Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Tina 3 stars

Via Aurelio Saffi 2, 55049 Viareggio, Italy

#7 of 56 hotels in Viareggio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 208 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    it is beautufl hotel with lovely staff, but noisy at night and breakfast should have been included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the location on the main road made it very noisy at night so we needed earplugs to sleep. the WiFi unfortunately didn't work however, the staff helped where they could. For the price it could have included breakfast. The additional 15 euros per day to use the private beach was expensive. it would be helpful to make these additional cost much clearer when booking.

    the hotel was stunning and the staff were incredibly friendly and always helpful. it was in good walking distance from everything, especially the beach, the train station and the promenade. it was a bonus to have the airport shuttle bus stop directly outside the hotel costing only 3 euros.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Wished following a business trip to Florence we had stayed here more than just the one night
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was worth the extra cost for a room with a balcony with such stunning views. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. Its our first visit to Viareggio but hopefully we will return and I would book the Hotel Tina again in a heart beat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Excellent chilled out stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to beach, bars and restaurants. Short walk to centre and train station. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean room and facilities. Excellent coffees.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Art Deco hotel with friendly staff and great prices!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself was fantastic. The drawback to Viareggio as a town is that all the beaches near the hotel are privately owned so you need to go to a bar or a swimming bath if you want to go to the beach.

    Beautiful period furniture, huge comfortable bed, and a balcony. The night receptionist was knowledgeable and very helpful, as were the day staff. They looked after our luggage for us and called us a taxi when we needed to go.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable two days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was all right

    Excellent interiors in the lobby, dining room and room. Beautiful mosaic floor and outstanding furniture as well as decorations. Very good breakfast and helpful personnel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Great attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Beach Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go out for dinner!!

    Great attention to detail. Service was very good and staff were very helpful. The kind of place that I will come back to!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Really good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to lift and stairs so rather noisy at times. Would request alternative on next visit.

    Villa Tina is in excellent position.lovely staff. Clean rooms and good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    It felt a pleasure and honour to reside in this old villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot fault it

    The architecture of this old villa was unbelievable as was the location. When we arrived we could not believe our luck. We noted other holiday makers all had the same reaction when they arrived All original Art Deco furniture and design. Breakfast room was small and intimate and looked fit for a king although we preferred to walk to our favourite bar called Fappani not quite 1 km down the Lungo Mare where we got the best cappuccino and a sfoglia Di Mele like we have never had anywhere else in the world.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfy apartment next to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV set outdated and with just some Italian channels. Furniture quite old too.

    Comfortable apartment, close to the beach and restaurants. Nice and attentive staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    I loved staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved staying here!!! This is one of the most beautiful hotels i can't say enough the staff Ben and Georgina were beyond helpful they gave us the most amazing recommendations for restaurants touring around they truly made our stay so pleasant! The location is perfect right on the promenade they have bikes and wine tours among countless other activities and the hotel itself was truly an art piece every detail was beautiful we ended up staying far longer than planned just because it was so amazing! Clean rooms nice breakfast wonderful wine selection in the lobby bar it was an experience that you wouldn't want to miss!! I would definitely stay here again! And make sure to have dinner at Massimo's just a mile away best meal I've had in Italy!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent comprehensive breakfast with jars of preserves, breads, homemade cakes, cream, fruit, yoghurts and also a cooked option. Stunningly clean. Beautiful views from the balcony. Bus stop very close outside. Definitely would stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful Hotel with Fantastic Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toiletries in the bathroom were limited to soap and shower gel in wall mounted dispensers and a shower cap. The mini bar only contained two bottles of water and no other drinks or snacks.

    beautiful hotel with very welcoming and accommodating staff. We had a triple room with a fantastic balcony overlooking the sea. The beds were clean and comfortable. The lady running the hotel allowed us to leave our bags at check out, so we were able to go and use the beach for the morning, before returning to change in the hotel bathroom and collect our bags. the hotel is right opposite the beach and there are a range of very good restaurants on the promenade just in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    A gem of a find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All the staff were so helpful and friendly and we had a room with a balcony overlooking the beach.nthe hotel was spotlessly clean and was very colonial.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Villa Tina - best way to do Viareggio!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful family run hotel with wonderful Breakfast. Host bakes incredibly delicious specialty breakfast sweets. Very elegant breakfast room which is sunny with stained glass windows. Most rooms have balcony with ocean views with very comfortable and clean rooms. The building has historical value as well. Valentina - the host - was very accommodating and helpful with all the info she provided. She runs a great operation. Well done!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Old time elegance just across the promenade from the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The building was a wonderful experience in old time opulence. Curving marble staircases, stained glass windows, antique furniture. The staff were friendly and attentive. My balcony overlooking the sea and the elegant promenade felt like pure luxury. Breakfast included many choices, hot and cold. All for the price of a budget chain motel at home! Unbelievable! But go in the off season (May) like we did. In August it is 3 times the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.8
    A beautiful hotel with unique character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The AC did not work properly compared to the powerful units I had been used to living in hot countries. We did ask about this a couple of times, but were told after investigation it was working as expected. In the end we left the windows open, which cooled the room but let in the mosquitos! The other thing which would have made a difference would have been complimentary tea/coffee in the room.

    This was a lovely hotel to stay in, full of character and beauty. It was exactly what we were hoping for and because we booked a room with a sea view and balcony it was a fabulous place to be later in the evening watching the world go by. You have to pay (15 - 20 euros dependent on what deal you want) for the use of the beach opposite, but it felt very safe and was beautifully kept. There are free beaches but having booked a seafront hotel we didn't want to walk a couple of km every day to use them! The breakfast was buffet style with a reasonable selection of food which was well presented. The staff were always helpful and friendly. The location was faultless opposite the best stretch of beach on the strip! Wonderfully relaxing week.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Lovely interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely interior. Comfortable room. Warm, welcoming and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent, helpful staff, special thanks to Benjamin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No Pool or hotel beach

    Extra large comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound of cars and motorcycles driving past can get a bit noisy late at night.

    Beautiful property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Just what the doctor ordered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Beach Access
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff were great, friendly and helpful, breakfast was lovely, spotlessly clean, great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    beautiful hotel, friendly and helpful staff but noisy
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noise

    beautiful interior

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice old building and very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Very nice old building and very good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a lovely area with lovely beaches and lots to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Connecting Rooms with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very pleasant staff, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Tuscanys best kept secret
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to come home.

    Attention to detail & willing to please guests

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Very gentle and helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very gentle and helpful host. Brilliant breakfast. Extraordinary place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Excellent and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Villa Tina a real gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel very friendly and attentive staff and very good breakfast don't miss the cake baked fresh every day! Will go back and stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Lovely Villa Tina!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All perfect!

    Beautiful old villa. Perfect location!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Only one thing wrong, fried eggs at breakfast and sausages...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one thing wrong, fried eggs at breakfast and sausages were cold

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    n/a

    great staff.ex-view.next to beach.good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    5.0
    1. The hotel has a good location right in the centre of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. THE NOISE The noise is so outrageous that naming this "a lack of sound isolation" wouldn't be the right word for it. The noise of pouring water in the neighbours' shower was as loud as Niagara falls. I could also hear a giant roar each time they flushed the toilet, and the sounds of shower door opening and a shower head bumping across the wall, and also smashing it on the floor. Definitely not the sound you want to wake up at early in the morning. I wonder where all the wonderful reviews come from. These people are probably deaf or ignorant "as bliss". Another important thing is where the local regulating organisations look at, and why they are not taking any measures as this is a serious violation of health and safety. 2. The so-called "excellent" WI-FI was a joke. The connection on WhatsApp broke all the time. My friend tried to call me on a hotel landline but the sound was so terrible that it seemed like she was whispering. In the end, I had to make a call using my mobile network and wasting money on a roaming charge. Resume: avoid by all means!!!

    1. The hotel has a good location right in the centre of the main walking street 2. They give vouchers of 10% discount in some local restaurants

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    8.8
    Lovely Décor and ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No coffee making facilities in room. having to share a balcony with next room. Staff appeared to be overworked at breakfast time - one person doing everything, looking after reception and cooking breakfast and supplying cutlery.

    Lovely Décor and ambience. location was perfect. comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous spacious room with a balcony and seaview.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms could do with some sound proofing.

    Fabulous spacious room with a balcony and seaview. The building had many original features including mosiac floors,stained glass windows and paintings on wall. Great choice for breakfast and plentiful. Staff friendly and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    7.9
    Staff very Friendly , Informitive and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar facility not very good for drinks at night. Weather was unseasonably cold for last week in April and there was no heating in room for first 3 days

    Staff very Friendly , Informitive and helpful.Breakfast very good. Location excellent right on seafront near shops Restaurants etc and bus stop espeically for getting to Airport in Pisa for early flight. Liked the 'OldeWorlde' decor and the cleanliness of the whole Property

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.5
    Location,style of building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the hotels fault but much of the resort was closing down that week and it became very limited choice of nightlife/restaraunts etc would go a little earlier next time

    Location,style of building

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.2
    The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise from the air conditioning unit which we needed on all night because of the noise from the traffic.

    The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was very good, especially the fresh fruit salad.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    5.0
    The location was excellent as described, right across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were most disappointed with the size of the room reserved for us. Whilst it had a balcony it was a pokey room with a tiny shower room - we had expected a bath in the bathroom. The room (202) was infested with ants - in the bed and in the bathroom. We were offered a change of room, and packed everything in preparation to move in after breakfast but we were then told the offer was no longer available and we had to stay in 202. Breakfast was the worst ever. Coffee bitter, selection of food - drab and miserable. Even the fire exit staircase was used as a dumping space for dirty laundry.

    The location was excellent as described, right across the road from the beach. Unfortunately, there is a charge to go onto the beach. This really does leave a penny pinching rase in the mouth. Okay it keeps the riffraff away any gives a sense of security, but hey - we're already paying top dollar to stay in a room infested with ants.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    There were many excellent aspects of Villa Tina which made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were many excellent aspects of Villa Tina which made our holiday such a wonderful experience. Staying in a beautifully preserved 1920's period Italian Villa in a very comfortable junior suite with a sea facing balcony viewing the beach and sunset was delightful. Delicious breakfast including fresh baked cakes was a lovely start to the day. A huge thank you to Roberta, Valentina, Nicola, Beuga, Gina & Candoy who were so welcoming, friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    Ancient villa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ancient villa. Old belle époque atmosphere. Authentic furniture, stained-glass windows, paintings, mosaics etc. Perfect buffet breakfast. Helpful and friendly receptionists.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    Hotel position perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slight noise problem from road but did not spoil holiday as you tune out after a couple of nights

    Hotel position perfect. Staff very helpful and friendly. Nothing a problem to them.Good advice on travel and places to visit, Lovely authentic decor.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    After staying in the Villa Tina for 2 weeks, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was nothing about our stay that was dissatisfying or disappointing

    After staying in the Villa Tina for 2 weeks, the staff were fantastic! Incredibly friendly and really helpful. A big thanks to the night concierge, Ben ,who always went the extra mile with everything! The decor & aesthetics of the villa are opulent, stunning! We loved staying in the Liberty with its East facing balcony. It allowed us to enjoy the morning sun after breakfast. Breakfast was great and catered for gluten/dairy free requirements. The Villa Tina is literally across the road from the beach and it's perfectly located for a day at the beach, a walk into Old Town or a stroll through the peneta . A 20 minute walk to Viareggio train station which has great links onwards! The rooms were cleaned daily to a very high standard and we had fresh towels everyday. A nice touch! We will be back in 2016 to Villa Tina as we enjoyed it so much!

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    6.3
    Beautiful hotel in central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was not as described. Sea view was actually the side sea view overlooking roofs. Booked a double room and got a room with 2 single mattress joined together .The noise at nights was constant from rooms/bathrooms next door as well as the road noise. Deco is dated. Aircon was leaking which was very inconvenient as I had to collect water almost every 30 min.

    Beautiful hotel in central location. Very polite and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    5.8
    Lovely breakfast with delicious cake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The superior room slept 4 in adjoining rooms but second double bed had no headboard or side tables and was pushed against wall. Probably suitable more for a dressing room.The noise was terrible, however it was a bank holiday . We were moved to a lovely double room at end of holiday .

    Lovely breakfast with delicious cake. Near to beach and shops.Staff friendly and quite happy to help with bus and train journeys.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.9
    really nice sea view from big balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor breakfast

    really nice sea view from big balcony nice service, good localization

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    10
    The hotel is beautiful inside all in keeping .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is beautiful inside all in keeping . The staff were really helpful and spoke good English .

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    Good Location in a safe environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good Location in a safe environment

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little to dislike

    Beautiful location,

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Beautiful building.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.2
    Well run traditional hotel, comfortable, good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well run traditional hotel, comfortable, good breakfast, facing the beach, bars and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    Everything and everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything and everyone

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    The decor of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The decor of the property

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    We come back every time we visit Toscana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We come back every time we visit Toscana. Just cross the street to the beach and good restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    Hotel décor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel décor.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful and friendly and always on hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/a

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and always on hand. The hotel was beautiful, very comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    10
    I liked the breakfast, location and the 10% discount for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I liked the breakfast, location and the 10% discount for the restaurant. Beautiful architecture and friendly hosts.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: