Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Mater 2 stars

Via Vittorio Bottego 10, 95125 Catania, Italy

#48 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 406 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed one night and left early in the next morning. We got our breakfast at 6:30 am (it officially opens at 7:00 am), but the offer was really poor and limited (we were smelling the delicious croissants being baked at the kitchen, but they never reached us :( - we were too early). Also, beds and furniture are really old (as in the photos) and there was some cigarette smell all over the place (especially in the bathroom, which was so-so - clean, but old).

    Staff was very friendly and helpful (they even printed our boarding basses). There is a nice private parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite old however very clean and comfortable if you're looking for just a place to sleep and have breakfast before starting your day.

    Very clean, comfortable bed, good breakfast. Overall very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Private parking and out of Catania ZTL - it´s perfect location when driving a car. Great hospitality, heating in room, good breakfast, nice view over Catania. Hotel is older but with standard services and for a good price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely small shower room and short shower hose.

    Free private parking(in Catania it's a big plus), Good breakfast, nice staff. Heating in room(it was the only hotel for a week stay in Sicily where it was heating - ON :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel, old bathroom, very small shower with not enough water pressure, basic breakfast, thin walls so you can hear neighbors well.

    Free parking, there is also a bus stop in front of hotel, good view from top floor (all city and seaside)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the location of this hotel. There is nothing around (after 8 p.m, there isn't any restaurant or caffee or food store to buy something to eat).

    Clean sheets, comfortable beds. Elevator was a little bit too small, maybe 3-4 people only or 2 people with luggage. Breakfast was okay, different variety of sweets, two different coffee machines. I really liked the taxi driver that took us to the hotel, he wanted to speak, but didn't know english well, so he used google translate :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel needs a severe overhaul. Air conditioning did not work at all, room was not very clean. Although the bed sheets were clean, the room smelled like vinegar. The bathroom was extremely small and needed renovation. The hotel is a cut under basic due to need of many improvements. The initial staff we encountered did not understand English very well and was not helpful. It was extremely inconvenient to even try to print out boarding documents (no printer available). Internet was spotty and each floor had its own internet login and password - and we were only given the information for the floor where our room was making it extremely difficult to communicate with someone while in the lobby (had to go back to our floor). Breakfast was okay. Although this hotel was convenient for us due to its proximity to our friends, we will never stay here again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors could be soundproof Location is not central in catania so not the best hotel to explore the city from unless you have a car.

    Nice and friendly staff, parking on site, 24 hour reception, clean and spacious rooms, and view of Catania or Etna. Perfect for a one night stay. Staff helped order food cause restaurants were closed when we arrived late. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot find anything in particular to mention

    We simply enjoyed every second of our stay there. The service was good, clean and tidy place and a good breakfast too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC is sometimes switched off and you have to ask to have it switched back on.

    Staff are very helpful. Hotel is located in a quiet area. Breakfast was ok too. I would go again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative note is that there are no restaurants near by (though we did order delivery and was delivered very quickly) and we couldn't use the Terrace eve/night it was a pity since it has great view. But otherwise Really thank you to everyone. You made our stay fantastic. Thumbs up.

    Breakfast was delicious. Really good. Room was great. Friendly staff. Internet and wifi excellent. Thank you for that. Really recommend. Great Value for money and quiet location. enjoy having a drink and pizza outside on the tables. Staff were very friendly and gave us excellent service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For sure will visit again, everything was excellent room was spacious really comfortable couldn't ask for more. One of the receptionist(male) was really helpful, breakfast was really good everything as described for sure will recommend. :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a problem with the electricity, so we were out of electricity and water for 12 hours. BTW, it was 35 degrees, and we did need a shower, but... :(

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Internet connection. It didn't work at the room and from time to time in the lobby.

    The staff was very nice. There is a bus stop close to the hotel but the buses are not very often. We have to wait more than 30 min.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No nets on the windows.The air is nice but insects are flying in and duster b enjoyment in that beauty of fresh air and birds singing. Pleaseeeee consider some form of nets .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi was rather unstable in the room or on the 4th floor. The best connection was on the groundfloor.

    Very good hotel in residential area far from overcrowded downtown. Excellent view on the city and mount Etna. Good private parking. Coffee automate in lobby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need some furniture refurbishment

    Excellent location. Great value for money. Staff are very helpful and kind. Breakfast was great. Family rooms are quite spacious.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms are quite small. Shower and basin are combined. External blinds are old and creaky and some won't open.

    More a for business rather than leisure hotel in a small tower block. Some on-site parking. Can walk into centre in half-hour.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has a prívate parking and the staff is very friendly. The room is simple and good. 20 minutes away from the airport. We stayed for one night. Pretty good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    need to add more things for breakfast and the airconditions always turned off even if ask the workers to turn them on

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from catania center. Room/hotel maybe needs update.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, breakfast

    Friendly stuff, location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was excellent thanks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean villa very well welcomed and great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some more choice at breakfast

    room was well equipped

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location especially if you're traveling with the car

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small showers

    Loved the size of the beds. The outside garden and parking area were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little short on parkingplace

    Good airconditioning and breakfast. Proper place for a night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly we had a plane to catch so missed out on breakfast. We were told it is a good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for the money! Staff was very helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every Thing It Was Good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad noise from other rooms/ You can hear everything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small.

    Good breakfast,good location and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking and free wifi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed because i send them request to make 1 whole bed and they make 2 bed near each other.

    Helpful staff. Good breakfast. Room clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    small shower

    parking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location ideal for parking area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was horrendous - pineapple juice was fermenting and some of the bread and croissants were almost stale.

    Easy check in

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is small.

    It s a basic hotel in Catania in a quiet neighbourhood. It s clean and has a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located in the middle of nothing far of downtown and the bus service is not very good.

    Room was big and confortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -location far from downtown -the bathroom wasn't the best -not enough comfort

    +parking +quiet place +breakfast was ok

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the receptionists were very helpful - 24hrs, room very large and clean, large breakfast room and very large selection of food, perfect parking facilities

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It clearly states that there is wifi but there is no wifi at all except in reception. Bathroom is a disaster, shower is tiny and uncomfortable. Breakfast is not as it used to be. We had been coming there for years

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower is a bit too small for my liking Wifi connection was very poor in the room

    Bfast was sufficient Car parked in a safe place Room was very spacious

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Besides the confortability of the hotel, free parking connotes premises and a public transport bus runs from just outside the hotel to downtown of catania.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit away from the city centre No kettle and tea/coffee amenities in the room

    Breakfast is great The surrounding area around hotel is very nice and enjoyable. Staff are very helpful all the time

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking wasn't always available and we were requested to leave the keys with receptionist so as to move the car if needed- but they arranged to accommodate us

    It was good for what I needed with young toddlers running around

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A small room with a slightly to old equipment, but it was OK for staying only for few nights.

    Very good location for visiting Etna, Taormina, Catania, Siracusa... We needed only a few minutes from Hotel to motorway. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The small showers.

    The large room was excellent, had views of harbour. The other side of the hotel had views of Mt Etna. The wifi worked well and the bed was confortable. Room very clean. The staff were great and very helpful. The best hotel garden seen in our travels. Free parking on site was great.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    We had vista before more than 5 times in these last 5 years. We was disappointed was that in the car park there was a hares with a coffin inside. Not a good view from our room. Also we complied and they told us that is was empty. I don't think that it is fair with a hears parked outside. I used too recommend this BUT THIS TIME IS A BIG NO! NO!

    We normal stay But we was very dissented with the Coffin in a CAR (hares)

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    first night we did not have central heating but was ok at second night. also they did not have microwave to heat the baby food !!!

    staff was great and also breakfast. had private parking. good take away few metres from hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Shower. On my booking, i specifically asked to have a decent shower. Only thing i asked and again i was given room 25. That is not a shower, but a joke. I am sorry, stayed there a few times

    Central, comfortable room and clean

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The shower were to small

    It was very clean and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a lamp with a burnt bulb i reported and no one fixed it. the toilet does not flow properly

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's a little tired

    Price was very good and there was parking- a rarity in Catania. Pretty basic hotel, but everything worked & was clean

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed mattress not comfortable.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service is excellent and staff very helpful and a good safe parking place

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Family with young children

    Evreting

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast could be better

    very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The help of all the reception that tell us were to visit in sicily.and the good all staff of the hotel.happy new year,and hope to see you again.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Shower no good

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel has a parking place

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location

    The staff was frienfly

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No refrigrator in the room, bathroom, toilet

    Staff, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff,,,simple,,,lovely

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Albergo semplice, comodo da raggiungere, con tutto quello che serve

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The service was very good.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi not very good

    Cheap, comfortable and welcoming staff

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    staff and service

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bad wi-fi, old furniture, dirty and very small shower, bad soundproofing, bad breakfest, no minibar

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: