Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa San Giorgio

Via Conca D' Oro 1, 37010 SantʼAmbrogio di Valpolicella, Italy

#12 of 27 hotels in SantʼAmbrogio di Valpolicella

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 132 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Valpolicella Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like!

    Do yourselves a favour and stay at Villa San Giorgio. The hosts are wonderful and so welcoming and their restaurant is a taste sensation and experience to be had. The views are magical. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice restaurant below
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures lead me to believe it is more rural than it is, rooms are small although adequate, sadly for me the air con couldn't cope with the heat making it uncomfortable to sleep, and we were there in September, the summer heat would make the rooms stifling, air con needs an upgrade before I can recommend

    Nice view from the back of the villa

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Great view and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Room was very clean and the venue also assisted us with an iron in the room on short notice request. Great view from both room and the dining terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed at the attitude of the male staff member in attending to a facilities problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet systern was broken and had to be attended to on three occasions. I was told by the male staff member that the problem was the way I was pushing the button - not good customer service. The manageress later advised that a plumber was not available over the weekend and offered me another room the next day. I was moved to another room on the second night which was much smaller, had no view, no remote for the TV, no bottled water or tea making facilities. Most disappointing not getting what I paid for.

    The manageress was pleasant and helpful in attending to a problem with the facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful view.........shame about the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the owners wife was busy and didn't have time to show us to our room or go over timings for breakfast or explain how the place ran. She handed over the key and we sorted out things ourselves. The room was unbearably hot and when we put the air conditioning on it struggled to cool the room. It was very noisy and even after leaving it on full for several hours it was too hot to sleep. After leaving it on for more than 24 hours it was just about bearable to sleep at night . The Manager said that there was nothing he could do but to leave it on full time. Room 104 was rather basic. The mattress was hard and thin. The bathroom was pokey and the shower didn't work properly. You could not get a decent spray of water and it kept going hot or cold and although the owner said he had tried to clean the head it should have been replaced before we had arrived. He offered to change it after 2 days but as we were leaving on the 3rd it was too late. Very disappointing as we had booked for 3 nights. If we hadn't paid up front we would have left after the first night. We got the impression that this is a restaurant first and a B and B last. I did mention to the owner when we left that they should replace the shower head before anyone else occupies the room. I hope they make the basic adjustments necessary before anyone else pays for that room.

    The breakfast on the terrace overlooking vineyards was beautiful. You could see all the way to lake Garda. The owners were pleasant and friendly. The bed was changed and made up every day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    A nice surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though price worthy the rooms are simple with beds rather firm and no mini bar. Information about the surroundings, opening hours etc could be more accessible.

    Bohemian air. The bistro, which is not a traditional one, is a definite bonus! Sunny terrace, jazz music in the background, relaxed food with high quality ingredients, most of them at good value, and live music twice a week. Great wine selection. The owners are friendly and forthcoming, the surroundings breathtaking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    A very nice place in Sant'Ambrogio - view to the Garda Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent Saturday night and the party in the bar below did not leave us much sleep.

    Very nice location and extremely friendly host. We left very early and the most excellent breakfast package was made for us. Thanks a lot. Also an excellent restaurant down stairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Just go there!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely noting

    If I could give this B&B six stars I would. Wonderful staff, wonderful views, newly renovated beautiful rooms. Very helpful staff who helped us with contacting a winery to book a tasting. Nice restaurant in the basement.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view, very nice staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Nice panorama and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice panorama and view. Delicious wines, food. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Great view/ location. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room and the breakfast area was spectacular. The host was very warm. We loved our short stay and would definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic place, the Bistro is amazing with good food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place, the Bistro is amazing with good food and wine. And the staff is great! Will be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    quiet place, simple but comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic view!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    Outstanding location and staff made you feel like family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Absolutely nothing!

    Outstanding location and staff made you feel like family. Mateo was extremely helpful with information on the local area and excursions.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.6
    Staff, comfort, price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, comfort, price. Location for us was excellent because it was faraway from everything but it was a bit hard to find and for some people it might be too far from the city.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    View from the room is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wish I had more time....

    View from the room is stunning. Staff was incredibly helpful and welcoming. Easy access to Verona. Lovely restaurant! My 'Solo traveler' experience was memorable.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    The staff could not have been more helpful, the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was literally nothing not to like

    The staff could not have been more helpful, the location is fantastic, the price was great. All in all this is one of the nicest overall places we have ever stayed

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    8.3
    staff friendly and helpful, view beautiful, breakfast very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air cond in the room wasn't working well

    staff friendly and helpful, view beautiful, breakfast very good.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.8
    Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms are dated.

    Staff!! Excellent. Knowledgable. Always wanting to please and make sure we were taken care of. Great view. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    9.2
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I'm tall. The bed was short for me. Not a big negative.

    Location was great. Amazing views of the hillsides and Lake Garda.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    We have stayed more than 20 times and love Villa San Giorgio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed more than 20 times and love Villa San Giorgio. Fantastic location and wonderfully attentive staff.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22