Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Maria Pia

Viale Burruni 1, 07041 Alghero, Italy

#180 of 203 B&Bs and Inns in Alghero

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cons of the hotel were: air con wasn't working in our room, the shower cubicle was dirty, and very poor variety of products in breakfast buffet (lack of hot breakfast - eg. scrambled eggs, bacon) and no veggies :( When you travel by plane, you don't bring the iron with you, do you? Well, if you want your clothes to look neatly while going out to the restaurant in the evening - bring the iron over with you, as there's no ironing facilities - we have tried to borrow the iron from the host, but we've been told that it's dangerous to use it in the room, therefore I had to use my hair straightener to "iron" my dresses. Which was more dangerous than using iron I guess :)

    My fiance and I went there for 5 days. Beds were pretty comfy, host were very nice and helpful. 7mins walk from the hotel - there's a beautiful small beach Maria Pia - due to the fact it's a few mins drive from the town centre, the beach is very clean and you can find couple of bars around there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very soft mattress.. Nothing else

    Very very nice stuffs, great location, very nice property, accomodation, garden, breakfast, clean all place and rooms, you can enjoy playing cards, chess, books etc.. I can really recommend! 👍👍👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst hotel I stayed in my three trips to Italy. It is very depressing. There is no reception from 1 PM to 6 PM. I received an email informing me if I arrive between these times I will be charged an extra amount. Also if I wanted to use the air conditioning or the safety deposit box I would have to pay extra. There is no lift in the hotel. I had to carry my heavy bags up three flights of stairs. My room looked over the highway to the airport with traffic noise constantly. There was no soap or shampoo in the bathroom and no one around to ask for some.There is no Wi-Fi in the room. Wi-Fi is available in the tiny reception area the size of a bathroom three flights down. There is a inner courtyard but this area is also closed off from 1 to 6 PM. The garden area around the hotel is a Dry weed bed. There are many wonderful hotels directly across from the sea only a five minute walk away. These hotels have ocean view from your room, lifts, swimming pools,restaurants, wi-Fi in the rooms and include a lounge chair and umbrella on the beach and reception 24 hours. Also they are also MUCH cheaper than this expensive hotel. I would not recommend anyone going to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reception is open only a few hours a day and front gates are closed in the afternoon make it impossible to get in/out. so you will need to let them know in advance if you arrive / leave out of hours.

    amazing location and great food, staff friendly, room clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place to stay next to a beautiful beach. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Always smiling. Giovanni arranged for fresh bread and Crossiants as I was sick when I arrived and could not eat anything else. They went out their way to help us. Our EU plug did not work, so we were given another one to use during our stay. Thanks very much for a pleasant stay and your hospitality we loved it and the beautiful island.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No wifi in the rooms. Helpful and friendly staff but unpolite manager/owner (40-50 years lady, blond/brown bleached hair).

    Clean and roomy appartment. Close to the Maria Pia beach. Easy and free parking in the courtyard. Great coffee at the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible price quality ratio (135 per night) No elevator ( 2 Floors with heavy luggage is not funny), No shampoo or douchegel available in room; additional payment if you want to have your towels cleaned daily, small room; etc

    Near beautiful beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st floor room not as nice as 2nd floor room (stayed on 2nd floor last year). Biggest problem was getting booking confirmation from hotel prior to stay.

    Great location. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast repetitive, same every day and coffe horrible (we are in Italy!). Beds too soft , i mean , REALY.

    I liked kettle in room and good tasting croissants for breakfast. Room was good looking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel pictures on the Internet are old and were probably taken years ago! The villa and gardens are tired and the dining room needs brightening up.

    The staff were very helpful The villa was very close to a lovely beach in front of a pine forest so lots of shady areas and good beach bar. The courtyard was nice for dining in the evening. They serve really good coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel meant a walk of 45mins to 1 hr to get into the town.the bus service was totally unpredictable

    The room was nice and clean. Everything worked.the bed was really comfy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning lasy used to come during breakfast time, which was disturbing sometimes, as she not always managed to clean before coming back.

    The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was quite diversed (croissants, toasts, Ciabatta, ham, cheese, fruits, cereals, etc). Villa Maria Pia is located in very quiet area, in a charming surrounding. You can eat breakfast either indoor (called Relax room) or outdoor. Very close to the best beach in Alghero. In the hotel there are umbrellas to rent. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, the building, the people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Wifi signal on second floor but this is small problem

    Very close to beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Half board is not paid because the kitchen was weak. At least all of us (5 people) didn't enjoyed it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The style and architecture of the building

    Breakfast was basic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Spacious room, quiet, courtyard, location, beautifully renovated

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was two long stairs up, and there was no lift.

    The courtyard for eating

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Browse Villa Maria Pia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: