Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa San Pio 3 stars

Via di Santa Melania, 19, Aventino, 00153 Rome, Italy

#72 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2379 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The included breakfast was basic and I suppose what you might expect given that it was included in the price. Not to our taste.

    The location is quiet and peaceful yet close to the centre and therefore ideal. The standard room we had was spacious with both a bath & a shower which is not always the case. The outside space was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing loved it all .

    Every thing, it was a beautiful hotel ,very clean, staff were so lovely and helpful.Brilliant place for sight seeing just couldn't fault it ,would definetley recommend to friends and family and would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast- too poor. That should be imporved.

    amazing rooms big bathroom very comfortable bed amazing garden the location is in a very quiet area- you hear only the bird song

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last minute decision but what a little gem of a find. Quiet location a stroll away from the sites and rooms with balcony. rooms were larger than the average in Rome and the breakfast refreshing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have been a bit bigger and more pillows would have been nice. Other than that, it was great.

    Great location. Peaceful, yet not far from the centre. The hotel garden was lovely to eat and relax in. Testaccio is a fun neighbourhood with lots of restaurants - Pizzeria da Remo was our favourite!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower screen wasn't quite big enough which meant the bathroom floor was soaked everytime we took a shower. I think this must have been a known problem as there were additional towels that seemed to be for mopping up. Strategic placing of towels solved the problem!

    All the staff were so attentive and helpful and the rooms were comfortable and furnished uniquely; it definitely had a feel of a small independent hotel. The location is fabulous; situated in a quiet leafy residential area yet 10 minute walking distance from some of the major attractions like the Colosseum and Circus Massimo. In the other direction there are plenty of lovely little restaurants to choose from. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water problem twice but staff fixed it right away.

    Better than expected. Quiet residential neighborhood, not on a busy main street but short walk to small sidewalk bars and cafes. Walking distance to Coloseum, 18 euro Uber to Vatican or Spanish Steps. Great garden restaurant setting on site and super friendly staff. Also provided free Iphone with nav and calling. We took it with us every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had brought the wrong adapter for my hairdryer and so used the one provided on the wall by the hotel. A very poor output of heat and power but that was my only grumble.

    A huge bedroom with a comfortable very large bed. Programming the tv to the Royal Wedding on our arrival was a very nice touch. The hotel is truly a peaceful haven in a busy noisy city. All staff very helpful. Breakfast was varied and well presented and staff were attentive when required but kept their distance although always aware if guests needed information. Well run and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wish they had a restaurant.

    Friendly staff, beautiful room and terrace, gardens to die for, great breakfast, good for winding down after a crazy day downtown Rome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snacks during the day could of been a little better not much choice

    The travel buddy was a very good idea didn’t have to use all our phone data and the room was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't like the breakfast so much, there was no egg choice, and pretty crowded.

    Perfect location, spacious room with wonderful balcony, they also have a top roof balcony where you can relax. The atmosphere is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location if you are traveling with a car. Beautiful neighborhood and close to all major attractions. Staff was wonderful and helpful. Rooms charming. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is fine and also the price, if considered the level of the hotel, souns reasonable especially with the opportunity of some last minute sale.

    It is a pleasure to find a room at an affordable price at Villa San Pio. It is definitively my favourite accommodation in Rome and it never disappoints me. Great atmosphere, excellent rooms, outstanding services and a wonderful breakfast setting in a small garden. What else? Location, of course! A green and stylish neighborhood in Rome in one of the most astonishing zone of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    it would have been nice if there were tea / coffee making facilities in the room, but this was not a problem...

    Staff were polite, extremely helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could say that would have made the stay that extra special is that some tea/coffee facilities could have been provided in our room.

    We arrived at villa san pio not knowing what to expect but it was wonderful everything from the hotel exterior to interior felt like we had stepped into a real life Italian movie it was stunning, Our room was beautiful with everything we needed including toiletries, towels, a filled mini bar ect...The bath was stunning even had options for a jacuzzi bath which was much needed after a day of sight seeing. The bed was perfect big enough for two who like plenty of room. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. Staff were always happy to make us a hot drink at breakfast and they were always smiling. The hotel also provided us with a smartphone to use whist in Rome so we didn't have to take our mobiles out with us or use our data ect perfect for finding out where to eat & explore ect. Overall it was a perfect hotel for our stay in beautiful Rome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was excellent. The staff were excellent. Highly recommend the hotel.Very happy with the room.It was my first time in Rome. 10 minutes walk from metro station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of wifi ~ the only place it was accessible was by the breakfast room/patio area

    Peace & quiet, beautiful dappled shade to enjoy breakfast, afternoon tea & happy hour(s) Great location away from the hustle & bustle of the city. When in Rome ... we will return :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only comment would be that the beds were a bit hard. Some may prefer this but we like a softer bed

    The grounds were very attractive, quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have some additional comfy seating on the terrace since it is so large. Also having a chair or two in the room would be good. Lots of choice at breakfast but similar offerings every day and we were there for about a week.

    Large triple room with a big terrace. The room was pretty quiet. Staff were helpful and friendly. Lots of choice for breakfast and breakfast sitting area is lovely. Short walk to area with lots of restaurant choices. Easy to get to bus and subway, but taxis also an option. It is a nice place to return to after a busy day touring the city. Overall good value for money in a beautiful and quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very hard. We asked for extra memory foam but it was still very firm.

    The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. The hotel was situated in a great location and was very peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not firm enough for me, a bit lumpy. And the walls are thin. We were also visited by a couple of mosquitoes one night.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. This part of town is very quiet and suburban, yet with easy access to the city center. At this time of year, with the trees leafing out and the flowering trees in bloom, it was gorgeous. They also feature a nice happy hour at their bar, with comfortable outdoor seating. This was so welcome after a long day of walking around touring the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments about the hotel.Just there are very few nice restaurants to eat at unless you go back into town.

    The old fashioned style of the hotel and the friendly staff who welcomed us back.The colosseum is only a 20 minute walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After walking 10 miles a day (I was a tourist) The bed was extremely hard. I like a supportive bed but this was a little too much for me.

    Nice Staff! Easy check in, quaint neighborhood. Everything was wonderful for a quaint neighborhood hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard.

    Excellent breakfast, beautiful property, and beautiful room! We liked being on the outskirts of the city. It was quiet but close enough to walk to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like

    The staff were fantastic, very helpful and accommodating. We had to go out early before breakfast officially started but they said we could come earlier and get breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities are a bit too old. Then, it can not be really romantic. I need better vegetables for breakfast.

    Atmosphere that makes me imagine the life of Roman citizen. Bathtub. Flowers!! The rooms are perfectly clean. Though it takes 7min for metro/train station, I found it easy to go everywhere. We found great Roman ruins in the neigborhood.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location and the staff were so helpful, rooms were lovely and The beds really comfy. The hotel was only a 10 minute walk to piramide metro station. Rome is a fantastic city 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was huge but uncomfortable , really hard, and there was inadequate pillows & bedding. There is no-where nice to sit with a drink in the hotel - it could really do with a comfortable guests lounge/bar area with sofas when it is not sunny & warm enough to sit outside - we came during Easter so weather is changeable.. Bar/breakfast area is fine for breakfast. Cost seemed to escalate - ended up paying a lot more than original quoted at time of booking on booking.com . Simply because added a child - the bed provided for my daughter was nothing more than a camp bed put in a corner of the room - it was not a family/triple room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all

    Friendliness of staff, excellent breakfast, happy hour -2 for 1. Comfortable beds. Quiet at night, 24 hour service. Free mobile telephone in room for texting and calls should you wish. Excellent breakfast for people who are gluten intolerant or have coeliac diesease.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were hard and the air conditioning was a bit noisy in our room.

    This boutique hotel was cosy, comfortable and very charming. The location was perfect for us as it was in a picturesque, quiet and safe neighbourhood but only ten minutes walk away from Circus Maximus with it’s Metro station and cafes. The breakfast was excellent and served in a gorgeous conservatory.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no furniture in the room where we could unpack besides one desk and the closet. A dresser would have been welcome. Also, only one outlet that could be used for charging phones. Be aware that your keycard switches your electricity on and off.

    Lovely facility, with nice grounds and a delightful glassed in Dining area for the very nice breakfast that was included. Located in an upscale neighborhood, within walking distance of several restaurants, and also the Metro, Circus Maximus and Aventine Hill. Very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on website of massive rooms. Disappointed when arrived. However I requested a balcony and got it which more than made up for the size of our room.

    Fab place to stay. In a nice suburb but not a long stroll to the sights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The TV and the desk space were really small and had no available power outlets which was a little inconvenient because I had much work to do.

    Breakfast was awesome and in a very nice atmosphere. The snow storm was unexpected but a nice addition.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great service. The reception kindly moved me to a better room without any extra charges. Location is amazing and within a short walk of Trastevere, The Ghetto, Campidoglio, and Colosseum/Fori. Very pleasant to relax in the garden with a glass of wine after a long day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much around. Not many restaurants shops ECT. Couldn't find a cash machine nearby. Hotel didn't have information in rooms about services and visitor attractions and how far away things were.

    Staff so nice. Setting beautiful. Half hour walk to coluseum where you can get hop on off bus to other sites. Quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel reception staff that we dealt with were indifferent to us. The serving staff at breakfast were friendly and efficient. It is a shame that the reception staff were not more friendly as they are a reflection on the Hotel itself.

    The hotel was is in a good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get the room to a comfortable temperature, too hot. Insufficient electric sockets.

    Good breakfast, extremely helpful staff and a quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is excellent - close to major historical sites yet far enough to unwind and relax in the beautiful gardens and patios at the villa. Service is fantastic, and breakfasts are superb (the breakfast room is gorgeous). Our room was beautiful - with a french balkony and a lovely view. Highly recommend the property and the location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been a bit better if they had meal facilities other than breakfast. And missed having coffee making facilities.

    Staff were excellent. Lovely big clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot even though it was between 7-10 Celsius outside. When I asked the person which took me to the room if we had air conditioning he said that it had only heating. There was a window in the room which I left opened so some fresh air could get inside. I wouldn't book this hotel during summer time when temperatures can get to 35 Celsius in Italy. If during winter/spring I have felt suffocating I can't imagine how it would feel in the summer.

    Location is great. Near metro station and nice restaurants. I was a solo traveler, the location is safe. I have done pretty much everything by walking. Coliseum is about 20 minutes walk not even that. It is pretty close. The breakfast was great and the staff was always similing. The room even though too warm and small was clean. There was also a fridge inside the room which is handy to have and not all hotels offer this. A walking distance from the hotel you have many good restaurants where locals go for dinner. If you are planning to go to any of the restaurants I recommend booking a table.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds in Italy are rather hard and pillows are very thin so be prepared for that! Though it was quiet for the most part at the hotel, there was street noise and you can hear people in the hallway.

    Beautiful accommodations with a wonderful staff who truly went out of their way to make our stay great! Breakfast was delicious: a buffet including eggs, bacon, cheeses, meats, fruit and sweets. Modern bathroom in our room. The location is in a lovely residential area, but within walking distance to the heart of Rome and numerous sites. Take the hotel shuttle to and from the airport. It costs about the same as a taxi but is much roomier. Avoid those shuttles at the airport itself. We took one to the hotel and it was a terrible experience!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have made life easier to have USB ports.

    Everyone was so nice, property was charming and in a quiet neighborhood near all the big attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff: extraordinarily friendly and helpful in every regard. The grounds: magnificent The breakfast buffet and the breakfast room: superb; [loved the chandelier]. The best cappuccino I have ever had. The room: Quiet The handy was a great feature and helped us navigate our way around Rome. And: the fact that the final payment was exactly as expected with no surprises, or surcharges.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, it was quiet but close to the metro and tram station. The staff was very nice and friendly, the selection of the breakfast was big and the food was delicious. The room fullfilled our expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decor was lovely and the breakfast room was great. The hotel is close to a metro which is only 3 stops from the main train station so easy to airport. Its only about a 20minute walk to the main area of Rome and the walk js pretty straight forward.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The WiFi connection was very weak.

    The hotel is beautiful, the room was huge and nicely decorated. It had an old and beautiful bathtub. The bathroom was also big. It's away from the noise, in a tranquil neighborhood but close to town. Breakfast was great. They have a system for housekeeping, nobody comes till you are out of the room, so there are not wake up calls or somebody coming in unexpectedly. Booked it in advance for a great price!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is showing its age - not necessarily a bad thing, if you like a more vintage look and if that is what the hotel is going for.

    The breakfast was a very nice surprise and the staff was very helpful. The hotel is placed in a very good area - not far from the center and in a very peaceful area with absolutely no traffic after 8 PM.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very helpful and spoke very good English. They were willing to answer any questions we had to the best of there ability. The room was lovely with an unexpected roof terrace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have stayed several times in villa San Pio. This time the noise from the next rooms was like sharing the room with the people next door. Even their cough and conversation. Which means you have to wake up and sleep whenever they do. No coffee facilities in the room. It felt cold in my room and the AC did not warm as it was producing cooler air.

    The pillows were fine. the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower & bath combination design mess water all over the bath room floor when you shower. The water drain mechanism was out of order. Wifi was not great.

    The Curtousy FREE buddy phone is a huge plus for tourists. Full of apps, maps, public transport info!! All is for free even outsidebyhe Hotel! So take it with you. They noticed it was my Bday during my stay and i was surprised by champagne and snack in our room when we returned to the hotel. Super friendly staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more information about the hotel in the room - there was no information folder in room - though reception were very helpful with any questions or queries

    The room was bigger than your average hotel room which we hadn’t expected - the bathroom was quite spacious also and a mobile phone was provided in all rooms to take out and navigate or book sightseeing on line. Breakfast was also good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room and the mini bar was extortionately priced. €5 for a 330ml Nastro Azzuro. €4 for a 330ml bottle of coke. €3.50 for a kit-kat. No need to charge those prices at all. To put this into perspective, there is a supermarket only 10 mins walk away, where you could buy a 660ml bottle of Nasto Azzuro for €0.89c

    Fairly priced, in a nice residential area and close enough to some of the landmarks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water kettle and tea/coffee making facility in room would have been the best.

    Included breakfast was excellent. Property is walking distance to Colosseum and other tourist attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Villa San Pio has a charming garden you will cross every time you'll go to breakfast. And if it's raining don't worry: the path is covered. In the heart of the Aventino, one of the loveliest and quiet zones in the center of Rome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea/coffee facilities in room.

    The bedrooms where very clean and comfortable also lovely and warm too. The breakfast was very good plenty of choice and lots of lovely pastries as well .Staff were great,very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms aren't very sound proof, which wasn't a problem apart from the final night when a young child in the room next to us wanted to get up!

    Only booked an economy room but it included a spa bath. Check in staff were able to recommend superb local restaurants, also looked after bags after check out for last minute sight seeing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty hotel in quiet neighbourhood with lovely garden and breakfast area Nice big room with beautiful view. Extremely courteous staff. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At breakfast, one morning we had to wait as we couldn't sit down in a table, until the table was cleaned from the dishes from the previous clients. All the remaining tables were busy.

    It's a very beautiful place. We needed a Taxi and the receptionist call one. In two minutes we had the taxi outside waiting for us. The room was very clean and it exceed my expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was a basic room, we didn't spend much time in the hotel so for some where to sleep recharge and wash it's perfect for a short stay. the bar offer a happy hour from 6-9 although we didn't think much of the 'cocktails' which appeared more like a standard lemonade and vodka or such.

    I love the style and decor of this hotel, has a real italian feel to it. the location is a bit out the way but we used it to our advantage and it allowed to explore and get lost in the beauty that is Rome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the room...minor issue.I really have no other problems with the place.

    Croissants were great...bed was perfect.The hotel and its grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our shower door were broken (rubber between doors was falling off causing leaks.

    Really nice hotel. Not far away from town centre. We didn’t use public transport at all as we were able to walk everywhere. Hotel it self looks really nice with antics like decorations. Really nice staff and really good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was adorable and the location is about twenty minutes from the historical center by walk. 5min and you can admire the first monument is it crazy ! The breakfast was luxurious and sophisticated (thank you for offering soja milk!) And we enjoyed it in the garden or in the beautiful véranda. Perfect for a romantic stay. Thank you !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, don’t know how this hotel got a 9.0. To start, the staff wasn’t great: the guy that stays at the reception by night responded everything sarcastically and with irony, terrible attitude! The wifi DOES NOT work in the room - also, the room had only one small window, so we had to keep the light on all the time.

    Not expensive, location was in a nice neighborhood although at night it seems a little too desert.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a weird smell. Otherwise it was clean. Perhaps something wrong with the plumbing.

    Great location! Near the station, peacefull location, a walk away from Coloseum and Circo Maximo. Cute hotel, staff very polite and helpful. Would go again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy hotel. The rooms are not soundproof and you can be easily disturbed by neighbours' nighttime activities. Noisy hallways when housekeeping start their work in the morning (phones ringing, doors shot loudly. Also, our room (311) had no air conditioning working on hot air, which made the January nights very cold (when we notified the problem, the staff immediately provided us with an electric heater). The view from 311 room is what you see in picture no 3. Pictures 1 and 2 are from ongoing pipelines improvements.

    Free parking, helpful staff, nice breakfast, beautiful property with gardens. Quiet surroundings. Fast check in and check-out. Beautiful gazebo for serving breakfast (unique experience). Nice welcome drink (for Genius members). In the morning, there were construction improvements in development, which made our stay even more stressful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms can use a refreshment and more specific showers. On our first night we noticed that AC is not working and they moved us which was not a problem - in second room shower was in better condition than the first one where it was too low and you could clearly see that it is kinda ripped from the wall. I also had some issues with dust, it seems like there was a little too much of it in the rooms as I could not sleep really well and sneezed a lot but my girlfriend did not had such problems.

    We had a great stay and all of our expectations were covered. Staff is nice and helpful, rooms are clean and breakfast is really good - some places just offer a voucher for croissants and coffee but here you get nice meal which will get you going for your activities in Rome. Public transportation is 10-15 minutes away and on the same distance you can find nice restaurants. We also liked how quiet is the neighborhood. Big bravo for the cleaning personnel, our room was always in good shape. As we had to checkout really early they gave us bags with breakfast which was nice surprise. We will definitely book again on our next trip to Rome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to report, really.

    This was not the first time I came to this hotel and once again it confirmed all expectations: it is a nice hotel in a quiet central area of the city, not far from public transports and cafes/restaurants but at the same time secluded. The rooms are quite large (the bathrooms not always) and you can see the efforts made to get a nice decor without excesses or overdoing. Breakfast is good, especially if you find a place in the "jardin d'hiver" and staff is courteous and ready to help (especially the checkout has been a breeze!). In brief: a no-nonsense hotel which cares for what really matters, and does not stop there, adding some nice touch of refinement to the basic. For the price, you would be challenged to find anything better in central Rome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No beside lighting for extra bed. No hot drink (tea and coffee) making facilities in room.

    Liked the terrace adjoining our room, outside seating area, comfortable and spacious reception area, gardens, smart phone loan, wide range of breakfast options, pleasant, quiet convenient location and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pair of my girlfriends earrings went missing after the room had been cleaned. Informed 4 members of staff and nothing was done. Finally spoke to the manager of the hotel and she said that it was my girlfriends fault because she didnt use the safe in the room! Either been binned or stolen but nobody could take responsibility for what had happened. They refused to cover the cost of the earrings after the head maid had said the hotel would pay for them. And then to top it all off a member of staff had a go at my girlfriend for leaving her earrings out. Ridiculous!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I couldn't find fault with the hotel but for some, the location of Villas San Pio might be too far, as its a good 40 min walk into the centre of town for shopping, sites and the Vatican City. This wasn't a problem for us as we like to walk and of course there is plenty of public transport nearby. As far as I can tell, they do not offer lunch or dinner but again, there are plenty of excellent local restaurants.

    Villa San Pio is a lovely traditionally styled Italian Hotel situated close to The Coliseum and Roman Forum/Palatine. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Continental Breakfast was included in our tarrif and there was plenty of variety for everyone, including cooked scrambled eggs & bacon, cereals & fresh fruit. The coffee was excellent, as you would expect in Italy. Located in a very quiet residential area so no late night noise. Excellent restaurants close by & Happy Hour is 6 - 9pm with 2 for 1 on cocktails.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in Rome for Christmas holidays and as me and my girlfriend work in a hotel also we can tell you for sure that Hotel Villa San Pio worh it. For that Hotel category its absolutely in between first 5 places.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is very good, but metro station was far. Its not big problem actually.

    Very cool hotel. Interior design is really cool, stuff were very polite, and room is very clean and big enough. Everything was working good in the room. Highly reccomend you guys, this hotel deserves 9.6 out 10.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast variety

    the hotel was cozy and kind of retro style. staff was helpful and discrete. I recommend it for its location as well - walking distance to Colosseum.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast very tasty and filling , room was lovely and the handyman tablet in the room was a lovely surprise and really useful! The hotel was perfectly placed fro all the atractions .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to use up last Euros at end of stay and clerk had trouble figuring out how to manage that

    Great value, incredibly convenient to local train (Ostiense station) from FCO airport, convenient to Metro and ruins, great food and restaurants nearby, staff friendly and available, bed comfortable, good breakfast and espresso (free with my rate). Terrific option for my four day stay

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Villa San Pio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: