Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Mangiacane

Via Faltignano 4, 50026 San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Italy

#23 of 35 hotels in San Casciano in Val di Pesa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 65 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant and by the pool was not up to the usual for such a superb establishment.

    Upgrade to a Junior suite which was beautiful. The surroundings and location were wonderful and we really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the most wonderful stay at Villa Mangiacane! The hotel is absolutely beautiful with a great view of the Tuscan countryside, food and wine was excellent and the staff is very welcoming and made us feel well taken care of. We will definitely be coming back!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect

    We loved it all around. The room was excellent, super comfortable beds and pillows, fantastic settings, great breakfast and helpful staff. Especially Sara who helped us with suggestions about nearby reastaurants and travel tips. The restaurant of the villa was excellent, and the wines produced there were great. All in all we had a great couple of days and will surely come back again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cattle to have your own coffee of tea in the room - no mosquito repellant - noisy as close to the kitchen - during the night dropping empty bottles into the bin

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The superior room not comfortable and dark. Very odd system shower in the room. The pictures and reality very different not that nice terrace for everyone. We are disappointment...never again!

    The breakfast and dinners ok a bit pricy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait hours to check in due to a weekend birthday group who checked out 5 hours after they should have! The hotel manager arranged a lovely bottle of sparkling wine and a huge fruit platter to apologise. When we finally did get to check in there was no information provided by the woman at the front desk. We started to piece information together over the first couple of days. The staff at reception were lovely however were very rarely useful. The sauna and turkish baths are great if they were on when you wanted them. We asked reception if they could have the turkish bath ready one afternoon (giving 3 hours notice as It takes a while to heat up) but when we got there It was still stone cold. None of the three pools are heated. Jasmine is planted all along the pathway to the room and next to the plunge pool making it impossible to enjoy the private outdoor courtyard if you suffer hayfever.

    The foods and the kitchen/restaurant staff were amazing! They outshone the reception staff daily, nothing was ever too hard and they provide lots of advice to guests. Chef Lagi and restaurant manager Pierro are so friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The location was wonderful and the wine was fantastic, we drank and never had a headache the next morning. The grounds were simply beautiful and the views are spectacular. Our room was quiet and well appointed with a comfy bed. Wifi works really well across the entire property. Such a beautiful place to enjoy and relax, so much better than staying in the city. Oh and did I mention the food? Yes but it deserves another mention! Next time I am booking in for the cooking class with Chef Lagi!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property is stunning, the staff were amazing and the location is great for a tranquil and relaxing break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sprinkles in a bathroom are not delivering enough water, but that's subjective

    Great restaurant, big room, the view!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's amazing to stay in a 15th century property. The facilities were awesome and the views were breathtaking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    Just like in a dream!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing spetiLy

    Everything. Vineyard

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am Italian and I did not like that at the desk there was a girl who did not speak italian !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a peaceful relaxing atmosphere with many different places to sit and enjoy the view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was like a dream. Words are not enough. We will return there for sure! Mhuri

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Local Lindissimo

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathrooms were a bit quirky, not a lot of privacy but luxurious all the same!!

    Great location, excellent and supportive staff, very good food and wine, and loads of history and character!! Just a great all round experience!!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In all honestly I have nothing bad to say about the place or staff or food.

    Everything about the hotel is a perfect 10. From the moment you arrive till your departure. The only regret is we didn't book to stay longer. A stay of at least 3 days to truly enjoy the place. Even my older children didn't want to leave. Quite relaxing atmosphere very near to Florence (30 minute drive) great value for money

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location and beautiful villa

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Piero was fantastic, his wine tour was informative and his level of service was brilliant

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaning and maintenance of the room proved extremely poor.

    Nothing.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Browse Villa Mangiacane traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: