of the countryside, with the clock tower of San Quirico in Collina (at Via Della Chiesa, 34) visible 2 miles (3.3km) away. Fewer guests meant easy access to the honor bar for drinks that we took to poolside, absolutely no lines for a delicious breakfast included, and our choice of table on the outdoor breakfast patio. We could also freely use any of the numerous “reading” rooms throughout the villa.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Magical Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One word MAGICAL comes to my mind. Amazing vies , beautiful amazingly romantic villa with great art effects, boos and furnishings . It is like visiting a special friend's house . Small group of people personable and very friendly staff. Monica is a lovely manager with a beautiful smile welcomes you always. You leave this place with the desire and hope to come back. Very close to stunning vineyards and vine tours. Like Vinnemagio. I will return pver and over again time to time. I ❤️❤️ this place. Thank you Villa Pogialle! Ps: : Also I had my little guy small silky terrier with me . Everyone was friendly and kind to him . Made my trip all themore pleasent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    This was a charming hotel, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to leave so soon

    This was a charming hotel, very clean. Staff was really helpfull. We had a Suite and our kids enjoy the space, we even had our private terrace... The breakfast was really complete, the views from the house are amazing... really all was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed two nights and the first night we were in room 2 opposite the kitchen. It was very noisy in the evening and in the morning. They moved us to a new room in for the next night.

    Staff were very friendly. Pool is fantastic. Rooms are nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    Relax at Villa il Poggiale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had been recommended the Villa Il Poggiale by our son and daughter in law who had spent sometime there while on honeymoon in Italy 2 years ago. We weren't disappointed - everything wonderful. The accommodation, the facilities and especially the staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them. It was actually my 60th Birthday while I was there and they made it very special. It is more expensive but a real treat.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The rooms were beautiful, the views are outstanding and the food is so good in the evenings that you will never venture out anywhere else

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    This is an amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an amazing place. Ideal for a quiet relaxing break whilst exploring the beautiful countryside of Tuscany.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Weekend in totale relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nulla

    Location, staff. Pulizia , Spa

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes noise from the road

    Honesty bar, terrace, pool, views and local walks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huge bathroom with useless bath in the middle. Entrance to the room via reception room with separate entrance from outside.

    Very good dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    A wonderful few days in an idyllic villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Very beautiful, restful, elegant, comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    absolutely everything
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    absolutely everything best place we stay on our holiday !!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Exquisite situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exquisite situation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.0
    dont ask
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    smell of room

    nice view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Everything was great. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Luxurious stay in an historic villa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful old villa with large tooms furnished with antiques. Loved the honesty bar and beautiful drawing room. Fantastic views.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.3
    Accommodating staff, great food (dinner & wine),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from street cars next to villa was the only negative. Breakfast was okay (seems to cater to basic German tourists).

    Accommodating staff, great food (dinner & wine), excellent price-to-value.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    6.3
    The view is very beautiful, food is really fasty with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms was very cold and the heating didn't work. Also had ants in the rooms.

    The view is very beautiful, food is really fasty with varieties of local produced products. Staff was very welcoming and nice to us.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    7.9
    The villa is beautiful, staff are helpful, bed was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The coffee was really poor, expected high quality in Italy. The shower was handheld in the open bathtub in the middle of the bathroom so water splashed everywhere which was very annoying n dangerous

    The villa is beautiful, staff are helpful, bed was very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    7.1
    The surroundings were amazing, and the villa itself too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I´ve never had in my life such a bad service. It concerned only one person there, but it was enough to spoil the whole holiday. She was arrogant, upset if I dared to say, that the bathtub was out of order, I had to ask it three times before they fixed it, She tried to charge more for dinner as was agreed and finally she tried to charge 10 times more, as was the price. And when I asked the money back, she threw it on the desk and I never heard the word sorry. And finally even not the Arrivederci.

    The surroundings were amazing, and the villa itself too.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.3
    very nice atmosphere, traditional building, hotel near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    i would not recommend the rooms near the kitchen if you prefer to sleep longer in the morning, WLAN (at least my connection) does not work in all rooms properly, breakfast ok but nothing special, private parties of other guests after midnight

    very nice atmosphere, traditional building, hotel near highway connection with marvellous view over the countryside

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.3
    The sorroubding sate very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room was too close to a road with traffic, so it was noisy. We specifically request a quiet room and no prior notice about this was given to us.

    The sorroubding sate very nice.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful location, attentive service, the Villa itself is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    On a hot summer day, the rooms were not sufficiently air conditioned.

    Beautiful location, attentive service, the Villa itself is amazing. Makes you wonder what sort of history and people went through the place.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been God to have ironing facilities in the room.

    The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The location and view was stunning. The food was also excellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    6.3
    Dinner was not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was not good...staff gave us a discount, thank goodness..not a good value

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful estate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too far from central Florence

    Beautiful estate

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.3
    Very nice room,beautiful villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed too short,very slow service at dinner

    Very nice room,beautiful villa

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    It's the very nice place you would definitely want to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's the very nice place you would definitely want to come back.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    Friendly, helpful and warm staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly, helpful and warm staff Good food at great value Fantastic location and view

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    the villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    slow internet

    the villa

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    The speed of the wifi could be improved - far too slow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The speed of the wifi could be improved - far too slow.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    Lovely villa, great staff and close to Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None!

    Lovely villa, great staff and close to Florence. Great location from which to explore the Tuscany region. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    Great staff wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff wonderful place to stay

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    Beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful surroundings

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    6.3
    Nice location and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little too quite.

    Nice location and nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    6.3
    Good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel gave preference to big groups

    Good food

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: