Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Principe Giovanni

Via Boscariello, 13, 84017 Positano, Italy

#33 of 35 B&Bs and Inns in Positano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 26 B&B reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning did not work and they were not accommodating. The air conditioning blew 80 degree air and they said it worked. Asked for a discount and they gave me 26 euros for a 440 euro a night place. Very disappointed.

    The property was beautiful and clean. The location was fair but difficult to park and move your luggage!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst bed I’ve ever slept on in my life. I travel constantly for work and am in a hotel about 50% of the year. That was hands down the worst mattress I’ve ever slept on. So firm that the floor may have been softer. But that’s Positano - very touristy and expensive. Worth seeing but not for more than 2 days.

    Good location all things (STAIRS!) considered. Good coffee. Really lovely staff. Middle of the road to go further up or down to the Marina Grande (which is over stuffed with tourists so we avoided it). Great view from the top terrace. Walking distance to Next2 - really lovely restaurant. Close to parking (but for the love of god do not drive to this city! Parking costs a fortune). If you go to a beach club go the most expensive route. Seems like a lot but everything is a lot in this city so 50 Euro for a comfy day bed and seaside service is worth every cent. Bonus: away from tourists, babies, loud music, right on the water. To the left of the main beach below Rada restaurant. Worth. It.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The directions said we would have to go down a million (seemed like) stairs and we did. That was the wrong way. We ended up figuring out to drive to the front of the place after about an hour. The were only two restaurants open but it was the off season.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful stay with our family. We arrived by car from Rome but the Villa parking was very easy. Floriana was very helpful with all our questions. Her suggestions and recommendations made our trip to Positano very unique and memorable. We can’t wait to go back some day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Villa Principe Giovanni is an annex to another hotel, the Conca d'Oro. Breakfast is served in the main hotel, and to get there one must climb a considerable number of steps. So is the solarium and a small jacuzzi in the main hotel. Having to move from one building to the other discouraged the use of these facilities. Location was perhaps a bit too far away up the hill from the main attractions, though I guess that is the price to pay for the incredible views you get from up there. Breakfast was fine, though fruit was sometimes not quite ripe, and any preparation with eggs such as omelettes or scrambled eggs are charged separately.

    The room was great. Comfortable, large, very well furnished, it has a small balcony with two chairs and a small table and an incredible view of the sea and the city. Lots of light coming in through both windows. The bathromm was also ample and clean, with a large double shower. The staff was very kind and willing to provide any information. A complementary bottle of prosecco and champagne glasses on arrival was a nice gesture, much appreciated considering the heat in Positano on mid-August. Air conditioning in the room worked perfectly. On arrival, hotel staff was waiting for us on the street at the nearest spot where wheeled transportation may leave you, ready to help with the luggage.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    This hotel is absolutely amazing. Location - a 10 minute walk from the main centre. Beautiful location, with breath-taking views down to the main beach area. Perfectly placed near bars, shops, and restaurants. Literally a two minute walk from the local bus stop too for those that prefer to take the bus around. Rooms - nice and big. The best part is the balcony and its view. Its like walking into a dream. You can not beat this view of the ocean and the island. The free bottle of prosecco is a delight to sip while taking in the evening views from the balcony. There was ample storage for your personal belongings. Lots of various sized towels, amenities, smart TV, rainforest shower, comfortable beds and most impressively a jet bath/Jacuzzi in the room. Cleanliness - the rooms are serviced everyday, to a really high level standard. The reception area and corridors are also kept spotless. The roof top area has a Jacuzzi, sun loungers and tables to sit and eat high up overlooking the wonder island and ocean. Staff - very polite, and helpful. They were also very professional. Breakfast - you have a good selection and again dine while overlooking the gorgeous costal horizon. I would recommend this place to everyone, you can not fault it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our television wasn't working and there was a hall light that kept getting turned on all the time which lit up our room at night, but apart from that it was perfect!

    Our room was large and luxurious - and that balcony! I am still dreaming of waking up and looking out at the ocean and all of those beautiful hotels and houses along the cliffs. The breakfast selection was great and such beautiful views. We felt very spoilt there!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we booked a Villa with a view of the water and it had some "bathroom issues" so we were not able to stay there. The primary reason we booked that room was for the view so we were disappointed. Although we did get a complimentary dinner at the hotel and spent some time on the terrace enjoying the view we missed.

    The Villa Sissy was nice escape with a lot of privacy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room needed a little maintenance, with the spa bath in our room leaking slightly and the feet being movable.

    The view from our private terrace was stunning. The food in the hotel restaurant was good, the service was great and we loved the rooftop terrace & spa. The prosecco on arrival was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome location, great staff :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to beach 542 steps

    The view was magnificent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room appeared a little dated.

    Beautiful views from our room and nice restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfriendly service, it costs 3.50E for one boiled egg or 4.50E for fried, per egg per day! Bed style was two single beds pushed together, extremely uncomfortable and pillow was so poor ... Insignificant. No hot water x 2 days for when we showered... Waited until the water reheated. No value for money. Obstructed sea view, which we paid extra for. Extremely rude breakfast lady dictated where you need to sit! Not on !!! Please don't waste your time staying here less than pleasant experience and dont understand how the reviews were high for this property.

    Close to some lovely restaurants away from the crowds.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There wasn't much I didn't like... Wifi was a bit poor but when you're in a place like Positano, no need to surf the web. Only needed it to set up bookings and off site activities but the reception was more than helpful.

    Incredible location- enough out of the city for a quiet peaceful vibe, but close enough to get to main beach and central town on foot within 20 minutes.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only improvement would be comfort of bed and pillows.

    The staff at Conco D'oro (affiliated hotel) is amazing. They were extremely helpful and courteous, even accommodating our need to use the kitchen freezer.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    106 steps to go to breakfast. Was not prepared for the steps. The jacuzzi looks big in the online photos but is quite small and too many steps to negotiate to get there. Wifi whilst free was terrible reception and very frustrating

    Loved the terrace with sunlounges. Short walk down the hill to great restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Many stairs to climb with a suitcase

    The staff, the view. Good breakfast. Nice room

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a little stiff

    Incredible views, comfortable room, attentive staff

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed was a little hard other wise all good

    The location is beautiful magnificaint view Very helpful staff, clean Best eggs & bread breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast, average location, the facilities are a bit old-fashioned.

    Amazing view, kind and helpful staff

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: