Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Scacciapensieri 4 stars

Strada Scacciapensieri 10, 53100 Siena, Italy

#17 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 982 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style decor was lovely. Fantastic views from the riom garden and terrace. Clean and well maintained. There is a local bus at the end if the driveway. The staff are very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had lovely gardens to relax in and a decent sized pool. The transport links to Siena were excellent with a bus stop at the hotel which made visits to Siena easy. Clean and tidy with good staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well equipped rooms, quiet location in vicinity of the town, very good breakfast, beautiful garden a little bit in the style of " laissez faire" , pool didn't work in may - unfortunately

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel location and the view from the room were amazing. High-quality food and pleasant staff. The receptionist recommended us the best restaurants for local food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    50/60’s bedding.... some things need to change.

    It’s a lovely 50/60’s type villa, perfect setting for a “murder mystery” evening.... in a good way!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing was noisy and bathroom very dated. Although the hotel was “pet friendly”, we were told our small dog was not allowed in the restaurant. All the qualities for a tranquil base within easy reach of Sienna, but somehow the atmosphere was strange.

    Lovely gardens with nice views and a number of pretty terraces. Bus stop directly outside hotel for transport into Sienna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was a bit far from any shop/supermarket/downtown. There was a bus station though right in front of the villa or there was also the possibility to take own car.

    The villa has wonderful gardens and we enjoyed morning walks, while our kid ran and played. Breakfast was varied and had good choices. We especially enjoyed fruit plates and pastries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were kind of hard but they tried to overcome with feather mattes pads

    The staff was extremely accommodating especially Jun Jun and the wait staff and bartenders

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need renovation.

    Check in was personal and attentive. Villla has a nice old fashioned atmosphere. Waiters for breakfast and dinner are super nice and extra friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows very hard Needs some investment to upgrade

    Great location with easy access to Siena Quirky setting with interesting history Great service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel a little dated.

    End of season, so restaurant closed. Good breakfast however and very helpful staff. Although outside Sienna, with car, only about 12 minutes away from City. Good restaurant recommendations and a private guide for tour of City was outstanding.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nearby facilities were limited - a car is needed to get to the better restaurants in the Siena area (bus transport is available though). Unfortunately one of the staff members was quite abrupt, not very helpful, and let the team down,

    The hotel has a charming old feel to it, both in the room and around the property. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The short time we spent at this location :(

    The hotel grounds are absolutely stunning, our room was directly overlooking the garden with beautiful shutters on the sides and the two-story apartment was quite unique. The receptionist was very lovely and I'd like to also send special thanks to the breakfast staff took on a hard task of preparing my special gluten-free breakfast flakes and cooked them perfectly! A lovely waiter at the breakfast buffet who will make you feel like at home as he speaks 4 languages! Great value for money! Perfect hotel and getaway location, highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread could have been more fresh and I would have liked a little salad station with fresh vegetables

    Hard boiled eggs were cooked nicely and the little jams on the table were very tasty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Love this place. It is a 15 minute bus ride outside Sienna but a bus goes pass every 15 minutes. The staff are so helpful and friendly. Top restaurant at the villa, reasonable price, top food with a lovely head waiter, Adraino. This place has the best coffee I have ever tasted. Comfortable rooms , very Tuscany with beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The room and view of the hills were amazing. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. The breakfast and dinners were delicious. There were all of these lovely places where you could just sit and there absorb the view and relax.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were not as comfortable as I would have expected for this beautiful property.

    Good location for a stay in Tuscany area. Easy access to old town Sienna as well as providing easy travel into the Tuscan country side and to local wineries. The grounds themselves were very well maintained and wonderful for early morning strolls. The Breakfasts offered were very good and a great way to start your day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hotel outside of Siena, located in a small park. Car can be safely parked on the premises of the hotel. It is very easy to get to Siena, bus stop (lines 3 and 8) is directly in front of the hotel with service to the city center basically every 15 minutes. Hotel staff extremely attentive and friendly, besides Italian all seem to speak at least English very well. Option to eat for dinner in the hotel's own restaurant (recommended, as there are basically no other restaurants in the neighborhood), both service and quality of the dinner is really excellent, especially the dessert buffet is worth mentioning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proper double beds instead of framed singles pushed together would make it much more comfortable.

    Beautiful property and grounds, great having breakfast and dinner outside. Maitre D was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was inedible. The rooms could also do with some updating. The restaurant didn't have an appetising menu. The staff were quite cold. Overall not at all good value for money.

    Location was lovely, 10min bus ride into Siena. Pool was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taking luggage up and down stairs (although just a few). Small bathroom.

    Friendly staff, old world charm. Excellent customer service, beautiful gardens, lovely dining room. Great views with both a pool and tennis court.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best for travellers with a car, although I coped with local bus. Mine was a single with adjoining door so some sound evident between rooms. They don't seem to cater for self making cups of tea. Mini bar in room but expensive.

    Beautiful room with antiques in a villa sitting atop a hill. Had a west facing window with shutters so the sunset was beautiful. Evocative if 'a room with a view'. Too cold to swim but there was an outdoor pool. One pizza restaurant in walking distance as old city centre s bus ride away. Quiet place and breakfast very nice. First place with boiled eggs available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is super super old, when you enter the room its like you entered a room in 1858, the bed seems like its falling apart and the furniture as well. The bed was old, we asked for a queen size bed and its two single beds put together, so someone is falling in the middle during the night. The sheets were normal and there is no duvet. There isn't even a TV, its like a mini computer monitor. The staff wasn't the friendliest at check-in. We were tired so we went to have dinner at their restaurant at night, since I am pregnant I can't have raw meet, so we ordered the beef fiorentine, which is 60 euros only for the beef. Then we ordered a risotto milanese....Dinner was a huge disappointment. We asked for the meat to return 3 times to cook it more, then the waiter got all moody saying that not how it should be eaten. If we are paying and we have a preference, why can't I say how I want the meat cooked??? The risotto which is the simplest risotto in the world was beyond horrible. We had a 90 euro meal and it was the worst meal of Italy in 20 days. The breakfast was very very simple, the cold cuts had bees flying everywhere, sitting on the cold cut, inside the conduct box...it wasn't pleasant.

    The property is very nice and green. Nice grounds to walk around... The bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff and the villa were excellent. Extremely helpful and made you feel comfortable as soon as you arrived. Our suite was more than I could ask for. And the restaurant was also incredible, both food and service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very minor issue is that you have to re-enter the wifi password each time you connect.

    Very friendly staff. Wonderful location. The grounds of the hotel are very tranquil. Although the villa is outside of Siena, it is easy to take public transportation from right outside the property (you can even buy tickets from reception). Coming back is a little more difficult, so make sure to ask the driver to let you off at the right stop. The restaurant staff for both breakfast and dinner were extremely helpful and efficient. Overall, a very pleasant and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed was two singles together rather than a proper double. Shower didn't work very well. Bar menu was very limited, shame if you're staying by the pool over lunchtime.

    Family owned hotel atmosphere was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    May be wi-fi could be better, may be bathrooms and air-condition, but this old fashion style fits - in my opinion - to this place.

    Atmosphere and staff and food. Everything for the client: you don't like the room - we'll change it, you missed the brakfast - we'll bring you the coffee and croissants, you want to have a winery tour - we'll help. The silence - you can take a rest on the beautiful pool, the super seats outside, in the garden. And the maitre de restaurant - amaizing, profi and helpful man - thank you for your kindness. The food in restaurant OUTSATNDING - don't even try to go to SIena restaurants - you will not find nothing better. We had super stay there and surely will back. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the hard pillows. That's just nit-picking though...

    Travelling with 3 children so the pool was fundamental. The suite slept 4 and it had amazing views and was the size of an apartment. We had the quadruple room for 3 people.... all was perfect. The restaurant was fab, with efficient staff. Close to siena by car yet happy to NOT have stayed in town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 10 nights

    More families booked in than we expected. Made pool less relaxing than we'd hoped. Breakfasts always the same, and we stayed 10 days. Wasps at table very bad in mornings, so not a very relaxing start to the day.

    Pleasant, very helpful staff. Location was excellent, away from busy centre, but easily accessible by the 4 times an hour bus service. Lovely views from our room. Nice veranda to sit out on with glass of wine in evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the staff were fabulous, but particular mention to our maid and the guy who ran the bar, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Would not hesitate to return here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, historic building converted into a hotel may years ago.. So enjoyed the old-worlde experience, from the maid making your room ready for sleeping in the evenings, to the excellent cuisine, and on the very courteous and attentive staff. One or two elements/components of the hotel that won't be everyone's cup-of-tea, but overall a great experience and one that I'd recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed. It was two twin beds pushed together, not a true double/queen. The rooms need a little updating. Different pictures from site. Continental breakfast only, nothing hot to eat.

    The view, able to leave the window open at night. Some noise, as this is located nearby the hospital. The gardens are pretty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love this oasis of calm just outside the mania of the historic center. Beautiful property with lovely grounds and pool to cool off after a day exploring. Staff are all so nice and helpful. Absolutely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    August, so quite a lot of yelling American children in the pool. And parents who say nothing about it. Who said anything about being civelised?

    Fantastic atmosphere and lots of charm. The fact that not eveything is perfect makes this place perfect. And extremely pleasant staff. No effort is to great for them. Lovely breakfast and diner under century old trees.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Breakfast was not so good, only boiled eggs out of egg options, no veggies, average selection of cereal. (but to be honest, there was a good selection of fruits, pastries, and sweets, but personally, I don't understand how can eat something sweet in the morning) - There is no iron in the room and there is even no ironing station anywhere in the hotel. The only way to get you things ironed is to order pressing from the hotel, which is priced from 3 to 6 euro per item. I find it ridiculous that's there is no choice like in all hotels I ever stayed before. And when I asked about the iron board at the reception looked at me like I am the first time in a good hotel and told me contemptuously (at least I got the feeling) that in their hotel you don't iron yourself. Did not like it. -Also, the same manager was not very nice to me before when I was starting to look at the list of guest which lay openly at the reception to show her our names since I wasn't sure which room number we have. She told me a bit in a rude way that's it's not my business. If it's not my business then don't leave it in a prominent place. To be honest, if not this lady I would be much happier with our stay in this beautiful villa. But even she made me very pissed one day I still would recommend this place because it's so special and atmospheric.

    The place is spacious with a vibe of an old school classy hotel where waitresses and maids wear black dresses and white aprons. And then a headwaiter in a suit and a bowtie is there for you listing dishes of the day and recommending wine. You don't meet this in a lot of even good hotels these days. Atmosphere (not the look) reminds me of Hotel Grand Budapest movie. Garden is super beautiful, big territory, nice pool, big parking, nice outdoor seating for dinner and breakfast. Everything is very picturesque. Perfect location to travel around for discovering south of Tuscany. (But if you are interested only in seeing Siena it is still ok, there is a bus to the city center and the bus stop is literally at the entrance, by bus it takes 10 min.) To sum up, the hotel is very atmospheric and relaxing and an absolutely great value for money! Don't miss a chance to book it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant limited card and very few daily specials, hence stopped going there after a few days.

    Authentic ambiance and very friendly staff. Lots of shade for sitting outside, nice view. Good place for trips to Siena yet quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    This is a great place to stay if you are wanting to be just outside of Siena but within easy travel distance. The villa is beautiful and very well kept and the staff are very helpful and friendly. It is a very relaxing place to stay and we had a room overlooking the garden - which was lovely. I would definitely recommend this villa to other travellers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant is not open on Sunday evening.

    Great hotel with great location to see Siena as well as go to Tuscany area by car. Hotel staff doing a great job and is very accommodating towards families.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the best hotel experience of my life. Magic. Wonderful dinner at the terrace, pleasant swimming pool (great in summer heat), charming garden, very nice room, and all staff like actors from a beautiful film. I will long to come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the money that we paid? overall not happy. The rooms were warm (granted it was very hot!) but the air conditioning looked and felt old- the beds gave us all a little back-ache and no coffee maker in the room- we had dinner- the appetizer was great- the rest was not- they brought us an ash tray after we finished our meal but didn't clear the plates- felt for the money we paid we got better service at other hotels!

    Grounds are beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one available for an early check out, which I should have arranged the evening before. My error.

    I sadly departed too early to have breakfast, however, I did see it being set up on the patio/outside eating area and some of the items and it looked very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon in our bedroom was making a terrible noise. I reported it. Because of that we had to switch it off. It was very hot upstairs so my daughter had to sleep on the couch downstairs - that's not acceptable!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet didn't work, bed was very uncomfortable and all twin beds push together, doors were not secure, pool was absolutely freezing (even though it was 35 degrees), breakfast was inadequate for a 4 star hotel and very understaffed, bottle opener in the room was disgusting, pubic hair on the bath, air con didn't work. Completely over priced and definitely not a 4 start standard.

    Nice grounds and views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel, in beautiful surroundings. Convienient location outside Sienna, easy to travel downtown using bus or taxi and hence possible to enjoy the city and also the silence of country side life. Rooms and common facilities very good and relaxing. Large garden and very good breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area is a bit tired

    We have stayed there five times- it has been 3 years since our last trip but the Maitre D' recognised us - a great welcome- and the setting is beautiful and the villa is beautiful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No powersource for charging phone for example in the entire room. Just 1 in the bathroom. A noice occured the entire night on and off (probably airconditioning vents in the building). Very outdated hotel in general. Normally we try to take hotels in rang €50 -€80. We wanted to givevourselves a treath with this hotel but that was unfortunately not worth the money. Hotels in the range €50-80 are much beter.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very bad hotel for the price. The hotel looks good on the pictures but we had the worst night of our entire trip. The air conditioning was not working, there was a lot of noise. We tried to have a drink at the bar but after 20 minutes we left because there was nobody. The breakfast is bad (really bad). One person is dealing for everything. This hotel is made for very old people (80 years) who wants to rest far away from the city. Very bad experience and very disappointed because the price is just disconnected with the reality !

    Nothing except the swimmingpool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall no dislikes.

    Excellent staff at the Villa Scacciapensieri, you feel as though they have been there a long time and are part of the family. The hotel has an old school charm and the location just outside the city is convenient, although you wouldn't want to walk into Siena from the hotel, use bus or taxi. Relaxing by the pool in the afternoon was great and the external terrace for breakfast and dinner in summer weather is brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed for three night and the bed is not comfortable at all. This is a big minus for the Villa and I would not recommend it to my friends Restaurant did not serve lunch just sandwiches or cold cuts.

    Dinner seating under the trees.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service a little slow during theafternoon

    Great food, wonderfully atmospheric. Dinning in the garden at night perfect. A nice pool and lovely grounds to sit in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were extremely hard. Air conditioner was very noisy which meant switching it off so that we could try to sleep, but then room got too hot. Overall we were not that comfortable in the room which given the price was disappointing. Toilet positioned in corner under sink in very awkward spot. Other than issues with room however this was a nice spot. Dinner was nice but note it is expensive. You can find more affordable options back in town or at a nearby camping ground that also has a restaurant. Can get bus to and from town but remember to buy tickets from reception and to validate once on bus. Taxis about 12 euro. Overall this was a nice place to spend a couple of days to have a break from touristy things and use the pool but better if you have a car, and generous budget.

    Beautiful setting on a mountain in Sienna. Swimming pool and grounds were lovely. Air conditioned rooms. Breakfast was nice and included in our room price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Absolutely stunning hotel. Very attentive staff who couldn't do enough for us. Highly recommend this hotel. We intend to return with our children.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred air conditioning in the room.

    I loved that this villa was a true reflection of Italian grandeur with its beautiful building to extensive gardens. Wonderful ambiance with a view over the Tuscan countryside. Would highly recommend this to anybody who wants a true taste of Italian hospitality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our initial room was very small and was what we felt in the area of the service repair outside our door and away from the hotel main focus. We did ask to be move to which they were happy to do so which was very much appricated. Breakfast was average. Over priced we felt considering the condition of the hotel.

    Property really needs a lot of TLC it has the potential to be very beautiful hotel. Restaurant is not open of a Sunday which when the hotel is fully booked and most restaurants in the area are also closed one would think it be in there best interest to be opened! Staff are very warm and welcoming and do go out if their way to help you though.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's no mirror in the room so that it's not convenient.

    All the staff were so kindly. It was very helpful because they knew a lot about their city. They could suggest good programs for our trip to Siena.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like!

    Set away from the busy city centre, this accommodation is perfectly located in magnificent gardens. To get to the centre of Sienna you simply take the bus from the end of the drive, they operate very frequently. The owner and staff are very helpful and accommodating. They organised an adventure of a lifetime that exceeded our expectations, a self drive day in an original fiat 500 exploring the countryside, visiting a vineyard for wine tasting and lunch. The food and service in the hotel restaurant is superb!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a historical villa, so most of the furniture in the room is also somewhat vintage. The bathroom needs an update

    We loved the view from our room: the garden is lovely and you can also see Siena on a neighbouring hill. Since the hotel isn't exactly walking distance from the town we stayed in for dinner every night of our stay and both the food and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at reception were not very friendly. The restaurant was uncomfortably formal in appearance. The food was good but the menu was not very extensive.

    The hotel is beautiful, set in a villa complete with extensive gardens and terraces. The service was excellent, and my room was very comfortable. It was a real pleasure to stay here for a few days. This was an excellent place to stay with a dog. The hotel provided a bed, food bowls and treats, and my dog loved running around the grounds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay at the Villa was fantastic. The property is an easy 15 minute drive to the centro storico of siena. The property is beautiful with views of the countryside and grounds with gardens and areas to stroll and take in the fresh tuscan air. The staff are friendly, attentive and helpful. The room and bathroom were large and comfortable. Breakfast offerings in the restaurant at the villa are plentiful. The restaurant itself is a beautiful and full service. The waitstaff are on point and present at the villa 24/7. My favorite part of the villa was the lounge/withdrawing room. After dinner or later in the evening we enjoyed taking our coffee and after dinner drink or a bottle of wine in this area. Waitstaff is still full service in this area. the loungers are lush and comfortable, the room is enveloped by large windows overlooking the back part of the property, light music plays in the background, and in the evening and there is candlight for each table in the evening- a very peaceful and relaxing place to enjoy the end of the day. We will return!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is nothing about this property to dislike. Its just nice and beautiful

    I recommend this Hotel, its great, far but not far from the Sienna Centro (only 2.5km), Its a like a country hotel but just outside Sienna, very nice helpful staff, great breakfast with lots of choice, they even cooked omelette for us,amazing service. Beautiful breakfast room and Bar and restaurant Nice spacious airy room with high ceiling, love it, comfy bed and pillows, very nice linen soft towels

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money. Looks and feels like a boutique hotel. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast is fare. Lots of parking space. Nice staff. Balcony with good looking view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed with our 2 babies. Excellent hotel and fantastic service! Our special gratitude to the maitre and restaurant-bar staff. They made our stay very easy! Thank you very much! We will come back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps an upgrade on mattresses and bedspreads? Change to duvets?

    Bathrooms very clean and great attention to detail. Beautiful gardens and bus stops right outside the Villa to take you to Sienna. Service at the restaurant tremendous. Old school waitrons. Beautiful old villa.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful. Come on guys, you are located in the farm region and there are no vegies on the table, no omlette. Very poor selection of chese. I was dissatisfied. And the internet connection? We live in the 21st century. I wasn't able to work properly

    The garden is magnificent, the service is great. Some stuff member speak only italian with you, I found it very cool. Please note you have to have a car to be able to go somewhere. Overall, the place is great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, really. The only thing I didn't like was being awaken by the birds at 6:00 AM, but it was the start of the Spring, so, how can I blame and be upset with the birds?

    Amazing place! Very beautiful Villa slightly outside of the city center, however, there are frequent buses that can take you to the center and there is a bus stop at the door of the Villa. Very friendly and helpful staff, always willing to help and to satisfy your needs. The breakfast was great with lots of variety. The breakfast room was always impeccable! The table towels were replaced after someone eating, so you know that you are eating on a clean table. The room was very nice and comfy, and I noticed the detail of using only halogen lamps, which are more comfortable and allow a more relaxed night of sleep. It shows the level of attention to detail they put on everything, always with the intention of providing the best stay for their customers. You can hear birds singing, which is wonderful! Much better than hearing cars in the cities...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful, very clean, staff very friendly, the gardens and green areas are like a dream, the room was clean and confortable, my husband and i were there with our 3 dogs, and we felt like home. We can reccommend this hotel for sure !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Läget är lite "off", inte på landet o inte centralt.Bil nästan obligatoriskt. Kanske dags att uppgradera konceptet?

    Gammaldags "lyxhotell" med , med en doft av svunna tider. Fantastisk trädgård o fina vyer mot Siena med förstäder. Gräsmattor med orchideer i är aldrig fel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was far from the city (a 4 mile walk, not 1.2 miles as advertised). Staff was extremely rude. My bed was uncomfortable and the great stopped working. Also, they wanted to charge me nearly $100 to do a couple of small loads of laundry. No thanks.

    Pretty grounds

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    missed a bridge to the centre of Sienna ;-)

    Maybe some will say; it is a bit dated but that was also one of the positive's, loved the old grand hotel feeling with perfect staff !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good, we would still suggest more cheese and ham choices.

    The staff is excellent!! Our room was spacious and had beautiful views. The restaurant food was delicious. The hotel gardens are gorgeous. They have enough parking space and easy access to public transport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    The free bike rental and tennis court. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. Breakfasts were fantastic. The bus stop is literally at the gate of the villa so getting into town is so convenient. Beautiful gardens. Loved the smell of the wood fire in the bar/lounge area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had bed bugs. My wife was bitten all over her body (30 spots!) and I was mainly on my legs. We didn't see them but as we had them in a previous trip we knew how the symptoms looked like: clear zigzag patterns of very red itchy bites. We politely told them but they denied everything, didn't want to see any proof, accused us of bringing them with us and were defensive and reactive. The only offered to change rooms but not washing our clothing, which we had to do in the bathtub. They were very rude and the service dealing with our concern was extremely bad. I even felt guilty! As for the rest, quite of a run down. In both rooms the shower heads were awful, annoyingly uncomfortable mattresses and pillows, twin beds with separate blankets, uninspiring decoration, awkward location, breakfast was boring and you had to pay extra for most things (orange juice was 6 euros).

    Nice early XIX century villa, relaxing atmosphere. Some of their staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My IPad warned me that the internet connectioin wasn't secure and that I should change my WiFi setting in order to make it safe. I didn't know how to do this.

    The bathroom had a shower and a bidet. Also, the grounds and views from there were lovely.The room was tastefully fusnished and very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    met difficulties with public transport although owners were very much aware of this and constantly trying to seek more co-operation with bus company

    very welcoming to a single person also very helpful and kind a very comfortable place to stay also unlike most italian hotels the swimming pool was open - an important point for me too many places don'think tourist in this case and gauge the weather by local standards, most certainly a plus as I had chosen the Villa because of the pool. Bravo!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot ( the heater was on) however, the heater was closed and they provide us fans but unfortunately we cannot sleep well because of the temp of the room .. and the room has a lot of flying insects

    I like the location, the villa, the style of our room and the staff, they were very nice, friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Villa Scacciapensieri traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: