Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Toscanini

Via Del Marinaio, 28838 Stresa, Italy

Review score

Based on 168 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    It is a very nice placed hotel, with amazing views of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1 thing to improve: - room isolation is pretty poor - we were hearing basically everything from the next room

    It is a very nice placed hotel, with amazing views of the lake and isola bella. Breakfast in front of the lake - outstanding. Nice staff -welcoming and always available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Can’t wait to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room description on Booking.com stated that the standard of room we booked has a hot tub. Ours didn’t, maybe other rooms of the same category do. Not great problem for us, but a slight misrepresentation of room facilities.

    Fabulous guest house in wonderful island location. Great views of Isola Bella from our balcony. The island is quite frenetic with day trippers during the day, but in the evening and early morning you feel you have this beautiful island to youselves. Fewer eateries open in the evenings than the day but still plenty of choice; you don’t need to leave the island to eat well. Villa Toscanini’s own trattoria is excellent, though when we were there it was not open on weekday evenings. Villa Trattoria is a very old building and our room was traditionally furnished but with modern bathroom. Cleanliness was excellent. Staff welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    View of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony of our room was completely covered in bird poo and looked like it had not been used for a long time. It was cleaned and apology given but no gesture offered (e.g. discount/drink on the house).

    View of the lake

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful time with our teenagers at Villa Toscanini and would recommend it to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the restaurant had been open for dinner but it wasn't a problem.

    It was so easy to get around and the view was gorgeous. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Good location and facilities for the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - strange feeling to be isolated on an island, with almost all restaurants/shops closing around 19:00, but it is an experience

    - nice staff, very friendly - clean room, very nice old-fashion furniture - excellent view of the lake from inside the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, nice room, and kind staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking in the island so you have to park the car at Baveno or Stresa but it's not easy to find nice parking slot because so many tourist are there in the spring to summer. For one night parking it costs 20-25 euro. There are several restaurants but they are soooo busy for the lunchtime.

    The viewing from the room was fantastic! And all staff were so kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    A slice of heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had been travelling at quite a pace through Italy so spending two days on the Island at Villa Toscanini relaxing was a real treat. The setting of this small hotel is unbeatable. We had a view from our balcony of Isola Bella and the lake. After about 5pm when all of the day tourists left, it felt like we had this tiny island all to ourselves apart from the locals. The staff were fabulous and could not have made us more welcome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    Roberto met us and he was very polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roberto met us and he was very polite. Took my luggage upstairs, as the place doesn't have an elevator. He advised us places to eat. The room is old style decorated and each room has a name of other compositor. Nice breakfast. Not a lot choices.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Lovely views from private terrace in Lake Maggiore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    The location is wonderful - at the end of the island closest to Isola Bella - so great views! Our room had a private terrace which was very lovely. The staff was super accommodating. The island had a number of very nice & reasonable restaurants. When the day trippers left on the last ferry, the island was ours!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    We'd love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our spacious room (the "Beethoven") overlooking the lake. Charming and very helpful staff, particularly Roberto and Dolores. Breakfast on the terrace.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful view, very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view, very nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    The lake view and the pleasure to be on the island after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lake view and the pleasure to be on the island after everybody left The kindness of the host Very nice family rooms and good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    A perfect island getaway & tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Everything - location, communication, beautiful views. I'd totally come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spiders in the room

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    just wonderful

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    Island beauty, naturalness.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room compromised by overgrown rose bushes.

    Island beauty, naturalness. Helpfulness of staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Very nice staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very kind and the location was amazing. The Island is beautiful and the perfect place to relax.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.8
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet worked great the first night in our room but not at all the second. We were able to work from the lobby but it was a challenge. Bed was very clean but we didn't sleep well in it overnight. Wish we had the option of dinner at the hotel but other places served wonderful food...

    Location was perfect. Staff was wonderful and very helpful with all things. Room had a great balcony with view of Isola Bella! Rooms were clean and spacious. Kids slept great in their beds. Was nice to nap with the sound of waves and the windows open.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    We had a lovely 2 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a lovely 2 night stay. Huge and nicely furnished room with terrace directly over the lake. Very pet friendly. Trattoria is great too for lunch. We'll be coming back

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    10
    loved the friendliness of the staff, the amazing location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    loved the friendliness of the staff, the amazing location, the ambiance is just perfect for a low key yet fabulous holiday. Prices for everything were excellent. ONe of the best holidays ever.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.8
    The staff is really nice and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is really expensive, especially if you add the dinner in the evening as only expensive restaurants are opened on the island once tourists left with the last boat.

    The staff is really nice and welcoming. It is amazing to stay alone on the island when all tourists have left. It was one of the highlight of our trip. The terrace with the lake view.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    8.3
    Isola Superiore dei Pescatore is a tiny island crammed with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Isola Superiore dei Pescatore is a tiny island crammed with old fishermen's houses which are now restaurants, bars or shops. Regular ferries stop in the early evening when most visitors depart, leaving the island more or less private to those staying in the three hotels. Only two or three of the restaurants are open in the evening (by rotation, it seems), but that was fine for our short stay of a couple of nights in early May. Plentiful ferries mean you can visit the other islands (e.g. Isola Bella) or the fin de siecle mainland resorts of Stresa or Baveno. Villa Toscanini was all we needed for a delightful, quiet, no-frills stay on this magical island.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    A great place to stay with very friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    pillows a bit too big and hard

    A great place to stay with very friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pleasant staff. Clean rooms. Incredible location on a picturesque island in the middle of Lago Maggiore.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.6
    Big, nice and clean room, with great view to the lake and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big, nice and clean room, with great view to the lake and Isola Bella. Friendly staff and a good breakfast. I definitely recommend it.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25