Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Romana 4 stars

Lungomare Nettuno 1, 92014 Porto Empedocle, Italy

#23 of 47 hotels in Porto Empedocle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 600 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived again quite late. The hotel was not full, so they gave us one of their best room on the same price. Wonderful looking, perfectly situated hotel. We stayed only one night, but we started to think to stay another. Scala dei Turchi is really close, you just start walking on the sandy beach and soon (30-35 mins) you are there. We are definitely planning to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not double bed, two twin beds are just attached each other. bed is really uncomfortable. old spring bed.. tacky interior. boring breakfast. 30mins walk to the scala dei turchi. not even close-

    i dont even want to remind it. i booked pick up shuttle from bus terminal and they said there will be someone with a sign that my name on it. and nobody picked me up-no phone call, nobody answered hotel phone, some kind stranger helped me to get there with mini truck after 20mins waiting in the sun! i got there, no one apologized. hotel itself was ok, not hip but just classy(there were only old people, i guess i was the only one under 60) when i check out, i asked drop off service to the bus terminal and to make sure this time, i asked to include it in my payment and the staff said it’s all included and cleared. and then the driver drop me off and he ask me the money! i really dont want to recommend this hotel to anyone. they really dont know what they are doing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was smallish (however, ok for a typical Italian hotel), otherwise everything ok.

    Very nice hotel at the beach. We had a room with balcony and seaview in a calm part of the hotel. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs renovation. The access to the beach and the pool area was closed all morning despite the posted schedule. The beach was not cleaned also.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A more varied selection for breakfast would have been nice, plus more information about where to swim on the beach. One side had jellyfish, the other had hidden rocks. Didn't end up going in to the sea despite favourable weather...

    We messed up our dates, but the concierge allowed us to change with no further fee. ALL the staff were incredibly helpful and went above and beyond to assist us. The pool was perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the two rooms was not ready when we arrived at 5.00.

    Nice hotel with a location on the beach. No nearby noise to disturb a good night's sleep. The swimming pool was of a good size, well-located and well-serviced by hotel staff. The rooms were larger than average and clean on arrival. The breakfast bar was well-stocked and the variety of food on offer was excellent. Overall, a very nice hotel at a good price. Would return if I am ever again in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was rude and didn't talk English, the restaurant staff was extremely unwelcoming. The restaurant food was very expensive and not very good quality. The breakfast was so so.

    The hotel clean but very oldfashioned. The see near is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel with outdated equipment, old dirty carpets, poor tasteless breakfast. Boring neighborhood. Wild beach with rocks in the water.

    Not so far from Scala dei Turchi, free parking even outside hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff Restaurant was a joke worst food I had on my trip waiter had a serious lack of interest

    5 minutes down the beach there is a brilliant restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property and we got a great price from booking.com! Tried to stay more days but sold out! Everything here great except breakfast which was just Ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The American/Italian wearing the Trump Hat, it put me right off my Breakfast.

    Great for over night stay. Very historical area with unique Geographic features.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a bit thin and the shampoo scent was quite strong/herbal for me. Beds a little stiff but not uncomfortable.

    Location was amazing for beach access. Staff was wonderful and kind and made great efforts to communicate when my little Italian was insufficient. Breakfast options were varied and fresh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few disappointing things detracted from what could have been a very nice stay: room spartan, TV far too small for room and located in poor place, no clock, evidence of dampness in corner of room, a/c had a mind of its own, problems with door locks and doors. Nothing major but this could and should be a great hotel.

    Superb breakfast and excellent location - good pool and right on the beach with private recliners on the beach. Staff friendly and helpful. Food good and made accommodation for our picky son.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here for two nights to visit the Valley of the Temples at Agrigento. I didn't know what to expect based on some previous reviews but it was a nice hotel which exceeded my expectations after reading some middling reviews. It has a great pool and private access to the beach from the pool area. Right outside the pool area are the beach chairs. Other parts of Sicily may have more stunning beaches but this one was calm, clean and a nice way to relax. Our room was also clean and bigger than I expected. We had a pleasant dinner one night in the hotel restaurant (by the pool) which was also popular with other guests. The other night we walked about two minutes along the beach to a beach front restaurant which was also good. The breakfast was a large spread with something to suit everyone. There wasn't a large hot section but this is typical of Italy so it would be a shame if you were disappointed by this. The fruit was particularly tasty. The lady at reception was friendly, welcoming and helpful with telling us about the local area. There were lots of hotel car parks available for us to use and there was no sign of tour busses as mentioned in some other reviews I've read. There's not a lot to see in the local area and most people visit this part of Italy for the Valley of the Temples which is an easy drive away. Would we stay here again? Yes. I think you'd be hard pressed finding a better hotel along this stretch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no foreign channels on TV either in the bedroom or in the common lounge area! I always like to tune into BBC World when on vacation and was unable to do so.

    It was right on the beach which was clean, powdery and sandy. It was very close to Scala Del Turchii which was worth visiting and was accessible by just walking up the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't informed until the last day that the beach towels were chargeable, which was very disappointing and unexpected. Breakfast choice was limited.

    The pool area was decent and right on the beach. The lady at check in was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rooms are not sound isolated very well, and can be noisy. There are too less parking places on the hotel site.

    Money/Value ratio OK. Very good Italian/international oriented breakfast. Nice swimming pool including enough beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast food was not fresh; butter spoiled and smelled; cut fruit withered and dry; scrambled eggs sitting in and inch of "water". The pool snack bar cafe was out of all 12 items on the menu except the toasted ham and cheese when we arrived around 3pm. Server was abrupt and unhelpful. Beach is sand but the water is not good for swimming. You must walk out very far to swim because it is so shallow and there are hidden rocks everywhere. The view is of the beach with the smoke stacks of an electrical plant at the end of the crescent beach. Okay for one night stop over in Argigento and it is within a mile of the Turkish steps if you care to see that.

    It was the nicest hotel in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of cereals and bread at breakfast was limited. Muesli and brown/whole meal bread please.

    Fresh fish in the restaurant, chosen and cooked to order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in our room was dark - bulbs burned out. The staff replaced the bulbs upon complaint. The toilet seat was very loose, rotating half way off the bowl. Upon complaint, staff did not fix this. The biggest problem is that the beach outside is filthy. We stayed here because there was both a pool and a beach, but the beach is covered with trash and is not maintained. You need to go to another beach further away. So don't stay here if you are specifically coming for the beach, as you will need to go somewhere else to use the beach. There are smokestacks on the other side of the crescent bay, so not a good view.

    The pool was very nice, and the dining room was nice with good service, reasonable prices

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was ok in the building,but not in the room. Some of reception stuff speaks only italian,but everyone is very helpfull

    Perfect location,beautiful design,great food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would never order anything from the bar... I ordered two aperol spritz and they were the worst I had in my life.

    Love the location, it's a little far from Agrigento, but 15min by car. The price was good because it was low season and the staff of the hotel was very friendly. The salons were very big and old style which I loved, and my room had a big terrace with ocean view. Definitely worth coming back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No English or non-Italian TV channels. The town Porto Empedocle is not really worth seeing. This hotel is on the Lido (beach) outside of town and close to the "Spanish Steps" (well worth seeing).

    Comfortable hotel rooms, everything clean, space for your stuff in the room, cupboard, bathroom, a safe is provided big enough for most things, balcony with direct sea view! Excellent value for money. Friendly and helpful reception, Giusseppe made us feel welcome and displayed his cocktail-mixing skills too. You can trust his restaurant recommendations too. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruits, bakery stuff, yogurts, juices, eggs, sausage etc, basically a big selection. Get your coffee directly from the staff though, the machine isn't that great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find hotel. Near complete lack of WiFi in rooms and in main lobby was extremely frustrating. Especially with a sign at front desk claiming WiFi in rooms etc. We upgraded our rooms based upon online descriptions. Even with upgrades, Rooms were small and showers tiny. Hate to imagine if we had reserved standard rooms. Stayed two nights and was happy to leave.

    Swimming pool was great Katarina at front desk was nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel entrance is a challenge the first time it is facing the sea and not the road.

    In a quiet location away from any negative distraction, 20 minute walk from the Turkish Steps, well run hotel with an excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    water leak in the reception onto a towel,causing a smell around the settee where we sat.

    size of the room,ample space of the outside terrace. Excellent food in the restaurant and excellent head waiter who was extremely attentive to our needs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very poor. No excuse for this so if you need it for anything important be warned. Pool bar closed 1300-1500 would you believe!

    Lovely beachfront location, parking, close to Scala Di Turchi white cliffs. This hotel is possibly the only nice place in the whole town, I'm serious!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all is good, just the location itself a bit poor for restaurants and entertainment

    Good hotel right at the beach. Good value for money. Staff is very helpful. Good breakfast. 3 min by car to the famous turkish rock beach and 15 min to valley of temples

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning set at 26C- unable to cool the room down. No kettle/tea/coffee set in the room. Superior room with a sea view had a view for an ugly wall of the next building! Cuisine tasteless, very disappointing. Mentioned in Micheline tyres not cuisine, don't let this fool you. Beach full of algae with a view for industrial chimneys of the port.

    Very clean. Relatively close to Scala do Turchi.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel could improve in its service delivery by staffing the bar. The public car park outside the hotel was filled with litter but this was a wider Sicilian problem it seemed.

    The hotel was an oasis in what was a downtrodden resort, Porto Empodecle. We enjoyed the pool and beach side location. Early morning runs to Scala De Turchi, very clean hotel with hardworking staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI was super slow. The decoration is a bit dated, but for a Sicilian hotel it fits. The view from my room was not good. I could not figure out how to open the shades, very dark.

    The location was excellent right on the sea. The hotel was clean and the service was excellent. Catarina went out of her way to accommodate me in every way. She was the front desk position who I thought might at least be the manager. She is a valuable asset to the owner of the hotel! She really knows how to assist and make a guest feel comfortable. Also, the lifeguard went out of his way to find me an Iphone charger since mine broke and I had no phone to drive home. Overall this is a great deal and location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. I made reservation for room with terrace/sea side and Hotel tried to downgrade me: not nice. Luckily I took screenshot of the offer I took. Furthermore, the lady was not nice about resolving the dispute. 2. Hotel parking is not big enough for all guests. 3. Free WiFi very slow, almost useless

    1. Location: Right on the beach. 2. Pool. 3. Restaurants serves very nice food at reasonable prices

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet connection didn't work in all hotel. There was always an intense trash smell in the air. For 5 days am huge amount of trash was standing against the hotel walls.

    Clean room, good bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing :)

    We just came back from a few days at Villa Romana and our stay was fantastic ! We booked a superior room and had a huge terrace overlooking the beach, simply beautiful. I really recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing break next to the beach with great food either from hotel or from nearby restaurants. Having a car is a bonus as we visited the temples in Agrigento and also good places to eat at San Leone and via Roma. I would definitely go back !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi was nearly non existant. Extremely slow. Breakfast were not very excitkng. Poor choice.

    The pool area very pleasant no music hammering out , Very restful. Sea vew from bedroom , close to the sea.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls between bedroom and next door bathroom

    Very friendly and informative staff, right on the beach, good stopover for visiting the temples and scala di turchi.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms haven’t got any soundproofing.

    Location and the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are not many things around the hotel. Only a very recommendable restaurant 5 minutes walking

    Very complete breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disruptive noise in our room of washing or other machines...

    Perfect breakfest and swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fantastic, very close to the famous scallei dei turchi. The view of our room was awesome!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was excellent staff was friendly, rooms were clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant localization, near the beach. Service was very friendly and helpful. Tasty breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Learn English please:-)

    Nice breakfast and kind and smiling staff in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beach could be more cleaner. Although for better beach you need to walk a bit more.

    Swimming pool - exellent. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices for diners, was too big.

    Wery friendly staff, food was wery great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    A warm welcome, high class services in a lovely sicilian place (inside and outside): we keep very good memories from this property

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paper-thin walls, we could easily hear the people from the neighboring rooms talking.

    Good location on the beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beach around hotel a little bit dirty

    Breakfast was better than in most Sicily hotels. Kind personnel and very good room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather

    Friendly staff, good location, easy parking, restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view to the Northshore, own beach, nice staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent location, nice staff. Good value for the price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, good location, nice view from the balcony

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and location. Right on the beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food services at pool area could be improved difficult to get drinks and food .

    Beachside location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely poor wifi Decor from the 80s

    Nice pool, located on beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Location lovely staff !!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, with good swimming pool. The receptionist speaks english very well and it is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel decor was a little dated and the bed/pillows were not that comfortable.

    The location was excellent and very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows were hard (normal for Sicily).

    Directly on the beach and free parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    There was nothing I did not like

    Absolutely everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As I tried to book hotel at my next destination, the internet went down, wich I find not acceptable in the era of internet! The dinner restaurant was closed due to off season, which I did not get any information about. When my husband ta the breakfast went to order coffee in the resaturant, the only replay he got was that we sit in the wrong part of the resaturant. Unthinkable!

    The location is fantastic, next to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The acces to the hotel is not evident coming from the city. On saturdaynight there was a weddingparty in the restaurant without any notice to the clients. The barservice was very poor.

    Nice room with sea view and large terrace. Good restaurant and excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows hard as rock. Morning breakfast staff not too helpful. Teabag issue - Brits want regular Breakfast Tea and lots of it, not flavoured or herbal tea!!

    Location was great. Clean rooms and fresh sheets every day. Beautiful restaurant with good food. Evening restaurant and bar staff attentive. Reception staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like radio blasting in restaurant at breakfast; 2 women waiting staff in restaurant in morning were not very friendly. Had to keep asking for Breakfast Tea sachets instead of flavoured tea on offer at breakfast and it would have been nice to have the hot water served in your own individual pot. They got it right at the bar so why not at breakfast? Pillows rock hard. I would have scored it 9/10 if not for the few negative comments I have made.

    Great location near to Port Empedocle, Turkish Steps and Valley of the Temples. The restaurant is beautiful and the evening meal was very good and reasonably priced ; the evening waiting staff worked really hard and made our meal enjoyable. Both bar staff and reception staff friendly. The room was comfortable and clean with a fantastic view over the sea from the private balcony. For a change, there is a reat restaurant called The Meditteranea 200 yards along the road. Check when open.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dinner was very strange, as they could not cook pasta (?), but cook a rather weard pork chop....

    Nice location at the seaside; great view; close to the temple valley Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception we received by the manager was terrible. We were not shown to our room. The shower was leaking and when we told the manager there was no apology and he didn't seem to really care. Balcony was dirty. No extra pillows.

    Location was perfect, central and close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    Great place to stay on beach away from the busy town of Agrigenta. Easy access, good secure parking, friendly helpful staff, generous breakfast. Excellent evening meals in comfortable typical restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    perfect stopover hotel to take a breather on your trip around sicily-we had a room with terrace which was lovely overlooking pool and beach-breakfast was ok-reception very helpful re restuarant suggestions-pool was lovely-wi fi worked well-the 2 nights we stayed set us up nicily for the rest of the island trip-very affordable hotel -free parking-greta for doing the scali dei turki

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the pool is closed too early and opens too late.

    the location, next to the beach - the room with the big balcony - perfect for a drink and watching the amazing view and stars.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is located far enough away from the attractions, restaurants, pedestrian area. For your comfort car essential. The restaurant at the limited range of dishes. The cost of the dinner is high enough

    good location on the coast. Attentive staff with knowledge of foreign languages. Good quality and tasty dishes in the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was at first hard to find (U-turn to arrive)

    We stayed for 4 days to relax en de-stress and for that purpose it was a fantastic hotel. Nice pool, close to the sea and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything.

    We arrived early and they came to pick us up from the bus stop and we got our room already before noon. The staff was very helpful and kind. The location is great and it's a walking distance to Scala dei Turchi. There's also a nice pool and the view from our room to the beach was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception staff were particularly helpful in sorting late night taxis back to the hotel from a family wedding. Despite a language barrier, we were invited to type our request into Google for translation. We were even introduced to the taxi driver in advance. Excellent service!

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Villa Romana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: