Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Lauri 3 stars

Via Fausoni 7, 12052 Neive, Italy

#9 of 20 hotels in Neive

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 298 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This has nothing to do with the hotel- but Italians love their dogs. Moreover, they seem to love keeping them outside, often all night long so that the barking fills the air with less than pleasant cacophony. We wanted badly to keep our windows open to let the cool breath wash over us but had to close them b/c of the dog barking. Again, nothing that the hotel can do (but maybe cut a deal with the locals to shut their dogs up!).

    Okay- so, on the one hand, I want to give this place an insanely high review. On the other, I want to keep it a secret. We literally had this whole place to ourselves, staying at the Suite, the Barolo Room, on the top floor looking out at Piemonte. Ines, one of the hosts, took excellent care of us, laying out a beautiful breakfast every morning and giving great recommendations. The owner was also incredibly sweet and chill. The town up the hill, Neive, is among the most beautiful of all the small villages. We know this b/c we visited almost every one of them in the area. They also have several world class restaurants. All in all, since there are no secrets in the modern age anyway, this is the best place to stay in Piemonte to hop from area to area, drinking and eating your way through Northern Italy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and views from the rooms were absolutely spectacular. The room was spacious and comfortable and super clean. The staff were extremely friendly and recommended fabulous dinner and wine tasting spots.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for exploring the Piedmont area. Quiet area and in walking distance to the village. We enjoyed having breakfast on the terrace. The staff are helpful and welcoming. The restaurant located next to the villa has a selection of excellent wines and delicious food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud. Unable to sleep due to restaurant just below us, barking dogs, and cigarette smoke drifting through windows. Air conditioning wasn't functioning. One staff member not very friendly at all..

    Beautiful scenery and walking distance to Neive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and the soft feather pillows could use an update.

    Great location...in the vineyards and a stone's throw from a great medieval town....Neive Quiet hotel, quick access to some of the best Italian wineries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI was slow, continental breakfast was good, but no eggs, not enough parking on secured ground, but parking outside the property available

    Room was big, but noisy Restaurant available outside the hotel fairly good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was looking forward to swimming as I swim everday at home. But the steps out of the pool made it for me impossible to swim which was a big disappointment because ths was one of the reasons we went to the hotel. My husband whom is very fit, said I would not be able to get out of the pool because he already had to struggle .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is and old style Italian villa, not renovated recently.

    Book the junior suit as hit has a fantastic terasse with two sun beds and a fantastic view of Nieve and the landscape. Great breakfast. Nieve is a very small but nice village that you can easily walk to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Shower was ok but a little too small. We missed a few extra's with breakfast as eggs, a bigger variety of bread and more local products. Coffee was excellent.

    Top location in the middle of the Piemonte's best wineyards. Exceptional friendly, very clean and very kind, warm hearted owner and staff through the hole holiday. Very good ratio price/quality. Also very good restaurant with terrace at the ground level. (other management and not expensive) One step away from Neive village. Worthwhile a visit for it's cellars and restaurants. Hotel was very clean and quiet. Safe parking area at the hotel. Try the Aperol Sprits!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi reception at the pool was not great. Limited tv channels in English

    Very nice hotel with great views. A nice breakfast is also included. Rooms are very clean and spacious. We stayed for 5 days while visiting the local wineries. This hotel served as a great hub as it's central in the wine region. At night we could go up to neive for dinner which was also great. The rooms have air conditioning which was quite pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything we expected and more.

    We loved it all. In fact, we are still here as we extended it 2 more days. Everything is fabulous, staff, room, hostess,location, views!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was the perfect location for walking to the old, walled town of Neive. It was also perfect as a refuge from tourist crowds within the walls! Our room was elegant, and we had our own courtyard for enjoying a glass of wine or a snack. Our hostess provided directions for a lovely walk along the edge of beautiful fields of grape vines.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, everyone were super sweet to our little kiddos. Property is set at the starting point for the Neive to Barbaresco walk (among wineries) - an absolute must do with gorgeous scenery!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for our wine tour of Piemonte. The sigñora was very accommodating with our broken Italian. She had wonderful recommendations for dinner in Neive, as well as shopping (not why we were here, but we found beautiful textiles in nearby town for trip keepsake).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has lots of more potential. The place missed a garden, all outside space was either parking or paved road without a real function. The swimming pool was hidden behind a fence, no integration with the hotel. Although the place looks good, the renovation has resulted in a "cheap" old fashioned style hotel rather than a boutique hotel with traditional elements. A lot of wasps around and no efforts were made to prevent them; on the contrary they fed the wasps to distract them from the breakfast tables.

    Breakfast was great and complete. Good coffee at breakfast. Service of the staff was good. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small shower that didn't work too well; poor wifi. Suggestion(!): Paint lines in the car park so that guests make the most of the limited space.

    The ladies running the place were welcoming and helpful with a family friendly attitude; decent rooms and breakfast for the rate; lovely breakfast terrace; wonderful views and a pleasure to dip in the small but refreshing pool at the end of the day. Decent restaurant downstairs (separate from the hotel).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving😉

    A calm nice place in walking distance from both old and new Neive. Nice and clean room and bathroom. Great view to Barbaresco from swimmingpool. Helpful and smiling staff. Good parking area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably a bit too expensive given the type of room and location.

    Very clean and conveniently located within walking distance from Neive centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Delicious breakfast, better than some 5star hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast below average

    large room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    should have ramp leveled for luggage

    Location for scheduled wine tours

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The internet could have worked better.

    Perfect location, nice small hotell, good rooms, good beds, very friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Get the Barolo room with huge terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have apreciated a fresh country breakfest in such a natural place

    Very warm welcoming by owner. A cozy and quiet place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greatest

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Commodious and well-equipped room. Very fine breakfast (for Italy). Nice views and a sort walk up the hill to the town center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, breakfast, big room and shower, air-conditioning

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely little gem of a hotel that really we shouldn't let anyone else know about. Great welcome; lovely pool. Neive is bellissimo. X

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice view over the vineyards and a good restaurant in the building.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Waterboiler imissing in the room. A wine celler to buy from world be fine. More waterpressure in the shower world be nice. WiFi didn't work well.

    Location, swimming pool, Terrace, breakfast. Big wine glass available in the room.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The final sign leading to the hotel is a little hard to see. We initially missed it and had to turn around. Fortunately, the turnaround is less than 500 meters away. Very minor. Overall an AMAZING location, wonderful hotel and a great staff. We will stay here again.

    The owner was lovely and the view was amazing! Great location. Easy walking distance to Neive. The Jr Suite was perfect, with a balcony overlooking the town of Neive. The breakfast was filling and the owner requested an early serving for our departure the last day. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from our bedroom was just stunning. From the big windows in each room, you could see the pretty village of Neive and the vineyards. There is also a shared pool within the villa compound that overlooks the beautiful landscape - I would use it in the summer. When the hostress of the villa knew we had brought cheese and wine back for dinner one night, she gladly provided us with plates and wine glasses,napkins when all we had asked for was a knife!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We couldn't try the swiming pool because of otside temperatures - not the hotel's fault.

    Location not to far from historic Neive town -ca 10 min walk uphill- where you find many excellent restaurants. Good parking space for the car, this can be a problem in the centre up hill. Breakfast with choice between continental and Italian of good quality. Bed for our taste too hard, but that's common in Italy. Nice spacious room, with view on the wine hills. Good wifi connection.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have visited hotel Lauri for the 2nd time. Last time was 5 years ago, and it is still perfect and better. WIFI is very fast, nice swimming pool (which is rather new) and nice breakfast. It is a really relaxed place to stay with wonderful views. We will come again!

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had wine from the vineyard below our terrace, watched lightening from the terrace outside our room and were generally enchanted with the town and hotel. It is a short, uphill walk to the town center, but there are several delightful restaurants and kind people.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds were a bit hard and the free Wifi was pretty spotty in our room.

    The owner was delightful, accommodating and very helpful. Location was perfect just a 10 minute walk from the Nieve city center. Pastoral views out of the rooms are mesmerizing. Free breakfast was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good croissants. Good fruits for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small parking

    Within walking distance from Neive Nice view Quiet location

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly helpful hotel, comfortable stay, and super clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower stream could be better.

    The location is perfect if you travel with a car. Ten minutes walki from the Centro Storico and yet a free parking

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great view of the village from our room. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfy bed and spotlessly clean

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were not so comfortable.

    Nice and quiet place. Beautiful building. 500 m from the village. Free parking at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The people were delightful. The room was a sanctuary. The staff was very friendly and made us feel like it was our home. The views are lovely too.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good service from the staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quick walk (uphill) to Neive and free parking. Room was spotless and quiet.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Hotel Villa Lauri traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: