Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa San Lorenzo Maria 3 stars

Via Dei Liguri 7, San Lorenzo, 00185 Rome, Italy

#397 of 970 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1584 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    Good enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little difficult to get to main attractions by public transport. We were not very good with Google maps. no food available only pizza at night.

    The staff very helpful and friendly, our room was good very clean. The mobile phone to help find our way and make calls, if I was able to work it properly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very helpful and manager went out of their way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful and manager went out of their way to give me city tips and maps upon arrival. Manager really minded me upon arriving and got us cappuccinos / hot chocolates / pastries and I was traveling with a 7 and 5 year old. Girl at bar was lovely as was reception guy in the evening who gave me a great tip for a nearby pizzeria. A really good continental breakfast - far better than most city hotels.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Hotel is a little sanctuary in a busy neighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out of the way. Need to travel in both directions to see everything. Transport links are good unfortunately there was a transport strike when we were there one day. Taxi €35.

    Hotel is a little sanctuary in a busy neighbourhood. The mobile they provided free UK calls and internet anywhere in Rome was fantastic

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.4
    Too far out (not hotels fought) area is shabby although may be safe didn't look it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms needs updating and bathrooms, the checkout I tried twice to pay with card and the modem wasn't working I pointed it out that that it was saying working offline and my reply well it was working this morning implying that I didn't have funds in my account my partner tried on his card and again didn't work saying off line, was a little bit annoying.

    The terrace out side was lovely, the lady in the bar was lovely I believe her name was Analisa she was so happy and welcoming, breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.0
    A very good stay for 2 days in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator old and small, water in the shower not warm/hot,

    The location is in close proximity to the Vatican ,St. Angelo square and Piazza Navona Safe to walk even at night, Couple of good restaurant around the area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    I can’t praise the staff enough, they all go over and above,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is extremely small, however the positives of this hotel far outweigh this!

    I can’t praise the staff enough, they all go over and above, and the hotel would not be the same without them! Location is very convenient and free parking a massive bonus!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.0
    Oversell and underdeliver
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As someone already mentioned this before, the hotel is located in a student/hipster-ish area and can seem a little daunting to some as the walls are filled with graffiti (random scratches on the walls) and street were super dirty (worse than in the central area). I knew it was farther from city center but the way towards the center was far from ideal. Back to the hotel, the rooms were quite outdated and not soundproofed, the shower was either too cold or too hot; AC and air ventilator were way too old to ventilate clean air. When we arrived, the room smelled weird, blankets were stinking (bedsheets were clean though) and even noticed women hair on one of the towels and in the shower. Breakfast, ok-ish but surely lacks variety. Overalls, disappointed for the money we paid and wouldn’t recommend it to others unless the owner modernizes it!

    Nice terrace for a few drinks

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal options were limited.

    The hotel is in a beautiful old building in a vibrant neighbourhood. It has a good tram connection to different sightseeing points in Rome. Staff were very helpful. They offered a complimentary coffee at check in. Breakfast was good. The room was outstandingly sound proofed and with very good blinds. There is a courtyard in the entrance which is lovely for coffee or drinks. There is also a terrace on the top floor for relaxing or sun bathing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay in Rome
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful interior Wonderful garden and terrace Cheerful and smiling staff, and really helpful and nice Convenient location - close to bus stop and bus station Good WiFi connectivity

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Antonio and his staff were great, with many extra touches...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Antonio and his staff were great, with many extra touches like a complementary cold drink on arrival, and manoeuvering our rather large hire car out of the car park when we left. It is rare for a hotel to provide free on site parking so close to the centre of Rome. The hotel is an oasis of style and calm in a rather funky neighbourhood. There is a lot of graffitti in the surrounding streets some of it very tasteful (a few years ago the local authorities held a competition to add to the graffitti) and litter is an issue. However, we always felt safe in the area when walking out at night. Every night we ate very well and inexpensively in one or other of the local restaurants recommended by the hotel, we never felt the need to eat in central Rome. There are lots of buses and trams nearby to take you into the city centre, but we chose to walk and get a feel for the real city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    An excellent option for a different Roman experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our second stay at this hotel and once again we enjoyed a very welcoming hotel with staff who gave outstanding service. This hotel is highly recommended if you want to stay away from the tourist centre of Rome. There are very good public transport options and the food establishments are authentic, frequented by locals and are very well priced.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Staff was very accommodating and helpful at all times .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location appears run down due to the graffiti .

    Staff was very accommodating and helpful at all times . Beautiful Hotel with private terraces. Breakfast was very good . Quaint hotel with lovely outdoor spaces . Area does have a lot of graffiti but we always felt safe and local train just a block away which leads to the heart of Rome’s plenty of restaurants and cafes. Front desk Day-time clerk extremely pleasant and helpful .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.0
    Shower very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very small. Sink too small...no where to put brush cosmetics etc. ceiling leaking in bathroom. Pillows terrible. Hair dryer in room also terrible. Nowhere to eat close by. Area did not look safe. No easy transportation. Lovely bar and breakfast area outside.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice, secluded hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked this place a lot. I would rate it a notch above the two other places I stayed at. It's a bit of a walk from Termini station, about 15 minutes or so. If that's not an issue, then I would highly recommend this place. It was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and language was not an issue. The room had more decor than the two other places I stayed at in the same price range. The rooms open into a very small courtyard which was nice. Also, the property is a bit away from the street, which allows for some tables out front so you can enjoy a morning cappuccino or an evening Aperol spritz outside.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely staff- friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was very noisy Sheets were slightly smelly Interior was a bit disappointing - more dated than authentic

    Lovely staff- friendly and helpful Exterior of hotel is lovely Buffet breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not quite right. Shower head needed replacing.

    The breakfast were great. Buildings and grounds really nice and good character. Staff went out of their way to help and we appreciated it. Nice quiet place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    A friendly spot in an up and coming neighborhood, with a lovely garden patio for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SOME people might not love the neighborhood; it's not central or tourist-centered, and somewhat scruffy, but it didn't feel unsafe and this New York city family enjoyed it.

    The staff were helpful and friendly, the room had a lovely terrace and breakfast in the garden patio was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    An OK hotel in a scruffy area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood is run down and covered in graffiti Breakfast is poor Shower smelt mouldy

    It is charming and quiet Comfortable bed Good sized room Easy to get tram to the centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    The staff were very helpful and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was unbearably musky when we checked in. Soon found out why. The air-con was leaking onto the roof, and fell in on me when I came out of the shower. They did replace it, but by the time we checked out, there was another water build up on the roof. Staff were apologetic, but this is more of a reflection on the owner than the staff.

    The staff were very helpful and very friendly. Great knowledge of the local area. They pointed out where the local supermarket is and even recommended an awesome nightlife spot. Very helpful with dinner and drinks aswell. See our journey on Insta @manoliandhanna

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.4
    We liked the welcome of the front office the service at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the room nothing connected to the pictures at the Booking . The area is not so nice for 2 woman.

    We liked the welcome of the front office the service at the breakfast and the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    Average value for a 3 star hotel in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are tiny. Taking a shower was a challenge because the shower curtain or the door to the shower stall was missing. We would flood the bathroom each time. The air conditioner in the room rented by our kids was only pretending to work: a lot of noise to no effect. Coming from N. America or Northern Europe, lower your expectations in order not to be disappointed. When in Rome...

    The staff at the hotel is great - helpful, thoughtful and speak English. Also a nice touch was the inclusion in each room of a smart phone (portable wi-fi) that you can carry around the city with you. Breakfast is very good as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Fine hotel at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Staff particularly attentive breakfast Excellent Rooms comfortable clean and spacious nearby restaurants a bonus The hotel has a cosy bar with cheap cocktails. This is why I have returned twice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.0
    The staff was incredibly nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door was a little broken and we asked to get it fixed, but it seems like they only let the cleaning lady know who seemed to not know what to do about it. It might have been due to language barriers though.

    The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Our room was beautiful and we even had a large terrace. The breakfast was great too!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Very happy with our stay and would recommend to any one who wants to live away from the tourist area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was very personal. We were offered breakfast and our room at 9 am after a 20 hour flight which was greatly appreciated. The staff were very friendly and ever willing to help with any request. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in a rather dirty neighborhood. I also did not find my sunglasses which I had left in the room. The shower was very small for me .

    The restaurant and reception staff were very friendly and helped us a lot with how to get to places

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    A treasure in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine.

    Vey nice and helpful staff. Made us feel welcome and at home. Beautiful rooms. They will need some refurbishment soon, but now they have a lot of charm. Soothing music in the background.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice place to stay and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We change rooms twice because of A/C issue and never workd properly and it was the middle of summer in Italy. The parking space are limited

    Breakfast very good, rooms were very nice and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Antonio was the most amazing host and manager, went out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding area wasn’t the nicest, dirty streets and a lot of graffiti, but we realise this is what most of Rome is like.

    Antonio was the most amazing host and manager, went out of his way to accomodate for us, we were able to check in early, and he gave great information about Rome. The rooms were lovely and clean. Delicious breakfast. Metro and bus line close by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay to park outside as car park was full.

    This hotel is fantastic, should be more than 3 stars! Staff are lovely especially when checking in. Decor is gorgeous everywhere. Our room was a standard one however included a waterfall shower, jacuzzi, mobile phone in the room for local info. Room was gorgeous, spacious and comfortable, bathroom was also large and was all marble. Central Rome is about a 25 minute walk away, the bus at the top of the road has a bus that goes right outside the Colleseum. Breakfast is lovely and has loads of choices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for two nights and it was absolutely amazing. The service was excellent, the crew were very friendly and helpfull with everything. The hotel was very charming and authentic, with a warm and welcoming athmosphere. Nice breakfast too. The hotel has a free parking, quite small, but they Will gladly help you to find a spot. Its a nice location if you drive by car, since its not in The City centre. Its Easy to get to The City centre with bus or tran. All toghether, excellent stay!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    loved it , would recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    rooms were a little dusty

    The Hotel is a little out of the way from them main tourist areas , but is short tram ride away , The Colosseum is around a 30min walk the Termini is 20 mins we stayed for a week family of 5 , breakfast is continental very nice with a good variety , loved our stay would stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    It has the old Italian feel with lovely decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. A hot tub on the Terrance would make it amazing!!

    It has the old Italian feel with lovely decor. Our room had a jacuzzi bath and walk in shower. Breakfast was yummy and the staff were brilliant. We left an important document in U.K. and they helped translate and phone postal services to find out where it was.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Try Annalisa's Strawberry Daiquiri!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and decorative, the only small let down was the dated bathroom with a very small shower and broken shower door. Apart from that everything was great! You also get charged city tax which we didn’t realise, (probably didn’t see it when we booked) but we weren’t that bothered as it was a little amount!

    The staff were so friendly and welcoming! Straight away when we arrived we were offered a drink and given a map to show how to get everywhere via transportation etc. The location was within walking distance to the centre (about 20-30minutes) which we didn’t mind as we loved exploring the streets! Plenty of local restaurants in the evenings also! The breakfast was lovely with enough choice, again staff were friendly and helpful. One in particular, Annalisa on the bar in the evening served us the best cocktails we’ve ever had! (even better they have happy hour 2 for 1 in the summer!) Such a lovely person to talk too, (try her strawberry daiquiri!) We definitely recommend this hotel, great value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Quiet location with good access to important sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly and helpful staff. Close to Tram 3 stop for access to the Coliseum etc., Trams 4/14 to the station and the No 19 bus for a good ride through the posh suburbs to the Vatican. Reasonable restaurants a short walk away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    The staff were very nice and helpful and everything went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is on the unwanted side or Rome, fridge didn’t work, the room was not cleaned properly, some lamps didn’t work and the walls were too thin we couldn’t sleep at night hearing our neighbors

    The staff were very nice and helpful and everything went smooth our room had a terrace which was very nice and the room is spacious and practical

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    First we got a room we didn't like, because it was too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First we got a room we didn't like, because it was too small and there was no balcony, but as soon as we complained we could change it and got another room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also very good. We would come again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    2 days of Rom
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't enjoy the location, if I had kids or was unfit I problably wouldn't walk to the hotel, which is a shame. They should recommend getting a taxi since it's quite a walk from train central. The aircondition needs reworking since Rom is really hot in the summer. Lastly the receptionist shouldn't leave advice about not visiting the Six chapel, he almost made us cancel. The line was only about 40 minutes and he made it sound like it was 2 hours and this was on a saturday (which he claimed to be almost impoosible).

    I did enjoy getting a room on top with a terrace. However they should have a big umbrella to protect from the sun.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent "value for money" hotel near central Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing not to like about the hotel but two things may not suit everyone. They do not do an evening meal although they will order you in a Pizza. There are a few places to eat nearby but it can be difficult to find them. Secondly the area is a student area and may seem a little daunting to some with lots of graffiti on the walls of buildings and lots of young people hanging out. I travelled with two children and didn't feel unsafe at all but could understand that some people may find it intimidating.

    This is a lovely friendy hotel that is in a convenient location to catch local transport into central Rome. The rooms are a little quirky but the beds were immaculate and the showers hot and powerful. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of buffet food on offer. The breakfast staff could not do enough for you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Super! Exceeded the expectations considering the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, the entire experience was very good.

    Location is very good in the heart of San Lorenzo and not far from the central main train station, but still it was very quite. Nice interior decorations and quite clean. The room was a bit small but it´s super ok considering the price. On top of that, our room had a beautiful private. terrace. Great breakfast options and special mention for the kindness of the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    A Great stay in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, just good value for money.

    The staff where, very helpful, would recommend a stay here. Based in the Student district there area Bars and Restaurants worth searching out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    The property was a €10 taxi ride away from the train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is in a bad area, there is graffiti everywhere. On the first night my boyfriend and I just wanted a restaurant close by for food but all restaurants don’t start serving food until 7pm, I’m unsure why. The hotel itself is clean, the staff are reasonably nice although on request for another pillow we had to wait until the next day?! I don’t know why a pillow couldn’t have been given to us the same night we asked. The wall paper in our room was pealing off the wall and the headboard on the bed wasn’t secured to the bed which made a loud bang every time you slightly moved in the bed. The whole room as a whole was in serious need of a revamp and some TLC. I can’t comment on breakfast as we got to the centre of Rome as quickly as we could each day. If I returned to Rome I would give this area a miss and pay a little extra to stay in the centre of Rome where there’s no graffiti, better restaurants and more going on.

    The property was a €10 taxi ride away from the train station and the bus links to both airports. The property was also really close to a tram stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.5
    The only thing that’s good about this property is the patio...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very outdated and dirty. Bathroom very small. Staff not friendly and not helpful. Far from city center and all attractions. Property surrounding very unpleasant. We left something in hotel room and trying to call and emailed property, with no luck. They don’t answer phone or reply to email. Very disappointing.

    The only thing that’s good about this property is the patio seating at hotel lobby, and cappuccino in the morning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, relaxing and would 100% stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area between hotel and train station is very littered and I would not be comfortable walking there at night. Fine during the day .

    Staff are brilliant and very helpful , lovely restaurants round the corner, the shop right next is very handy :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant but room for improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No soap holder in the shower or next to the sink, which was inconvenient, no safe box, thin walls so noise could be heard frequently

    Spacious room, comfy bed, aircon worked like a charm, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Best value for money! Definitely we liked the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it’s rather common in Rome, but it looks like very old hotel with small rooms without enough amount of deferent facilities, for example, reachable electric outlets, we had only in the bathroom. It was a little bit uncomfortable to charge there all our gadgets (phones, camera ets).

    Very friendly atmosphere and stuff, especially Max, his support and suggestions were very helpful. Good location. Cleaning service was perfect!!! Good Italian breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was good, many different options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit too far from centre (not walking distance), area felt unsafe and room wasn't very clean.

    Breakfast was good, many different options. Fresh fruits was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel and impressive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a poor location quite far away from attractions and felt a bit unsafe walking through at night.

    Amazing staff who were so helpful and friendly and made our stay brilliant. Once in the hotel everything was good. Lovely well priced drinks, nice terrace, good breakfast, clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Vero friendly staff - explained where to go, how to see the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit dark. Parking quite small, but we were lucky to have a place.

    Vero friendly staff - explained where to go, how to see the sightseeing in better way, allowed to keep the car on the hotel parking after check out while we were walking, offered coffee. We're interesting design of the hotel. Direct tram to the coliseum, so easy to get in the historical center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    It was very pretty much n the lobby area and the room itself...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area did not seem safe. The air conditioning did not work properly, neither did he hot or cold water. The bed was extremely uncomfortable

    It was very pretty much n the lobby area and the room itself was also pretty

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Gem of a hotel but spoilt by neighbourhood graffiti, rubbish and broken bottles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was much further from the centre than we had anticipated. The staff at the hotel took pride in their plants and garden and it saddened us that this was not the case in the area surrounding the hotel. The roads and pavements in the local area were littered with overflowing bags of rubbish and broken bottles. We physically had to step over litter to get about. This was really unforgiveable. The buildings were covered in graffiti and although we appreciate this is a form of expressive art it would have been lovely to appreciate the true nature of the architecture around us without the graffiti facade. It somehow gave the impression that the locals had lost pride in their own buildings.

    Very friendly staff, great rooftop garden attached to our room; lovely breakfast . Lovely local restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    The garden/terrace in front of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really too small for two persons. The shower cabin was extremely small.

    The garden/terrace in front of the hotel. Friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff good transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in our room very small. Lumpy pillows. Should of researched area better as bit far out for us and area looks quite rough

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Close to transport. Area looks a bit rough but hotel good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    The location was fantastic, a minute away from the tram that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room although small was spotlessly clean. Next time I would ask for an upstairs room with preferably a balcony - but that’s just me!!

    The location was fantastic, a minute away from the tram that connects with the Metro. As it is not a traditional tourist area the neighbourhood restaurants are fantastic. All the staff were very knowledgeable and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    A very attractive, well-run hotel, about 15-20 minutes tram-ride from the Colosseum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an attractive, quiet, well run hotel, not too far from the centre of Rome, which can be accessed easily by tram - about 15 minutes to the Colosseum and Forum, for E1.5. The manager and his staff were excellent: they spoke good English and couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast and coffee are served in an attractive, shady courtyard in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small and no coffee making facilities - however, how long are you expecting to stay in the room when in Roma!

    Very clean. Centre easily accessible by tram or 40mins on foot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel has an Android Handy Phone Free of use.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area had Graffiti all over the buildings in this area. Although it appeared unsafe, it was safe to walk anywhere.

    The Hotel has an Android Handy Phone Free of use. This was exceptional as we used Google Maps for Walking directions throughout Rome. The Tram connection was only 2 blocks away excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    fantastic hotel and staff, only 10 minutes from the city by tram, worth a stay. not for familys
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be nice, especially when the bar closes at 10.30pm and to have first thing in the morning.

    The staff were exceptional. Max made us feel very welcome throughout our whole stay. Kira is a wonderful hospitality stewardess and made our evenings extra special. All the staff helped us with public transport, the best routes to take, eg trams, bus and metro and which numbers and where they would stop. We booked a trip to Naples and Pompeii through the hotel which was very easy. The cost for this was 130 Euros each, but when we paid at the booking office in Rome centre they charged us 8 Euros more. Not a big deal but something to be aware of. The tax back to the airport was booked through the hotel at a fixed rate of 50 euros, which is good. The hotel is about 10 minutes tram ride from the Colosseum but we have found that it is much better value staying a little out of town. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you want a bit of quite and relaxation with lovely restaurants 5 minutes away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous staff, fabulous idea of the mobile use...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could do with a little updating.

    Loved the fact you got a mobile phone to use throughout the stay, it was so valuable to us during the day with regards to public transport and were certain things to go and see, fabulous idea. Most staff were very informative and friendly, breakfast was adequate..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Great place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The run-down neighborhood... and a weird smell from the toilet drain. We complained and the very friendly host changed our room immeduately.. Nice people@

    Great staff!! Nice rooms.. FANTASTIC BREAKFASTS...😎

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and attensive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little far from the center

    Friendly and attensive staff Thorough cleaning Breakfast and coffee Close to metro, train amd bus Private terrace to many of the rooms Value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Proper stay in an overpriced Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the room has been in old and to be refurbished conditions. (Bathroom partially not clean and old)

    Very nice outside surrounding garden which allows to have breakfast and evening drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice little hotel with a welcoming feel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very enjoyable stay. Excellent staff. Enough restaurants around the area to not worry about having to get transport in the evening and felt in a safe area albeit with graffiti on some walls. A good decent hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Old school charm with all the extras
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel turned out to be a hidden gem! Charming old world feel; there is a lift for navigating the stairs with luggage. Upon entering the room I was pleased to find a balcony with seating; a mini bar and snacks at a reasonable price; plenty of soap, bodywash, and shampoo and conditioner; but the biggest surprise was a courtesy smart phone included in price of the room!! The phone was pre-programmed with the location of the hotel, and things to see and do in the area. The concierge at this hotel went above and beyond in sorting out an issue with my non-refundable train ticket; breakfast was by far the BEST I had anywhere in Italy and included a full array of meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit, and coffee/tea/juices. And the little cocktail bar downstairs was quite lively in the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money. We can imagine to return to this hotel one day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was quite dark (mix of brown and beige strips). I expected lighter room which was shown on the pictures on booking.com. This is my personal feeling, somebody may like it. The terrace on the roof has not been yet prepared so it was a bit dirty. Not nice smell in our bathroom.

    Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast with a large choice including fruit and a very nice coffee. We appreciated having a bar in the lobby of the hotel. They served not only drinks but also meal like pizza etc. Tram station very close to the hotel (2 min walking). Supermarket next to hotel (1 min). We could go on foot from Termini station to hotel (15-20 min). We liked the quarter despite it was not so clean, full of graffiti and with busy night life.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a rough looking area, but in reality not that bad. I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area the hotel is in is Tiburtina which was a bit rough with graffiti on most of the walls of the surrounding buildings. The hotel itself however is set back and gated so was a clean, graffiti free little oasis. We walked up to a small local restaurant called Jennys (highly recommended) through the graffiti covered apartment buildings, and whilst my son felt a little anxious I cant say I had any concerns and it seemed safe enough. I am telling you this so you know, but not to put you off.

    Pictures of the hotel on the booking site look lovely but as you can see from the picture this is not exactly as you would think, not the nice garden setting beset with fairy lights, that said however its a nice hotel with small but secure off road and parking which is what I needed. Rooms were good, not large but good, and receptionists very helpful, breakfast was European style as you would expect, and plentiful. We found the breakfast room to be a little crowded at times but they overflowed into the bar / reception area which sorted that. There is a tram ride into town which was direct, about six stops from the Colosseum, tickets could be obtained from the cafe across from the tram stop, a short walk from the hotel, for Euro1.50 which was valid for 100 mins and also worked for the metro, although a taxi ride back from Colosseum was no more than Euro 8.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    2.9
    Certainly didn’t even come close to the expectations we had of this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we stepped in to be greeted by the grumpiest of people to the ant infested rooms (still recovering from insect bites) the list of things we didn’t like far outweighs what we liked

    Not much old hotel dear prices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.3
    Strange locations gives a great idea of the real Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. It is close to the trams, however, a bit aside of the city and walking in that area at night was not very pleasent. The shower was too small and the furniture was too old

    Looks vosy when you get in. The staff were friendly and helpful. They gave me a double room for the first night as an upgrade

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were ants in the room, other than that it was well cleaned.

    Nice location in a quirky neighbourhood that has lots to offer. Pretty room, though ours was a bit noisy, right on the hallway. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    The Mobile Phone they provide is very useful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The streets around the hotel was a bit 'rough' looking. The breakfast is ok although I would have liked more variety. It was kind of same during the 4 days we spent there

    The Mobile Phone they provide is very useful. Very Friendly and helpful staff. 2 min walk to Tram. so getting around is very easy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Great place for everyone - very family friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fuse could be stronger since it blew every time when the kettle was on.

    Great King Size bed. Great breakfast. Very helpful staff. Lift that can be used for pram and luggage. Very clean. Phone for browsing in the hotel room. Minibar with a small fridge Shop next to the hotel. Great location (tram is 2mins away from the hotel). 40 mins by tramway to Vatican, 20 mins by bus to Coliseum and 20mins by tramway to Roma Termini.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic place to stay as a base to explore them many beautiful places in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One week was not long enough.

    From the moment you walk through the the door there is a warm feeling, for me I would return time and time again. All the staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plenty and filling, coffee and tea served to you. Bed was made every day when we got back from our day out. You are given a phone to use while you are with them it has so much info on it, it is your personal computer saves you using all your own data and it's free to use, absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Great stay Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at alk

    Polite friendly staff Hotel very clean all around and a good breakfast Even prvoided us with umbrellas as it was raining hard Williams use again on my next trip

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That booking.com took payment immediately when it said I wouldn't be charged until the date of the stay when booking the accommodation

    Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Amazing👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area appeared rough.

    This was a little gem in the rough. This area of Rome is the university area and the buildings are full of graffiti. This is quite off putting especially to walk around at night we felt slightly vulnerable. Having said that this hotel was amazing the staff were second to none. Nothing was too much bother the manager, receptionists and waiter were all so friendly and extremely helpful. They most definitely made our stay special and we would go back to this hotel in a heat beat. Our balcony area was an additional extra w went expecting. Perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.0
    A comfortable and value for money hotel with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small shower in our room.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a good choice on offer for breakfast. The hotel was warm and welcoming. The rooms we had were comfortable and quiet. The hotel was very close to the tram which made traveling into and out of the centre of Rome easy. The in room mobile phone for use during our stay was extremely useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Villa San Lorenzo Maria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: