Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Sonia 4 stars

Via Porta Mola, 9, 98030 Castelmola, Italy

#4 of 10 hotels in Castelmola

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 439 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of our needs and queries were met

    This hotel is fabulous! In the hills overlooking mount etna. It is 10 minutes car journey uphill from Taormina old town. Hourly bus service during the day and €15 in a taxi ..Great for peaceful relaxing break. Good breakfast included and lunch and good value dinner also available with an amazing wine list! Very accommodating staff...All of them from reception to housekeeping! This hotel is authentic Italian...small cafe opposite residence beside public car park does the Best Bruchetta I have Ever tasted!!! Our thanks to all for a perfect holiday

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a consistently unpleasant small coming from the bathroom. This must be a plumbing problem as the the bathroom was clean.

    A clean, large room with magnificent views over Mt Etna made for an enjoyable stay. Breakfast was included and its quality was very good. The staff were efficient and friendly. It was an easy walk to the village of Castemola which has some excellent restaurants. There is a good bus connection to Taormina and the onsite parking was very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu was a bit limited and unchanging.

    Everything else. It's a really well run hotel with great staff, a fantastic pool and views too die for (Mt Etna). The drive up to Castelmola is challenging with many twists and turns and not for the faint hearted but again this is part of the appeal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could be a little more comfortable, they were adequate, not awful.

    We loved staying up in Castelmola. It was less crowded than Taormina but had all the charm and incredible views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated hotel overall, rooms need serious update. If you take away the view, there is really no reasons to stay there. Swimming pool closes at 6:30pm sharp and we got kicked out in a rude way. What’s up with that? 2 weeks in Sicily we didn’t have this anywhere else. The staff is not super friendly, at least ordering something, we felt they were giving us a favor... we had a lovely Terras with the view but staying there in the afternoon was unbearable, consider something to protect from the sun otherwise it’s just not possible to enjoy it!!

    The view!! Only that but that view is so incredible, this made our stay in this hotel for our last night in Sicily very special.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi in our room was outrageous! We have struggled to catch a spot with decent signal all over the room, but even then the Internet was extremely slow. Parking charges were 7 Eur per day - (even if it the price on booking.com was 5 Eur (at the time of reservation). Pool closes at 18:30 sharp.

    Spectacular view of Etna from the balcony, rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast was much better then I expected (considering other reviews): nothing spectacular, but with plenty of various food. We've had a room with views of mount Etna, so there was very quiet and peaceful - no street noises what so ever. It is not easy to reach the hotel because it is on the highest point of mountain - but it is part of it's charm, not a downside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No transport down to Toarmina early morning or from evening so tricky to go on excursions without adding pricy taxi fares on. Otherwise NOTHING to complain about at all.

    The view across rocky crags to Etna from the Superior rooms is out of this world. The pool probably one of the most breathtaking views in the world to swim in. Most staff were engaging and welcoming. Fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike but be prepared for 3 miles of winding uphill driving if you arrive by car!

    Beautiful views to Mount Etna from balcony in bedroom. Friendly helpful staff especially on reception and in restaurant. No rea or coffee making in room as per your property info but staff resppnded and provided kettle & tea. Quirky interior with antiques. Silver service restaurant for dinner with views over the hills to Etna. Breakfast on the terrace. Sun terrace and pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Cooked breakfast is very limited. Pool bar un-manned during our visit. Walk up to Castel Mola is very steep, not suitable for the elderly or infirm. Free shuttle bus to Taormina is only 3 times a day including only 1 morning run at 10:00am

    Quirky touches. Reception staff very helpful. Bus stop right outside. Lovely pool area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would've like reasons coffee facility in room, but not really a massive problem.

    This hotel offered clean comfortable rooms in a great location with stunning views of Mount Etna. The food was good quality and well cooked and presented. The staff were polite and helpful. Shuttle bus to Taormina at no cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have one price for parking in the reservation but then charged a different price. They said the price on the reservation was wrong, they should have honored what they wrote on the confirmation but they refused.

    Great variety for breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location if you travel with a car, walking distance to Castelmola, to get Taormina you can take bus, free hotel shuttle (3 times a day), taxi. Very good breakfast. Free parking on the street. Friendly staff on reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff overcharging room price for our second night- quickly rectified when I raised this with them Constant love songs from 70’s being played in bar/patio area

    Large rooms. Big bathroom. Very clean. Large and comfortable bed. Stunning views over mount Etna. Friendly staff. Easy to get to Taormina/ Castelmola Early and in time breakfast provided due to flight time in our room at no extra cost

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was normal, but for this hotel it would like to be more diverse and breakfast staff more careful

    Amazing view from the window and beautiful interior, clean, useful transfer service and good reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet connection was wobbly, you need to persistently sign in as a guest, the connection was not automatic after the first sign in. The scrambled eggs at breakfast were lovely but never very hot

    Stunning location, views of Mount Etna from the room balcony,very comfortable accommodation, very clean, towels changed daily

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Excellent hotel in Castelmola,quiet and with wonderful views. The staff was very helpful and nice. Very good and varied breakfast with real Italian coffee and eggs of your own choice plus fresh fruits of good quality and of course the italian sweets. When we were off to early roundtrips they served breakfast in the room or even let us in earlier in the breakfast room. The hotel offers shuttle service to Taormina and there is also a local bus just outside the hotel.We had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Villa Sonia!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent value for the price! Castelmola is the cutest little village. The bus to Taormina stops right in front of the property. Room was clean and bright. Breakfast was excellent, great food selection. I will definitely return!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame we were not able to use the pool as arrived in early April but it was a lovely stay.

    Incredible views, shuttle to and from Taormina and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are too thin: soundproofing could be improved...

    We loved the location of the hotel, with an amazing view on Taormina's coast and the Etna, close to beautiful Taormina (we walked down to the city center in just 30 min with the kids and climbed up in the same time, nice stroll) but up enough on the hill to be quiet and far from the city's agitation. The hotel is spacious and beautiful. The staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast is fantastic, served on a huge patio with a terrific view on the volcano.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charming hotel with a spectacular view on Etna. Comfortable room with a spacious bathroom and a huge terrace. Nice pool with deck chairs. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located a few flights of stairs to the centre of Castelmola. Hotel is a little dated, but is still nice. The hotel also makes an effort to conserve energy use. Breakfast was buffet style in a large dinner no room that also had a patio and the food was pretty good. The pool was open but unheated and it was too cold when we stayed. There is a hot tub but it did not look open at the time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms -606- had a default in the sewage, causing the room to smell rather peculiar.

    Location excellent with Etna view! Personnel very friendly and helpfull. Rooms comfortable with good beds. Very nice pool and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't think I'd rate this a 4* hotel,.... Interior and decoration a bit dated, shower very small and simple, stains on dish cloths of breakfast buffet. Certain items at breakfast buffet didn't seem very appetizing, e.g. scrambled eggs and sausages. Coffee served at breakfast sadly undrinkable.

    Stayed in mid-April and availed of a low season price, hotel was quiet and with only few guests. Room was bigger than expected, with two single beds put together rather than a small double bed as advertised. Staff was friendly and helpful. Large choice of breakfast at the buffet. Unfortunately it was cloudy for 2 days so we couldn't see Etna at all but I'd imagine the view is splendid from the lovely terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful hotel, with breathtaking views and delicious breakfast. The staff is so kind and friendly. Because we were planning on leaving at 5.00 am, they were viling to bring us breakfast in room. Definitely recommend to anyone who are looking for a great, peaceful place with beautiful views!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    air conditioning hard to use

    beautiful view of Etna, good and varied buffet breakfast, pool, lift, car park (7€/day). Beautiful night view on Taormina, quiet and less touristy location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds hard as rock. No coffee in the room. We were charged for a bottle of water from the mini bar which we did not drink. Breakfast was disappointing - On our first day we arrived in the middle of the breakfast service and there was no hot food as it had not been replenished. Lots of people must have been waiting a while for this - as soon as the fresh food arrived it was pounced on. Service at breakfast was sullen and slow.

    The view is outstanding - this is what you are really paying for at this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was a little hit and miss but it wasn't really an issue for me.

    Views, location (although very high up from Taorimina the bus service for 3 euro return is hourly) staff, spacious room, breakfast, quirky furniture throughout hotel, pool and terraces.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much - eggs at breakfast were cold but didn't matter as plenty of other nice food. Only one electricity socket in room, so had to unplug TV to charge phone.

    Great location with views across to Etna, comfortable rooms, lovely terrace area, staff very friendly and helpful. Nice to be in small hilltop town above Taormina, less touristy and much better value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic views of Mt Etna and excellent public transport to/from Taormina plus the hotel includes complimentary shuttle services making any drawback of being in the hills negligible

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok but nothing special. The facilities were basic. The shower was not powerful. The decoration was very 1970s. The car parking was 7 euros per day extra. Overall, I was disappointed with the hotel. On the positive side, the staff were friendly and helpful. It was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very windy (1 st April) thus was hard to sleep:)

    Location, view on Etna superb, quiet place, very good breakfast, shuttle bus to taormina, helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. The bread/croissants runs out at 9:00 and no re-fill (breakfast time until 10:00). €7 charge for parking.

    The location is on the highest point of mountain. Great view over Etna. If you have a car and don have much up and down the mountains then this is a good choice for a night stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice hotel with beautiful interiors, located in a quiet and not so touristy mountain area. Very good restaurant. Staff is friendly and helpful. Good choice, if the beaches are not a priority during your trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We returned to the hotel at 11pm one night to discover that the bar was closed and we couldn't get a drink. We did have a mini bar in our room but it only had a couple of bottles of beer, water and soft drinks in it. The hotel seemed to be operating on minimum staff which is to be expected at this time of year but nonetheless 11pm is early to not have any bar service available.

    The views from Villa Sonia on a clear day are breathtaking. Make sure to request a room with a view of Etna when booking. Whilst the decor is old fashioned, the hotel is very comfortable and has great outdoor spaces. The breakfast was also really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was raining the night that we arrived, but of course that is not the fault of the hotel.

    The views from the balconies of the room were spectacular. The restaurant was outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish to having sea closer

    Like a family who runs business, working so hard always present to accommodate customers Owner Maria and Guseppe and all family Thank you Maria and Guseppe!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recommend that showers accomadations need to be made a little bigger .

    Buffet breakfast was excellent . Quiet resort with very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Pool bar wasnt permanentely manned. We'd recommend to install a ring or phone at the pool bar.

    We really enjoyed our stay: the stylish interior and our room with Etna view, the pool area, the comprehensive breakfast buffet as well as the friendly and approachable receptionists. The hotel offers free of charge shuttle service to Taormina which we frequently used. Parking is simple, just park outside and drop the key at the reception. Thanks to the whole team!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overpriced for the level of service offered. Some staff (breakfast and bar) seemed permanently grumpy and like they were doing you a favour. Kicked out of the pool area at 6.30pm and made to feel unwelcome if you wanted to hang around longer.

    Great location with a great view of Etna. Great staff at front desk. Very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was disorganized. There was one man checking people in so there was a wait even to asks questions. The hotel will park your car for 5 euros a day. However, they drove away before our luggage was removed. The breakfast is fair (eggs inedible). If you want a light dinner or a drink, this hotel can not accommodating. We sat at a table requesting drinks and a menu. Finally after a long wIait, and a round of beer, we gave up.

    The quiet, less touristy location above Taormina was to our liking. There is a bus stop across the street that can take you up and down. The pool at the hotel is beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a bit dated, especially the bathroom! Slightly overpriced for the age of the rooms.

    Absolutely stunning view!!! Staff are very friendly and helpful. The town the hotel in is very scenic with may nice restaurants. Great pool as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our second time at this hotel and we enjoyed our stay again. Enjoyed the late afternoon swims in the pool and the views are amazing. The recommendations made by the staff were spot on. Would stay at Villa Sonia again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stunning views of Etna from our bedrooms, balconies and the pool area. Very comfortable beds with lovely old furniture. Great breakfast. Very helpful and professional staff. Short walk up steps to Castelmola village for wonderful cafe/pizzeria and truly incredible views over Taormina and miles of coast. Infrequent complementary shuttle bus and hourly public bus (3 Euro return) to Taormina (15mins). We found it hard to tear ourselves away from this hotel to visit Taormina and couldn't wait to rush back up the hill as soon as we'd seen the Greek theatre!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The retaurant in the hotel didnt have many option for food we liked, takibg money (5 € per day) for parkong while it was prety empty, not very strong internet

    Very nice room, great veiw of Etna volcano, comfi beds, great pool, option for parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Later shuttle bus from hotel from Taormina in the evenings. Say 10.30pm or 11 pm.

    Everything you need for breakfast. Rooms spacious and hotel is very clean. Pool area is really nice; clean good sun beds and umbrellas, cushions. Nice pool bar and poolside eating area. Hardly any children in the hotel, so poolside nice and quiet. Fantastic views of Mount Etna. Castelmola itself is a very pretty place with a few restaurants and bars. People all very friendly everywhere. Although there's a bus to and from Taormina and the beach, we had a small car which was very handy if we came back late. Spent half our evenings in Castelmola and half in Taormina. Taormina is a bit more expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Misleading info on location, it is about more like nearly 2 miles from Taormina town centre and the distance is not walkable (quite busy narrow curvy roads). - 5 EUR to park your car at the property per night is a bit expensive. The car park is outdoors and nobody will help you with your luggage up and down the hill at 30 degrees on the sun. - The bedroom was far too basic for the hotel to be considered 4 stars: tiny old tv, noisy A/C, tiny and very old shower in a bathroom with space enough for a big bath, no much water pressure on the shower, room service only left us a chocolate on one of our four nights - not very important, but if done once, sure thought it was standard practice? Also, if you need a safe, ask reception for the lock, as there is no lock in it and nobody explain to you that you have to ask for it on reception. - Swimming pool is nice, but it closes at 6.30pm sharp, regardless of having customers or not. In addition, if you feel like having a drink...good luck. The bar pool is mostly unattended. - Breakfast is ok, but again, the restaurant area felt understaffed - There is a free shuttle bus to and from Taormina from right outside the hotel, but timings are not very convenient. There is also a public bus (EUR 1.90 pp one way), but the hotel would not tell you that the last return of this bus from Taormina to the hotel is at 23:40 from town centre. Last times they inform is about 21:10, so if you are to come back later than this time, you need to get a taxi for EUR 15

    The hotel is in a good location if all you want to experience in Sicily is peace and quiet. The town centre of Castelmola (5 mins walk through a long a set of stairs) is charming, but you can see the whole town in no more than half an hour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC needs to be changed they are 100 years old, first room was like an oven and when we reported the staff was very helpful and changed it immediately .. they gave us a bigger and better room hoping that the AC worked better , infact IT DID NOT.. thanks to being on the lower floor however the ambient temperature was acceptable.. I will not recommend if you re going to a summer peak time when the heat is up as the AC will not do its job..

    the view was astonishing especially choosing a room with patio and panorama view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the location and the hotel so much when we stayed last time that we stayed again. I booked the same "classic" room, but when we arrived the room was not what we had had and was on the sreet. Since the air conditioning had been turned off for the season, (October 20) there was no ac. It was not only hot, but opening the windows which face the street not only let in all the mosquitos, but also the street lamp which we could not shut out because shutting the shades effectively blocked the window. We complained, were told there were no other rooms, and dealt with it for the night as we had been promised another room the next day. The next day we were given a nicer room, but it had no wifi, and the manager was again, reluctant to change our room. This was not the kind of treatment we had received the last time we were here. The staff is very nice, but they were getting their orders from someone who was not going to give up anything. I told them that under no circumstances was I going to do buisness in the lobby where the wifi was good, and that I would never book a hotel anywhere without wifi. Yes, finally we got a satisfactory room. I have to say that I cannot recommend this lovely hotel to anyone any more. I have recommended this place countless times over the years, and I hope that the treatment I received was not the treatment any of the people I recommmended received..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very disappointed with quality of evening meals; generally overcooked and vegetables mushy. It was a very challenging steep walk to get up to Castelmola where there were many (better food) restaurants. Final point the drive down the mountain and up requires lots of concentration and a little luck to avold Italian drivers coming the other way.

    Staff gave good service and almost all were able to speak English well enough to discuss menus and wine, etc. View from Bedroom of Mt Etna was fabulous. Good public services down to Taorimia and free mini bus offered by hotel. Much saver than driving down yourself.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    No internet and we were placed in a garden room which was a strenuous walk up to the main lobby

    Hotel service especially in the restaurant was excellent. Food menu was limited but quality was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening menu very basic. Options to eat in the village worth considering

    The views are stunning and next to an interesting village to explore. Quiet and peaceful and friendly staff. Fantastic View of Mount Etna

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room could do with updating. Also decent bar for eve drinks. Would suggest happy hour round pool at 5. Also there are some updated tables and chairs above pool never used. Bring round pool and use there. Also replace plastic sun beds with more modern ones

    Pool lovely and staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! everything was great.maybe only that we should have stayed longer.

    This hotel was my favourite in all of Italy.Staff exceptional.Beds comfortable.so very quite and peaceful with beautiful views.Breakfast very nice.Restaurant open for lunch an dinner too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a four star. Furnishings very tired. Nice pool but unable to use due to hour limitations.

    Great view and some interesting antiques.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet not very efficient

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old world hotel in beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nicely located on top of the hill. Good facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just perfect

    Great location and views, spacious rooms & fantastic value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great terrace with a swimming pool and views at Etna and mountains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice owner, who really makes it easy and relaxed to stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect!😊😊😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better /higher quality food/.

    Very silent place. Nice view. Cristal clear.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hmmmmmm. Nothing.

    Fab place. Beautiful! Totally impressed. Staff? Exemplary! Nothing was too much trouble. They were such nice people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if the weather is clear you have a great view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When arriving after a delayed flight the hostess arranged a late dinner in our room for us. It is really nice to walk down to Taormina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A quiet hotel away from the crowds of Taormina, great views from the room, and good service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet.

    Amazing location and great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent location with views of Mount Etna from our balcony. Comfortable & clean room. Very good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym is too small,actually it is not even a gym,there is only 1 run machine.

    I loved the location on the hill and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fantastic view and hotel setup, calm, great as a base to explore area around Taormina such as hike to Mt.Venere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    loved the view and the outdoor seating areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for a romantic stay.

    Large room, clean, superbreakfast and magnificent view. Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view and surroundings. Breakfast is really nice. Confortable room and hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Old uncomfortable bed - Room was dated. - Pool was not open (winter?)

    - Beautiful view of Etna from the balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Villa Sonia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: