Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Romeo 3 stars

Via Platamone 8, 95131 Catania, Italy

#6 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 507 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing

    Our room was large and fresh looking, with an amazing shower room. We had a small balcony which overlooked the beautiful, peaceful courtyard (terrace). There were easy chairs to sit on. It was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet location opposite the central station. Beautiful, quiet, sunny courtyard to enjoy. Particularly helpful staff (who speak English) arranged transport to the airport for us and two bicycles. Lovely restaurant just round the corner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great for the rail and bus stations which was our priority but, as is often the case, it wasn't the prettiest of areas and we avoided the walk into the historic area in the evenings.

    The very friendly and helpful staff recommended a restaurant literally around the corner which provided fantastic food and buzzing, authentic atmosphere. We ate there, I Moschettieri, on both evenings and it was terrific. Hotel was much nicer than surroundings might suggest with large, comfortable rooms and bathrooms, efficient air con and a very pleasant outdoor area for breakfast which offered plenty of variety.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I did not stay longer!

    Staff were friendly, helpful and spoke English,which was great as I have no Italian. The hotel has a very high standard of cleanliness. I loved staying there and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the fast food restaurants and near to the hotel. We needed to be on the alert as some gangs around

    Nice quiet hotel near to central station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of significance although the neighborhood looks somewhat seedy

    Location close to train and bus stations, 15 minute walk to city center, artistic touches in public spaces, including the corridors, of the hotel, garden setting of breakfast area, and above all the very pleasant and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the hotel location. It didn't feel safe to walk out at night and is farther from the historic centre than we liked. The room was comfortable except that we couldn't control the air conditioner. It had to be set and turned on and off from the front desk. Wish we could open windows without a few mosquitoes venturing in.

    Old hotel with grand past I think. Loved the outdoor patios. Very good breakfast, although if you were later with still one hour to go the fruit was not replaced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the area, but then again we wanted something near the station.

    Lovely hotel. I have read the term quirky and think it applies well. (Wish it could have been elsewhere).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location of the hotel ideal for train and bus terminals but far away from the city center

    decoration of the hotel,interior atrium garden, rich breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood to the west of the hotel is a bit sketchy.

    Close to the train station. Cheap but convenient. The airport shuttle (4 euros) stops at the train station across the street. Several decent restaurants on the piazza adjacent and across the street on the waterfront.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    We picked this hotel for proximity to the railway station. The area is not very attractive but did not feel threatening. There are a number of decent restaurants and cafes in the immediate vicinity and city centre is within walking distance. The hotel is clean, comfortable and staff very helpful, in particular Gianmarco on reception. The outdoor breakfast area is a lovely feature.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location if travelling by train or taking a bus to/from the airport. The hotel is comfortable and clean with classical decoration that is in very good condition. Staff are efficient and helpful, breakfast is good and the unexpected terrace is a gem. Hotel seems to be better overall than most 3-star hotels in Sicily.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area by the bus station isn’t the safest - have to be a bit careful at night, but the problem with being near the station.

    Staff were very nice and helpful. My friend lives locally and when came to visit the staff were strict with checking ID for security which was nice to see. Very convenient next to the station and a 5/10 min walk to the town centre. Worth it for a nice place to crash in Catania

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My sister's room had no shelf for her cosmetics and toiletries.

    Good sized bed for a single room. Lovely helpful staff. Excellent breakfast and good coffee. Would recommend and would certainly return. It was a bit of a walk to the centre of town but so convenient for the bus and train stations and as we were visiting Taormina and Siracusa, that was perfect for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had lots of natural light, the breakfast was good, the staff was friendly and the receptionist was very helpful...also could speak English but willing to help me with Italian.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi a little slow at times.

    The bed was so comfortable and good sized room. Breakfast was nice and the courtyard lovely. Excellent location for the buses and easy walking distance to the centre of town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    next to the central Station (2min), only few minutes to the city center....very calm inside, extravagant artful furniture, better than normal italian breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Close to bus and main railway station. Easy 15 minute walk to the main city attractions. The room was big with comfortable bed. The staff was polite and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All OK.

    Nice room, view to main street, but noice isolation was perfect! Good restaurants but also some street food on proximity. Good breakfast. Parking FOC on the street (under cameras), but possible also in close parking (10EUR/night)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very bad location if you want to explore the city. 15-20 min walk through very suspicious and dirty surrounding, especially during the evening and night. The room was dark with one window that looks to the yard. Very basic room, expensive for what you will recieve.

    Nice place if you need to stay close to the bus and train station. Very clean and cozy hotel. The room was big enough, with AC for heating and comfortable bed. The staff was very polite and ready to help. Maybe little bit expensive for conditions that you will get.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to improve on, the hotel exceeded our expectations.

    the cleaning of the room was outstanding as was the breakfast, the ambience of the courtyard breakfast area and the hospitable and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge Francesco and his staff were extremely helpful in helping me retrieve a lost item from my flight. The personal service was extremely kind and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room opened onto the lovely garden terrace. Francesco at the front desk helped me arrange a taxi from and to the airport and was very helpful with recommendations as well. It was a short and interesting walk to the center of town. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't great.

    The hotel was very convenient for us as our flight arrived at Catania late on a Sunday evening. The hotel is literally a couple of minutes away from the bus stop at Central Station and was very easy to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning was sort of difficult to set. While this is, of course, not the fault of the hotel, the street itself and the surroundings are somewhat shabby and one doesn't feel fully relaxed walking around at night.

    Very close to the main railway station and to the stop of the airport bus. Nice and friendly staff, clean, large and comfortable room. Reasonably good breakfast, although there might be somewhat broader choice. Fast internet. Comfortable, large bathroom. Nice terraces, one of them is used for breakfasts in good weather. Not far (ca. 15-20 min. walk) from the main city attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no complaints.

    excellent location for train, bus and metro connections. Easy 15 minute walk to the centre of Old Town. Very comfortable beds, good lighting, nice breakfast with hot and cold items. Don't be put off by the somewhat dodgy-looking area. This is typical of areas near train stations. We stayed on the main streets and felt quite safe. Good price, good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts were OK, but uninspiring. Worth asking bar staff for coffee rather than drinking the coffee set out. Street noise from main road disturbed sleep somewhat, despite being several rooms along side road.

    Good pedestrian access to city and also by car to airport and routes to the south.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Driving is very difficult in Sicilian cities, and Catania is no exception.

    The staff was exceptional in being accommodating. We needed some services, and they were great. Francesco and the other 2 guys were nothing short of amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is across the street from the train/bus station and as expected the neighborhood seemed questionable and we were nervous at first to walk around the area. However there was a deli/bakery just down the street and we bought a nice bottle of wine there. We also found a charming Trattoria just around the corner and had a really good last meal there. We decided to take public transportation to the airport the next morning and catch the 4:40 am "Alibus" to the airport. The bus was 40 minutes late. But no traffic on a Saturday morning so we arrived with just enough time as it turned out. I would suggest a taxi ride instead for 25 Euros.

    The hotel was very nice. It had an old world charm and formal Italian decor. It was quiet as possible considering the busy neighborhood.The patio/ terrace was lovely as pictured, and we had a glass of wine there and relaxed. There was an elevator too. the bathroom had been remodeled and was modern and very clean. We chose it because of the location was close to the airport. We only stayed one night and had to leave very early in the morning for a 7:15 flight to Rome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for quick visit to Catania. 10 minutes walk to historic centre, but across the street from bus/train station, thus guick and cheap transportation to airport. Hotel was weirdly ornate, but rooms comfortable. Great inner courtyards off the rooms and for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We missed Russian channels on TV!!! And electric kettle - they provide it on demand, and we have to wait a bit. And - they did NOT provide the lunch box for our last day (we had to leave earlier than 6.30 am, and we asked for lunch box 20 hours in advance, and several times. Promises, promises...at the end, when we came to our room in the evening, we understood that nobody will provide any meals to us...it's sad!!!

    I liked the patio where we had the breakfast, the original inside design of hotel corridors, doors, stairs and patios. The size of our room (triple) was good for 2 people wishing to sleep on separate beds. And - yes, it was quiet in our room 119.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The breakfast was great and wes served I the courtyard. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. Location was close to the station and easy to find....its signposted as you walk from the station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No criticism really but it was a bit of a walk into Catania centre

    I had no real expectations about this hotel but it was excellent. On arrival we were upgraded to a superior room which was luxury. The staff were so friendly and helpful breakfast was superb and was served in a lovely breakfast terrace

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great in a nice garden setting. Staff arranged private transfer to Siracusa, driver went over and above to ensure we knew exactly how and where to get back by bus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It isn't a nice side of town to walk around at night. The southern beach is a good 40 minute walk from the property, not sure if there is a closer rocky beach.

    Location was ideal opposite the train/bus station. The centre was lovely and just a 10 minute walk. Breakfast was plentiful and wifi was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the fact that the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful in every respect, from management , breakfast and room staff. Parking was available for the rented car. A well managed property. Breakfast selection very good , so all in all excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location around the hotel is very rundown.

    Room was large and plenty of space for parents and three children. Staff very helpful. Very close to Catania Centrale railway station so easy for us to continue our journey.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Traffic was busy, fast and dirty from the fumes. Crossing the road was a real "life" skill that had to be learnt fast. Being hassled in the main Piazza del Duomo by many menu-wealding girls touting for your custom. All the menus were very similar in content and price.

    Great Location near the Railway Station although the surrounding area was a little rough looking although we had no problems. The hotel itself was from another time but lovely and comfortable. The breakfast was more than adequate. We used a local restaurant in the Piazza Falcone and the food, service and cost were all very good. In the central area the architecture was stunning and the shopping was a mixture of the cheap tourist shops and the more expensive retailers and fashion houses.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location slightly seedy and a little way to walk to the city centre (but very convenient for airport bus and train.)

    Surprisingly opulent interior, unexpected nice interior terrace for breakfast. Good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Be careful of taking a white private taxi. They can charge double the price - instead of 25 euro, the white private taxi charged us 40 euro. These private taxis are in front of the departure entrance. Check for public taxi and always ask how much it cost before getting in.

    The breakfast is average. It closes at 10 am. - a bit too early. The beds are ok. The location is good for us - close to the airport and train station. The food at the 3 Musketeers was excellent! It is a family owned. I have been charged one night pre-approved in May and I hope to get that money back. Francesco is very helpful. He can recommend good places to go and eat. Thank you! The beaches are nice and I love the public beaches!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was in a good spot for our bus journey the next day to airport. Our room had french doors onto roof terrace where we ate breakfast. It was a nice friendly clean hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room tiny and awkward shape. Bed uncomfortable. Bathroom shower lacked power. Breakfast unbeatable. Location inconvenient and sordid. You should not have this hotel on your books

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    City very busy but convenient to fly in to Sicily

    Delightful introduction to Sicily Our room entered a delightful courtyard where we had a delicious breakfast. An oasis in a busy city The staff were helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really didn't like the area but think in a few years or so Catania will be a really hip location, and areas like this will benefit.

    The staff were incredibly helpful with restaurant reservations etc. and just generally really nice. The price was very reasonable for a wonderful Deluxe room. The garden/terrace was a real oasis of calm. The buffet breakfast had eggs, sausages etc. included and on the last 2 days a really lovely guy made us proper cappuccinos, espressos etc. on top of the coffee available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit far from the centre of the city. The area around the hotel was not particularly inviting.

    The room was clean and well set up. The bed was comfortable. It was within easy walking distance of the train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel in every way. Superb breakfast with delicious melon. Nice garden area for outdoor breakfast. Only 2 minutes from main railway station in quiet street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    I have stayed at this hotel frequently and it continues to please me every time. Great for getting fast from the airport with the airport bus, only 2 minutes from the bus stop. Beautiful structure with precious objects throuhout, big and comfortable room and very fast wife. Very enjoyable to take the breakfast on the outdoor patio, the best croissants, eggs, prosciutto and cheeses, müesli and youghurt plus the cakes. All this included in a very good price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was hard, which we have found typical in Italy. There was no hair shampoo, only shower gel.

    The hotel was very near to the train station and buses. The hotel staff were excellent, efficient and friendly. Our room was large, with good storage facilities for our belongings. There was a good choice at breakfast, which could be taken in the courtyard outside, or inside. The warm croissants were wonderful!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in a dirty, seedy neighborhood, most of Catania appears that way. Still worth the visit and would stay in this hotel again.

    The location was close to the train station and we could walk to the attractions in the main part of town. The hotel is very nice on the inside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to Catania main station and to stop of airport bus. Nice inner courtyards with trees and other plants. Therefore quiet rooms despite central location. Breakfast quite good as far as Italian breakfasts go. Staff friendly and able to communicate in English.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    Location of the hotel is super convenience until can use this hotel as an efficient travelling hub to the must go Etna, Taormina or even to visit the so-called largest wine enoteca in Italy--Il Cantaniere on walk only 700 meters up north, or the nearby viticulture association which sell wine by litre at Eur.2-3 per litre, fill in to your bottle. Room is cozy and new, just decorate with enough space with central sitting area in garden style, and very calm and silent. Breakfast is good just enough with good taste Italian coffee with good staffs there. I have met and always talked to 2 front counter receptionist, i.e. Francesco and the other guy (did not know his name) which is very helpful and very friendly, both has explained to me for all things I need to know about the Catania.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really loved this B&B. Over that road from the train/bus station. Doesn't look much from outside but really lovely inside. Lovely rooms and courtyard garden that's really peaceful and a lovely place to eat breakfast which was plentiful and great quality. Ask for a room onto courtyard if possible.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unattractive location in a scruffy area of town.

    Two minutes on foot from Central railway station, but across a very busy intersection. Interior courtyard adjoins breakfast room for eating al fresco. Basic breakfast, but only 5 euros. Interiors and plush fittings indicate the building's past grandeur. Decent sized first floor room at front. Good stopover for people on a budget.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness should be done more attentively. Curtains, doors and windows had not been cleaned for several weeks at least. Towels a bit worn out

    Location very close to the train station and airport bus station, Within walking distance to city center. Very nice terrace with flowers, benches and chairs. Basic breakfast, but good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neighborhood was a bit dodgy.

    Nice boutique hotel. Staff was friendly and spoke English. Breakfast was included in the rate and was a good average. Coffee was great!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Staff are extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful Excellent location very convenient for train and bus stations, and an easy walk to city centre. Good well priced breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything was perfect. The service was outstanding, thanks for the reception team. Hospitality is excellent. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Would be glad to return.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A 20 minute walk into centre along poor crowded pavements ( parked cars). Outside a bit grubby, but the whole of Catania is bespoiled by graffiti.

    Close to rail/bus station (200m). Quiet, serene inside first floor hotel. set around a courtyard. Very good trattoria around the corner. Buffet breakfast served over a long time span. Good for an Italian breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delightful one night stay in this beautiful hotel. Totally surprised to find such a lovely place so convenient to the train station. Francesco at the front desk couldn't have been more welcoming and upgraded our room while we were waiting to check in. Room filled with lovely furniture, murals and dome ceiling. Breakfast on the terrace amongst the flower pots was delicious. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is near the railway station and harbour. The street where it is situated is not that attractive, but we felt perfectly safe there. On the terrace you can feel miles away from this area.

    We found the location very convenient, we were able to get off the airport bus and reach the hotel in about 3 minutes. It was also close to the bus station, usefyl to us as we travelled to Modica by bus and returned from Ragusa by bus.The staff were exceedingly helpful, allowing us to leave our luggage on the morning of our departure and on the day that we return to Catania to fly home. Loved the terrace where we were able to sit outside and enjoy a delicious breakfast. Breakfast was included in the extremely reasonable rate. We had one morning and one afternoon to look around Catania. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the World Heritage sights so it is convenient. We would like to return to Catania as we still have quite a few things to see. We would definitely return to Hotel Villa Romeo.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better double glazing to keep out street noise.

    The hotel was once a prince's palace, apparently, and it still feels properly palatial, though some may find the decoration a bit excessive. Bedrooms are spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. Breakfast, which was fine by Italian standards, was in the remarkably quiet courtyard garden. The staff were especially friendly and helpful. Although we arrived very late (due to a delayed flight), they helped us find a parking space and a restaurant that was still open.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was 10/10.

    Absolutely everything. We had asked for a quiet room overlooking courtyard and thats exactly what we got. The courtyard is beautiful. The room, wifi speed, excellent shower and close walk to main railway station were all a big plus. Reception staff, i think his name was Antonio, was fantastic and recommended very nice restaurant close by for dinner. Congratulations to everyone, this was an excellent stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The owner is really excellent. He is so great, he send us every day SMS to see is everything OK. Apartment is so clean, beautiful, close to city center. All good restaurants is really close. The day when we were leaving, the owner took us to the bus station, it was very nice from him.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was the fact that the fridge turned off when you left the room. As a budget traveler this meant that I was unable to leave food in the fridge to make takeaway lunches etc. But this is a small complaint and I guess if the fridge was on all the time the price of the accommodation might have to increase.

    I was very impressed with the hotel and the staff were fantastic - helpful, knowledgeable, and couldn't do enough to make the stay a good one.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Perfect location for those who arrive to Catania bus/train station. A few minutes walk. The terrace for breakfast is awesome. Pictures even do not reveal it's real beauty. Breakfast was more than we expected having warm food as well (eggs, sausages). Wi-fi was stable and quick Staff is really helpful.Thank you Villa Romeo. We really felt that you do care about your guests.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little bit away from the centre of town and the area itself is fairly run down

    Really nice hotel. Clean and great value. Close to the train station and bus station for transfers

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not located in a nice area and customers should take care outside the hotel. We were not bothered by anyone but we kept a close eye on our children, especially near the prostitutes and homeless people.

    We loved this oasis of a hotel in Catania. The breakfast is good and the courtyards are wonderful. The sound-proofing in the rooms is excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ease of getting to the hotel from the airport bus. The overall feel of the hotel. The breakfast. This is the second year we have stayed at this hotel and the standards have not wavered. We will be back again next year.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Insane decor was amusing. Our two rooms were large and faced onto separate courtyards. If you want fresh air while you sleep, you have to have light, due to shutters rather than heavy curtains, but we used aircon and was OK. Plenty of courtyard areas for relaxing/smoking. Good breakfast. Extremely helpful staff with good English.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism we had was that we were a party of four older females and requested four single beds but they were unable to provide them two people had to share a double bed however this did not detract from our stay. Would recommend this hotel. Christine o'connor

    The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. The staff were excellent giving information and. Advice especially Francesco. Excellent stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed at Hotel Villa Romeo multiple times, and it is my go-to place in Catania for many reasons. The location near the train station makes it very easy to arrive there from the airport bus as well as depart for other locations in Sicily. The facilities are always tidy and functioning well, the breakfast is generous with lots of options, but the best asset is the hotel's staff, which is always courteous and go the extra mile to help out. I am so fond of this hotel that I brought sixteen of my college students there at the start of a three-week tour through Sicily and southern Italy. The staff (thank you Alessio and Francesco!!!) was so kind to arrange a delicious lunch for us at a nearby restaurant so my students could have their first introduction to fantastic Sicilian cuisine, which made us all feel so welcome and helped to overcome jet lag all the more quickly. The bathrooms in all of the rooms have been recently renovated, and the hotel is making great efforts to enhance the clients' experience in any way they can.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    This hotel maybe is not ideal for the people who do not like a exotic perfume of tropical plants. Or it least refers to rooms in that side of the building.

    I have just the nice words for this place. Excellent location. Very kind, helpful and polite staff. Hotel has an interesting atmosphere, with plenty of beautiful plants. I especialy enjoyed direct exit from my room into a nice little garden.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning a bit noisy.

    Lovely quiet sunny courtyard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar available

    Lovely outside patio for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is a little dated, and needs an uplift. Our AC wasn't working.

    Has basic amenities, and an secure indoor parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Villa Romeo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: