Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Le Rondini 4 stars

Via Bolognese Vecchia 224, 50139 Florence, Italy

#369 of 392 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 163 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Easy to get to center of Florence with a 20 Euro cab ride. Best of both worlds. We got to see Florence and the watch Florence from the hill top. Note to us Americans...you have to wear a swim cap in the pool. Whoops. Pool was awesome. Rooms were great. Staff was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Very basic rooms in a stunning location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic rooms away from the main house and therefore the facilities. No shower curtain. No tea/ coffee making facilities. Poor WiFi. Also, pool is open to non-residents making it busy at the weekend. However, this did not detract from our enjoyment of the pool area.

    Stunning views over Florence. Outstanding pool area- large pool, lots of naturally shaded sun beds and a lovely snack bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff, a good restaurant and a great pool area. But our room was dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was dirty, the floor was covered with a thick layer of dirt and dust as well as other peoples old food etc. The toilet was clean though.

    Nice hotel just outside Florence, friendly staff, a good restaurant and a great pool area with a view over Florence.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    We loved the old world charm and warm welcome when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately our stay was spoilt by the mosquitoes. With just a regular spray this could be prevented and guests would stay for longer in this charming and hospitable guest house.

    We loved the old world charm and warm welcome when we arrived at this property. Whilst it is abundant in an old school of character and romance of the past, there is a very apparent need for some love and elbow grease to bring it back to the grace that it deserves.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Perfect place for those of us who prefer the quiet hills of Tuscany over the bustling center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Casual luxury. No snootiness, only the absolute peace and quiet of the warm wind blowing through the olive trees, and a velvety view of the city of Florence stretching far below. Absolute perfection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful and traditional hotel with a unique view over Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have been staying at the hotel for the 3rd time over the past 25 years. We really appreciate that the hotel is family run which gives the place a special charm. The location is fantastic. It is up a hill from where you have a breathtaking and unique view over Florence. Public transportation is just outside of the hotels premises from where the bus takes you to the city center. On the next visit in Florence, we will book the hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.3
    The sightseeing from the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far poorer than those shown on the web site, and it was in a “dependance”, as they dared to call what Looked to me as an old and ruined country house. It was even stinky, and far from the main building; so we were lucky it was not raining in the morning when we went for breakfast.

    The sightseeing from the garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    The staff from the restaurant and the one that received us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff from the restaurant and the one that received us the first night were really kind. I can’t say the same from the one in charge of the reception during the day ... this lady didn’t even reply to our good bye when leaving the hotel... all in all it was a nice place to stay in Florence, away from the crowd and offering a nice panoramic view of the city. The rooms are a bit rustic but we found it lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful views, comfortable gorgeous rooms, a good breakfast, and a stunning property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not a fan of open showers/tubs, but that is the old fashioned way. It was beautiful, it's just not my personal style.

    Everything about this property was incredible. The room was beautiful. A private balcony, very spacious, clean and decorated bathroom, a very well made space. The entrance and common areas are inviting. Walking around the property, you see olive trees, a view of the surrounding vineyards, the big city in the distance. Everything is breathtaking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Glorious. Drink in the view and realise life's too short to moan about a dated bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. People seem to moan about it but if they found the money to smarten it up a bit, you'd find that reflected in the price. Enjoy it while it's still there!

    It's a proper traditional old-style hotel. For the money, it's a fantastic deal because one day it'll be replaced by a very, very expensive resort and anyone with a modest budget won't stand a chance. The views are spectacular, you've got lovely grounds to stroll in and it's an easy fifteen mins on the 25 bus from Piazza San Marco.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    The view-breathtaking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little bit “old-ish”, maybe a little upgrade-ing would be just the needed touch to be an excellent hotel!

    The view-breathtaking! The restaurant-amazing! The staff-helpful! The property-rarely find!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice wiev for a high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for the stay was already high. Add the fact that everything did cost extra. We had to pay 24 euros to get lunch and dinner served. No possibilites to choose another restaurant in the neighbourhood. And the food wasn't quite worth the price.

    The wiev, it was magnificent. And the calm and quiet sorroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.4
    light and shadow
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are two houses. Main building and 800m away a second building (villa). No Wifi in second villa. Long walk to breakfirst, pool and the fantastic view over Firenze. Make sure that you get room in main house. Second house really sucks and is not worth the money. Very limited parking at second villa. Old room deco. Very long walks to breakfast, pool and check-out. Nothing for business!

    Main villa is nice and the view over Firenze is fantastic. Restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely old world hotel with great air conditioning, lovely pool and beautiful views over Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dinner menu missing quite a few items....No problem if you were told when handed the menu instead of when you had made your choice!! Missing items not substituted with alternatives so quite narrow food options. What was there was good and fresh and well cooked The evening meals were the only disappointments as this was a wonderful stay and the hotel was really lovely.

    Views over Florence were lovely and a good pool and air conditioning meant a very comfortable stay even at the hottest time of the year. A bus nearby meant no driving into the city necessary. Great stress reliever...!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Charming ! Elegant ! Eccentric ! Gorgeous !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact our holiday came to an end .

    Place is incredibly beautiful , charming and serene . Staff are charming and always trying to accommodate . Good humoured , very helpful, keen to help and please and genuine . The price for our room was superb value .our room was old school Italian with lovely views, elegant and sweet. The place and layout are incredibly charming . It's rustic and laid back and with amazing views of Firenze and surrounding countryside . Gentile and laid back .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    Horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Owner was not pleasant, The Wi-Fi did not work in the rooms, The breakfast was very badly managed & poor. The room facilities are very old & unmaintained, The bathrooms, no curtains, the tubs & showers are clogged up, faucets do not work.., I could go on & on.., All guests on check out were complaining , & the owner was doing all the financial work, slowly & inefficiently, with a grouchy mood during the stay, as if all guests are intruding on her property. Glad it was only for three days out of my rather long vacations in other places during this summer.

    The pool , The location, & the staff were good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    2 night stop with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rock hard, too hard for my liking Need compulsory swimming caps, must buy them at pool and rent towels Take mosquito spray though the property does take some measures with citronella Our kids could swim but if yours can't the. There is no proper fence around pool

    The view is unbeatable !!! Florence like you Ve never seen Pool is great Most of the staff were very warm Restaurant delicious for dinner The room cleaning and turnover were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing hotel, good views of Florence and great pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive in a taxi to the city centre when travelling with luggage. It is a long walk to the bus stop for anyone with mobily problems especially in the heat although only 15 mins by bus into the city centr

    The hotel is beautiful and there are great views. It was relaxing to stay. The pool was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Very nice stay! Recommended for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to pay for additional towels at the pool.

    Staff were amazing. Pool was very nice and clean, although we had to pay for towels at the pool which I thought was a bit checky. There was no bottled drinking water in the rooms, which I think would have just made it perfect. Very nice stay and would very highly recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.7
    Old world, relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old world, relaxing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    Old and dusty villa with a view. This property has amazing potential but needs major renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The View is spectacular

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful view over Florance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its difficult to reach.

    Beautiful view over Florance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    2.5
    Awful and run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is in absolutely poor condition

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast, staff, if you like rustic it's right place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dislocated room with no wifi and old bathroom

    Breakfast, staff, if you like rustic it's right place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.4
    Nice to be in the hill but this property is severely run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor water pressure and temperature, poorly maintained, breakfast worse i have ever had.

    That it was in the hills over florence

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay while visiting Firenze
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. Not enough for 4 stars hotel.

    Great place, nice garden, parking space

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    Exceptionally friendly and accomodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally friendly and accomodating staff. Great view of Florence.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    5.0
    The view was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was a bit shappy nothing like what was on the web, we booked the villa suites but had to stay in the main house cause you needed a car to get to them an wasn't informed of this when we booked, we only had breakfast didn't try the evening meals we wasn't impressed with the food or service, we will not be staying here again

    The view was excellent

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.6
    The hotel offers gorgeous views of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room had a musty/damp smell.

    The hotel offers gorgeous views of Florence. It is an excellent location with the bus stop outside the villa with a 15 minute ride to Florence. Staff was great. Pool is very nice too.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.8
    Fantastic view over Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    On the website the hotel is listed as being in Fiesole which is where we wanted to be and did not hire a car for this reason. Infact it is 5km away and to get there by public transport involves a bus into Florence and then another back up again. To be fair, the owner did try to book a taxi for us at 8pm on Friday but was unable to get through to the taxi company. The decoration is very much of the 1970's and the bathrooms to match. Ours was very small and had a strong smell of pee. No shower curtains in our children's bathrooms so bathrooms were awash. Our son's room was beside the maid's laundry area and the 2nd night a dog was locked up in it and barked all night. There were several dogs around. There was a particularly bad tempered one which was tied up (luckily) behind the reception desk as it barked manically whenever it saw anyone. Another (large) one was on the loose though and did chase after us one evening. We were fine but a small child would have been frightened. We also chose the hotel because of the swimming pool. The pool is of an adequate size for the hotel, but they run a sort of club for all the neighbours who seem to come and spend the day there. There is insufficient space either in or out of the dirty green pool as a result and it felt a bit like the London rush hour with standing room only, with plastic sunchairs or varying degrees of comfort, cheek by jowl with each other. Generally the whole atmosphere is very shabby, although there is a degree of charm.

    Fantastic view over Florence. Staff and owner were all very charming and helpful and went to a lot of trouble.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Gorgeous views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gorgeous views! Splendid spot just outside the hustle & bustle of Firenze. We hit the Uffizi in the morning & the pool in the afternoon. Campari Spritzs! The restaurant is delicious & has those amazing views.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    5.8
    The views from the garden were spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It took us 2 hours to find the place and arrived just before dinner ended. the chef did feed us but the meal wasn't good.

    The views from the garden were spectacular. An interesting old property a bit shabby.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.6
    The setting was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The setting was beautiful

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    4.2
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shabby facility - for sure not a 4 star Hotel!

    Nice view

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    4.2
    There was not a shower only a bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was not a shower only a bath.. Restaurant food was below average

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    5.4
    THE LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    OUR ROOM, VERY SMALL AND NOISY

    THE LOCATION

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    8.3
    Walking around the grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A dog belonging to a staff member chased my son

    Walking around the grounds

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: