Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Poggiano

Via Di Poggiano 7, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy

#4 of 20 hotels in Montepulciano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 69 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    could not think about anything not perfect at this place.

    The place is excellent for the ultimate Tuscany experience. The villa is run by perfectionists, all the small details exactly at the right place. The behaviour of the staff was extraordinary. Stefania was so kind to organise a birthday cake for my spouse for breakfast in the morning. Andrea organized basically the entire birthday for us, without even knowing us beforehand. I just could say one big THANK YOU guys :) We recommend the place to anyone who would like to explore Tuscany. It very close to Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza, and Siena, just in the heart of Tuscany.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stefania and the team were incredibly cheerful, attentive and helpful! The rooms, gardens, pool and scenery are all amazing! Perfect true Tuscan escape! Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    just the blanket on the bed is little bit thin for the season, while heating doesn't not provided yet in the room. So it's little bit cold in the night and early monring. otherwise, everything is so good.

    This is a very beautiful and peaceful manor in the heart of Tuscany. Large garden with only 16 guest rooms. Stunning outside marble pool. Staff is very nice to wait for us when we arrived almost 7:30pm, and gave us very detailed info for the nearby, even booked us a dinner in nearby restaurant as they don't provide dinner by themselves. Stefania the owner is always there to be helpful, with her cute dog Max (who is accompanying and watching us in the breakfast room~~). We received a bottle as welcome gift for Genius of booking.com, very very nice wine. The place is very closed to Montepulciano, the morning view from garden is so beautiful and so typical Toscany~~~

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    The property was absolutely stunning. The brows are breathtaking. Villa Poggiano is like a little piece of heaven on earth.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the living area of the junior suite didn't turn off until I hit the power kill switch

    Secluded and quiet. We only had one night but the activities available would have been great if we'd stayed longer. The breakfast was also lovely and fresh

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water at 4:30am when I was preparing for a long drive to the airport.

    It's an exceptional property. Peaceful, tranquil, and has good views. Staff is extremely helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    really nothing,

    The staff person gave us wonderful suggestions for things to do and see in the area, places and events that we would not have known about otherwise and they were great suggestions. Breakfast was lovely with fresh baked goods and nice variety. The views were lovely from our suite, air conditioning worked well which was important since July was very hot, and the villa grounds were elegant but not formal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff (big extra thanks to Andrea and Stefania at the reception) were exceptionally friendly. The location and the view of the property is just magnificent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That's a hard question to answer ........ Even if there was a negative aspect to this residence it would be insignificant when measured against all its positive values .

    Sublime location , the views of Tuscan country side were amazing and completely unobstructed because of the idyllic location of the Villa . If tranquility and uninterrupted relaxation are what you are looking for then this is for you . The room , number 10 , which we moved to from number 12 , a Superior Suite , was just a small piece of heaven .It is located away from the main house and has a terrace leading off the bedroom which surveys the fabulous Tuscan country side . The large bathroom also had a window which opened onto the same view and seemed to bring the outside in ! We were told that the room we moved to was a downgrade , but , if you like a sense of peaceful isolation in typical Tuscan rustic style , then this is for you . The swimming pool is another gem , classic statues and travertine frame the pool in a lush lawned garden setting . The hotel never seems crowded or busy , we almost always had the pool to ourselves and felt totally at peace .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property. The owners and staff we extremely hospitable, nothing was too much to ask. Highly recommend this as a home base for exploring the area. We will be back soon. Thank you Andrea and Stefania!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some staff were excellent, particularly on reception but one of the ladies serving breakfast did not seem at all happy to be there. Not really a hotel, more like a B&B but sadly the breakfast was slightly disappointing for us.

    Beautiful views and a lovely outdoor pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner, Stefania, is a delight. She is a helpful resource for booking wineries and local restaurants and a delightful person to get to know. It's one of the nicest properties of our stay in Italy and well worth visiting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ummm well nothing!!

    So much to LOVE!! The location was amazing! Stefani and Andrea did everything in their control to make our trip and stay 100% incredible!! The breakfast spread was insane with homemade EVERYTHING -- yougart jams preserves!! If I am able, I will be back!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A glass of wine on the terrace overlooking the beautiful Montepulciano or the swim in a real life 'dolce vita' swimming pool... don't really know which of these made our stay at the Villa feel more movie-like.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing not to like. Honestly.

    This place is beyond amazing! The history, architecture, views, grounds, food, room, pool and bed were all superb! As an added bonus, there was a free performance on the grounds by world class opera singers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perfect location and an easy drive to very picturesque villages where you could enjoy beautiful Italian food and take in the ambiance of the history! The incredible host at Villa Poggiano, Stefania and Andrea, made our stay unforgettable - nothing was too much trouble ever! All staff were wonderful! Loved our stay!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our bedroom with an additional sitting area was not in the main hotel and it was slightly disappointing for the price per night. We stayed in a twin room and found that the additional "lounge" was very small and not a place where you would want to sit. The bedroom was absolutely fine for two friends ( we separated the beds) and the bathroom was a treat! Needless to say, the weather was glorious and there were plenty of comfortable places to sit in the grounds.

    Brilliant location - only 5 minutes by car to Montipulciano. The hotel itself has the most fantastic grounds and views over the valley. The pool is a good size and absolutely glorious with beds and umbrellas placed around the swimming area. The breakfast is plentiful with excellent coffee and can be taken outside on the patio or in a breakfast room. The hotel has the feel of a spa retreat - very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in our room was not very hot. The showers were a bit on the lukewarm side.

    The property is amazing! Sooo beautiful!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stefania was so helpful to us and the property is amazing!!! I hope we can go back soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful property, very scenic ^ charming. Great staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful grounds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was marvellous

    If this was a hotel it would deserve 5 stars without doubt Wonderful views and superb rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had toooooo much wine and toooo much food - but the whole aera is wonderfull.

    Great Stay in the middle of the "Toskana-Feeling"

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gorgeous property. Friendly staff. Relaxing stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit dark but weather was rubbish

    The pool area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, pool area, breakfast, spacious rooms, good service, free coffee machine in reception. Close to the town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was a lovely villa, the staff efficient, the location wonderful

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful spot just outside of Montepulciano. A wonderful staff - a very personal experience. They took care of every request promptly, and always steered us well. If you want the experience of staying in a Tuscan villa, this is the spot.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Villa Poggiano was right outside Montepulciano which made it very easy to access for restaurants, etc. but it was a lovely tranquil place with a wonderful breakfast and Stefania was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would have preferred to be located directly in the villa and not in the associated building (next time when we come back). Air conditioning is to weak for the size of the suite we had. But it's true it was very hot outside ...

    Staff very helpful giving very good advice for visits, restaurants and wineries. Fantastic swimming pool. Nice garden, villa and beautiful views... A place where we wish to go back again...

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our duplex suite did not have a great view like other rooms did.

    Stephanie's help with our tour plans and reservations, lovely suite and grounds, great breakfast (cooked to order eggs, homemade yogurt, pastries), central location for day trips,

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bar area, no drinks offered at pool so have to go back to room. A resturant not necessary as fabulous ones in nearby montepulciano,Pienza and montechiello.

    Lovely property and staff. Super pool. Quiet setting , lovely views through trees. Easy taxi ride to town.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For three days we stayed in one of the beautifully appointed and gloriously located villas here and imagined it was our home. The grounds are so very beautiful and we were welcomed like old friends. One of our best memories was having a home made pizza and a bottle of Montepulciano red sitting on the old stone setting in front of the main villa overlooking the rolling Tuscan views. Well situated for lots of little towns.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We absolutely loved Villa Poggiano, everything from the magnificent property to the beautifully appointed rooms, the delicious breakfast with a buffet that leaves nothing to want, and if it's not there Assunta is only to happy to provide it for you, a special mention to Stefania the wonderful host, she makes you feel more like visiting friends and nothing is a problem for her to make your stay a very memorable one, we will be back no question !!!!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The common living room and breakfast area were lovely!

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Senior staff seemed disinterested / cold; working staff generally keen to help

    Views

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is an exceptional property!! Stephania makes You feel like family. The cooking class was awesome

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing location, view, architecture and atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful setting, wonderful service. Outstanding experience!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and setting of this hotel were delightful.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tranquillity

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, excellent room, wonderful bathroom, outstanding breakfast, dream grounds.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked it so much, we stayed an extra night!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: